Samurai's page

Organized Play Member. 344 posts. No reviews. No lists. No wishlists. 1 Organized Play character. 1 alias.

Sovereign Court

In D&D 5e, you can trade your ability boosts to buy feats. What do you think of a more limited version of that in PF2e?

What if the rule were as follows: Whenever you have a choice of a 4 free Ability boosts, you can instead choose to get just 3 Ability boosts and 1 free Ancestry, Class, or General feat. You must meet all the requirements for the feat chosen.

So, for example, at Level 1 get 4 free ability boosts at the end of character creation, so you could instead just take 3 of those boosts and a free feat that you qualify for. This shouldn't be too game breaking, it would actually reduce the character's power level a bit, but open up more options for them.

What do you think? Should it be limited to only Ancestry and General feats? Does it step on the toes of Humans getting a free feat if they choose Natural Ambition or General Training?

Sovereign Court

1 person marked this as a favorite.

So here are my changes so far for P2. They cover a wide range of topics, from fixing the Alchemist's Research Fields (including adding a new one: Toxicologist), to adding a General feat for multiclassing, to fixes for lots of spells, and a new Condition: Entangled. I also included the Errata that we know about so far at the end, so you have 1 source for all the changes from the core book. This is version 1.0, and I plan to update it as needed. I welcome any feedback and questions about why I made the changes that I did, or suggestions for more changes, or concerns for the ramifications of these changes.

Samurai's Pathfinder 2E Changes

Sovereign Court

Under the Awesome Blow Barbarian ability, on a Failure it says "You gain the normal effect of Knockback." I can't find it in the status effects at the end or on the GM's screen. Is it hidden away somewhere? Is it a mistake and they actually meant "Shove" on pg. 243? That's my best guess.

Sovereign Court

In my house rules I gave spontaneous casters the equivalent of "Signature Spell" for free to all of their spells. Spontaneous casters/Sorcerers are supposed to have a limited Spell Repertoire, but be able to use them more often and more freely, so now they can. To balance this, I want to give something to Prepared casters too. Clerics and Druids already get access to pretty much all of their respective lists (the main restrictions being alignment, such as Good Clerics can use Heal while Evil ones can use Harm). But Wizards only get a portion of the Arcane list. By the book, they start with 10 cantrips and 5 level 1 spells. They add 2 more spells when they level up, and can find more in books and scrolls. In games I've played in, finding an enemy spellbook was a rare thing and usually only happened because it was in the module or because we needed a specific spell to continue.

So here is what I propose:
When a Wizard increases in level, they may add a number of new spells to their spellbook for free. They get either 2 or their Int. mod, whichever is higher. The spells must be from levels they can cast.

This will add some of the flavor of Intelligence adding to your spell lists, but it won't actually increase their power since they can only prepare a number of spells equal to their slots. This just gives them a few more choices (about double for most Wizards) in what to prepare, thus strengthening the Wizard's role of "lots of spells, but what to prepare?" to contrast with the Sorcerer's "this is my fixed repertoire, but I can use them a lot more and more flexibly".

Sovereign Court

It doesn't seem like some of the monsters are always using all of their attack/weapon properties. For instance, the Skeleton Guard has +2 Str and +4 Dex. His Claw attack is listed as Agile and Finesse, but it has the same +6 attack bonus as his Scimitar attack. Now there are plenty of other monsters that have Claw attacks, including the Skeletal Champion, that don't list Claws as Finesse weapons, only Agile. Should the Skeleton Guard's claw loose the Finesse quality, or should we make it a +8 attack?

Sovereign Court

51 people marked this as FAQ candidate. Answered in the FAQ. 3 people marked this as a favorite.

I was going to title this "James Jacobs, you're wrecking my character!" because sensationalism draws attention! :)

Most forum goers seem to agree with me that the Oracle's Haunted curse names a specific action, "retrieving a stored item", which is listed on the Action table (Move Action, draws an AoO). Drawing a weapon is specified as a separate action in the rules, unless the weapon is stored away in a pack, and only in that case is it treated as retrieving a stored item. So, pulling out a potion, scroll, wand, rod, sunstone/torch, most unslotted magic items, rope, etc would all be hindered, but drawing your weapon usually would not be.

However, James mentioned in a couple posts that in his opinion, "retrieving a stored item" included weapons. My GM is pointing to that ( uestions-Here#15397) as evidence for a broader interpretation of the curse. I feel that if Paizo meant for drawing a weapon to be included, they would have written "When you draw a weapon or retrieve a stored item, it takes a standard action." And since my Oracle, like most Oracles, only has access to Simple weapons, she uses javelins as her only ranged attack option, and this rule would ruin that, not to mention it taking a standard action every time she picks up her staff.

This question has been hotly debated on the forums for a while ( , , , ) among others, but aside from definitively stating that spell components were never meant to be included, I don't think Paizo has laid the question to rest officially.

Does the Haunted Curse also affect weapons that are not stored away and can normally be drawn as part of a move action, or does "Retrieve a stored item" refer specifically to the action on the Action Table, "Retrieving a stored item" and not include weapons?


