Quickdraw vs Combat Reflexes and Disarm


Rules Questions

1 to 50 of 74 << first < prev | 1 | 2 | next > last >>

Hey guys, have a quick question on quickdraw and being disarmed with a thrown/ranged weapon.

Player 1 known as #1 is a dagger thrower with quickdraw and can throw 3 daggers a round.
Player 2 known as #2 is a pro disarmer that can take 6 AoO a round and has improved disarm and can threaten 10 ft.

Issue: Its #1 turn and he is standing adjacent to #2. He pulls out a dagger and throws it at #2. #2 takes his AoO and successfully disarmed #2.

Which of the following can #1 and #2 do next by the rules:
A) #1 uses quickdraw to pulls another dagger as a free action and continues to follow through with his first attack. #2 "cannot" take another AoO because he already took it for his thrown action. This repeats for throw 2 and 3.
B) #1 uses quickdraw to pulls another dagger as a free action and continues to follow through with his first attack. #2 "can" take another AoO because hes trying to throw. Player 1 keeps getting disarmed, but keeps pulling daggers until player #2 runs out of disarms. Then #1 throws without issue with all of his attacks.
C) Because #1 was disarmed during the throw and “cannot” quickdraw during an attack, his attack is forfeit. So, he goes to his second ranged attack, which is disarmed by an AoO, also his 3rd attack is disarmed.

Thanks for your help Guys!


(C) if I understand what you wrote.

#1's attack was forfeit when he was disarmed, quickdraw or no. He can still quickdraw and throw two more daggers, provoking AoOs from #2 for throwing as usual. #2 could potentially ruin all three attacks with successful disarms.


Paring away the nonessential parts of this, we end up with the following question:

Q: If a character attempts to attack with a ranged weapon, provokes an attack of opportunity, and is disarmed in response to said provocation, does the character essentially forfeit that attack?

A: ???. My hunch is "yes".

Sovereign Court RPG Superstar 2011 Top 32

I don't see any reason Quick Draw can't be used in the middle of an attack action. It's a free action, so if I allow talking, I'd allow Quick Draw.

Actually as I think about it I'm not sure you can disarm thrown weapons as part of the AoO against ranged attacks...AoOs don't happen before the provocation, so the dagger's already in the air, not in the attacker's hand.

Obviously #2's better option is to sunder #1's dagger bandolier.


AoO resolve before the triggering action, so the act of throwing triggers so the dagger isn't in the air yet. Otherwise you're saying that attack still goes off if you're killed by the AoO.

Sovereign Court RPG Superstar 2011 Top 32

Chess Pwn wrote:
AoO resolve before the triggering action, so the act of throwing triggers so the dagger isn't in the air yet. Otherwise you're saying that attack still goes off if you're killed by the AoO.

While I see your logic here, I don't see this enumerated anywhere in the rules. An equally valid interpretation is that AoOs are simultaneous with the provoking action and can't interrupt them, except in explicitly detailed cases like spellcasting.


FAQThe attack of opportunity is triggered before the action that triggered it is resolved.

EDIT:
So you go to make the ranged attack with the dagger in hand.
Once you've started that action it triggers an AoO.
AoO disarms you.
You now finish resolving your attack with that dagger in hand, which fails because you have no dagger in hand.


If the attack of opportunity had killed the thrower instead of disarming the thrower, would you still continue to resolve the attack?

Consider the case of combat maneuvers provoking: if an attack of opportunity follows the provoking action, how does one explain the ensuing penalty to a combat maneuver if the maneuverer takes damage from the provoked attack?

Edit: Nevermind--Chess Pwn covered this much better several minutes ago. : )

Sovereign Court RPG Superstar 2011 Top 32

Ok, I see the application of the trip FAQ here. Thanks!

Clearly, the better counterstrategy is to have a dagger in each hand. Start your throw attack, get disarmed as AoO, then still have dagger in hand to finish throw.


ryric wrote:

Ok, I see the application of the trip FAQ here. Thanks!

Clearly, the better counterstrategy is to have a dagger in each hand. Start your throw attack, get disarmed as AoO, then still have dagger in hand to finish throw.

Nope, because the triggering attack was the dagger in that hand being thrown. Not just a dagger in any hand being thrown.

AoO's are one of the most powerful actions in the game, thus the removal of them is important via maneuver feats or being out of range.

