Peren Ambergross

Whipstitch's page

Organized Play Member. 48 posts. No reviews. No lists. No wishlists. 21 Organized Play characters.


RSS


We have a disagreement about the reward for Dragon's Demand 3c: The Wandering Way.

The Wandering Way wrote:
Reward: Each character gets a new boon of any type.

Does this mean each character selects a type of boon, such as weapon or spell, and draws a random card of that type from the vault, or does the player get to choose any boon of that type?

Thanks!


1 person marked this as a favorite.

Thanks for the response! The one word we missed was "occupied". We all missed that distinction. Now it makes sense!
Allowing any character to face a non-summoned bane now makes sense, too! The whole party can move on any turn someone encounters a bane from a location deck.


First, let me say that we're enjoying this adventure quite a lot! The story for 1b is particularly excellent, and the mechanics fit very well! Make the perilous journey to the knights' camp. If you diplomacize, you're aided on the return journey. If you are combative, you're harried on the way back. Love it!

We wondered the same thing about 1a. We decided that we'd just close all locations. There's obviously ambiguity if different groups are coming to different conclusions.

We didn't get to act 2 of 1b at the gaming store, but have hit it now, replaying at home. Now that we're ready for it, we realize that for 1b, there's also uncertainty.

1. Do you rebuild the decks for act 2 and treat it as a third scenario or just keep going?

2. On the locations list (middle of page 4: Trail, Mountain, etc)should the numbered column really be 1,1,1,2,3,5,1? 1,1,2,3,4,5,1 would make more sense. For 3 of us, there are six locations, with no way to close but to go through every deck. Five of them must be closed to win, so that means a minimum of 49* cards to clear. Even if we never failed a check, it's hard to sustain >1.5 explorations per turn for these characters (and we did fail a few in act 1).

Thanks!

*You can only move by defeating a card, so you must each clear one at the first site to move. The next 4 sites have 9 each (only henchman or villain is the proxy in the final location), and the final location - Campsite - has 10. All sites except the first must be closed to keep moving the Shiny Longshanks proxy back to the left, to the first site (Trail).


Thank you for the clarification! Thus far, I've been concentrating far more on the new rules than the new Guild guide.


Thanks for the Free RPG Day fun! My daughter and I went to our local gaming store in our Pathfinder shirts to run this fun adventure.

Any chance those characters will become Guild legal, maybe using either the Goblins Fight deck or the Goblins Burn deck?


Hawkmoon269 wrote:
Keep in mind, we haven't seen what spell, barrier or support cards will look like. We already see that some types of cards have an oval window while some have squares. It is possible other types will have shapes and sizes for art.

This is true. Let's hope I jumped the gun!


2 people marked this as a favorite.

I think most of the changes being introduced with the new format are either improvements (one box to buy per adventure path, more distinct differences in the colors of different types of cards) or neutral changes at worst (some of the new terms, reorganizing the layout).

However, the art is a step backwards. Was this opened to community input the way some PFS 2.0 changes have been (like chronicle sheets)? If so, I sure missed it. Since the art is a mostly subjective aspect of the cards, this would have been a good move.

I also dislike the swirl, but I'd rather focus on the shrinking space for art. I have bought class decks I wasn't even sure I'd end up playing because, if nothing else, I enjoyed the art. This was especially true of the cards which really took advantage of the space available, like spells. Flipping through the spells of a deck is always more fun than flipping through, say, the weapons. Sure, a sword in a big open rectangle and a sword in a portrait oval are similar, but it will be a shame to lose the larger space for the cards which took advantage of the space.

The following cards were featured in blog posts this past year. Rightfully so, as some feature beautiful art! Now imagine using a portrait oval copping tool and how the result will underwhelm compared with the original art:

Go to Entice spell.

Go to Icicle Swarm spell.

Go to Leshykineticist ally.

Or these examples of a barrier and a scourge from Mummy's Mask:

Go to Dry Quicksand barrier.

Go to Curse of the Mummy scourge.

The art on locations have always been a highlight as well, but I haven't seen art for locations yet. Maybe their art hasn't been nerfed.

Calthaer wrote:
cartmanbeck wrote:
I don't think you can use objectively here when there are those of us, like me, that actually like the new designs. Just sayin'.
You might be in the minority there, Tyler. But...they have already gone to the printer, so there's not much point in commenting on it further. It will be what it will be, and the rest of the excellent improvements will surely make up for it.

