Shade of the Uskwood

simon hacker's page

179 posts (606 including aliases). 1 review. No lists. No wishlists. 2 aliases.




Quick rules Quesition as im slightly confused

If a creature had multiple attacks (a giant octopus with 8 tentacles or a Hydra with 5 heads for instance)can it spread these attacks amoungst multiple targets in the same round if in range?

I note that the rules for natural attacks say "Attacks made with natural weapons, such as claws and bites, are melee attacks that can be made against any creature within your reach (usually 5 feet)" but it dosnt actually specify that you can use all attacks on different targets.

or Does this mean they can only hit one target with extra attacks?


I have a player who is playing a storm druid, he has reached level 9 and can choose a 2nd domain but we are both confused as to when he gets the powers listed. This is all that the book entry says:

Windlord: At 9th level, a storm druid can select another domain or subdomain from those available to her through her nature bond. This ability replaces venom immunity.

Does he get all the powers listed for the domain straight away or does he get the first power at level 9 then the next power as he levels up form level 9.

For example Weather domain gives you storm burst at level 1 then at level 8 you get Lightning Lord. So does he get both powers at level 9 or the first power at level 9 and the 2nd power at level 16?

the player thinks he gets everything at level 9. But then i'm not sure as it does seem a pretty overpowered level upgrade, then again immunity to all poisons is pretty good for a normal druid at that level?

Anyone any ideas, the entry in UM is very unclear on this?


2 people marked this as FAQ candidate.

I'm planning to run the sunken pyramid adventure and the first encounter is a raid on a coastal village.

My question is aquatic subtypes if they are not amphiboous can't breathe air so how long can they survive out of water?

Am I thinking you just reverse the rules for drowning?


This came up last night. the party met a Flesh Golem in a room in a dungeon. To cut a long story short they were having problems defeating it (all 3 PC's were either invisible, in obscuring mist or hiding form it, the creature could not see what was hitting it or where it was coming from so it has no idea the party was a threat). They eventually decided to retire to another room to re-think options. The rouge carries a skull in which he makes it talk using ventriqusim and decided he would throw the skull into the room and talk through it to pacify the beast. It worked and the Golem carried it around like a doll. He then, using bluff and ventriliquism told the Golem to go outside the dungeon and wait, which it did.

The player has now decided he would like to try and control it and take it back to their ship (we are playing skull and shackles) to use as a slave/heavy hitter/shock troop.

My question is how does the party gain control of the beast? The original master died a long time ago and it has been stuck in the dungeon for years. The party consists of 3 players all 6th level, a swashbuckler, a storm druid and a wizard. I can see references on how to create one but nothing on how to gain control of one.

Anyone know what they need to do or where I can find the reference for this?


I have a player with a wand of cure light wounds (I have just found out how much I hate these as a GM now lol, he bought it form a magic shop with full 50 charges), he is using it and marking off the charges but seems to be using it rather too much.

Case in point. Trap set off squishing him and casuing 50hp damage. He was stabilised and brought back to zero then promptley used up enough charges to heal up to max hp whilst the rest of the party just stood waiting or investingated the room further. I had no problem with this as he was marking the charges off and the other players were pre-occupied anyway. I thought no more of it.

But after the game one of the other players remarked to me that he thought it was a little excessive and is there a rule that says how many times a wand can be used per day for instance?

My thinking is if he has the time nad charges and he only uses 1 charge per standard action it shoudn't matter as once the charges are gone that's it.

Anybody any ideas?


Just a quick question, I think I get it but it seems a bit vague:

I have been playing around with creating a background to see how things work and everything seems to work great apart from conflict to find the alignment.

Using tables 1-52 to 1-55 I have the following:
1-52: murder 8cp
1-54 noble
1-55 pressured or manipulated 2cp

and resolution: secret regret -1cp

this gives me 9cp to add on to 1-53 to determine alignment.
This is where things get confusing. It says: When you determine the total CP, you then must add your CP on one alignment track or distribute the points on both of them—the good-evil track and the lawful chaotic track, as detailed on Table 1–53.

