|1 person marked this as a favorite.|
If a card instructs you to do something impossible, like draw a card from an empty deck, ignore that instruction.
Well, The issue with "Impossible" instructions is perhaps the format. These instructions are not on cards, they are in the OP guide which is not a card. So I don't think it really fits, but lets say that it does anyway.
So the issue we have is with the following two rules, I'll deem "Tiers" and "Hierarchy" for discussion
A character can never begin a scenario with any card that has an adventure deck number higher than her tier.
When this guide tells you to choose cards from yourClass Deck box using the Hierarchy, first set aside all of
the cards that are already in use as part of your character
deck, then choose from your unused cards starting at the
top of this list and working your way down until you have
chosen enough cards.
[...] …and so on, up to the adventure deck number of your current tier.
So lets say you take a card feat at tier 1. At the end of the scenario you follow the following:
After upgrading your deck, if your deck doesn’t haveenough of certain card types to meet the Cards List
requirement on your character card, and your character is
Tier 2 or lower, choose the extra cards you need from your
Class Deck using the Hierarchy in the sidebar on page 7. If
your character is Tier 3 or higher, you may instead choose
appropriate cards that have an adventure deck number at
least 2 lower than your tier.
So you have an empty card feat and you are tier 2 or lower. You go to the Hierarchy (above) and you go through the list until the very end when it says you stop at your current tier.
So the question is....When would you ever get that spell 3 into your deck? What, specifically, is telling you that you can add it to your deck? IMO, Nothing instructs you to add it to your deck and I'd argue that you can't do it. I disagree that the "Tiers" bit is the impossible instruction, as written, because it would never come into play.
I guess, as a result, you'd have one less card in your deck until you tier up. Though I agree with Parody to not pick things that make an illegal deck or character.
If you really wanted to "cheat" the system then play your 2-4th game, grab the spell card feat, and tier up to tier 3. Now the spell3 would be available to be taken through the hierarchy and you'd get it before starting your first scenario playing at tier3. This is a legal play because you gain your tier rewards (thus you gain the card feat and can tier up) before upgrading your deck and before the "Deck Reconstruction"
Obligatory apology--I have no thoughts on Athnul since I haven't played her