True, the art for the base set and Curse won't change, but those of us who love the art can hope for some changes before the next set is produced. Everything else on the cards could remain unchanged, but the art could be improved, which would lead to a more enjoyable experience for many without making the cards difficult to use with the ones currently being produced. We can hope.


Thanks for all of the excellent help!


The Spirit Walker mesmerist archetype gets some fun, flavorful features, but gives up the touch treatment class feature. Can anyone who's played a mesmerist (or played with one) tell me how significant the touch treatment ability has proven to be in practice? Do you use it or see it used a lot? How often have you seen mesmerists need to use this ability on themselves to overcome fear effects?

Thank you for any input!


I found another way, which I will share for the benefit of anyone else stumbling upon this thread. This will work with any type of animal!

The Ancestors spirit from the Pathfinder Player Companion Cohorts and Companions:

Cohorts and Companions wrote:


Spirit Animal

The shaman's spirit animal has streaks of gray or silver hide, hair, or fur, and long facial hair that appears similar to a wispy mustache or bushy eyebrows.

The spirit animal can speak and understand a number of bonus languages equal to the shaman's Charisma bonus.


CBDunkerson wrote:
Daw wrote:
Sage familiars don't lose the Speak with Master ability, and can be enchanted with Tongues and if, in this forum, people cannot come up with better approaches, I am disappointed.
<pssst> Read the OP... see the part about BEFORE 'Speak with Master' becomes available at level 5? Not likely to be using Tongues at 1st level either.

All true, but I'm still happy for anyone willing to offer any advice!


I'm sure the GM and other players would love me trying to play 20 questions to figure out what my familiar knows!

Sounds like I take a thrush or raven familiar, since each "speaks one language of its master's choice as a supernatural ability" (Familiar Folio)

Since I'm a shaman, I could take the Nature spirit and blow my first shaman hex on Speak With Animals, but I don't want a snake anywhere near that badly!


Familiar Folio said wrote:

Sage familiars are masters of useful facts, able to recall them for their master's benefit, though this leads many to become haughty and proud.

Class Skills: A sage treats all Knowledge skills as class skills.

Dazzling Intellect (Ex)

A sage's Intelligence score is always equal to 5 + its level, but the sage gains the additional natural armor increases of a familiar only half its level.

This ability alters the familiar's Intelligence score and natural armor adjustment.

Sage's Knowledge (Ex)

A sage stores information on every topic and is happy to lecture its master on the finer points. A sage can attempt all Knowledge checks untrained and receives a bonus on all Knowledge checks equal to 1/2 its level. Additionally, a sage gains 2 skill ranks at each level.

Its maximum number of ranks in any given skill is equal to its level.

This ability replaces alertness and the familiar's ability to share its master's skill ranks.

I'd like to know, how does the familiar "lecture its master".

Must one take a talking familiar to use this?
Otherwise, is it useless until level 5 when a familiar gains Speak With Master?
Must/can the character do something at level one to be able to speak the animal language of her familiar?

I love the notion of my (viper) familiar being a know-it-all that sits on my shoulder hissing in my ear, but I don't want to roll this character and be told it's useless for my first 12 scenarios. (I play PFS, but this question doesn't seem PFS specific.)

Thanks!


Thank you for the help and for bringing the Guild forum to my attention! This may be why I've been surprised by the lack of posts relating to the Seasons - I was looking in the wrong place!

So, basically, the answer to my first question is, "Yes, I was definitely missing something!"


First of all, am I missing something? I find no FAQ related to the Seasons rules, nor even many posts. We've run across questions we're surprised nobody else has had. For example, from 2-2D, The Idol of Sycorius:

The scenario instructions read . . .

Season of the Runelords Adventure 2 wrote:

Using the deck list from the Throne Room, make a number of  Throne Room locations equal to the number of characters + 2.  When building locations, set aside the henchmen, monsters, and  barriers, then shuffle them into a robber deck. When you close a location, do not flip the Throne Room card over. For your exploration, draw and encounter the top card of the  robber deck as if it came from your location deck; henchmen  defeated during this scenario do not allow you to attempt to close  the location they came from. If this card is undefeated or evaded,  shuffle it back into the robber deck. When you are dealt damage, if the damage is not reduced to 0,  banish the top card of your location deck and each unoccupied  location deck; when a location deck has no cards, you may close  that location automatically. To win the scenario, defeat all of the cards in the robber deck  while at least 1 location is open.