Sovereign Court RPG Superstar 2011 Top 32

I think we all agree that throwing daggers while threatened is generally not a good plan. I'm just enjoying the rules interactions.


AoO disarms. Attack is lost.


Yes, throwing daggers while threatened is not a good idea. This ruling is important because we have a tripper/disarm with reach of 10 ft or more and is trying to protect innocents from his sometimes evil allies. His crazed ally pulls out a bow and goes to shoot it and gets disarmed. So he tries to pull it out another and says he doesn't get AoO and proceeds to kill villagers. The DM currently went with option C, stating that he can't attack because the weapon is missing.

The group had a pretty good debate on these options and a few others. So I decided to see what the Pathfinder Rules Lawyers can dig up and if they had any sources.

Thanks guys!


That's an . . . interesting party you've got there.


blahpers wrote:
That's an . . . interesting party you've got there.

You have no idea... We have a murderous version of Lenny from mice and men. Hanson (Stronghand) from scary movie 2. A cleric with currently flips coins if hes healing people or doing actions and a murderer that loves sicking Lenny on the bad people (they are sometimes evil)...Campaign started a bit rough, and just went down hill from there.

BUT, we are rule abiding citizen and wish to play Pathfinder (overall) lawfully. I plan to give more neutral judges (you guys) a chance to voice your opinion before letting the others jump in.

Thanks!


B) is the coolest answer. Jus’ sayin’


Cool for the knife thrower, maybe. Not so cool for the player who spent a lot of resources building a dedicated disarm specialist.


Perfect Tommy wrote:
AoO disarms. Attack is lost.

Source?


Darkin wrote:
Perfect Tommy wrote:
AoO disarms. Attack is lost.
Source?
CRB wrote:

An attack of opportunity "interrupts" the normal flow of actions in the round. If an attack of opportunity is provoked, immediately resolve the attack of opportunity, then continue with the next character's turn (or complete the current turn, if the attack of opportunity was provoked in the midst of a character's turn


Also, this

FAQ wrote:

Limited actions on my turn: If an AOO or other interrupting effect reduces what actions I can take on my turn, does this reduction apply immediately?

Yes, even if it interrupts or limits your in-progress.

For example, if you are making a full attack and attempt to trip your opponent, but you provoke an AOO because you don't have Improved Trip, and your opponent has a spell storing weapon that's storing a hold person, and you fail your save against the spell, you are immediately paralyzed and can't take any of your remaining actions (including the remainder of your full attack).

Likewise, if your opponent had the Staggering Critical feat instead of a spell storing weapon and the attack staggered you, you would immediately gain the staggered condition, which would prevent you from taking any actions that violate the staggered condition's limitations. If you provoked by taking a move action to move through the opponent's threatened area, you could finish that move action but could not also take a standard action after it. If you provoked as part of a full attack (as with the trip example), becoming staggered would end your full attack at that point and prevent you from taking a move action after the staggering attack. It doesn't matter if the AOO happened because of your first attack in your full attack or your last allowed one, being staggered ends your full attack at that point because you can't make a full attack if you're staggered.


bhampton wrote:
Darkin wrote:
Perfect Tommy wrote:
AoO disarms. Attack is lost.
Source?
CRB wrote:

An attack of opportunity "interrupts" the normal flow of actions in the round. If an attack of opportunity is provoked, immediately resolve the attack of opportunity, then continue with the next character's turn (or complete the current turn, if the attack of opportunity was provoked in the midst of a character's turn

Not seeing how this stops the thrower form drawing another dagger as a free action and continuing the attack


bhampton wrote:

Also, this

FAQ wrote:

Limited actions on my turn: If an AOO or other interrupting effect reduces what actions I can take on my turn, does this reduction apply immediately?

Yes, even if it interrupts or limits your in-progress.

For example, if you are making a full attack and attempt to trip your opponent, but you provoke an AOO because you don't have Improved Trip, and your opponent has a spell storing weapon that's storing a hold person, and you fail your save against the spell, you are immediately paralyzed and can't take any of your remaining actions (including the remainder of your full attack).

Likewise, if your opponent had the Staggering Critical feat instead of a spell storing weapon and the attack staggered you, you would immediately gain the staggered condition, which would prevent you from taking any actions that violate the staggered condition's limitations. If you provoked by taking a move action to move through the opponent's threatened area, you could finish that move action but could not also take a standard action after it. If you provoked as part of a full attack (as with the trip example), becoming staggered would end your full attack at that point and prevent you from taking a move action after the staggering attack. It doesn't matter if the AOO happened because of your first attack in your full attack or your last allowed one, being staggered ends your full attack at that point because you can't make a full attack if you're staggered.

