How does the new Barbarian Rage system work?


General Discussion (Prerelease)


I've have seen on this board reference to a different Barbarian rage System than the one in the Beta rule book. While I've read the iconic example I still do not understand how this works. I am creating a barbarian character and would like to understand (as much as possible) how the new system works. Any help would be very appreciated.

thanks


linky

the Rage Powers themselves look to be signifigantly different/updated, but the basic mechanics of Rage should be extremely similar to that post (rounds of rage - wise).


Quandary wrote:

linky

the Rage Powers themselves look to be signifigantly different/updated, but the basic mechanics of Rage should be extremely similar to that post (rounds of rage - wise).

Thanks. It looks pretty similar especially at 1st level with the only change being rage points have been swapped for rage rounds per day (easy to use) additionally it looks like the progression is capped at 2 rounds per level instead of 2 + const modifier.

One other question I have concerns Barbarian movement and armor and I think I understand this

a human starts out with a speed of 30ft
being a Barbarian increases it to 40ft (=+10)

but this is before Armor is taken into account and the barbarian still suffers the same penalties. So for example if Hide Armor is worn the barbarians movement is reduced by 10 to 30ft.

Basically I want to confirm that the barbarian is not immune to the reduced movement effects of medium armor.


The Outlaw Josie Whales wrote:
Basically I want to confirm that the barbarian is not immune to the reduced movement effects of medium armor

He is not.

Why? Because it isnt written anywhere.

RPG Superstar 2010 Top 32

Does an "immediate action" consume your swift action for the next round?

I was under the impression that immediate actions were completely free (which would mean that "clear mind" can be used to reroll every will save, without limitation).

Sovereign Court

Hydro wrote:

Does an "immediate action" consume your swift action for the next round?

I was under the impression that immediate actions were completely free (which would mean that "clear mind" can be used to re-roll every will save, without limitation).

It does in 3.5, and I'd imagine it will in the Pathfinder RPG.


Hydro wrote:

Does an "immediate action" consume your swift action for the next round?

I was under the impression that immediate actions were completely free (which would mean that "clear mind" can be used to reroll every will save, without limitation).

An immediate action is a swift action that can be taken out of turn. If you have used your swift action last round, it uses up the one in the next round.

You cannot make more than one immediate action until you have "recharged" your swift action.

Community / Forums / Archive / Pathfinder / Playtests & Prerelease Discussions / Pathfinder Roleplaying Game / General Discussion (Prerelease) / How does the new Barbarian Rage system work? All Messageboards
Recent threads in General Discussion (Prerelease)
Druid / Monk?