This sounds like we just go through the robber deck, never encountering the boons. If only your first exploration is meant to be the robber deck, nothing says that. How do you encounter any cards in your location decks? Why even have them?

Defeat all the cards in the robber deck while at least one location is open? No problem! Just don't close any locations. Nothing makes you close a location deck.

What are we missing here???


Compel Hostility wrote:
Whenever a creature you can see that threatens you makes an attack against one of your allies, as an immediate action, you can compel that creature to attack you instead. When you compel a creature to attack you, you must first overcome that creature’s spell resistance, and the creature can attempt a Will saving throw to ignore the compulsion. A summoner casting this spell can choose his eidolon as the target of the spell.

(emphasis mine)

Since the summoner can already cast personal spells on his eidolon:

Share Spells (Ex) wrote:
The summoner may cast a spell with a target of “you” on his eidolon (as a spell with a range of touch) instead of on himself. A summoner may cast spells on his eidolon even if the spells normally do not affect creatures of the eidolon’s type (outsider). Spells cast in this way must come from the summoner spell list.

So, the bold text above must call out summoners for some other reason. How does the spell's power allowing a summoner "choosing his eidolon as the target" differ from the summoner simply using Share Spells to cast the spell on his eidolon?

1. Is it because the range is no longer touch? Can the summoner thus cast the spell and simply compel the target to attack his eidolon? (If so, I would guess the target would have to be threatening them both.)

2. Does it simply mean that the summoner, once he has cast the spell (by touch) on his eidolon is the one who then uses his immediate actions to compel hostility, but that the eidolon is the one attacked?

3. If #2 is correct, does that mean that he can use Share Spells rather than the spells power of choosing his eidolon, and then the eidolon uses its immediate actions?

I want to make sure that I use this spell correctly (or as close to correctly as can be estimated without input from Paizo).

Thanks!


Core Rulebook wrote:
Distraction (Su): At 1st level, a bard can use his performance to counter magic effects that depend on sight. Each round of the Distraction, he makes a Perform (act, comedy, dance, or oratory) skill check. Any creature within 30 feet of the bard (including the bard himself) that is affected by an illusion (pattern) or illusion (figment) magical attack may use the bard’s Perform check result in place of its saving throw if, after the saving throw is rolled, the Perform check result proves to be higher. If a creature within range of the Distraction is already under the effect of a non-instantaneous illusion (pattern) or illusion (figment) magical attack, it gains another saving throw against the effect each round it sees the Distraction, but it must use the bard’s Perform check result for the save. Distraction does not work on effects that don’t allow saves. Distraction relies on visual components.

Rather than also include the long quote for Countersong, just know the wording is almost identical. Just substitute "sonic or language-dependent magical attack" for "illusion (pattern) or illusion (figment) magical attack" (and the types of performance are different). For this inquiry, I'll use Distraction as an example, but I hope any answer would also apply to Countersong.

My question is whether a bard can ready an action to start the appropriate type of performance if he successfully identifies (using a Spellcraft check, I assume) that an enemy is casting an illusion (pattern) or illusion (figment) spell. This makes sense to me.

The bard is eyeing the enemy wizard, ready to start his Distraction the moment he sees a spell of the appropriate type being cast.

The wizard begins his verbal and somatic actions. (The spells duration is instantaneous, but the casting time isn't; it's a standard action - about six seconds).

The bard succeeds a Spellcraft check, identifying that the wizard has begun to cast, let's say, color spray. He immediately begins his Distraction performance (perhaps a dance).

His distraction benefits his allies. They may use the bard's perform roll in place of their own saving throws, if the former is better. This reflects that the bard was able to avert their eyes from the deadly illusory spray.

Hardly overpowering, since the bard is giving up his action on the chance that a narrow range of spells will be cast. Any reason this is contrary to the rules?

Thanks!


Thanks for the response, Ridiculon!

Can you be clear about whether you mean concealment or cover? I don't think either applies.

Let's say I'm using the spell to fling a rock at a wizard who's got two bodyguards between me and him. I don't think cover or concealment would apply if there's nothing between the rock's original location and the target.

Core Rulebook said wrote:
To determine whether your target has cover from your ranged attack, choose a corner of your square. If any line from this corner to any corner of the target's square passes through a square or border that blocks line of effect or provides cover, or through a square occupied by a creature, the target has cover (+4 to AC).
Core Rulebook said wrote:
To determine whether your target has concealment from your ranged attack, choose a corner of your square. If any line from this corner to any corner of the target's square passes through a square or border that provides concealment, the target has concealment.

