Seravix's page

56 posts. No reviews. No lists. No wishlists.




With dwarven reinforcement, it allows a player to increase the hardness of thick objects/structures. In the feat, it appears to be primarily focused on building parts such as windows, doors and walls.

Under material statistics it lists wooden shields as thin wood and steel shields as thin steel, so we (under most forums I read) can't apply it to those shields. But, what would you guys consider a tower shield is? Thick/normal or thin? The hardness and hit point are the same as normal wood, which is the same as a simple door.

The question is:
1) If you are the DM, would you allow a character to increase the hardness of a tower/fortress shield?
2) Do you feel that is in the spirit of the feat.

Rules:
Dwarven Reinforcement: https://2e.aonprd.com/Feats.aspx?ID=1400
Material Statistics: https://2e.aonprd.com/Rules.aspx?ID=730

Thank you ahead of time for your thoughts!


Thank you in advance for looking at this post. Got a couple questions for everyone. I did browse around and found some answers, but not really a solid one that everyone will accept. This is basically about take cover action and where it gives cover. I can probably throw out more example, but don't want to take all your time.

Example 1) A character is in a room with his back to the wall, surrounded by thugs. Player says, I am by a feature that can provide cover (tech he is right, it can provide cover to someone on the other side of the wall), so that allows him to take cover. And the take cover action states, if he doesn't have standard cover, then he gains it "Otherwise, you gain the benefits of standard cover (a +2 circumstance bonus instead)".

Question 1) As a dm, would you allow him to have the standard cover +2 bonus to ac verse the thugs because he was "hugging" the flat wall for cover?

Example 2) A player is on the ground, surrounded by thugs. He uses the take cover action to try and get standard cover (+2) vs the thugs. Under take cover action, it does say you can take cover while prone. Under prone condition it does list you can gain greater cover vs ranged attacks, but nothing else.

Question 2) As a DM would you allow the player to gain a +4 bonus to ranged and +2 vs melee? If no to the previous, would you allow him to perhaps just gain standard cover using the take cover action because the ability lists prone as a possible requirement fulfilment?

Example 3) A player has a tower shield; it says he can use the take cover action for +4 ac. Player says he also gains the bonus to reflex saves (and other stuff) because he took the take cover action while holding the tower shield and he is also benefiting from standard cover because there is no actual cover nearby. That the +4 isn't a replacement effect, that it's an additional affect.

Question 3) As a dm would you give him the full standard cover benefit or just the +4 AC as called for under shields.

Question 4) For each of the above, do you believe how you ruled is how the rules are intended to be played or just how you would DM it. Some dm's are more generous than others while others are by the book (which is totally fine).

rules for ease
Cover:https://2e.aonprd.com/Rules.aspx?ID=459
Take Cover: https://2e.aonprd.com/Actions.aspx?ID=90
Tower shield: https://2e.aonprd.com/Shields.aspx?ID=4
Shield (says +4): https://2e.aonprd.com/Rules.aspx?ID=212
Prone: https://2e.aonprd.com/Conditions.aspx?ID=31

Thanks guys for your thoughts! Sorry if its overly long winded?


Does the Paladin Temple Champion archetype domain power count for the prereq for the feat war blessing domain class feature?

http://www.d20pfsrd.com/classes/core-classes/Paladin/archetypes/paizo-palad in-archetypes/temple-champion

http://www.d20pfsrd.com/feats/general-feats/war-blessing/

Thanks!


Hello guys, got a spell casting question.

Lets say we have a lv 5 wizard with an INT of 11. He has been using his level 2 and 3 slots with magic missile via rule:

"Spell Slots: The various character class tables show how many spells of each level a character can cast per day. These openings for daily spells are called spell slots. A spellcaster always has the option to fill a higher-level spell slot with a lower-level spell. A spellcaster who lacks a high enough ability score to cast spells that would otherwise be his due still gets the slots but must fill them with spells of lower levels."

Can said wizard use empowered magic missile as a 3rd level spell slot?

Bonus rule material:
"To learn, prepare, or cast a spell, the wizard must have an Intelligence score equal to at least 10 + the spell level. The Difficulty Class for a saving throw against a wizard’s spell is 10 + the spell level + the wizard’s Intelligence modifier."

"Spells modified by a metamagic feat use a spell slot higher than normal. This does not change the level of the spell, so the DC for saving throws against it does not go up. Metamagic feats do not affect spell-like abilities."

" In all ways, a metamagic spell operates at its original spell level, even though it is prepared and cast using a higher-level spell slot."

Thanks Guys!


Would DR or Invulnerable Rager DR against non-lethal damage stop damage from a "cord of stubborn resolve"?

I know that DR normally doesn't affect spells or abilities unless it has an obvious statement. As an example, DR would work against "3d6 points of bludgeoning damage" from the spell ice storm.

http://www.d20pfsrd.com/classes/core-classes/Barbarian/archetypes/paizo-bar barian-archetypes/invulnerable-rager

http://www.d20pfsrd.com/magic-items/wondrous-items/wondrous-items/c-d/cord- of-stubborn-resolve/

Thanks guys!


Hey guys, have a quick question on quickdraw and being disarmed with a thrown/ranged weapon.

Player 1 known as #1 is a dagger thrower with quickdraw and can throw 3 daggers a round.
Player 2 known as #2 is a pro disarmer that can take 6 AoO a round and has improved disarm and can threaten 10 ft.

Issue: Its #1 turn and he is standing adjacent to #2. He pulls out a dagger and throws it at #2. #2 takes his AoO and successfully disarmed #2.

Which of the following can #1 and #2 do next by the rules:
A) #1 uses quickdraw to pulls another dagger as a free action and continues to follow through with his first attack. #2 "cannot" take another AoO because he already took it for his thrown action. This repeats for throw 2 and 3.
B) #1 uses quickdraw to pulls another dagger as a free action and continues to follow through with his first attack. #2 "can" take another AoO because hes trying to throw. Player 1 keeps getting disarmed, but keeps pulling daggers until player #2 runs out of disarms. Then #1 throws without issue with all of his attacks.
C) Because #1 was disarmed during the throw and “cannot” quickdraw during an attack, his attack is forfeit. So, he goes to his second ranged attack, which is disarmed by an AoO, also his 3rd attack is disarmed.

Thanks for your help Guys!


Sooo, my DM made some interesting rulings today...and I wanted to get what your thoughts were.

He read the Warpriest Travel Blessing off d20pfsrd and followed the highlighted "teleport" to the teleport spell. Soooo, he treating the ability as the spell.

#1) Hes applying a mishap chance to my ability...so I might end up who knows where sometimes.
#2) Hes interpreting the words "All creatures to be transported must be in contact with one another" that every person teleported must touch each other person teleported. So if I teleported 10 people, each person much touch each other person being teleported.

I already said I'll go by however he wants to interpret them...but I just want to hear how others would rule this ability if they were DMing.


If a Sacred Fist with Blessed Fortitude fails its first say on a poison with 6 rounds. How would it work with a successful save after? If on the second round he makes his save would he/she fully shrug the effect?

Blessed Fortitude (Su)

At 3rd level, a sacred fist can avoid even magical and unusual attacks with help from his deity. If he succeeds at a Fortitude saving throw against an attack that has a reduced effect on a successful save, he instead avoids the effect entirely. A helpless sacred fist does not gain the benefit of the blessed fortitude ability.

This ability replaces the bonus feat gained at 3rd level.


If zombie ran into 2 active symbols of healing, would it be affected by both. The spell says:

"A creature can only be healed or harmed by the symbol once in any 24-hour period."

I read that as being affected once by each individual symbol as it says "THE symbol once".

Does that sound right to you?


Lets say we have a 10th level Symbol of healing made permanent. Just to verify, once it triggers, it remains on forever right? Unless dispelled or other dismissing powers. I'm looking under symbol of death and it read:

"Symbol of death can be made permanent with a permanency spell. A permanent symbol of death that is disabled or has affected its maximum number of hit points becomes inactive for 10 minutes, but then can be triggered again as normal."


If a character has magic fang with permanency dies. Do you think the spell would still be working if he was raised dead? What if the body had been destroyed and had to be reconstructed using resurrection or true resurrection.

thanks guys in advance!

Edit: If you said no to all of the above, what about Breath of life?


4 people marked this as FAQ candidate.

Hello pathfinder peoples, we have a rule that needs some outsider rules lawyering. Even if you don't have a rule finding, maybe you can list how you would play it.

The question is over a swashbuckler and if it can use Dodging Panache and/or Opportune Parry and Riposte vs a combat maneuver (example: Player A tries to Grapple player B and Player B tries to uses Dodging Panache to get out of reach). If you believe he can us it these abilities vs combat maneuvers, how would grapple and dodging panache work if the grappler won the attempt?

One person believes that the combat maneuver is treated as an attack and believes the player should be able to dodge the grappler and be 5 ft away.

Another player believe that Dodging Panache and Opportune Parry can only be used against a melee attack. That players says the rules state that combat maneuvers can substitute for a melee attack, if its substituting for it, that it can't still be a melee attack.

Here are the abilities in question and some rules that they found. You might not even need to read them if you already know all the rules.

Thank you for your time and thoughts.

"Dodging Panache (Ex) : At 1st level, when an opponent attempts a melee attack against the swashbuckler, the swashbuckler can as an immediate action spend 1 panache point to move 5 feet; doing so grants the swashbuckler a dodge bonus to AC equal to her Charisma modifier (minimum 0) against the triggering attack. This movement doesn't negate the attack, which is still resolved as if the swashbuckler had not moved from the original square. This movement is not a 5-foot step; it provokes attacks of opportunity from creatures other than the one who triggered this deed. The swashbuckler can only perform this deed while wearing light or no armor, and while carrying no heavier than a light load."