Not seeing how this applies here, being disarmed does not apply an action limiting condition like staggered or paralyzed

Sovereign Court RPG Superstar 2011 Top 32

Darkin wrote:
bhampton wrote:
Darkin wrote:
Perfect Tommy wrote:
AoO disarms. Attack is lost.
Source?
CRB wrote:

An attack of opportunity "interrupts" the normal flow of actions in the round. If an attack of opportunity is provoked, immediately resolve the attack of opportunity, then continue with the next character's turn (or complete the current turn, if the attack of opportunity was provoked in the midst of a character's turn

Not seeing how this stops the thrower form drawing another dagger as a free action and continuing the attack

This bugged me at first as well, see above, but here's a scenario to help straighten out why that doesn't work.

Imagine the dagger thrower has 5 daggers, each with different plusses and magic abilities. Would you let him say he's attacking with a +1 dagger then suddenly in the middle of the attack change it to a different +3 dagger just because he has quick draw?


ryric wrote:

This bugged me at first as well, see above, but here's a scenario to help straighten out why that doesn't work.

Imagine the dagger thrower has 5 daggers, each with different plusses and magic abilities. Would you let him say he's attacking with a +1 dagger then suddenly in the middle of the attack change it to a different +3 dagger just because he has quick draw?

Not sure if I would let him do so, that's why we are discussing it here :)


Why?

Because that's what the rules say.
I'm taking the ready action, on the expectation that my turn will have an effect.

Readied actions already are discounted, by the chance the trigger may not occur.

If you allow the attack to continue, you are eliminating the reading players standard action.

Picture it as just as you were thrusting with your dagger I disarmed the dagger.
Your forward thrust still continues but absent a weapon it is meaningless the attack is lost.

Now, it is perfectly viable that if you were doing a full attack action, that you would get to continue with any other attacks but yes that one attack is lost.

The condition imposed is that you don't have your weapon in hand, and you complete one game action before proceeding to the next.


Perfect Tommy wrote:

Picture it as just as you were thrusting with your dagger I disarmed the dagger.

Your forward thrust still continues but absent a weapon it is meaningless the attack is lost.

Couldn't he then continue the attack with an unarmed strike?


Darkin wrote:
Perfect Tommy wrote:

Picture it as just as you were thrusting with your dagger I disarmed the dagger.

Your forward thrust still continues but absent a weapon it is meaningless the attack is lost.
Couldn't he then continue the attack with an unarmed strike?

no cause he already started his attack with the dagger.


ryric wrote:
Darkin wrote:
bhampton wrote:
Darkin wrote:
Perfect Tommy wrote:
AoO disarms. Attack is lost.
Source?
CRB wrote:

An attack of opportunity "interrupts" the normal flow of actions in the round. If an attack of opportunity is provoked, immediately resolve the attack of opportunity, then continue with the next character's turn (or complete the current turn, if the attack of opportunity was provoked in the midst of a character's turn

Not seeing how this stops the thrower form drawing another dagger as a free action and continuing the attack

This bugged me at first as well, see above, but here's a scenario to help straighten out why that doesn't work.

Imagine the dagger thrower has 5 daggers, each with different plusses and magic abilities. Would you let him say he's attacking with a +1 dagger then suddenly in the middle of the attack change it to a different +3 dagger just because he has quick draw?

Yes.

I run a couple of two-weapon fighters with quick draw and 4 attacks. A pretty standard turn is
1) Attack beastie with gladius. That damage doesn't go through.
2) Drop gladius as a free action and draw a cold-iron gladius.
3) Attack beastie with cold iron. That damage doesn't go through.
4) Drop cold iron weapon as a free action, and draw a silver gladius.
5) Attack beastie with silver. That damage doesn't go through.
6) Finally figure out the darn thing is a skeleton and quick draw a light hammer.
7) Attack with light hammer.
...
end of fight) Go back and pick up all the dropped weapons.


cant disarm a weapon that's no longer in the wielders hand


Lady-J wrote:
cant disarm a weapon that's no longer in the wielders hand

That is true, but with AoO from a thrown weapon. The weapon hasn't actually been thrown yet. So your disarmed before you can finish the throw.