I would think use the rock's starting square and the wizard's square and apply the rules above. Neither cover nor concealment should apply if the squares in between are empty.

I just don't know if there are limitations regarding where the object I am "throwing" needs to be. Any such limitations would probably affect my ability to use the spell for examples 3, 4, and 6 in my original post (the ones on which you commented).


Should this have been posted elsewhere, even though I'm asking some rules issues? Or are "can I use spell X to do Y?" not considered rules questions? (I'm trying to learn and get these things right!)

In the meantime, I'd really appreciate it if I could get feedback on the bold items above (especially #4 on avoiding cover penalty) before I try to use such strategy in a real session.

Thanks!


In a separate (admittedly non-PFS) thread (titled Occult Adventure Spiritualist and Phantom), someone stated,

someone wrote:
On page 77 there is a chart. This chart shows you EXACTLY how many hit dice your phantom has at each level. For PFS play the phantom gets max HP (so 10) plus con at level 1, then half (averaged at 5 or 6 alternating) of the maximum for each additional HD. It's hit dice have a 15 HD cap at level 19, or 15d10+con.

(Emphasis mine)

I have found nothing to support this, but the thread continued and nobody refuted the claim. I figured phantoms would get 1\2 HD for HP (5 + Con mod) at all levels, including first, but if I'm wrong, this makes a big difference. Will someone please clarify?

Thanks!


This is a bit of discussion, but I'm asking rules questions (in bold, if someone just wants to comment on those) too, so please comment on the spell, help with the rules issues, or both!

Occult Adventures wrote:
You fling an object weighing up to 5 pounds at the target. You must succeed at a ranged attack (not a ranged touch attack) to hit your target; if you hit, you deal 1d6 points of bludgeoning damage to both the target and the object. The type of object thrown doesn't change the damage type or any other properties of the attack, even if you throw a weapon or magic item in this way.

Some have dissed this knack as worthless, but I think it can be handy for these reasons:

  • 1. If you primarily use a melee weapon, you don't have to drop it and draw a ranged weapon if a situation arises when you want to hit something at distance. (Granted, short range)
  • 2. It gives you a way to attack even if you are tied up or unarmed. (Yes you may have other spells for this, but maybe not.)
  • 3. The spell says target, but not living target. Locked in a cell? Any reason you couldn't target the cell wall with the keys hanging on the wall? (No damage to either, but the keys are inside the cell now.)
  • 4. I see nothing indicating where the "thrown" item must be, other than within your range. If someone is between you and your target, as long as your target is within range, couldn't you avoid cover by flinging a pebble on the ground that has nothing between it and your target? This still wouldn't avoid penalty if the target is in melee, but it would help.
  • 5. Others have mentioned "throwing" something like a thunderstone for additional effect, but I don't want to repeat every item discussed in other threads.
  • 6. If an ally causes an enemy to drop a weapon (disarming them, stunning them, etc.), you can "throw" their weapon at a wall or blank square as far from them as possible so they can't pick it up again.

Any reason these uses wouldn't work? Thanks!


Occult Origins wrote:

Your phantom is impressionable and easily influenced by contact with new spirits.

Prerequisite(s): Ability to cast speak with dead, phantom class feature.

Benefit(s): When you cast speak with dead, you can choose not to gain any of the normal effects of the spell, instead temporarily merging the summoned spirit into your phantom, exchanging your phantom's current emotional focus and all related abilities for a new emotional focus of your choice. This new emotional focus persists for 10 minutes per class level you have, after which your phantom's original emotional focus returns.

(Emphasis mine)

I am wondering just what "all related abilities" entails.

1. For which skills the phantom gains skill ranks or grants Skill Focus?

2. Which saves are good and bad?

3. Bonus feat (or additional power some get in place of a bonus feat)?

4. All the powers listed as (Su) or (Ex)?

The simplest way to rule is just the (Su) and (Ex) powers. Otherwise, there's a lot of recalculating to do. However, I want to be sure, because each emotional focus is a well-crafted package, and slapping the powers on a phantom which doesn't have the accompanying skill focus or feat (like Intimidate skill for the Fear phantom) may lead to poor mixes. Also, some of the powers listed separately and given instead of feats are also important to the phantom's theme, like the Despair phantom's:

Occult Adventures wrote:
Power from Despair: The phantom gains a +2 bonus on attack and damage rolls against creatures that are shaken, frightened, panicked, cowering, or subject to effects such as aura of despair or crushing despair.