So if i add 9 points on to the lawful track I become chaotic but that means I have nothing to add on the good to evil scale so I would have to make it up or figure it out myself (defeating the purpose of doing this in the first place).

It would seem more logical to me that you would add table 1-52 conflict to the lawful/chaotic track, then add conflict motivation to good/evil track, then you can alter either track with the resolution modifer.

Which seems right here?


I'm reading through the race trying to see how I can make some kind of sense of it and I am utterly confused with the Raker Shoals.

I understand the whole plotting a course bit that's easy but its the distance, perception checks and speed which is really confusing.

It says:The PCs encounter five uncharted reefs while sailing through Raker Shoals. Allow the PCs to make Perception checks to spot a reef before encountering it. The base DC of this check is 5, modified by +1 for every 10 feet of distance. What distance? is this the ships speed? there is no other distance listed so do you just make something up?

But then later is says this: The result of this check determines the distance of the reef from the PCs’ ship when it is spotted. For example, a result of 23 on the Perception check spots the reef 180 feet away. This again has me stumped as I have no idea where 180 feet has comes from and why suddenly the result of 23 becomes 180ft

Added to this later on it says this: For example, if the ship is traveling at a speed of 90feet, a DC 41 Perception check is required to spot a reef 360 feet away, again where the duce has 360ft come from? and what in the heck is this dc 41?

My head really hurts is there anybody that can explain this in a really simple manner so I can understand it? ie suppose the players ship speed is 90ft and give me a simple break down of the perception check needed to spot the reef and where/how the distance away from the ship is worked out?

I just don't get it......


Im getting slightly confused here as to the number of crew a ship can take before they become passengers and take up hold/cargo space.

My group has managed to gather a sizeable crew together. They now have a total of 57 sailors, 7 officers and 1 captain.

If I assume that the officers and Captian have their own cabins then that leaves 57 sailors to berth somehow. The minimum crew to sail a ship is 20 and the max no of passengers is 120. So my question is where are they all berthed and how much extra room if any do they take up?

I am taking it that the minimum crew of 20 is how many crew occupy a standard crew cabin and anything above that needs to be housed in the hull taking up cargo space. But I can’t seem to see anything anywhere to tell me otherwise. Looking at the map of the Mans promise it does seem to indicate this as in the crew space there are 21 hammocks.

I’m assuming that if they are taking up space in the hold then for every 8 extra crew members 1 space of cargo is taken up (150 tonnes of cargo, 10 tonnes per plunder point so 15 plunder points, max passengers 120 so divide 120 by 15 gives 8 passengers per 10tonne space).

This would mean then that they would have to get the ship mod additonial crew space to make a comfortable sleeping area but all that says is it increases the no of passengers by 10%. (12 crew) so my group would need to spend an extra 1500gp to house the extra 27 crew and lose 3 lots of cargo space.

Am I correct???? Its all so confusing


I'm curious as to whether anybody has tried to use the Conan rpg and pc's and port them directly into a pathfinder game? DR and armour is easy to port using UC but the magic isn't. Has anybody tried using the 2 magic systems together? If so what did it turn out?


I'm thinking of using the Lost Messenger at the back of Book 1 but I can't think of how to put the item together.
My thoughts are:

Parrot (Can't find a Toucan so this may fit), make it a clockwork construct then to make it sentient add the druid spell awakened as I want it to have an intelligence score.

or

Animate object, clockwork then awakened as above

Or do I make it an intelligent item?

I don't want to make it a weapon though, more of a curious wonderous item maybe granting a luck bonus or something

Not sure what if any powers to add to it but I see it more as something like Boobo from the original Clash of the Titans. Maybe make it a familiar or animal companion of one the players or all of them, kind of a ship mascot.