Seravix wrote:
Lady-J wrote:
cant disarm a weapon that's no longer in the wielders hand
That is true, but with AoO from a thrown weapon. The weapon hasn't actually been thrown yet. So your disarmed before you can finish the throw.

if its not thrown then its not a ranged attack and thus does not provoke in the 1st place


Lady-J wrote:
Seravix wrote:
Lady-J wrote:
cant disarm a weapon that's no longer in the wielders hand
That is true, but with AoO from a thrown weapon. The weapon hasn't actually been thrown yet. So your disarmed before you can finish the throw.
if its not thrown then its not a ranged attack and thus does not provoke in the 1st place

Fair enough. Guess your just throwing out comments that wasn't pertaining to the topic.


Seravix wrote:
Lady-J wrote:
Seravix wrote:
Lady-J wrote:
cant disarm a weapon that's no longer in the wielders hand
That is true, but with AoO from a thrown weapon. The weapon hasn't actually been thrown yet. So your disarmed before you can finish the throw.
if its not thrown then its not a ranged attack and thus does not provoke in the 1st place
Fair enough. Guess your just throwing out comments that wasn't pertaining to the topic.

but it does pertain to the topic if the item is thrown its out of the users hand and provokes an aoo for being a ranged attack, while the item is in their hand its not a ranged attack there for no aoo and an item that is no longer in the hand of the wielder can not be disarmed


Pathfinder Starfinder Adventure Path Subscriber
Lady-J wrote:
Seravix wrote:
Lady-J wrote:
Seravix wrote:
Lady-J wrote:
cant disarm a weapon that's no longer in the wielders hand
That is true, but with AoO from a thrown weapon. The weapon hasn't actually been thrown yet. So your disarmed before you can finish the throw.
if its not thrown then its not a ranged attack and thus does not provoke in the 1st place
Fair enough. Guess your just throwing out comments that wasn't pertaining to the topic.
but it does pertain to the topic if the item is thrown its out of the users hand and provokes an aoo for being a ranged attack, while the item is in their hand its not a ranged attack there for no aoo and an item that is no longer in the hand of the wielder can not be disarmed

AoOs are resolved BEFORE the triggering action. Thus the disarm happens when the attacker tries/wants to throw the weapon, before the attack has occured.


^


Mimski wrote:
Lady-J wrote:
Seravix wrote:
Lady-J wrote:
Seravix wrote:
Lady-J wrote:
cant disarm a weapon that's no longer in the wielders hand
That is true, but with AoO from a thrown weapon. The weapon hasn't actually been thrown yet. So your disarmed before you can finish the throw.
if its not thrown then its not a ranged attack and thus does not provoke in the 1st place
Fair enough. Guess your just throwing out comments that wasn't pertaining to the topic.
but it does pertain to the topic if the item is thrown its out of the users hand and provokes an aoo for being a ranged attack, while the item is in their hand its not a ranged attack there for no aoo and an item that is no longer in the hand of the wielder can not be disarmed
AoOs are resolved BEFORE the triggering action. Thus the disarm happens when the attacker tries/wants to throw the weapon, before the attack has occured.

something can not trigger an effect if it hasn't happend yet, you would need cut from the air to do anything about negating a throwing weapons attack


Lady-J wrote:
Mimski wrote:
Lady-J wrote:
Seravix wrote:
Lady-J wrote:
Seravix wrote:
Lady-J wrote:
cant disarm a weapon that's no longer in the wielders hand
That is true, but with AoO from a thrown weapon. The weapon hasn't actually been thrown yet. So your disarmed before you can finish the throw.
if its not thrown then its not a ranged attack and thus does not provoke in the 1st place
Fair enough. Guess your just throwing out comments that wasn't pertaining to the topic.
but it does pertain to the topic if the item is thrown its out of the users hand and provokes an aoo for being a ranged attack, while the item is in their hand its not a ranged attack there for no aoo and an item that is no longer in the hand of the wielder can not be disarmed
AoOs are resolved BEFORE the triggering action. Thus the disarm happens when the attacker tries/wants to throw the weapon, before the attack has occured.
something can not trigger an effect if it hasn't happend yet, you would need cut from the air to do anything about negating a throwing weapons attack

So you are saying that throwing weapons does not provoke an AoO as long as the possible Attacker of opportunity plans to disarm on his AoO?