It's hard to imagine the Despair emotional focus without this. But this is in place of a bonus feat, so if this is allowed, it seems the bonus feats should be allowed as well.

I was unable to find this covered yet, so any help or input is appreciated!


Garrett Guillotte wrote:
Priori Serif.

Wonderful! Thanks again!


Hi, all,

Can someone please tell me what font typeface is used for the standard Pathfinder character sheet (for example: Times New Roman, Arial, etc.)? I want to use similar font for sheets I create for my own use in game play.

Please forgive me if I have not selected the correct forum!

Thanks!


Certainly! How embarrassing!

I tried to search for an answer to my question before posting, but perhaps my search skills rival my posting skills. I thank you for your help!


We have played that when you defeat the villain, and he has nowhere to escape, the game ends immediately, and the final location's When Permanently Closed effects do not trigger.

If this is correct, would the same be true if you end a scenario without villains (one which requires closing all locations) by clearing the last location (or defeating the last location's henchman) and successfully meeting the "When Closing" condition? Or, because we had to actually close the location ourselves, would it trigger and then end the game?

Thanks!


If a Medium chooses the Archmage spirit to channel, his lesser spirit power, gained at level one, states,

Occult Adventures wrote:
Archmage Arcana (Lesser, Su): Instead of your normal spells per day for your medium level, you use the spells per day from Table: Mesmerist. For each level of spell you can now cast (including level 0), each time you channel an archmage spirit, select a single spell of that level from the Sorcerer/Wizard spell list to add to your Medium spell list and spells known until you lose contact with the archmage. When you cast these spells, they count as arcane (though not for the purpose of fulfilling prerequisites), and thus you must provide verbal and somatic components instead of thought and emotion components.

At first through third level, the Medium gets no first level spells known or spells per day. Does the Medium get the number of spells KNOWN from the Mesmerist table, or only number per day able to cast?

If the latter, this means the only first level spell he gains during levels 1-3 is the single spell he gets from the Sorcerer/Wizard list, but he casts it a number of times as the Mesmerist would?

Does the Medium get bonus uses of spells per level if his charisma (Medium's spell-casting stat) is high enough?

Does the Medium still use charisma as the casting stat for the arcane spells he gains?

I assume wearing armor exposes the Medium to spell failure chance for these arcane spells gained.

I know some of these questions must seem obvious. Sorry, but I figured as long as I was asking the first couple, I might as well make sure none of my assumptions were wrong.

Thanks much!


Occult Adventures wrote:

A medium can invite his allies to participate in his seance—shared seance and certain spirit powers affect other participants. A character counts as participating so long as she maintains physical contact with another participating character and willfully opens herself to the spirit; unlike the medium, other participating characters can take other actions during this time. Only creatures with an Intelligence score of at least 3 can participate in a seance.

. . .

At 2nd level, a medium can share his channeled spirit's aid with his allies. All allies who participate in the medium's seance gain the channeled spirit's seance boon for 24 hours.

Can an animal companion (if it has an Int at least 3)? An eidolon (starting Int = 7)? A Spiritualist's phantom (ditto)? An NPC ally?

These are all allies, but the first section throws the term "characters" in, but then it also says "creatures" and calls out an intelligence score of 3, which makes it sound like they were thinking of such things. Any help?

Thanks!


skizzerz wrote:
Whipstitch wrote:

It would be nice if they could introduce some game mechanic, or a unique type of "spell" card to represent hexes. That's the most significant class feature of a witch, and almost the first thing said in the class deck description is, "Witches unleash potent hexes." I was disappointed that Feiya from the Skulls & Shackles base set didn't have a mechanic to make her spells somehow hex-like. Maybe the class deck will do a better job in this regard.

In any case, I certainly look forward to this class deck!

Easiest way I can think of is have formatting like so:

Quote:

Evil Eye - Spell B

Magic Arcane Mental Attack

Display this card to reduce the difficulty of a check against a monster by a character at your location by 2. If you do not have the Arcane skill, banish this card instead.

While displayed, when a character at your location attempts a check against a monster, you may reduce the difficulty of that check by 2. If you do not, discard this card. You may succeed at an Arcane 8 check to recharge this card instead of discarding it.

