Interpretation Problem


Rules Questions

Dark Archive

Maybe, for no english, perhaps certain rules seem confusing to us.

In armor, shield theme,
Don a shield (core pag 153) and Ready or Drop a Shield (core pag 187) is the same action, or they are two different action?
If are two, what is the difference between them?

Thanks


From page 153:

Quote:
Don: This column tells how long it takes a character to put the armor on. (One minute is 10 rounds.) Readying (strapping on) a shield is only a move action.

"Don a shield", "ready a shield", and "strap on a shield" are the same action.

It takes one Move Action. If you have base attack bonus +1 or higher, and you spend your Move Action to actually move, then it becomes a Free Action instead.

-

Similarly, "remove a shield" and "drop a shield" are the same action.

If the shield is currently donned / readied, then it takes a Move Action (or a Free Action with a move; see above) to drop it.

If the shield is being carried but is not donned, then dropping it is a Free Action.


If I'm understanding, English is NOT your first language.

To "don" a shield means to equip it or put it on. By game mechanic terms this is the same thing as to "ready" a shield. In both cases a move action is required. The only point of confusion should be if the shield is worn or carried. Most shields are strapped onto the arm AND gripped by a handle; but under some circumstances, you may just carry the shield by its handle.

To "drop" a shield takes a move action IF it is strapped to your arm. If it is just being held or carried, dropping your shield is a free action, just like any other held item.

Same type of action is used to accomplish both things, but the first is about putting gear on, the second about taking it off. Hope that helps.

Scarab Sages

sorry but I do not understand.
I need a movement action to remove the shield.
movement action to wrap the shield and movement action so that the shield of the ac.
All this in pathifinder 1.
Is that so?
and I can remove the shield as a movement action.
Embracing as a move action
and how to hit standard?
Or if you take another movement action, prepare the scan and then hit
Than for your answer

Dark Archive

Yes, I Spanish.

Sysryke, thanks, maybe, this is the confused part, and in our translation, the thing is worth, very time, in dude case, always look the original version. xD

Thanks Sandlice and Sysryke.

Scarab Sages

sorry
remove not but equip

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Interpretation Problem All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions