
![]() |

Barbarian:
Pg. 14 - under the "Increased Damage Reduction" Rage Power, it states that the barbarian cannot increase her damage reduction by more than 3/-, and that the power cannot be selected until 12th level. A 13th level barbarian has 3/- damage reduction. Does that mean this Rage Power is only useful for one level, or does it mean she can't have an overall total more than 6/-? It seems like this could be clearer.
Cleric:
Pg. 22 - under Channel Energy we could really use a page reference for the rule on how it works. Personally, I would rather see the rule for channel energy in with the cleric write-up (since it doesn't need a table for turning anymore) and the Channel Energy amount added to the class progression chart much like the Rogue's sneak attack damage is.
Monk:
Pg. 30 - Does the extra attack a monk can gain (on a full attack) by spending a Ki Point stack with extra attacks gained via haste and other similar spells?
Paladin:
Pg. 35 - In order for a Paladin's mount to Command an animal that is being ridden it must make a DC 21 spellcraft check. As there is no mention of a paladin's mount sharing his paladin's skills (as with familiars), that means that even if you put every skill point (minimum 1) the horse gets for bonus HD, it's going to have a maximum of 8 ranks (+8 bonus HD) for a total of 7 (9 int) before you roll the die. This is a pretty slim chance of success. Is this intentional?
Rogue:
Pg. 39 - Under Rogue Talents, it states that a rogue cannot select an individual talent more than once - does (should) this include the combat trick (feat) and weapon training (wpn focus) talents?
Sorcerer:
Pg. 43 - The feats for Celestial Bloodline struck me as very odd - Mobility, mounted combat, ride-by attack, and weapon finesse? Actually, alot of the feats seem odd, it makes me curious what the criteria was.
Wizard:
Pg. 49 - Under Arcane Bond, it states that if you choose an item to bond with, you may enchant it as if you had the required feat - does the wizard have to otherwise qualify to enchant the item? For example, Forge Ring and Craft Staff require caster level 12. Can a wizard with those items not enchant it until 12th caster level?
Pg. 194 - Under Arcane Schools - "Whenever a wizard attains the listed level, he can choose one spell from his school to prepare every day as a bonus spell." - there is no mention of whether the Wizard has to have the spell in his spellbook in order to prepare it. Is this intentional?
***
I know Class Discussion isn't open yet, but my players are starting to consider what classes they'll play, and I'd like some ideas on how I might handle some of these issues (especially the Rogue, Monk and Wizard).
/ali

tergiver |

Rogue:
Pg. 39 - Under Rogue Talents, it states that a rogue cannot select an individual talent more than once - does (should) this include the combat trick (feat) and weapon training (wpn focus) talents?
Good question - it could go either way. I'd vote for "can be selected more than once but applies to different feats and focuses".
Wizard:
Pg. 49 - Under Arcane Bond, it states that if you choose an item to bond with, you may enchant it as if you had the required feat - does the wizard have to otherwise qualify to enchant the item? For example, Forge Ring and Craft Staff require caster level 12. Can a wizard with those items not enchant it until 12th caster level?
I've wondered this myself. I lean toward 'no' now that the wizard doesn't get the 50% cost savings from the item. I don't see a problem with a 1st level wizard having a ring of featherfall or a low-level wizard with a low-level staff.
These are good questions, and I'd be interested in the developer's thoughts.

nblade |

Rogue:
Pg. 39 - Under Rogue Talents, it states that a rogue cannot select an individual talent more than once - does (should) this include the combat trick (feat) and weapon training (wpn focus) talents?
The way I read it yes. That said, I'm in the boat that maybe you should be able to take some of them twice or more. I'll have to ponder more on this.
Wizard:
Pg. 49 - Under Arcane Bond, it states that if you choose an item to bond with, you may enchant it as if you had the required feat - does the wizard have to otherwise qualify to enchant the item? For example, Forge Ring and Craft Staff require caster level 12. Can a wizard with those items not enchant it until 12th caster level?
That is an interesting question. I had to re-read the section twice. I'm not sure what to think. I'm likely to say yes. Either way, it needs to be spelled out.

zwyt |

Posted this in the main general area with no responses, I thought it must have gotten overlooked because surely somebody has something to say on this so since I see a thread dealing with classes I will toss it out here to see what response I get. It Concerns the Bard:
Ok the text says the following:
"Starting a bardic performance effect is a standard action.
Some bardic performance abilities require concentration,
which means the bard must take a standard action each
round to maintain the ability. Even while using a bardic
performance ability that doesn’t require concentration,
a bard cannot cast spells, activate magic items by spell
completion (such as scrolls), or activate magic items by
magic word (such as wands). Bardic performance has
specific limitations, depending on the type of Perform
skill used to activate it. Bardic performance activated with
Perform (act) or Perform (dance) requires line of sight to
the targets of its effects and does not affect blind creatures.
Bardic performance activated with Perform (comedy) and
Perform (oratory) requires the targets to be able to hear the
bard, and such effects are language dependent (although
the bard can activate magic items that require a magic
word, such as wands, while using these types of Perform to
activate bardic performance). Bardic performance activated
using any other type of Perform only requires the targets to
be able to hear the bard. These requirements are in addition
to those listed with each bardic performance ability."
This seems to say that while using Bardic performance that the Bard "cannot cast spells, activate magic items by spell completion (such as scrolls), or activate magic items by magic word (such as wands)", well it actually does say that. Then it says "Bardic performance activated with Perform (act) or Perform (dance) requires line of sight to the targets of its effects and does not affect blind creatures. Bardic performance activated with Perform (comedy) and Perform (oratory) requires the targets to be able to hear the bard, and such effects are language dependent (although the bard can activate magic items that require a magic word, such as wands, while using these types of Perform to activate bardic performance)."
Um is it just me or is the text contradicting itself here? Am I misreading something, I am talking about the parts concerning the activation of magic items that require a magic word specifically. Just a little confused about this.
Charles

Kyrinn S. Eis |
It Concerns the Bard:
Ok the text says the following:
One more reason why the Perform skill needs to be a Class Feature equal to the Bard's level (or at very least 1/2 Class Level), and not used as a skill for them.
But, specifically, there are elements in that section which are just confusing/goofy/etc.
You are not alone in this matter.

zwyt |

zwyt wrote:It Concerns the Bard:
Ok the text says the following:
One more reason why the Perform skill needs to be a Class Feature equal to the Bard's level (or at very least 1/2 Class Level), and not used as a skill for them.
But, specifically, there are elements in that section which are just confusing/goofy/etc.
You are not alone in this matter.
Well I guess that is why its a beta it will be cleared up soon in some eratta or an update probably. There is lots of other good stuff that is not confusing though. :)
Charles