This emulates the Cackle (Su) ability that Witches have -- they can cackle to keep the ability active or not and the ability expires. The limit of one card per type per check keeps the power level of such abilities in check.

It'll be interesting to see what actually shows up for the class deck though, but in the meantime if you like that mechanic there's always the card creator over at drivethru :)

What an excellent idea! I wonder what tweaks one could try. I'd consider that if you are not of the Witch or Oracle class, banish the card (instead of not having arcane skill). Since this is supposed to be a hex, I wouldn't let all arcane casters use it.

I like the idea that the card could remain displayed for more than your turn. That would help offset the fact that the reduction of 2 doesn't scale. If more hexes were introduced, it would be fun to have to choose which one to have active at a given time.

Off the top of my head, another hex could be Fortune - you could choose one character, and they could reroll one die per turn. Lots of possibilities!


cartmanbeck wrote:
Heheheheheehehehehehehehehehehehehehehehehehe I can't wait for you to see the deck, Whipstitch!

That makes two us us!


It would be nice if they could introduce some game mechanic, or a unique type of "spell" card to represent hexes. That's the most significant class feature of a witch, and almost the first thing said in the class deck description is, "Witches unleash potent hexes." I was disappointed that Feiya from the Skulls & Shackles base set didn't have a mechanic to make her spells somehow hex-like. Maybe the class deck will do a better job in this regard.

In any case, I certainly look forward to this class deck!


Seconded.


1 person marked this as a favorite.

Hi, all!

In Pathfinder Unchained, regarding the Flying Kick style strike, it says:

"The monk leaps through the air to strike a foe with a kick. Before the attack, the monk can move a distance equal to his fast movement bonus. This movement is made as part of the monk's flurry of blows attack and does not require an additional action. At the end of this movement, the monk must make an attack against an adjacent foe. This movement may be between attacks. This movement provokes an attack of opportunity as normal." (pg 19)

The CRB tells us:

"You can move through a threatened square without provoking an attack of opportunity from an enemy by using Acrobatics. When moving in this way, you move at half speed. You can move at full speed by increasing the DC of the check by 10."

Since the free movement part of a flying kick provokes an attack of opportunity "as normal", may the monk use acrobatics "as normal" to avoid the AoO? Since when using acrobatics to avoid an AoO (with a DC of the threatening creature's CMD), you move at half speed, does this mean the monk may only move a distance equal to half his fast movement bonus as the free movement part of the kick?

May the monk "as normal" increase the DC of his acrobatics check by 10 to be allowed to move "full speed", or in this case his full fast movement bonus as part of the kick?

I couldn't find this addressed, and I hate to assume anything. I want to ensure I understand how this works before I decide whether to consider taking flying kick.

Thanks!!!


Thank you very much!


Skulls & Shackles Lem has the following power:

"When you would recharge a card, you may shuffle it into your deck instead."

What happens if he must recharge more than one card? (Example: the location Fog Bank says that when closing, "Recharge your hand, which must contain at least 1 card." Obviously, it could easily contain more than one.)

My understanding is that if you must recharge multiple cards at the same time, you may recharge those cards in any order, making it seem you are recharging them one at a time. This would lend credence to the idea that multiple cards could be shuffled into Lem's deck when recharging. I just don't know if "a" card needs to be read as "one card". I would go with whatever was intended, if I knew, but this seems open to interpretation unless I have missed something.

Thanks!


You are right. My third place to look was (as Kumarei suspected) in the traits, because I had looked there for such a trait. However, as Hawkmoon said, there doesn't seem to be such a trait. Undead, goblin, giant, et cetera, but not "monster". Again, I am grateful for the help and advice!


Oh my! I had never noticed that box! So there are three places something may be indicated as a monster. This must also mean that if a card says something like "during a check to defeat a monster", I need to check that as well. We'd always assumed that sort of text only meant the yellow-card monsters, not henchmen or villains.

Well now I'm sure glad I asked. Thank you both very much!


I'm embarrassed to ask this, because on one hand the answer seems so obvious. On the other hand . . . .

On the Brigandoom! scenario card (Rise of the Runelords base set), it states, "If a monster's power causes you to recharge one or more cards, do so, then draw the same number of cards." The scenario's villain and henchmen both, coincidentally, require you to recharge cards before your encounter with them. It's all they do. It seems that the scenario rule is chosen with the villain and henchmen in mind. That would make sense.

However . . .

The old rule says, "If it isn't called something, it isn't that thing." This appears on page 22 of the RotR base set rule book, and I'm sure it's appeared elsewhere. By this rule, neither the villain nor henchmen are "monsters". Neither have the Monster card type (Villain and Henchman, respectively) nor "monster" trait (both are listed as "human").

It seems if the scenario rule about recharging was meant to apply to the villain and henchmen, this issue would appear in the errata by now, or I would have found info when I searched for this topic. But it just nags at me due to the obvious synergy between this rule and the sole power of each, requiring cards to be recharged. So, forgive me, but I feel I must ask.

Of course, being outside of society play, we can home rule this, but I wondered more officially. Thank you for helping ease my mind one way or the other!


Nicos wrote:
The summoner and the Unchained summoner are two different classes, it is not obvious that the FAQ for the first apply to the second (unless that was already clarified)

It really needs to apply because the original wording has serious problems.

From one end of the spectrum: Your high-level eidolon is rendered unconscious? Un-summon it and summon it again. Voilà! Full hit points!

From the other end of the spectrum: The only exception is if the eidolon is slain, "it returns with half its normal hit points" (Unchained pg 26; same as in the APG). As written, this means that the first time your eidolon is reduced to negative HP equal to its Constitution, the next time you summon it, it has half its normal HP. The kicker is that the next time you summon your eidolon after that, it also has half its normal HP, because that's how many it had "the last time you summoned it". RAW, one death means it's always summoned with half hit points.

I think these two reasons easily justify the FAQ, now as they did originally, and I can't imagine any GM not applying the FAQ to the Unchained summoned.


My apologies if this was already brought up, or this isn't the place to bring this up, but on page 25 of Unchained, it reads, "When summoned in this way, the eidolon's hit points are unchanged from the last time it was summoned." However, in the FAQ (http://paizo.com/paizo/faq/v5748nruor1fn#v5748eaic9oh2), in a response posted September 2011, it says to "change 'unchanged from the last time it was summoned' to 'unchanged from the last time it was dismissed or banished'.

I assume that this holds true for the Unchained version as it did for the APG summoned, but it should be changed for clarification.


1 person marked this as a favorite.

I appreciate your take, Bioboygamer, but I still can't see it. As much as I want to like this archetype, I think giving up the benefits of a familiar and one or more feats (which can each be an extra hex) doesn't seem to make it worth the trade. I hear you on the touch spells - this is the only reason one should become a Cartomancer.

Let me examine the other uses of actions in battle. Darts? If the best you can do on your turn is throw a dart for damage, magic masterwork or not, you must have chosen your spells and hexes poorly. Casting on allies? I also don't think spending turns casting on allies is liable to be your best use of actions. The kind of debuffs and battlefield control hexes and spells a 5th level witch can cast are too powerful NOT to be using instead of curing a single ally for (ave.) 15 hp, for instance. And if you're spending a precious round of battle casting Mage Armor? If somebody needs Mage Armor - a spells with hours per level, you should have already cast it.

So, just delivering touch attacks at range. You've already surrendered your 2nd level feat. Do you spend 2 more to get Precise Shot? You're a 1/2 BAB character, probably with a so-so dex at best. Yes, it's against touch AC, but if your target is in melee, maybe soft cover from an ally. . . you've taken a spell with a built-in chance of failure (a save negates) and added a second significant chance of failure. Considering all you're giving up just to be able to cast a few spells at range, it's easy to question whether it's worth it.

Unfortunately, I know nobody who has played one, and have seen nobody posting on these boards claiming to have played one, to be able to get first-hand anecdotal evidence.


Ever since I got the Harrow Handbook, I have wanted to make a Harrow-themed character. I created a witch that I plan to see through the Harrower prestige class. I had also planned on making her a Cartomancer (Harrow Handbook, pg 15), but I'm having serious reservations. The more I compare what I'm giving up for what I'd get, the harder it is to justify. I'm hoping that someone (or preferably multiple people) can provide feedback on my train of thought.

The real benefit of a Cartomancer that I see is being able to deliver touch spells at range. The first problem is that there are a limited number of touch spells, especially worth focusing on, and are they worth it? I'm giving up the benefits of a familiar - most notably the special ability (in my case it would be the scorpion's +4 to initiative) and the alertness feat (+2 to Perception and Sense Motive). I wouldn't plan on letting my familiar out, so that's about it familiar-wise.

