Black Dragon

Gevurah's page

* Pathfinder Society GM. 106 posts (110 including aliases). No reviews. No lists. 2 wishlists. 8 Organized Play characters.


RSS

1 to 50 of 106 << first < prev | 1 | 2 | 3 | next > last >>

Simple question, can you select "Specific Archetypes Only" Aspects (e.g. the Cetus aspect from the Pelagic Hunter Archetype) using an Aspect Mask?

If not, why not?

Thanks in advance!


First of all, thank you guys for your replies. I can see we all more or less agree on how the item works.

Now, of the three points mentioned, I cared most about the last (whether the spell is lost if the ring is lent), and, again, I see we all agree the spell is maintained.

Just to play devil's advocate, I'll give you the ruling that made me open this thread to begin with:

Ring of Spell Knowledge wrote:
"...the wearer must still encounter a written, active, or cast version of the spell and succeed at a DC 20 Spellcraft check to teach the spell to the ring. Thereafter, the arcane spellcaster may cast the spell as though she knew the spell and it appeared on her class’ spell list."
My GM wrote:
To me this implies that removing it and giving it to wear loses the spell within and the new wearer must follow the process as outlined within the item, as support for this i'll note that the item has no text on 'finding it with a spell already in' unlike other such items which might be similar.

In my honest opinion, all that this extract of text implies is that when you find a Ring of Spell Knowledge in a quest or a hoard, the ring may be empty as it "...is only a storage space."; although, not necessarily.

What's your take on this, guys?

Thanks in advance!


Just to be sure:

1. Do I have to pay spell casting services to add a spell to a brand new Ring of Spell Knowledge?

2. Once I've got the ring with a spell inside, is the spell spent once I cast it for the first time?

3. If I remove the ring for whatever reason (e.g. to lend it to another spontaneous spell caster) is the spell that was inside lost?

Now, I would say 1. yes, 2. no, 3. no. But some of the guys in my group disagree, so I decided to ask here to see if I can get an unbiased opinion.

Thanks in advance!

1/5

Just to be sure:

1. Do I have to pay spell casting services to add a spell to a brand new Ring of Spell Knowledge?

2. Once I've got the ring with a spell inside, is the spell spent once I cast it for the first time?

3. If I remove the ring for whatever reason (e.g. to lend it to another spontaneous spell caster) is the spell that was inside lost?

Now, I would say 1. yes, 2. no, 3. no. But some of the guys in my group disagree, so I decided to ask here to see if I can get an unbiased opinion.

Thanks in advance!

1/5

Fortunately, they didn't even attempt to ring the bell.

1/5

Gevurah wrote:

I'm running this scenario tomorrow and I've got a couple of questions I didn't see answered on the spoilers thread.

** spoiler omitted **

As I'm writing this question, I've come to realize the chronicle is from 2010 while the book where the actual item appears if from 2014. So, I'm guessing back in 2010 the item was rather just a concept.

Still, any advice is welcome.

Thanks in advance!

Never mind the last post, I just read the Secondary Success Conditions document and there I can find the answer to my first question.

About my second question, I will just assume the item is not meant to be used in this scenario.

1/5

I'm running this scenario tomorrow and I've got a couple of questions I didn't see answered on the spoilers thread.

THERE BE SPOILERS:

First, in order to identify the bell in the church as the actual Bell of Obedience, the chronicle asks for a Bardic Knowledge check, which no longer exists. What check should I ask for instead? (the best I could come up with is a DC30 Spellcraft check, but that seems a bit high for a low level party).

Second, the chronicle doesn't mention whether the bell is usable at the time the players find it, or if it is within the 8 hour recovery period, nor does it mention the material of the bell's yoke (I'm assuming oak, as it is previously mentioned that the bell has a "soothing ring". Also, it is located inside a prison).

As I'm writing this question, I've come to realize the chronicle is from 2010 while the book where the actual item appears if from 2014. So, I'm guessing back in 2010 the item was rather just a concept.

Still, any advice is welcome.

Thanks in advance!

1/5

First off, I'm fairly new to PFS, so please bear with me.

I recently played Scenario 30: Cassomir's Locker with a party of mostly newly created companions, so we played the lowest tier (1-2). I played with a lvl 3 character.

The Max Gold by Tier table goes like this:
Tier 1-2 505
Tier 3-4 1,266
Tier 6-7 3,172

How much gold should have I gotten for this scenario?

Thanks in advance!


Selvaxri wrote:
Improved Natural Attack is legal...

