Can an Attack Be Blocked Twice


Rules Discussion

Grand Lodge

A character has a Protector Tree with them.
An attack "hits" for 20pts.
The tree blocks 10 points.
Assuming a raised shield, Can the character block the rest with his shield?


In this case, yes. But you could not use the Shield Block reaction twice on the same attack, for example.


1 person marked this as a favorite.

Seems just like provoking Reactive Strike from two creatures at once to me. Seems fine.

Liberty's Edge

Darksol the Painbringer wrote:
In this case, yes. But you could not use the Shield Block reaction twice on the same attack, for example.

If I have 2 reactions, a raised shield, the Shield Block reaction and the Shield spell, I think it can be done twice.


So generally speaking, everyone only has one reaction a round. Although special feats do add additional reactions.

Protector tree is basically creating an additional creature with it's own reaction.

There is no reason why 2 different "creatures" both can't react to the same thing (an attack). Although I don't know of how to resolve those reactions if they have the same trigger* and would somehow impact each other.

If one reaction was triggered off of another reaction it would go first in order of operations (I think). Hopefully there aren't too many things like that though.

I think, if you had multiple reaction actions available to you, you would only be permitted to use one per trigger.

So while someone might have Quick Shield Block, which grants an extra reaction for Shield Block, I don't think you could use both reactions to do 2 instances of shield block on the same attack. But you could use both by using it on separate attacks in one round.


2 people marked this as a favorite.

Limitations on Triggers covers this scenario. You can only use one action (reaction or free action with trigger) in response to a particular event happening. But that is a per-character limit. A different character (or spell effect) can use their own reaction to the same trigger.

So as was mentioned previously, you couldn't shield block the same attack twice even if you have a second reaction that could be used for shield block.

You also couldn't both Shield Block and Reactive Strike against the same event if it somehow triggers both (maybe magus and their ability to shield block spells and they could either shield block the spell or reactive strike for the spellcasting).

But Protector Tree can use its ability separately and independently. So if you shield block, that doesn't prevent protector tree from also blocking damage. Nor does it prevent your Amulet Thaumaturge and Champion allies from blocking damage from the same attack too (though I don't think the resist all would stack).

Liberty's Edge

Good thing the Protector Tree does not count as an ally of any Paladin in the party.


The Raven Black wrote:
Good thing the Protector Tree does not count as an ally of any Paladin in the party.

Which is why it can stack. One uses a reaction, the other does not. The better question becomes whether the Protector Tree takes damage before or after the Shield Block, but honestly that is extremely corner case.

However, you can only use one reaction to a given trigger, even if you have multiple abilities with the same trigger, and/or have multiple reactions. So no double Shield Block on the same attack.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder Second Edition / Rules Discussion / Can an Attack Be Blocked Twice All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.