Anybody have any ideas on how to construct it orhas anyone done it yet?


I have been reading all the entries so far in isles of the Shackles, Lost Kingdoms and Giants Revised. It seems to be implied but not mentioned that the foul gods worshipped by the Cyclops near the end of their empire may have been the Great Old Ones?

"They made promises to horrid god-beings from other dimensions, nightmarish monsters of impossible size and power who only further twisted the malleable minds of their one-eyed followers."

Am I correct? It seems logical given the above from Lost Empires.


Last night in our session the Druid decided to cast purify food and water on her rum ration. looking at the spell it says it makes poisonsous drink pure and drinkable. As alchol is a poison (in large amounts and the rum is strong stuff) we all agreed that this would be feasable, as water is used in the process of making Rum. the ruling was that the cup of rum turned into Sugary water instead, I guessing this would just be similar and easier than tipping the rum ration away when no-one was looking, and I see no problem with it.

Just wondered if everybody agreed or wether there was a ruling somewhere about this?


Just wondered if anyone could give me an offical rule clarification as I'm a bit lost here.

Hide armour gives AC bonus of +4 and a armor check penalty of -3

Ice armor spell gives same bonus as breastplate AC +6, not sure if the armour check penalty of -4 is applied though.

If Druid casts Ice armour over the hide armour does the AC stack becoming +10 or is it just the highest +6

Also does the penalty stack, so this becomes -7 or is it -3 for the hide or -4 for the spell?

Anybody have any ideas?

see spell decription below for ref:

Ice Armor
School transmutation [cold, water]; Level cleric 1, druid 1 (Gozreh)
Casting Time 1 minute
Components V, S, F (5 gallons of water)
Range 0 ft.
Effect a suit of armor made of ice
Duration 1 hour/level or until destroyed
Saving Throw none; Spell Resistance no
You create a suit of armor made of ice. While cold to the touch,
it does not harm the wearer, especially if worn over normal
clothing (though it can hasten the effects of exposure in cold
environments). It offers the same protection as breastplate
armor, except it has hardness 0 and 30 hit points. If the
intended wearer is submersed in water when you cast this spell,
you may form the armor around the wearer (who may be you);
otherwise the wearer must don the armor normally. Attacks
against the wearer that create heat or fire degrade the armor,
reducing its Armor Class by 1 for every 5 points of fire damage
the wearer takes; when the armor’s AC reaches 0, the spell
ends. Because the ice is slightly buoyant, the wearer gains a +2
circumstance bonus on Swim checks, except when swimming
downward. This armor is freely wearable by druids.


Starting a new game soon and I'm using the 20 point buy system. I have a PC who wants to play a Human druid and has the following stats:

To start with it was:
STR 18, Dex 8, Con 10, Int 14, wis 14, cha 12.

I mentioned that with a low wis it would make things difficult for spells etc. So this was the players answer..

Str 18, dex 8, con 10, int 14, wis 15, cha 10.

Not that I mind, if thats the way he wants to play it fine its all legit but I just can't help think he's missing the point here?


1 person marked this as a favorite.

Well, started this a while ago, took us 10 weeks of 3 hour sessions to get to book 2, nobody bored and some very good roleplaying along the way. Very enjoyable. Now on to part 2 and I have some damn good player backgrounds too which im integrating in to the story which is no mean task.

The trouble is my players have veried off the path and gone for some very intersting options for the expediton. I have to use these ideas as they are too good not to.
1) The pcs had the option of joining either the pathfinder society or the Sargavn government. The 2 other factions-the shackles and the Red Mantis are with the party and play a minor role, the 2 nps Sasha and Aerys are with the party as associates of the factions as the party liked the NPC's and did not want them to leave.