Nice catch, I'll probably take this feat eventually.

Selvaxri wrote:
Another magic item to consider: Dire Collar...

It is a nice way to save a spell slot, but Animal Companions have limited Item Slots and the cat already wears an Amulet of Mighty Fists.

Thanks again.


Selvaxri wrote:
There is the "Beast-Bond Brand" magic item

Selvarxi, you're a lifesaver and Beast Bond Brand is a godsend. I'm definitely retraining out Reach Spell.

I usually hate wondrous items with a finite number of uses, but I've only used Reach Spell once or twice in 7 levels worth of adventures. I think the brand will last for a while.

Selvaxri wrote:
Feat wise...

I suppose Toughness is a solid choice, since I share my HP with the cat. I'm not entirely sold on Steadfast Personality, I already have a decent Will Save.

I'm considering maybe taking Combat Casting or Deific Obedience (Nethys); failing a concentration check has been a problem in the past.

Selvaxri wrote:
What feats does the kitty have?

Right meow it has Power Attack, Toughness, Weapon Focus (Bite), and Weapon Focus (Claws). For its next feat I'm selecting Extra Item Slot (Belt) and buying a Belt of Mighty Constitution.

I believe Improved Natural Attack is not PFS Legal. Vital Strike is nice, but the Cat can attack from 3 to 6 times per round (with a hasted pounce) which, IMHO, trumps Vital Strike. Also, taking Vital Strike would require that I allocate at least 1 ability point into INT (since the feat doesn't appear in the basic list), and the're all already spent.

Selvaxri wrote:
as for out of combat healing- spend the prestige for a Wand of Infernal Healing.

Agreed, this is much better than spending a feat on it. Great advice.


Andy Brown wrote:
(Where's Receive Spell from?)

Its a trick, it appears in Ultimate Wilderness.


1. Can I get Compel Hostility to work on my Animal Companion via Share Spells?

Share Spells (Ex) wrote:
The druid may cast a spell with a target of “You” on her animal companion (as a spell with a range of touch) instead of on herself. A druid may cast spells on her animal companion even if the spells normally do not affect creatures of the companion's type (animal). Spells cast in this way must come from a class that grants an animal companion. This ability does not allow the animal to share abilities that are not spells, even if they function like spells.

2. If so, does the Animal Companion take the immediate action to attempt to redirect the attack towards him or does the caster take the immediate action?

3. Assuming the Animal Companion takes the immediate action to redirect the attack. Do I need to teach the beast to use this spell via Receive Spell?

Receive Spell wrote:
The companion has been trained to be the recipient of a specific spell (chosen at the time the animal is taught the trick), allowing it to fully take advantage of the spell’s effects. The spell should be one that grants the companion an ability it might not normally be intelligent enough to make use of or one that it might not even realize it has (such as air walk ). The companion is able to recognize when it has been affected by this spell and can take full advantage of the spell’s effects. At the GM’s discretion, a companion can also be trained to receive certain nonspell effects, such as those granted by an elixir of fire breathing. The companion can be taught this trick multiple times; each time it learns this trick, it becomes trained to utilize a different spell effect.

Thanks in advance!


I’m playing a Human Sylvan Sorcerer (currently lvl 7) with a Big Cat as Animal Companion.

Her Stats are:
STR 7
DEX 10
CON 16
INT 9
WIS 14
CHA 19

I took the Eye for Talent alternate racial trait, so I didn’t get any extra feat at first level. For lvls 1 and 3 I took Boon Companion and Totem Beast (Bull).

I also took Reach Spell at lvl 5 and I was planning on taking Distant Spell Link at lvl 7. But so far I’ve had little use to extend the reach of my spells, so I’m having second thoughts on it. I’m even thinking about retraining my lvl 5 feat.

The idea of the build is pretty obvious. She starts by casting Haste on the party and sending her Juggernaut to the front row and attack. On the following turns she stays away from the battlefield but in range for close range spells and keeps buffing the beast with spells such as Shield, Fly, Vine Strike, False Life, Protection from Evil, ect. She also uses Shield Companion to serve as an extra energy tank to the cat. If someone gets close or attempts to attack the Sorcerer, she tries to get away via Mirror Image, Invisibility, Dimension Door (eventually) or the like.

I’m considering keeping Reach Spell for emergencies and taking Spirit's Gift (Life Spirit) as my lvl 7 feat to heal the beast out of battle; not being a divine caster, she doesn’t have easy access to cure spells.

