
Adam Olsen |
Quickdraw's Normal section says "or (if your base attack bonus is +1 or higher) as a free action as part of movement". This implies a Charge allows it.
The Combat chapter says "If you have a base attack bonus of +1 or higher, you may draw a weapon as a free action combined with a regular move." This implies only a normal Move, not a Charge.
Besides making the terminology consistent, explicitly stating that charge is or is not allowed would help.

![]() |

Quickdraw's Normal section says "or (if your base attack bonus is +1 or higher) as a free action as part of movement". This implies a Charge allows it.
The Combat chapter says "If you have a base attack bonus of +1 or higher, you may draw a weapon as a free action combined with a regular move." This implies only a normal Move, not a Charge.
Besides making the terminology consistent, explicitly stating that charge is or is not allowed would help.
I'd like the terminology to be consistent, but in this case the answer is there: the more specific rule trumps the earlier mention. The second text is clear enough that a charge is not a regular move, as a charge is not regular movement - it is restricted movement combined with an attack.
I'd rather the rules not get bogged down in calling out every case, as that uses up valuable word count.

Adam Olsen |
I appreciate that it may not be worth an example, but saying the second version trumps is admitting that the first version is wrong. It leads to the wrong ideas and undermines the whole point of summarizing normal behaviour in Quickdraw.
Having some form prioritization may be useful when attempting to reverse engineer a released produce that cannot be corrected, but it shouldn't become an excuse to design contradictory rules into a new product.

Turin the Mad |

Common Sense : If you're charging as a full round action, which combines a movement action with a standard action, by definition you should be able to ready/draw a weapon as you move in on the charge.
Why would you be penalized for not being able to draw as part of a charge? it makes no sense to prohibit drawing/readying a weapon as part of your charge. Lacking the Quick Draw feat is a Bad Idea for fighter types who charge regularly, since normally drawing/readying a weapon provokes attacks of opportunity...
YMMV

Samuli |

Common Sense : If you're charging as a full round action, which combines a movement action with a standard action, by definition you should be able to ready/draw a weapon as you move in on the charge.
Not correct. Charge does not combine a move action and a standard action. You move twice as fast during the charge, compared to normal move and attack maneuver. Clearly it's not a regular move, and you cannot draw a weapon as part of a charge.
If you need a common sense argument it could be: while you're running as fast as possible (you're essentially running, as defined in the rules), all you can think in a those precious seconds is about your foothold, and how you're going to drop your axe on the poor fellow at the end of your charge.
Lacking the Quick Draw feat is a Bad Idea for fighter types who charge regularly, since normally drawing/readying a weapon provokes attacks of opportunity...
Wrong. Pathfinder Beta, pg. 135 clearly states that both drawing a weapon and readying a shield do not provoke attacks of opportunity.

![]() |

(you're essentially running, as defined in the rules)
Wrong. Pathfinder Beta, pg 139 clearly states that running is quadruple your speed, not twice. (Three times in heavy armor.)
Therefore, I find it nonsensical that you can take two move actions while drawing a weapon, but you can't charge and draw a weapon. The only difference between the two is restriction on direction and ability to attack.

Samuli |

Wrong. Pathfinder Beta, pg 139 clearly states that running is quadruple your speed, not twice. (Three times in heavy armor.)
Exactly. And you get that quadruple speed by spending two move actions (or a full-round action). Hence, the move action part of the charge is twice your speed.
The difference is really the speed. You cannot draw a weapon while running, either.

Turin the Mad |

Turin the Mad wrote:Common Sense : If you're charging as a full round action, which combines a movement action with a standard action, by definition you should be able to ready/draw a weapon as you move in on the charge.Not correct. Charge does not combine a move action and a standard action. You move twice as fast during the charge, compared to normal move and attack maneuver. Clearly it's not a regular move, and you cannot draw a weapon as part of a charge.
If you need a common sense argument it could be: while you're running as fast as possible (you're essentially running, as defined in the rules), all you can think in a those precious seconds is about your foothold, and how you're going to drop your axe on the poor fellow at the end of your charge.
Turin the Mad wrote:Lacking the Quick Draw feat is a Bad Idea for fighter types who charge regularly, since normally drawing/readying a weapon provokes attacks of opportunity...Wrong. Pathfinder Beta, pg. 135 clearly states that both drawing a weapon and readying a shield do not provoke attacks of opportunity.
ANY full-round action combines all possible actions save for free, swift/immediate and the 5' adjustment a character can take for the round - you cannot do anything else during a full-round action right? I have no problem permitting drawing a weapon as part of a charge - it is a six second round, not a one or two-second round. YMMV
You are correct in that PF states drawing a weapon and readying a shield do not provoke. However, resheathing a weapon does... O.o

Samuli |

I'm not understanding your reasoning. Quadruple would be 120 ft, when a charge only lets you move 60 ft. (Base 30 ft.)
Sorry, I'll try to be more clear.
You can run 120ft per round. The line needs to be straight, and free of obstacles. Running is a full-round action, so you're spending a move and a standard action. Standard actions can be converted to move actions, so basically that 120ft is worth two move actions. Or, half of the running action is one move action, or 60ft.
By charging you can move 60ft and attack. Charging is a full-round, or move and standard actions combined. Attacking expends the standard action, and the 60ft is moved with the one move action equivalent. This is the same distance as can be ran with half a run action. Also the same rules for straight lines and difficult terrain apply to running and charging.
Finally, moving and attacking is one option. This way you can move only 30ft, but can turn during your move. Also an additional you're allowed to draw your weapon as a free action because you're not running (that is, moving double your move with a single move action).

![]() |

Sorry, I'll try to be more clear.
Okay, I understand your thought now. The difference to me is that a full round action does not equal a move and a standard action. It is a separate type of action that replaces those actions. I've always thought of each action as a separate rule instead of being connected as you illustrated. There is no 60ft move action barring bonuses to speed. So I guess this is just an example of differing DM rulings.

Laurefindel |

Quickdraw's Normal section says "or (if your base attack bonus is +1 or higher) as a free action as part of movement". This implies a Charge allows it.
The Combat chapter says "If you have a base attack bonus of +1 or higher, you may draw a weapon as a free action combined with a regular move." This implies only a normal Move, not a Charge.
Besides making the terminology consistent, explicitly stating that charge is or is not allowed would help.
Just for the heck, is there a clear description anywhere stating what a regular move is?
'findel