![]() ![]()
![]() The Wood Giant (page 132) should have a "mwk composite longbow" in his Ranged entry, and not just "mwk longbow". He gets a +5 Strength bonus to damage because the bow is composite (that's why his damage is 2d6+5 and not just 2d6), and also under the Treasure entry it notes that he carries a masterwork composite longbow. Confirmed? ![]()
![]() Page 143 (under Focused Arcane Schools") refers to "prohibited schools". It should say "opposed schools" instead, as there aren't prohibited ones anymore. Page 51, under Final Revelation, refers to "skill points". The correct term in the Pathfinder RPG is "skill ranks". The same mistake is made on page 158 under Eclectic. ![]()
![]() Asked a few days by email but no reply so far. Please let me know
Thank you. ![]()
![]() Cosmo wrote:
Thanks, Cosmo. I know that you and Sara Marie have tried your best, and I really appreciate it. Also, thanks for the suggestion regarding the faster delivery method; this is indeed something I haven't considered yet. I will check it out. ![]()
![]() Gorbacz, it's the sender's responsibility to pack the items properly to assure that they arrive intact. At all times when Paizo packed the books properly then they arrived in perfect condition. For example, both the Core Rulebook and the Bestiary were packed in big boxes padded with Styrofoam. Also, the damage is not very visible from the condition of the box; it's when I open it and take out the books that I notice it. Out of curiosity, how many books are delivered to you usually in one package, Gorbacz, and are they packed in boxes or in the sturdy envelopes? We're not far away from each other, by the way, I'm from Hungary. ![]()
![]() Please immediately suspend all my subscriptions, and do not ship or charge me for the pending order #1478822. I've just received the previous order #1462625, and again the products arrived damaged: all 4 books in it were heavily damaged with broken spines, creases and bumps. Please let me know how I can get a refund for the order and the associated shipping fees. I have tried in the last months several times to set my subscriptions to different addresses so they will ship separately (at an increased cost to me), thus reducing the risk of damage, but your system automatically set back all the subscriptions to just one address. As I've already mentioned in the past the carton boxes you ship the books in to me in Europe are too small and so do not provide ample protection to the books inside: when the package gets hit on the way (and it always does during international transit) the books inside, which are adjacent to the edge, gets damaged immediately. You really do need to ship your products in bigger boxes and with protections around the edges of the books. I'd like to continue being your customer, but I believe I deserve better than constantly receiving damaged merchandise. I'm sure there are things to be done. If Amazon manages to deliver all the books to me intact (affixing them to a hard cardboard backing), so you can too. I wonder if I can have a chat with Lisa regarding this, as this really reflects bad on your company. Kind regards, Oren ![]()
![]() Sara Marie wrote:
Sorry to hear that. I'm unwilling to continue receiving damaged merchandise (in worse state than Scratch-'n-Dent) while paying the full price. Unfortunately, it seems that you are unable or unwilling to help me in any way to assure with the safe arrival of my orders, not by by packaging in a better way nor by shipping each item separately (with me paying the extra fees). You leave me with no choice but to cancel my 7 subscriptions with Pazio. Please confirm the cancellation. Thank you. ![]()
![]() Cpt_kirstov wrote:
I'm located in Europe, so it's an overseas delivery. The main problem is that the boxes they ship the books in are too small, so all the books are adjacent to the the edges of the box, with no protections around them. This means that when the box gets bumped (and it always gets bumped in oversea delivered) then the books inside get heavily damaged. There are many ways to prevent this. For example, they can use bigger boxes and then affix the books to the center of a carton with an overlaying nylon. This means that when the box gets bumped what is damaged are the edges of the carton inside, and not the books that are affixed to its center. This is how I usually get my orders from Amazon. ![]()