I’m still indecisive as to which feat or chain of feats to take. Any suggestions?

EDIT: Oh, I forgot to mention, please keep it PFS legal.

1/5

SCPRedMage wrote:
Abilities that provoke attacks of opportunities say so; if it doesn't say it provokes an AoO, it doesn't.

Can't argue with that logic.

I'm running The Silver Mount Collection tomorrow. This and reconstruct are gonna make the encounters way more challenging and fun.

Thanks SCPRedMage!

1/5

Have: Extra Hours

Want: Grippli

1/5

Usually, Extraordinary Abilities don't provoke.

Extraordinary Abilities (Ex) wrote:
Using an extraordinary ability is usually not an action because most extraordinary abilities automatically happen in a reactive fashion. Those extraordinary abilities that are actions are usually standard actions that cannot be disrupted, do not require concentration, and do not provoke attacks of opportunity.

The thing is, Self-Repair (the one that appears in the Gearsman Robot) is actually a full-round action.

Self-Repair (Ex) wrote:
A gearsman’s nanites heal it of damage at the rate of a number of hit points per hour equal to its Hit Dice (4 hit points per hour for most gearsmen). Up to once per day, as a full-round action, it can heal any robot it touches of 4d6 points of damage—if a gearsman uses this ability on itself, it automatically heals the maximum amount: 24 points of damage.

Emphasis mine. Would this specific Extraordinary Ability provoke?

Thanks in advance!

1/5

Steven Schopmeyer wrote:
I would say add one wave per encounter that they have the golem target the charau-ka instead of the champion, not an additional wave per attack. This encounter is rough enough with six or seven waves. Definitely describe the effects of the champion running unchecked.

I agree, more than one extra wave per encounter would be overkill.

Thanks for the input.

1/5

Lau Bannenberg wrote:

I'd go with one extra group the first time the golem controller focuses on little monkeys instead of the big one, and make it very clear that the two are related. Then they probably won't do it again.

Once they defeat the champion I'd no longer penalize them for using the golem to wipe smaller monkeys.

Yeah I guess the one extra group will suffice.

Also, once the champion is defeated, the golem overrides the player's control and goes back to sleep.

Thanks for your reply.

1/5

I'm running this scenario tomorrow for a mid tier (3-4) group. They're fairly experienced and I doubt they don't take the hint...

Hint:
that the PC controlling the cold iron golem should focus its attacks on the angazhani champion and avoid attacking the charau-ka

...however, if they don't take the hint, this could result in a swarming of apes, and it has TPK potential if they go this way.

Am I reading this correctly?

Page 13, Top Paragraph:
...For each time the champion does this, make the PCs battling the charau-ka fight yet another encounter with them.

I mean, do I add another group "each time"?, resulting in possibly more than three groups per wave.

Or should I add just one extra group each wave, notwithstanding the're focusing on the wrong thing over and over again?

Granted, the same paragraph also mentions:

Description:
Any time the PC controlling the iron golem spends a turn fighting the charau-ka instead of the angazhani champion, describe the champion smashing defenses and laying waste to entire groups of Pathfinders and camp defenders.

I suppose if I emphasize this, it should disuade them from focusing on the wrong thing, but who knows...

Thanks in advance!

1/5

EvilMinion wrote:
Should probably be in the GM forum.

Oh, I didn't know there was one, my bad.

1/5

I'm running this scenario tomorrow for a mid tier (3-4) group. They're fairly experienced and I doubt they don't take the hint...

Hint:
that the PC controlling the cold iron golem should focus its attacks on the angazhani champion and avoid attacking the charau-ka

...however, if they don't take the hint, this could result in a swarming of apes, and it has TPK potential if they go this way.

Am I reading this correctly?

Page 13, Top Paragraph:
...For each time the champion does this, make the PCs battling the charau-ka fight yet another encounter with them.

I mean, do I add another group "each time"?, resulting in possibly more than three groups per wave.

Or should I add just one extra group each wave, notwithstanding the're focusing on the wrong thing over and over again?

Granted, the same paragraph also mentions:

Description:
Any time the PC controlling the iron golem spends a turn fighting the charau-ka instead of the angazhani champion, describe the champion smashing defenses and laying waste to entire groups of Pathfinders and camp defenders.

I suppose if I emphasize this, it should disuade them from focusing on the wrong thing, but who knows...

Thanks in advance!

1/5

Awesome!, thank you guys.