Sovereign Court

I seem to recall reading a feat that gave you +2 on Concentration checks and also +2 AC on AoO resulting from spellcasting.

Now I can't find it anywhere. Did I imagine that or does someone recognize it and can point out the feat and what book it's in?


Sovereign Court

Here's what the Rules Clarification said about AoO and ranged touch attack spells:

Ranged Touch Spells in Combat: Some spells allow you to make a ranged touch attack as part of the casting of the spell. These attacks are made as part of the spell and do not require a separate action. Ranged touch attacks provoke an attack of opportunity, even if the spell that causes the attacks was cast defensively.

Go to rule

I bolded the important parts... the attack is part of the spell, and not a separate action. Should a single action ever give the chance to make 2 opportunity attacks from it? I don't feel it should... if it were a separate action, then sure, but not when it's the same action and part of casting the spell.

If an opportunity attack does hit because of the ranged attack, and the ranged attack is part of the casting of the spell, shouldn't that disrupt the casting same as an opportunity attack that hits for spellcasting? You are being injured during the action of casting a spell, whether it's for the ranged attack or spellcasting doesn't matter.

Note: If a single action can't provoke 2 opportunity attacks, then you are better off not casting defensively for rng touch spells. You're going to take a disruptive AoO no matter what, so why cast defensively and risk losing the spell at that step? Better to just hope they miss.

Sovereign Court

Hi all. I'm considering playing a Black-blooded Oracle, and I wanted to clarify something. This Archetype is described on Inner Sea Magic pg 32, where it says "[the Oracle's] wounds are infected by her own magic and difficult to heal", but it doesn't give any penalties to Heal checks or anything else. I does say later on that positive and negative energies are reversed for the Oracle, such that Cures hurt and Inflicts heal. Is that what was meant, or is there also some other penalties to healing that aren't listed?

Sovereign Court

I had a question about the Specialist Druid types in the APG... each of them trades power for power, in generally equal X for Y trades, with the base Druid. However, they then mostly take an extra hit on Wildshaping, gaining it 2 levels later and always being counted as a Druid 2 levels lower. This means that the specialist Druid can never gain the Druid capstone ability, unlimited Wildshaping. Given that they do not get a net gain in power for their other abilities (some might even argue that they are much more specialized than a regular Druid and thus their powers a bit less useful), why was this done? Was it to preserve the original Druid's niche by making them better than their specialist counterparts?

As a player of a Druid, I was disappointed by this removal of the capstone power and general weakening of their wildshaping with nothing given in return, so I stuck with the base version.

Sovereign Court

Backwards compatibility is one of the great things about Pathfinder, and I'm using many things from 3.5 in my Pathfinder game. One of the most used is the Spell Compendium. Which brings up a problem with the new Advanced caster classes... they have unique spell lists. While this both adds to their unique flavor and limits their power, it means they don't work with all the spells in the Spell Compendium (and any other sources), no matter how appropriate the spell may be for their class.

So I have a couple solutions: First, you could limit their spells in a way that expansion is easy. For instance, if a Summoner can cast only Conjuration spells, then any new Conjuration in the SC are also usable, and his repertoire is expanded just like the Clerics, Wizards, etc.

If you don't want to do that, what about releasing a free pdf with "Expanded spell lists" for the new classes detailing which Spell Compendium spells they may use, assuming the SC is open content and may be referenced.

If a solution can't be found, then all the new classes will have spell lists far, FAR shorter than any basic class.

Sovereign Court

2 people marked this as FAQ candidate.

Beast Shape is the primary and most used form of wild shaping, so why don't Druids get Beast Shape IV? Was this just an oversight, and it will corrected in the errata? It isn't in the 1st draft of errata. If it is a mistake, should the get it at 10th level, which is where it would naturally fall in the progression?

Was it left out on purpose, for some reason? If so, what is it? How is Beast Shape IV less appropriate than the upper levels of Elemental or Plant, which they do receive?

Sovereign Court

Jason, 2 ideas that got discussed quite a bit in Alpha 2 were casters getting 1/2 Caster level increases when multiclassing (not spells per day or spells known, just caster level), and Universalist Wizards getting powers such as sudden metamagics, instantly rememorize a cast spell, and memorizing 1 spell per day into an empty slot in a round rather than many minutes, etc. instead of bonus spells like Levitate and Wish. Both were rather popular ideas in their threads, and I really was hoping to see them make it into Alpha 3. But no luck. So, any chance they'll be included in the Beta? Thanks.

Sovereign Court

Will multiclassing for spellcasters be modified in Pathfinder? I really think it should be addressed, and the changes would be very easily backwards compatible.

I think characters should gain Caster Levels from other classes... full levels if the 2nd class is a full caster of the same type (Arcane/Divine), 1/2 levels if they are a semi-caster (like the Ranger) or a full caster of the other type (such as a Wizard/Cleric), and 1/3 levels if the class is a non-caster, or only a semi-caster of the opposite type.

So, a Wizard 6/ Cleric 4/ Rogue 3 has an ACL (Arcane Caster Level) of 9 (6+2+1) and a DCL (Divine Caster Level) of 8 (3+4+1).