![]() Could you please delete the email I sent you yesterday regarding subscription cancellations (before Sara Marie acts on it)? I'm not yet ready to cancel my subscriptions. However, I do have a serious problem with orders from you arriving repeatedly in a very damaged condition due to poor packaging. It's very saddening to receive a new book whose entire edges are bumped and creased. I requested in an email to place the books in your usual sturdy envelopes, even when shipping them together with other items in a box, but been told that you are unable to designate ways of packaging for individual orders. This is unfortunate. In reality, this should be your overall policy, as just placing several books in a small box with nothing protecting them from getting bumps on the way (nothing separating them from the edges of the box) is a bad way to ship things, and is subpar to the methods that other online sellers use. I was pleasantly surprised by the methods in which you shipped the Core Rulebook and the Bestiary, so was hopping for similar treatment to my other subscriptions, but was deeply disappointed. I actually set my subscriptions all originally to "never hold anything" in hopes that then the individual books will be shipped separately, each in a sturdy envelope, but in reality you still shipped many together in a box with no protection. Is there a way to solve these problems? I don't mind paying more for shipping (e.g. paying to ship each book separately, or paying a premium for proper packaging) - however is there an actual way to do this with your system? Eagerly waiting your reply before deciding what to do with my 7 subscriptions. Thank you! ![]()
![]() Yes, stringburka, you guessed correctly. His Base Attack Bonus as a level 1 fighter is +1. His Strength is 16 for a +3 bonus to hit. So we get a total of +4. He is dual-wielding (but has the Two-Weapon Fighting feat), for a -2 penalty to hit on both weapons, so we get each weapon at +2. He has Weapon Focus (longsword) for an additional +1 to hit with the weapon, so we get longsword +3 (and shortsword stays +2). ![]()
![]() It's a killer spell :) Welcome to the forums! Yes, this is the correct place to report such problems, at least until Paizo would decide to start a forum dedicated to errata (which I hope they would). You're right, 3.5 said: "with no loss of level (or Constitution points)". There the note in the parenthesis was correct, but in Pathfinder it isn't because of the change of the wording before. ![]()
![]() Cosmo wrote:
That's perfectly alright, Cosmo! By the way, is there a way I can set it myself so that new orders that I place would be shipped separately? For example, I'd like to order several Pathfinder miniatures, and would like them to be shipped together separately from my other orders. Please let me know. Kind regards, Oren ![]()
![]() Could you kindly make sure that the books in this order (and all future orders by me) are wrapped in your sturdy envelopes before being placed inside the box with the rest of the items? This will protect the books and prevent them from arriving damaged and bumped (something which usually happens on oversea deliveries when you just place them inside a box with no protections around). Thank you! ![]()
![]() Happler wrote:
As I read it, a bat with a warrior level would still be CR 1/3 according to this: class level 1 - 2 = -1, meaning taking 2 steps (from 1 to 0 and then from 0 to -1) back on the above-mentioned progression. His original CR of 1/8 doesn't seem to be part of the formula. I don't see how any creature with at least one NPC class level could get to a CR of 1/4, 1/6 or 1/8. ![]()
![]() jreyst wrote:
I just checked the 3.5 Player's Handbook. On page 309 it says that locating the square an invisible creature occupies is a DC 40 check. This suggests that the modifier for "Not moving" in the Pathfinder table should be 0 and not +40. The breakdown in Pathfinder:
So the base DC to pinpoint the location of an invisible creature is 40, just like what it was in 3.5. To this you can add modifiers from the table (whose heading should say "Perception DC modifier" and not "Perception"). To keep in line with 3.5 the modifier for not moving should be +0 for a total DC of 40 for pinpointing an invisible creature's location. Now if the creature is moving, it should be easier to locate it, so you should then apply the other modifiers from the table, which I assume are correct. This still doesn't resolve the problem with the invisibility DCs given under the invisibility spell - those ones don't take into account different movement types and contradict the table. Any word from Bulmahn regarding this? ![]()
![]() I found the exact rule. It's in the core rulebook page 398 under Adding NPCs. Quote: A creature that only possesses non-player class levels (such as a warrior or adept - see page 448) is factored in as a creature with a CR equal to its class level -2. If this reduction would reduce a creature's CR to below 1, its CR drops one step on the following progression for each step below 1 this reduction would make: 1/2, 1/3, 1/4, 1/6, 1/8 So as I estimated, a level 3 goblin warrior will be CR 1 (3 - 2 = 1). What I wonder is how a creature with NPC class levels would ever get below 1/3 on the above progression. That seems to be impossible. ![]()
![]() Yerv Kinkash wrote:
The goblin presented in the Bestiary already has 1 warrior level and is CR 1/3. I would say that one with 3 warrior levels would be around CR 1. But that's just an approximation. The 2 additional warrior levels add +2 to hit, which is similar to what the Advanced Creature template adds (hit-wise) and it increases the CR by 1. The rules for monsters with class levels in the Bestiary focus on adding PC classes and not NPC ones. The only note about NPC classes in the section is that: "Creatures with NPC class levels do not receive adjustments to their ability scores." ![]()