1/5

Lets suppose your medium sized PC has a way of attacking mid-movement (e.g. Spring Attack, Circling Mongoose, etc.). Can you move into an ally's occupied square, attack and then continue moving?

Thanks in advance!

1/5

SCPRedMage wrote:
Gevurah wrote:
Just to help me understand this more clearly
If it helps, consider the fact that Sleight of Hand can be used for more than just stealing items without being noticed...

Got it, thank you all for your kind help.

1/5

Just to help me understand this more clearly, since I'm joining a Thieve's Guild and I'm using Sleight of Hand to perform Day Job checks... what is supposed to be my Day Job?

I always supposed it was stealing without being noticed.

1/5

Does the Thieve's Guild Membership Vanity's bonus for stealing with Sleight of Hand applies to Day Job checks?.

This appears in the Pathfinder Society Field Guide.

Since you're joining a Thieve's Guild, I'm assuming you're stealing as a Day Job.

My PFS GM claims that since this is a circumstance bonus and not an untyped bonus, it does not apply to Day Job checks.

Thieves’ Guild (4 PP):
Nearly every community, from the smallest village to the teeming metropolis, has a criminal underground, and most have one or more thieves’ guilds to look out for the interests of those on the opposite side of the law. As a member of one such thieves’ guild, you gain a +2 circumstance bonus on Sleight of Hand checks to steal items without being noticed. You can use Sleight of Hand to make Day Job rolls.

PFS Guild Guide:
Permanent bonuses from the following list affect your Day Job check as they would any check for the rolled skill. Temporary bonuses from sources other than crafter’s fortune do not affect Day Job checks.
• Equipment
• Feats
• Racial bonuses
• Class features
• Traits
• Familiar bonuses
• Crafter’s fortune spell

Thanks in advance!

1/5

Awesome! Thank you SCPRedMage for such a thorough answer.

1/5

Can I upgrade a pair of Slippers of Scampering to Slippers of Spider Climbing by paying the difference?

Sounds to me like they're basically the same item with different duration.

1/5

It was worth a try, thank guys!

1/5

Given that the Gloves apply to melee touch attacks, weapons and unarmed strikes, I don't see any logical reason they would not apply to Claw Attacks. Then again, some rules are not meant to be logical, but to bring balance.

I did some digging and found this thread about considering Natural Weapons wielded weapons. To be honest, there seems to be a lot of variance in opinion, so I don't know what to think.

Later I was pointed out that both the Deliquescent Gloves and the Poisoner's Gloves have a similar wording but do specify they can be used with Natural Weapons. Therefore, given this precedent, the Demonic Smith's Gloves may not apply to Natural Attacks.

Deliquescent Gloves wrote:
...If the wearer uses that hand to wield a weapon or make an attack with an unarmed strike or natural weapon, that attack gains the corrosive weapon special ability.

Finally, I noticed both the Deliquescent Gloves and the Poisoner's Gloves appear in Ultimate Equipment, whereas the Demonic Smith's Gloves appear in Inner Sea Combat, and maybe that's why the wording is slightly different, but the intention may be the same.

But that's a bit of a stretch, whats your take on this?


Meirril wrote:
Yes, because you are 'wielding' a 'natural weapon'. The item doesn't make a distinction between 'natural weapon' and '(manufactured) weapon'.

I did a little more digging and found this thread about considering Natural Weapons wielded weapons. To be honest, there seems to be a lot of variance in opinion, so I don't know what to think.

Later I was pointed out that both the Deliquescent Gloves and the Poisoner's Gloves have a similar wording but do specify they can be used with Natural Weapons. Therefore, given this precedent, the Demonic Smith's Gloves may not apply to Natural Attacks.

Deliquescent Gloves wrote:
...If the wearer uses that hand to wield a weapon or make an attack with an unarmed strike or natural weapon, that attack gains the corrosive weapon special ability.

Finally, I noticed both the Deliquescent Gloves and the Poisoner's Gloves appear in Ultimate Equipment, whereas the Demonic Smith's Gloves appear in Inner Sea Combat, and maybe that's why the wording is slightly different, but the intention may be the same.

But that may be a bit of a stretch, whats your take on this?

1/5

Awesome catch! For whatever reason it didn't occur to me to look first into additional resources.

The book with the race restrictions is Inner Sea Races.

Thank you both!


Do the Demonic Smith's Gloves work with Natural Attacks such as Claws?

Thanks in advance!

