Odion's page

Organized Play Member. 26 posts (34 including aliases). No reviews. No lists. No wishlists. 2 aliases.


Many thanks, this is kinda what I thought but thought id find out for sure, I shall pass this onto the club :)

Hello everyone,

A question came up last night at my RP club about charging into combat with a large creature and if they get an attack of opportunity or not?

Each of our tables seem to be playing differently and we wondered on if there was any published answer to it.

Ok so as an example, human fighter with a longsword charges a large dragon. Does the the dragon get an attack on the fighter at 10ft away from him as he passes a threatened square?

Arguments for and against that the club put forward all come from Page 183 of the Core Rulebook.

Actions in Combat chart states that charging does not provoke.

However under the table it has "Regardless of the action, if you move out of a threatened square, you usually provoke an attack of opportunity. This column indicates whether the action itself, not moving, provokes an attack of opportunity." Which would seem to say that the movement would provoke? or is this just from other combatants?

And official rulings out there?

Many thanks,


Ok, unfortunately for me a part of me knew that haha.

Thank you for a quick response :)

Hi all, this may seem like a silly question with a simple answer that I have miss so sorry if it is haha.

Does the Wizard with the Conjuration/Teleportation school's Shift ability use a verbal component to activate?

It says "as if using dimension door" which would lead me to believe it uses a verbal component, however I didn't know if being a swift action or a supernatural ability would change that.

Thank you.

pennywit wrote:

Glad you like the impresario. If you weren't limited to core, I'd suggest adding the Court Bard archetype (the crunch at least, not the fluff). With that archetype, he'd be a pure debuffing machine.

Otherwise, you should fast-talk your GM into allowing as many of the non-core enchantment spells as you can. I especially like Charitable Impules, Beguiling Gift, and Smug Narcissism).

I don't think I'll be allowed the archetype in the game unfortunately but I will give the spells a go haha.

pennywit wrote:

If you're starting at first level, I'd say make him a ringmaster's son or something; that makes more sense for a beginning character. As far as "circus" type spells, I can see two concepts:

Impresario. This character would spend most of his feats on combat maneuvers (Combat Expertise, Improved Disarm, and similar things) and on the Weapon Focus chain (especially dazzling display). His skills should include Perform (oratory), Intimidate, Sleight of Hand, Bluff, and Acrobatics. (With considerations for versatile performance, of course). Spells should focus on enchantments (Confusion, Unnatural Lust, Unprepared Combatant, and similar things) and other things that are flashy and/or make the enemy do stupid things or are otherwise flashy (Cause Fear, Glitterdust, etc.) RP-wise, integrate your whip and/or patter into ALL of your actions, including spells. Accompany Confusion with a crack of the whip to a person's face. Glitterdust should be accompanied by Dr. Strange-style patter and sparkles poring out of your top hat. (Note: See if your GM will let the top hat be your "instrument" for the purposes of summon instrument).

Beastmaster. This dude is kind of scary. He's about seven feet tall. He doesn't do top hats, and his leather "armor" is sleeveless. His feats are entirely focused on conjuration magic. His skills on intimidation and handling animals. And his spells ... summoning. Lots of summoning. When the Beastmaster takes to the field, he swings his brutal whip about him. It cracks to the ground. "Missed me!" you think. No. A beast, surrounded in eldritch flame, rises from the ground. The Beastmaster cracks his whip at the eldritch animal ... and it moves to attack you.

Thats brilliant! I love the Impresario ideas, thats the sort of character I had in mind.

Yeah maybe the son of a ringmaster who has been kicked out of the circus after some problems he caused, Wanting to steal the show away from his father, causing issues with the other acts, etc.

I really hope my GM allows the summon instrument to give me a top hat as that is exactly what I want.

VRMH wrote:
A Summoner with a whip could make his Eidolon do "tricks". And those can actually roll a pretty good Perform check. A Bard/Summoner is woefully unoptimised, but could fit the bill quite nicely.

It would be nice to play a summoner with a bear-like Eidolon however I am limited to the core rule book only :(

Sorry missed loads of info needed haha, It isn't for PFS and we are starting from level 1 but would like a few ideas for progressing the character as well if possible.

I would be willing to sacrifice a lot of crunch for fluff to make the RP of the character fun, so long as I am not useless.

With my next character that I want to play in PF I want it to be one to remember, not for how strong he is but how fun he is to role-play.

So with that in mind I give you my concept.

Ringmaster of a circus (Ex-ringmaster but still playing the part)

So I am after him to be very charismatic, skills in things like acrobatics and perform, and have very trick like spells (disappearing, fogs, pulling a rabbit out of a hat, that type of thing). Id love him to be able to create a top hat out of thin air if that's even possible.

I am thinking of a Bard that uses a whip (lion tamer style) to perform using dazzling display to control the field (and his performance) Thank you Treantmonk for that one :)

I am only allowed the core rule book and have 20 points on stats, and I wondered what people though?

What sort of spells should be taken?

Anything you guys think could improve the concept?

Thank you :)

haha hopefully so :)
should make for an interesting gaming session
ok so a knowledge (Arcane or Religion, whatevery my GM says) should let me know :)
thank you all

Thats great news :) (for me that is) Thank you
Sure Thing, I dont expect it would happen very often haha, we are about to head into a town that has been taken over by undead, and we presume there is a necromancer, and guessing its desecrated. I just want to understand my abilities in the case it is how I believe it to be.
Will I be able to tell if its desecrated?

Ok probably another silly question, if you are in a Desecrated area and you use your channel to Command undead are you still using negative channeled energy for the purpose of Desecrate, therfore get the +3 on the DC?

Any help would be greatly appreciated, thank you for your time :)

Thank you for explaining that for me :) it really helps

So does it matter what creature type you are (other than undead) when it come to Channel Energy? or do All things other than undead get healed?
Sorry I feel its been miss explained to me in the past

Yeah sorry tried to make it make more sense, thank you :) It has been miss explained to me, so are the Feats (Alignment channel) There to make your healing more selective/deal damage to these things?

Ok so this is probably a really simple question,
The Channel Energy ability says heal all living or harm all undead creatures, does this heal Outsiders? I only ask because there is a feat to heal or harm outsiders. and how does this affect Native Outsiders?
Thank you for your time :)

Thank you Ravingdork for clearing that up for me, helps a lot, now I dont need to keep looking through my books trying to find a rule that isn't in them
@Necromancer: That consept is so good, never really think about why they attack living things at random, but that would fit in very well in the pathfinder world.

I love the idea of a neutral necromacer. I understand that a good character cannot cast evil spells and evil casters cannot cast good spells and so on, however where does it say that it gradually makes you evil casting these spells? I just wondered if someone could post a quote or something

Ok so if magic is a language does that mean if you cast a language dependant spell on a target that also cast magic (therefore understanding magic) will the spell take effect as you both speak and understand it?

Ok thank you for clearing that up for me :)

Ok so I was just wondering what language do you speak when you cast spells? do you use a magical language or a language of your choice on your character sheet? Also if you do use a magical language is it the same magical language used over all spell casters?

Thank you

In vital strike it says you can make one attack at double the damage dice, if you get the Haste spell cast on you can you still only make one attack? or can you make one Vital Strike attack and a normal attack? or can you make two Vital Strikes?

Ok thank you

Ok so difference of opinion there, ok so it says in the summon eidolon spell it can be used even if the eidolon is slain, in this case what hit points does it come back on?

O so it is possible, that's good to know thank you

I just wondered what happens if you use the spell summon eidolon while you have a summoned monster out with the summoners SLA, does the summoned monster stay out with the eidolon or can you still only have one out at the same time?