Next, I surrender my 2nd level hex, and realistically I think two of my early feats (to take Point Blank Shot and Precise Shot). Otherwise, I fear I won't be able to rely on hitting, and thus wasting precious turns. However, those feats could have helped me in other ways - most notably I could take two more hexes.

So, I'm trading Perception and Initiative - possibly taking me out of a surprise round or delaying how quickly I can help in battle - and a couple of hexes, all so I can more easily deliver a few spells (when I could just choose different spells anyway).

I should note that I play PFS, so if the answer is that Cartomancers make these trade-offs for benefits at higher levels, than maybe the answer is that it's just not for PFS. However, I hope to get a broader range of opinions than just those playing PFS.

Am I missing something here? What do you think? If you have played a Cartomancer or played with one, PLEASE tell us how you saw the archetype working! Thank you!


Sorry, I misread "APG" in Chris's post and didn't realize my question was already answered. Doh!


Thank you for providing these! I find them a great way to play a new class to learn some of the mechanics without having to spend too much time creating one, only to decide I don't like it.

Is there a plan to add the classes from the Advanced Players Guide? I would love to give an inquisitor, a summoner, and a witch a try.


I am trying to decide how to spend limited funds on pdf's, and hoped for some advice.

I play 2-3 times a month in PFS, starting a couple of months ago. I am most interested in learning more about the campaign setting, so when a place (like the Worldwound) or group (like the Cheliax) are mentioned in the setup, it means something. I am also interested in learning more about the main deities, both for the sake of playing a cleric or inquisitor, or adding flavor for a character. I don't necessarily need new spells or feats - I don't mind them, but I'm looking more for understanding than power. Also, I don't need info as a GM, only as a player.

My questions:
1. Does the Inner Sea World Guide add enough more than the Inner Sea Primer, or does the Guide just cover the same info in a more wordy way or throw in unnecessary stuff to pad the page count? (Even though the pdf is only about $5 more for the Guide, that's another Player Companion I could have bought.)
2. Do Faiths of Purity and Faiths of Balance provide better info for one wanting cleric/inquisitor flavor than the Inner Sea World Guide?

I already want Halflings of Golarion (my main character is a halfling bard, but I have almost no background) and Demon Hunters Handbook (I want to make an inquisitor who's primary goal is battling demons - but it's mainly for flavor because I still want a character good at anything that comes our way). I need to decide on the two Faiths books and the Primer versus the Inner Sea World Guide.

Sorry to ramble on, but I hoped that illustrating where I'm coming from might help.

Thanks for any advice offered!


Woran wrote:

I seem to recall a post where campaign management said all Paizo shirts were good for a reroll, they just kept forgetting to update the list in the guide.

Im going to check for you if I can find that post again.

Thanks, Woran, that would be most helpful! I tried to search, but found nothing. (But then I didn't even know where I'd posted originally, so my forum expertise is lacking.)

I'd rather spend $20 on a shirt I can get use out of than $10 on a folio I'll never otherwise use. (The players at the PFS events I attend don't even take them out of the shrink wrap.)

With more selection of shirts, I'd probably get one for my son, too. (We usually play together.)


I thought this was the PFS forum.


The only reference I have seen regarding rerolls for wearing a Pathfinder shirt to a PFS event is in the free PDF "Guide to Pathfinder Society Organized Play" version 6.0 which is currently available on Paizo's website. It says, "As a way of rewarding players who show their support for the Pathfinder Society Organized Play campaign by purchasing and wearing special shirts featuring campaign insignia, faction logos, or Pathfinder branding, a player wearing any of the shirts listed below during a Pathfinder Society event may reroll one d20
roll during the course of that scenario." It also says, "The following Pathfinder Society Organized Play shirts are currently available" and lists about 25 shirts.

I want to know if these are the ONLY Pathfinder shirts which officially allow a reroll, or if any official Pathfinder shirt with the brand name (such as the "We Be Goblins" shirt or "Beginner Box" shirt) suffice.

These shirts are available at my local game store and in my size, so I'd like the option to use them. If this matter is officially covered somewhere, please note where I can find the information in case asked.

I can understand Paizo insisting on an official Paizo shirt for the rerolls, but don't understand why some of their branded shirts would be allowed and others excluded. I'd like the option to select the shirt I like best, which is in Paizo's interests because I'd be more likely to wear it outside of PFS events and give them free advertising.

Thank you!