1/5

Lupine Robe appears on the Wondrous Items section in Inner Sea Races, which begins with:

Inner Sea Races pg. 228 wrote:
The following wondrous items are generally available only to members of the indicated race or ethnicity

However, at the end of the item's description it states:

Inner Sea Races pg. 233 wrote:
If the wearer is a kitsune, he can spend two of the robe’s daily uses to add 1d10 on a skill check instead of 1d6

Can a human or any other race purchase such item in PFS?. My halfling sure could use one.

Thanks in advance!


dragonhunterq wrote:

Acrobatics

Moving through someones space is a subset of moving through a threatened area, not it's own separate action.

Relevant FAQ You do not provoke twice for a move action (moving into an enemies square and leaving a threatened square). As the only reason to acrobatics (in this situation) is to avoid AoOs - 1 check.

Awesome! Thank you for such a thorough answer.


A = Empty space
B = Enemy
C = Me, an intellectual

First Question
If I want to move from C to A, passing through B (an enemy's space) using Acrobatics to avoid provoking attacks of opportunity, do I have to:

A) Make one check (Move through an enemy's space)

or

B) Make two checks (one for moving through a threatened area and a second one for moving through an enemy's space)

Second Question
Taking the example above. Lets suppose I don't stop at A and I want to continue advancing, thus leaving the threatened area. Do I make one, two or three (or more) checks?

I would argue that in both cases, granted I have enough speed and I successfully beat the DC, one check for moving through an enemy's space should suffice.

Thanks in advance for taking the time to reply!


nicholas storm wrote:
Take the trait irrepressible...

Awesome catch, I didn't know about that trait. I'm definitely buying the book and taking it.

Thanks!


So I finally settled on a more balanced build:

STR 7
DEX 14
CON 14
INT 13
WIS 11
CHA 18

The focus of the build is the Animal Companion anyway, I don't really need a high CHA score.

I suppose, later in the game, when compulsions become more frequent, I can take Steadfast Personality to have a more decent WILL save.

Thanks guys!


1 person marked this as a favorite.
nicholas storm wrote:
I think I would do STR 7 DEX 14 CON 14 INT 13 WIS 8 CHA 19, then raise CHA to 20 at level 4.

Wouldn't it be worse to dump WIS?


I'm about to create a Sylvan Sorcerer for PFS and I want these to be her starting ability scores:

STR 7
DEX 10
CON 14
INT 12 (13 at 4th lvl for Spell Specialization)
WIS 10
CHA 20

She will be focused primarily in her Animal Companion, with only a couple of offensive spells (Daze, Burning Hands, Fireball/Lightning Bolt). The Sorcerer will be far away from combat whenever possible, using cantrips and commanding her AniCom into battle, and eventually using spells like Fireball (selective) to help from behind; so I don't expect her to be in direct danger most of the time.

I will be avoiding any kind of touch attack or ranged touch attack spells for obvious reasons (most of my slots are occupied with Abjuration or Transmutation spells anyway).

Most full casters are doomed to have low AC and also bad REF and FORT saves anyway, although, the low initiative will probably hurt.

How detrimental do you think a low DEX score will be?

Thanks in advance!


Awesome answer! Thank you Ryze Kuja

I do believe I can't purchase Haste scrolls as Wizards get it at 3rd lvl. I would have to have it directly cast on me by a Medium, and there is none in our party.


When I take the Favored Maneuver vigilante talent, can I choose a "Improved Feat" without meeting its prerequisites?

Spoiler:
Favored Maneuver (Ex): The vigilante selects one type of combat maneuver to be a favored maneuver. He gains the Improved feat corresponding to that combat maneuver (if one exists). He gains a +2 circumstance bonus on combat maneuver checks with that combat maneuver against a foe that is unaware of the vigilante’s presence at the start of his combat maneuver. A vigilante can select this talent more than once. Each time, it applies to a different combat maneuver.

Thanks in advance!


Invisibility is certainly a great option, specially if I'm having my ass handed to me during combat.

Bladed Dash seems nice as well, but I hesitate to spend that much coin in just one attack.

Keep'em coming


Claxon wrote:

They did this to prevent abuse.

Because before that FAQ people were taking off the headband and claiming they could redistribute the newly gained skill points (when you put it back on) and this was the best solutoin they could think of to do that.

Int gains do retroactively increase your skill points...except with enhancement bonuses to int from headbands which come with specific skills attached.

Thank you Claxon, this clarifies the issue to me.

Cheers!


I'm playing a PFS unchained rogue and I'm thinking about eventually taking the Spell Storing rogue talent.