No...Lady-J is saying the dagger is already in the air by the time you are taking your AoO. So it can't be disarmed. But Minski is right that it is taken before the effect.


Darkin wrote:
Lady-J wrote:
Mimski wrote:
Lady-J wrote:
Seravix wrote:
Lady-J wrote:
Seravix wrote:
Lady-J wrote:
cant disarm a weapon that's no longer in the wielders hand
That is true, but with AoO from a thrown weapon. The weapon hasn't actually been thrown yet. So your disarmed before you can finish the throw.
if its not thrown then its not a ranged attack and thus does not provoke in the 1st place
Fair enough. Guess your just throwing out comments that wasn't pertaining to the topic.
but it does pertain to the topic if the item is thrown its out of the users hand and provokes an aoo for being a ranged attack, while the item is in their hand its not a ranged attack there for no aoo and an item that is no longer in the hand of the wielder can not be disarmed
AoOs are resolved BEFORE the triggering action. Thus the disarm happens when the attacker tries/wants to throw the weapon, before the attack has occured.
something can not trigger an effect if it hasn't happend yet, you would need cut from the air to do anything about negating a throwing weapons attack
So you are saying that throwing weapons does not provoke an AoO as long as the possible Attacker of opportunity plans to disarm on his AoO?

yes because it creates a paradox, if an attacker is to throw a weapon and they get an aoo and disarm then they coudnt have made the action to provoke the aoo in the 1st place they their weapon is back in their hand so they go to throw it so it provokes an aoo so the person disarms them then they cant make the action that provoked in the 1st place so their weapon is back in their hand so they go to throw it so it provokes an aoo so the person disarms them then they cant make the action that provoked in the 1st place so their weapon is back in their hand so they go to throw it so it provokes an aoo so the person disarms them then they cant make the action that provoked in the 1st place so their weapon is back in their hand so they go to throw it so it provokes an aoo so the person disarms them then they cant make the action that provoked in the 1st place so their weapon is back in their hand so they go to throw it so it provokes an aoo so the person disarms them then they cant make the action that provoked in the 1st place so their weapon is back in their hand so they go to throw it so it provokes an aoo so the person disarms them then they cant make the action that provoked in the 1st place so their weapon is back in their hand in an infinite loop


I think you might be mistaken on whether or not the dagger that is being thrown is still in hand by the time it gets disarmed.


Pathfinder Starfinder Adventure Path Subscriber
Lady-J wrote:
something can not trigger an effect if it hasn't happend yet, you would need cut from the air to do anything about negating a throwing weapons attack

According to this FAQ, as mentioned in the thread before, an AoO triggers before the action is resolved. In the FAQ itself it describes how someone who is standing up from prone cannot be tripped again from an AoO triggered by standing up.

It is not very far-fetched to extrapolate this to thrown attacks as follows:
The enemy declares a ranged attack and triggers an AoO.
The AoO is resolved before the throw. RAW the thrown weapon used for the ranged attack has not been thrown yet, i.e. has not left the hand.
The person taking the AoO decides to disarm, is successful and the enemy has no weapon to attack.

If you absolutely need to rationalise this, it can be said that the act of taking a swing, aiming, etc. opens you for an AoO, allowing for the weapon to be disarmed before it is actually thrown.

This is not a paradox in any way.


Mimski wrote:
Lady-J wrote:
something can not trigger an effect if it hasn't happend yet, you would need cut from the air to do anything about negating a throwing weapons attack

According to this FAQ, as mentioned in the thread before, an AoO triggers before the action is resolved. In the FAQ itself it describes how someone who is standing up from prone cannot be tripped again from an AoO triggered by standing up.

It is not very far-fetched to extrapolate this to thrown attacks as follows:
The enemy declares a ranged attack and triggers an AoO.
The AoO is resolved before the throw. RAW the thrown weapon used for the ranged attack has not been thrown yet, i.e. has not left the hand.
The person taking the AoO decides to disarm, is successful and the enemy has no weapon to attack.

And then the next step is that the attack that they started is wasted since it was negated.


Pathfinder Starfinder Adventure Path Subscriber
Chess Pwn wrote:


And then the next step is that the attack that they started is wasted since it was negated.

Due to the following line in the Quick Draw feat:

Quote:
A character who has selected this feat may throw weapons at his full normal rate of attacks (much like a character with a bow).

(and the fact that the GM might limit free actions to a "reasonable amount") I'd rule like that in a home game, yes. (Meaning that 3 disarms are enough to cancel to full attack in the above example.)

