
Gevurah |

A = Empty space
B = Enemy
C = Me, an intellectual
First Question
If I want to move from C to A, passing through B (an enemy's space) using Acrobatics to avoid provoking attacks of opportunity, do I have to:
A) Make one check (Move through an enemy's space)
or
B) Make two checks (one for moving through a threatened area and a second one for moving through an enemy's space)
Second Question
Taking the example above. Lets suppose I don't stop at A and I want to continue advancing, thus leaving the threatened area. Do I make one, two or three (or more) checks?
I would argue that in both cases, granted I have enough speed and I successfully beat the DC, one check for moving through an enemy's space should suffice.
Thanks in advance for taking the time to reply!

SorrySleeping |

1 check. Moving through someones space is still moving through a threatened area just at a higher DC - it isn't a separate action. You don't make 4 checks if you go the long way around the enemy.
You only promote once for each action. But moving around and moving through a space, at least to me, are two different actions. The use up the same action economy, slow if you talk about it that way, it is "one action".

dragonhunterq |
2 people marked this as a favorite. |

Moving through someones space is a subset of moving through a threatened area, not it's own separate action.dragonhunterq wrote:1 check. Moving through someones space is still moving through a threatened area just at a higher DC - it isn't a separate action. You don't make 4 checks if you go the long way around the enemy.You only promote once for each action. But moving around and moving through a space, at least to me, are two different actions. The use up the same action economy, slow if you talk about it that way, it is "one action".
Relevant FAQ You do not provoke twice for a move action (moving into an enemies square and leaving a threatened square). As the only reason to acrobatics (in this situation) is to avoid AoOs - 1 check.

Gevurah |

Moving through someones space is a subset of moving through a threatened area, not it's own separate action.Relevant FAQ You do not provoke twice for a move action (moving into an enemies square and leaving a threatened square). As the only reason to acrobatics (in this situation) is to avoid AoOs - 1 check.
Awesome! Thank you for such a thorough answer.

Ryze Kuja |

dragonhunterq wrote:Moving through someones space is a subset of moving through a threatened area, not it's own separate action.Awesome! Thank you for such a thorough answer.Relevant FAQ You do not provoke twice for a move action (moving into an enemies square and leaving a threatened square). As the only reason to acrobatics (in this situation) is to avoid AoOs - 1 check.
You could always take the Improved Overrun feat :)

Perfect Tommy |

It is more complicated than that. Generally, it is one AoO for movement.
However, you (or the enemy) that may have multiple feats/class features that obviate one or more checks.
Leaving the empty square is one potential provocation; entering his is another.
Feats/features may cancel one, either or none. But generally speaking- you get one AoO.

![]() |

I would submit that using acrobatics and passing through the space of a creature in which you cannot stop is different from moving into a square that you could theoretically stop in. Acrobatics is letting you do something that you cannot normally do at all and giving you the DC to do it. That's different than a tiny creature entering a medium creature's square. It's one action to perform the Acrobatics check. If you fail you do not enter the creature's square. So you are only provoking from trying to move out of a threatened square, as you never actually enter the creature's square when you fail the roll. The note at the end up the section on Moving Through Threatened Squares about provoking if you fail is there so that you provoke when you try to move through a creature even if you don't actually move anywhere.