The idea would be to buy a scroll of whatever could come in handy at the start of each adventure and store the spell in myself before we depart (hoping I don't roll a natural 1) so I can use it during the boss fight.

If I have to spend the spell before the boss fight, I'll just ask the party's cleric to help me store a cure spell or whatever, so I always have something up my sleeve.

The rogue is rather combat inclined. Which spells would you recommend me to store before a combat?

Off the top of my head I can think of:

* Shield (I already have a wand, but a low CHA score)
* Mirror Image
* Cat's Grace
* Cure Light/Moderate Wounds

Bear in mind that I can store spells from any spell list so long as it is a "...single targeted harmless spell of up to 2nd level. The spell must have a casting time of 1 standard action".

Thanks in advance!

EDIT: modified the post to be PFS legal.


Java Man wrote:
...enhancemwnt bonuses to intelligence do not increase skill points...

Java Man, thank you for your input!

Could you point me to where in the rules is the quoted text stated?


I did a bit of digging and couldn't find anything in the forums nor the FAQs to satisfy my curiosity regarding this issue.

Okay so, I get that when you first don a Headband of Vast Intelligence, it grants you a number of ranks in a skill associated with that headband equal to your total Hit Dice.

I also get that you do not get additional retroactive ranks (other than the above mentioned ranks for the associated skill) due to the increase to INT.

Now, lets say I have a 2nd level Halfling Rogue with a INT score of 12 who just found a headband of vast intelligence +2 with the swim skill associated to it. Luckily he hasn't invested ranks in that skill so far. The Rogue dons the headband and is granted 2 retroactive ranks specifically to the swim skill and, after 24 hours, his INT score permanently increases to 14. So far, so good.
A few adventures later, the Rogue reaches 3rd lvl. How do I calculate the new ranks he gains? (for this example, he assigns his favored class bonus elsewhere)

a) He gets 10 ranks to be assigned to any skill of his choosing.

b) He gets 9 ranks to be assigned to any skill of his choosing, and 1 additional rank that has to be invested in the swim skill.

c) He only gets 9 ranks to be assigned to any skill of his choosing.

Thanks in advance for taking the time to answer!


Sebastian Mazur wrote:
...I've been looking into crafting rules in pathfinder and boy, i feel Paizo doesn't really like player-crafted items much, at least judging by how the rules are set up...

Alternatively, if your GM allows 3rd party material, there's this book called Making Craft Work which really simplifies the rules for crafting stuff.

Judging by the book's introduction, seems like its just what you're looking for:

Making Craft Work wrote:

The rules for the Craft skill don't work very well or make much sense. Just about everyone realizes this, yet despite moving from version 3 to version 3-1/2 to the Pathfinder Roleplaying Game, spotting improvement in Craft is like trying to figure out the square root of orange.

I've often read complaints about Craft in various forums. The general consensus usually ends up being, yes, the Craft rules are at least rather wonky, but the game isn't Commerce & Craftsmen, so just spend your skill points on something else that'll actually be useful. As far as consensuses go, that one's pretty lousy. If a player wants his PC to be a craftsman, that ought to be a perfectly acceptable desire for a pretty wide range of campaigns.

Wouldn't it be nice if you could find some Craft rules that at least made an effort at making more sense and tried to fix the wonkiness in the rules as written?

Well, I too think it would be nice, and so I sat down and decided to do just that. I've had these rules laying around for quite a while. I dusted them off, polished them up, and now you have them too. Should you have comments or criticisms, please don't hesitate to shoot me an email.

Good gaming!

Cheers!


Wonderstell wrote:

The 'complementary' Rogue Talents are just talents the designer of the archetype felt would 'complement' the flavor. They're not telling you that you have to take those talents, but they're telling you that they envisioned the archetype with some, if not all, of those Rogue Talents.

So its just flavor text? Got it, makes sense.


Just wondering. I know the general rule states that:

Rogue Talents wrote:
"...A rogue cannot take a talent more than once, unless the talent states otherwise..."

However, the Knife Master archetype lists these as complementary rogue talents: befuddling strike, combat trick, offensive defense, surprise attack, underhanded, and weapon training.

The ones I highlighted are already on the rogue's list. Does this mean I could choose to take any of these once more?

I'm inclined to say "no" because, what would be the point of taking "surprise attack" twice?. But also, what is the point of mentioning these if they're already on the rogue's list?

Your input is much appreciated!

1 to 50 of 106 << first < prev | 1 | 2 | 3 | next > last >>