Search Posts
With the new streamlined focus point changes, the Oracle's perk of improved focus point recovery becomes largely ineffectual. Without that perk to balance the curse mechanic, it inadvertently makes the Oracle the most limited in casting focus spells than any other spellcaster with no further adjustments. How do you think the Oracle's focus point features will change and adapt in the remaster? I really had no clue how to even guess how they would approach this so I never gave it too much thought. That is until looking through the Oracle playtest. I came across an interesting quirk Oracles used to have and made me mull over this topic. Oracles did not have a focus pool at all and simply advanced their curse to use a focus spell. I could see this being revisited for the remaster and incorporating it with the current focus point mechanics. So imagine, the Oracle will now have the gimmick of being able to use focus spells in two ways. Either they pay in advancing their curse or spending a focus point, instead of paying both like they currently do. What I personally like about this the most is having more control on when you advance your curse, literally "focusing" to repress the curse when using a focus point. On the other hand, this is could be a huge amount of extra focus spells Oracles could cast per combat that could step on the Psychic's shoes a bit, so that may not be okay if nothing else changes. Also, maybe not? Especially if many of the curses stay as punishing as they are, this might be what it takes to make those curses worth the price.
Push, Knockdown, and Grab from the respective eidolon feats all require the eidolon's last action to be a successful Strike. If I were to use this sequence with Act Together, I think I would have to strictly do it this way. 1st action: Eidolon Strike
I wouldn't be able to do it the other way where we Act Together with the Strike and then Push because Act Together becomes the eidolon's last action instead of a Strike. Is that right?
When something calls for your reach and you have multiple things with different reach values, what is actually your reach? The plant eidolon made me ponder on this. Its ability growing vines says
Quote: All your eidolon's melee unarmed attacks gain the reach trait. Its other ability field of roots says Quote: All enemies within your eidolon's reach take damage of the same type and amount as your eidolon's most damaging Strike, depending on their Reflex saves. When field of roots is referring to the eidolon's reach, is there a difference between the eidolon's reach and the eidolon's reach with it's melee unarmed attacks? Hypothetically, if eidolons could use weapons, would that also be a separate instance of its reach, or is it all interchangeable when something asks for your reach?
Before you commit to reacting to a casting of a spell, like with counterspell or an attack of opportunity, would you generally know a who or where a spell is aimed at in terms of targets or area of effect? I guess this goes for any reaction that triggers on the cast, not on the effects of spell like Shadow Siphon. For counterspell, at least you have to know what the spell is beforehand, but where that fireball is pointed at is probably the determining factor for counterspelling it or not. Would you have the luxury of that info though?
Biting Words wrote: You entwine magic with your voice, causing your taunts and jibes to physically harm your enemies. You can attack with your words once when you finish Casting the Spell, and can repeat the attack once on each of your subsequent turns by taking a single action, which has the attack, concentrate, and linguistic traits. After your third attack total, the spell ends. Since the spell doesn't have an initial target, is the auditory trait only asking the caster be able to speak? The attack targets don't have to hear you or the spell? As I understand it, casting the spell is a temporary buff that gives you access to a unique attack. However, the attacks themselves, both the one you can use for free after casting the spell and the two you can use on subsequent turns with one action, don't have the auditory trait. I just need to satisfy the attack, concentrate, and linguistic traits to attack a target with it. So versus a group of common-speaking enemies that have been deafened, can my common-speaking character cast Biting Words and use it to attack those enemies successfully?
I think Astral Rain is intended to have a duration, but RAW it looks like it can get Unleash Psyche bonus damage. Would it get only get bonus damage on both the initial cast or would the triggers on entering creatures also get the bonus? For the amp version, would the added sustain option mean it doesn't get bonus damage altogether or can the initial cast get the bonus but not the follow-up sustains?