2)I played the Sargavans as british colonials/Romans using the savages as slaves, they got an invite form the Baron, attened dinner for the expedition proposal but hated them so much they went with the pathfinders. They suddenly relised they would have an enemy and using The Red Mantis contact hired an assassin for the Braon as a warning. They are now leaving the expedition in the hands of the Leader, meeting the hermit and leaving town ASAP.

3)They took one look at the map and thought river.., this is where things get awkward for me but also very intersting.

I now have the option of running river of darkness but also now have the ultimate enemey in the Baron who can use the Aspis faction at his disposal. This will pretty much change the path of part 2 bur there are so many plus points I cant pass it up.
The expedition could be wiped out as it heads out with just a few survivors reaching Kalabuto (where the pcs plan to meet them), lots of harrassment from Aspis, guilt over expedition loses etc.

Also now have a plan for part 3, the city is the base for a tribe of lizardmen who worship the serpent folk as gods, they capture humaniods as slaves and sacrifces which will make the Julivere and Pathfinder leader part more beliveable and mean that the players will be the first there to document etc. This means I can make it really pulpy most of the city will be unexplored as the lizardmen only live in one part. There will be haunts, undead, relics, traps and puzzles so hopefully It will get the feel of a real Indy/Doug Mclure adventure.

I am blessed with a group that do things out of the box and I love the idea of the adventure taking a completly differnt turn, what do you guys think?


I thought the same TBH. I have the PDF's and read through them thinking how good this was. Howvever, once I started to analyis it I found it to be a bit of a mess. The first part has so many missing/wrong maps it's difficult to know where you are or what your doing (no downloads for theses btw)and to me the level progression in the first part is silly, at the end of part one they are level 1 then they have 10 days before the first major battle by which point they are between level 6-7 so thats almost 1 level every 2 nights of rest. I had to ditch my plan of running it as there was just way too much work to make it useable. Its shame as the story line is rather good.
There are plans I hear of a pathfinder version so maybe these issues will be resloved. If not it will be on a backburner for me for a long time to come.


I read on the Mongoose web page that the Drow War saga was going to be converted to Pathfinder and released next year. Does anybody have a rough idea when this might happen?

I have the PDF's and am going to be running this for my group sometime next year and a converted version would save me a bit of time. It seems easy to run as is but a new version hopefully will have all the maps etc that are missing form the original and NPC's converted without the hassle of me doing it.


Hi,

I am DMing a Conan game at the moment. We have been playing for a while and all of us are under the assumption that if you have more than 1 attack per round you can only apply this to one target. We have had a new player join us who is playing an archer with rapid shot and he tried to shoot 3 targets with his 3 attacks that round. We all said eh? and he pointed out the full-attack rule in the book. Its VERY vague and seems to be worded the same in the PF book, I think all of us missed read the bit where it says the character does not need to specify targets, we took it as target as it dosnt seem to mention you can hit more than one target anywhere in the combat section. I was wondering if anyone can clarify and elaberate:

Full Attack
If a character gets more than one attack per action because his or her base attack bonus is high enough, because he or she fights with two weapons, because he or she is using a double weapon, or for some special reason, the character must use the full attack action to get his or her additional attacks. The character does not need to specify the targets of his or her attacks ahead of time. The character can see how the earlier attacks turn out before assigning the later ones.

Full attack is a full-round action. Because of this, the only movement a character can take during a full attack is a 5-foot step. The character may take the step before, after, or between the attacks.

If a character gets multiple attacks based on his or her base attack bonus, the character must make the attacks in order from highest bonus to lowest. If the character is using two weapons, the character can strike with either weapon first. If the character is using a double wea­pon, the character can strike with either part of the weapon first.

1: Melee combat seems to be that you can hit and move 5ft then hit another target if you have enough attacks that round

2: How does this work with ranged attacks? it seems to me difficult to loose multiple arrows at mulitiple targets at different ranges in the same round as the aiming would surley be off.

We all had the eurika moment with the melee but ranged we scratched our head and ruled that the targets had to be more or less in a line and no more then 15ft from each other