Especially if it's a PC disarming a NPC. I like to make sure the PCs builds feel effective.

But I honestly have no strong opinions/arguments for/against the interpretations of the rules in this thread in the above example and would probably just discuss with my players the options and choose one that feels the most fair to everyone, after presenting arguments. (After the session, if there are any objections to my ruling or if it was NPC vs PC, instead of PC vs NPC.)


Mimski wrote:
Lady-J wrote:
something can not trigger an effect if it hasn't happend yet, you would need cut from the air to do anything about negating a throwing weapons attack

According to this FAQ, as mentioned in the thread before, an AoO triggers before the action is resolved. In the FAQ itself it describes how someone who is standing up from prone cannot be tripped again from an AoO triggered by standing up.

It is not very far-fetched to extrapolate this to thrown attacks as follows:
The enemy declares a ranged attack and triggers an AoO.
The AoO is resolved before the throw. RAW the thrown weapon used for the ranged attack has not been thrown yet, i.e. has not left the hand.
The person taking the AoO decides to disarm, is successful and the enemy has no weapon to attack.

If you absolutely need to rationalise this, it can be said that the act of taking a swing, aiming, etc. opens you for an AoO, allowing for the weapon to be disarmed before it is actually thrown.

This is not a paradox in any way.

it is not a ranged attack until the weapon leaves their hand, that provokes the aoo is taken the aoo resolves b4 the thrown weapon attack does then the thrown weapon attack is resolved the weapon thrower may have a different weapon they are holding disarmed but the weapon they have already thrown can not be, otherwise they create a paradox by not being able to take the action that provoked the aoo in the 1st place which then means no aoo took place


take the standing up/trip scenario as an example, the person starts to get up aoo takes place it can be a trip attempt but the aoo resolves b4 the person finishes standing up so the trip attempt makes the already prone person prone, they then continue to stand up after the aoo is resolved, same goes for the thrower the action starts taking place (dagger leaves the hand), the aoo happens and is resolved then the dagger either hits or misses its target


"I throw my dagger" -ranged attack, that provokes AoO

"I disarm his dagger" -AoO triggers before the dagger has left his hand, but is still a ranged attack

no paradox at all


Darkin wrote:

"I throw my dagger" -ranged attack, that provokes AoO

"I disarm his dagger" -AoO triggers before the dagger has left his hand, but is still a ranged attack

no paradox at all

if the dagger doesn't leave his hand then its not a ranged attack yet there for it doesn't trigger the aoo, aoo is only triggered once the dagger leaves the hand but b4 it goes to confirm a miss or a hit on the target


Darkin wrote:
Perfect Tommy wrote:

Picture it as just as you were thrusting with your dagger I disarmed the dagger.

Your forward thrust still continues but absent a weapon it is meaningless the attack is lost.
Couldn't he then continue the attack with an unarmed strike?

Would you let a wizard whose magic Missile was interrupted continue with a fireball


Lady-J wrote:
Darkin wrote:

"I throw my dagger" -ranged attack, that provokes AoO

"I disarm his dagger" -AoO triggers before the dagger has left his hand, but is still a ranged attack

no paradox at all

if the dagger doesn't leave his hand then its not a ranged attack yet there for it doesn't trigger the aoo, aoo is only triggered once the dagger leaves the hand but b4 it goes to confirm a miss or a hit on the target

Another way to look at it, if you insist on the dagger not being in the hand by the time the AoO is taken, is the disarm AoO merely knocks the dagger out of the air. though if this were the case, you would be using the dagger's CMD instead of the throwers CMD, which i am sure is much lower since it has a dex and str of 0 and is tiny


Perfect Tommy wrote:
Darkin wrote:
Perfect Tommy wrote:

Picture it as just as you were thrusting with your dagger I disarmed the dagger.

Your forward thrust still continues but absent a weapon it is meaningless the attack is lost.
Couldn't he then continue the attack with an unarmed strike?
Would you let a wizard whose magic Missile was interrupted continue with a fireball

If the wizard can cast fireball as a free action, sure.

Also to be noted here: an attack action, as part of a full attack is not a standard action, while casting spells usually is. So not sure if this really applies here.

1 to 50 of 74 << first < prev | 1 | 2 | next > last >>
Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder RPG / Rules Questions / Quickdraw vs Combat Reflexes and Disarm All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.