Conditions like Frightened, Stunned X, Sickened, and even persistent damage. Also given that the spells have no other effect that needs a duration. I want to know what qualifies for those level 20 spellcaster feats and now the Psychic's Unleash Psyche that care about spells with no duration. I thought it would be as simple as checking if the spell has a listed duration or not but certain spells keep me skeptical. Fear says its duration varies but similar spells that cause Frightened like Weird, Blistering Invective and Agonizing Despair have no listed duration. Daze can cause Stunned 1 and has a listed duration. Ray of Frost can cause a 1 round speed penalty but have no listed duration. Persistent damage spells I've noticed to be consistent as to not having a duration listed at least.
Let's say we're using the Silent Whisper's Message. Does the amp effect care about the spell's target? It seems to have its own range for its effect separate from the cantrip I use. If I cast Message on someone 120 ft away, I can only use the amp effect on myself or an ally within 30 ft? If I cast Message on myself, I don't have to use the amp effect on myself and can target any ally within 30 ft?
For the Witch's Needle of Vengeance and the Oracle's Interstellar Void specifically. I know you roll for each trigger for something like Flaming Sphere but it's very specific on telling you to do so. My instincts say roll only once for the two spells since, unlike Flaming sphere, they aren't specific, but I want to be certain. Bonus question: For Interstellar void, does the fatigue apply (after the save I'm guessing) no matter the save result?
The flammable fumes is a spell that normally deals poison damage but can potentially deal fire damage under specific conditions. It only has the poison trait though and no fire trait. Usually descriptions are pretty good at specifying trait changes but there none for this spell. I assume it’s on purpose becuse fire effects trigger it, which could mean it would trigger itself if it had the fire trait? Is it a poison spell through and through for both the cloud and explosion damage, or should it replace the poison trait with fire for the explosion?
The critical failure result of RK is like a success but with false information. Unlike a regular failure, you won't know that you failed. Failing an RK roll also means you can't attempt to RK for additional knowledge. How do you hide the crit fail result when they want to attempt to roll for additional knowledge since they didn't know they failed? Do you just roll for it but declare it as a regular failure despite the actual result?
I need a quickie rule reminder for myself. Does this part in intimidating glare “you don’t take a penalty if the creature doesn’t understand your language” also apply to this bolded part in demoralize? Quote: If the target does not understand the language you are speaking, or you're not speaking a language, you take a –4 circumstance penalty to the check.
I want to make sure we're applying Dual Studies coorectly. One of our summoners has it, picking athletics for their eidolon and diplomacy for themselves. They just turned 7th level so thanks to dual studies, the eidolon is now expert in athletics and the summoner is expert in diplomacy but these proficiencies are not shared. So the summoner wants to use their newest skill increase for diplomacy. So now, with diplomacy, the summoner is master and the eidolon is trained, correct? If they wanted to boost their athletics instead, would it be that with athletics the summoner is trained and the eidolon is master?
The Escape action allows you to choose "one creature, object, spell effect, hazard, or other impediment imposing" grabbed, immobilized, or restrained. If you succeed the escape check, you remove all three conditions imposed by your chosen target. If a creature has you grabbed, immobilized, or restrained in several ways (multiple limbs, different abilities, etc), if you choose to escape from the creature, you escape from all of it if you succeed. If one of the ways you were grabbed, etc. was from that creature's spell, would you have to escape from that separately? This came up in a recent game and we went with 'yes' since the escape description distinguishes between a creature and a spell effect as targets. Still, we aren't sure if it's how it should work.
It says the protector tree isn’t large enough to block movement so you can go through its space freely. That doesn’t mean I can occupy the same space as the tree though, right?
I was considering playing a Human for the first time the other day so I looked through 1st level class feats for Natural Ambition. One thing I noticed is the Oracle class barely have any, even compared with just the other non-CRB classes. At a whopping three 1st level class feats, it has Glean Lore as a unique feat, but the other two, Reach and Widen Spell, are widely distributed among fullcasters. The Magus only has four 1st level class feats, but at least three of them are Magus-exclusive. The only shared feat, Familiar, is still rather specialized. Just an observation I found weird. It's probably my unfamiliarity with the class. |