"Opportune Parry and Riposte (Ex) : At 1st level, when an opponent makes a melee attack against the swashbuckler, she can spend 1 panache point and expend a use of an attack of opportunity to attempt to parry that attack. The swashbuckler makes an attack roll as if she were making an attack of opportunity; for each size category the attacking creature is larger than the swashbuckler, the swashbuckler takes a –2 penalty on this roll. If her result is greater than the attacking creature's result, the creature's attack automatically misses. The swashbuckler must declare the use of this ability after the creature's attack is announced, but before its attack roll is made. Upon performing a successful parry and if she has at least 1 panache point, the swashbuckler can as an immediate action make an attack against the creature whose attack she parried, provided that creature is within her reach."

"When you attempt to perform a combat maneuver, make an attack roll and add your CMB in place of your normal attack bonus. Add any bonuses you currently have on attack rolls due to spells, feats, and other effects. These bonuses must be applicable to the weapon or attack used to perform the maneuver. The DC of this maneuver is your target's Combat Maneuver Defense. Combat maneuvers are attack rolls, so you must roll for concealment and take any other penalties that would normally apply to an attack roll."

"An attack roll represents your attempt to strike your opponent on your turn in a round. When you make an attack roll, you roll a d20 and add your attack bonus. (Other modifiers may also apply to this roll.) If your result equals or beats the target's Armor Class, you hit and deal damage."

"While many combat maneuvers can be performed as part of an attack action, full-attack action, or attack of opportunity (in place of a melee attack)"

"Some combat maneuvers substitute for a melee attack, not an action. As melee attacks, they can be used once in an attack or charge action, one or more times in a full-attack action, or even as an attack of opportunity. Others are used as a separate action"


My Pathfinder group loves to find pictures for character. But sometimes I feel they are out of whack with art and reality. What do you think the strength of this character would be assuming she was NORMAL human monk without any enhancements to strength? what would be the max strength you think would fit in that form assuming no augmentations.

http://mariowibisono.deviantart.com/art/Salvation-104167819

Thanks for your time guys!


What would a half-fiend treant attacks look like? Could it do...
2 slams + 1 bite; or
2 claws + 1 bite; or
2 slams + 2 claws + 1 bite.

What about a half-fiend heavy horse, the same?
2 hooves + 1 bite; or
2 claws + 1 bite; or
2 hooves + 2 claws + 1 bite; or
2 hooves + 2 claws + 2 bites (pretty sure this one is off the list, since I believe bites overlap and take higher damage..but I'll list it as well)

the bestiary says "A half-fiend gains two claw attacks and a bite
attack. Damage depends on its size (see pages 301–302)."

Are we talking about the creature growing arms if it doesn't have it? example half-fiend snake.

Just some random thoughts.

Thanks guys!


Some more questions=)

If an enemy with 5 ft reach is grappling your ally. And you bull rush/drag him 15 feet away from your ally. I'm assuming that he is forced to let go of your ally, I don't believe he gets to bring your ally along for the ride if its not his turn.

second; If an enemy with 5 ft reach is pinning an ally, could you start a grapple on that opponent and pin him? Now lets say he pins your ally and you pin him. Now its your allies turn, is he still pinned?

Thanks guys!!!


Hey guys, have a question on you for dispelling perm spells. For our example were going to use a druid that has a level 16 greater magic fang made permanent by a level 12 wizard.

The first question is: how do you resolve the dispel. Are there two spells affecting him or just the magic fang as permanency is targeting the actual spell.

IF there is only 1 spell, I'm assuming it greater magic fang and the dispel is going against the CL 16.

BUT if there is 2 spells...what happens if only 1 of them gets dispelled. Say...magic fang, does permanency bring it back as a free action on its turn. What is the result of permanency being dispelled but not greater magic fang. Gets immediately dispelled or the duration continues from where it left off.

Thanks guys!


Can a lion or other creature with pounce hit multiple targets assuming the charge movement is legit? Like 2 characters standing adjacent to each other and the lion charges them. I want to say no since your designating a target, but I want to hear if anyone else has info/faxes to back it up. I haven't seen many forums on this so thought it a good question.

Do you get +2 to all your attacks on pounce. I believe this was a yes overall on forum board. But always good to ask.

Last question...and sorta strange...just came to me while looking at others pounce info. If your mounted and have the pounce ability..do you get all your attacks? This could setup some ugly situations...if say you were mounted and charging with a lance or two with triple/quadruple damage on each attack.

Thanks guys!


Hey guys and gals, I would like to discuss constant spell-like abilities and detection spells like detect evil. There is currently a sprite in the party that has constant detect evil and good. He believes that as a free action, once per round he may activate it and detect evil in a 60 ft cone and gaining the effects of the first part (1st Round: Presence or absence of evil). He also believes that he should be allowed to do detect evil and detect good in the same round as they are both should be treated as free actions.
Another player believes that he must first concentrate on that area to gain the effect. In essense requiring a move action to start its round 1 effects.
I would like hear muiltiple people's thoughs on this, even if it's a
just to agree with a previous poster.

1) Do you believe he should be able to use it as a free action?
2) If yes to question 1, do you think he should be able to use detect evil and detect good on the same round as a free action?
3) If yes to question 1, does he require concentration to maintain detection into rounds 2 and 3. Or just required to stare at it as a free action.

Thanks