![]() Draeke Raefel wrote:
I see your point now. It makes perfect sense to me. However, something is confusing about the paragraph, specifically this sentence: Quote: If the eidolon is sent back to its home plane due to damage, it cannot be summoned again until the following day. The above sentence gave me the impression that if the eidolon was sent back to his home plane not because of damage, but because he was dismissed by the summoner, then he could be summoned again and again. Also I did not think about the situation in which the summoner would still have an eidolon with him that was summoned on an earlier day. Finally, what if an eidolon is banished by a spell? Can it then be summoned again on the same day in which he was banished? I guess so, as that wasn't really physical damage. I think the rules need to be a bit more specific here to avoid any misinterpretations. ![]()
![]() Draeke Raefel wrote:
Exactly. And this is why the "once per day" in the first line of the paragraph is incorrect; it hints that in any case you can summon the eidolon just once a day, while in reality you can summon it more than once (e.g. if you were the one who dismissed it). ![]()
![]() From the pdf, page 30:
Quote: A summoner can summon his eidolon once per day in a ritual that takes 1 minute to perform But later in the same paragraph it says: Quote: If the eidolon is sent back to its home plane due to damage, it cannot be summoned again until the following day This suggests that if the eidolon is simply dismissed, it can be summoned again in the same day, which means that the first quote above is imprecise. I suggest deleting "once per day" from the sentence, meaning changing it to:
Quote: A summoner can summon his eidolon in a ritual that takes 1 minute to perform
![]()
![]() Tamago wrote: Have you considered Pathfinder Paper Minis? It sounds like they would do just what you're looking for. We need tokens / paper minis for all the monsters in the Pathfinder Bestiary. The current selection of paper minis is very limited, with some of the minis being adventure-specific, meaning not really helpful for general use. ![]()
![]() Sean K Reynolds wrote: Yep this is wrong (perhaps the table erroneously combines modifiers to the DC with another table of modifiers to the Perception check?). I'll forward this to the Bulmahn. Thanks for the update, Sean! Please also note that the table contradicts the invisibility-related modifiers as they appear under the Invisibility spell. For example, under the spell there's no distinction between walking and running, while in the table there is. It's all one big mess. ![]()
![]() Senmont wrote: I am going to be DMing for the first time next week, and decided to roll the bad guy perception checks ahead of time so the players won't see me rolling and wonder what's up next. Is that rude? It's perfectly acceptable. I sometimes roll initiative for monsters before the session, just to save time. In your case, you don't only save time - you also have a nice surprise in store for the players! ![]()
![]() Gorbacz wrote: Erm, Kobolds are draconic humanoids since the beginning of 3ed. And frankly, after Meepo there is no turning back :) Haha, Meepo! The name conjured up some nice memories. One of my last D&D sessions with my old buddies before I relocated to another country. The Sunless Citadel was a cool adventure! ![]()
![]() The Bastards of Erebus notes that Citadel Rivad lies northwest of the city of Wetscrown (page 27) and refers to it as "the order's stronghold outside the city walls", hinting that it's quite near to the city. Page 28 also says that "The heroes only have about an hour to prepare before they must leave along the northwest road". However according to the Player's Guide (map on page 11) Citadel Rivad is actually quite far away from the city - it lies 50 miles away from it, and to the southwest, and not northwest. The adventure also seems to contradict itself on page 27 saying that "The road to the citadel is an offshoot from the main road that winds off to the southwest", but looking at the map in the Player's Guide, there's only one road to the southwest and it's actually called Rack Road, as it leads directly to the citadel. So where is Citadel Rivad? ![]()
![]() PaleRyder wrote:
I am experiencing exactly the same problem. ![]()
![]() I started my subscription with the core rulebook, but for some reason the next product scheduled to ship is the GM screen in November/December. What happened to the much-awaited bestiary? I assumed that by placing a subscription starting with the first product, I would be receiving everything to be released. This is unfortunate, as we need the bestiary quite urgently for our campaign. ![]()
![]() Larry Lichman wrote:
NPCs in the book have CMB and CMD. Also, the zip file you get the PDF copy in from Paizo is called pathfinderCompanionCheliaxEmpireOfDevilsPFRPGPDF.zip Note that "PFRPG" in the file name. |