It seems to me that the best ways to fix Resonance(assuming no other rules change it enough to fix the issues) with regard to single use items would be to either:
1. Take potions off the list.
2. Potions used after resonance is 0 affect the user based on a "minimum effect" system(like saves affect certain spells when they can't reduce the effect entirely), so for things like poison you are never unaffected, while healing does a straight stabilize + 1 hp.
3. Potions use a different resonance style system based on the imbibers Con + level unaffected by regular resonance.
Frosty Ace wrote:
I agree that Shinigami likely see's it that way for that reason, but it can still be useful for discussions about the campaign by the DM with other DM's for general assistance with encounter design/plot, just not something that should enter most player/dm discussions or into conversations with specifics.
Here is the Pf version of the Ghillie suit the Camo blanket Grants concealment to let you make the check and a bonus to stealth when prone that works when sniping.
Is there more to that? it seems odd there are no actual conditions(deployment time, removal time, loss of stealth due to movement, etc.)... I mean it's 12 gold and 2 lbs, and you could potentially take that text to indicate you can just walk around with it over your head all the time for concealment without consequence for just 12 gold.
Not to mention if someone in that group of 30 dies, that's a local community member lost... if it's some adventurer, that's a cautionary tale.
Alternatively you could use "the militia is out dealing with x" as a reason they aren't there to stop "y" with "y" being your lowest level adventures.
was the player immortal afterwards?
Chess Pwn wrote:
Lol now I kind of want to see a BB magus played like Duddly do-right where he just does really dumb stuff like play hide and seek with it and is somewhat surprised he always wins.
Yup. "Worst archetype" vs. "worst-edited archetype", basically. ^_^
one could argue the brute looks like both tbh... most of the drawbacks scream "well in order to counter all these size bonuses... we're gonna need this and this and this"... then someone went in and pretty much removed most of the size bonuses trying another approach to balance the same thing and then it looks like they just mashed it together thinking they worked as words in English... so they must be fine.
h.(as pointed out earlier in thread) death beforehandor
I. Alignment... what if the 9th level spellcaster NPC is a necromancer or believes they can co-opt the villains plans for their own ends(making them the true big bad if you want to extend the adventure)
I kinda want to see what kind of chaotic encounter this could be on a pack of Vindictive bastards... "our party was succeeding in it's goal of murderhoboing across the countryside until a pack of old ex-paladins fleeced us of everything we had..."
I'm not sure the latter technically works RAW outside an odd chicken/egg situation where you apply the feats in order then treat it as a shield and not a gauntlet as you attack, the former definitely works though... so you need:
1.Shield Gauntlet Style: allows you to treat your gauntlet as a buckler for feats
4.Shielded Gauntlet Attack (Combat)(pre-requisite for):
5.Shielded Gauntlet Master to make this trick work
Edit: 4. also let's you:"The style also allows you to take one attack of opportunity each round that does not count toward your maximum number of attacks of opportunity. This must be used to make an attack with your gauntlet (or spiked gauntlet), or a disarm or steal combat maneuver. You do not provoke an attack of opportunity for performing either combat maneuver, and you are able to attempt a steal combat maneuver with this attack of opportunity despite the maneuver normally requiring a standard action.", pretty sweet pre-requisite for those bonuses.
So to clarify:
Shield Gauntlet Style: allows you to treat your gauntlet as a buckler for feats
Upsetting Shield Style: then allows you to treat your "buckler" as a light shield for attacks/feats
which then allows Shield Champion to allow you to throw and return the gauntlet "shield" as a returning weapon(using the Ex ability returning shield)?
I don't think that technically works because of the following in Shield Gauntlet style:
"you gain a +1 shield bonus to AC. You lose this shield bonus whenever you attack with your gauntlet" ... "While receiving this shield bonus to AC, your gauntlet or spiked gauntlet is treated as a buckler for the purpose of using other feats and abilities (though you are also considered to have a free hand)."
So the moment you attack, you lose your "buckler"/"Shield" so the gauntlet(which is now only a gauntlet) won't qualify to return... but I don't see a reason any GM would turn it down outside PFS.
edit: oddly enough I also realise that by the RAW you could also say that the second style making the guantlet a shield disqualifies it from being a buckler in the first place because you are then "holding" a "shield"...
Rajnish Umbra, Shadow Caller wrote:
Again, I'm referring to the text, which in the case of endless ammunition requires that the weapon be "nocked" I take this to mean winched/cranked in the case of crossbows as the ammunition isn't there to actually put in the notch until AFTER this happens. in the case of a double crossbow I'm pretty sure you don't have 2 winching mechanisms if you are able to release both strings simultaneously, which means you only "nock" the weapon once.
The text immediately following the requirement to "nock" the weapon is quite clear... a single piece of ammunition is created when "nocking" occurs.
Shadowshooting does not have this limitation, instead requiring a "shot" be fired... you shoot 2 bolts so 2 bolts coalesce.
this means that RAW, Endless ammunition does not work with double crossbows(or any 2 shot weapon) correctly without further rules clarification that it can create a second bolt by RAI... as this was an "is this an OP rules interaction" thread I would not immediately presume RAI either way as to whether the Double crossbow can use endless ammunition, but Shadow shooting doesn't have a RAW issue... Endless Ammunition clearly does.
I still think the Geisha could make for an interesting leadership minion or an inter-party adventure(like lets say you have a party on an escort mission with players who can't consistently come and you have a 2-3 person Intrigue adventure every week people can't make it with vigilantes and a Geisha that helps the other party by throwing ceremonial tea ceremonies praying for their safety...)
Rajnish Umbra, Shadow Caller wrote:
I'm not sure exactly how you aren't catching this difference(as it appears pretty Obvious and intentional) But I don't think endless ammunition can work with the double crossbow:
"Each time an endless ammunition weapon is nocked, a single..."
You aren't nocking the double crossbow twice as it fires both shots simultaneously, so you at best would be firing a single bolt or reloading the second one each time.(at least if I'm not misunderstanding something)
I had the thought that one of these days it might be funny to do an entire quest getting to a high level only to wake up and find yourself a wasting, near death victim of one of those giant space fungus(name escapes me atm) with seemless reality that a real hero just killed... possibly even repeated inception style.
Your character could live an entire false life and come back needing to re-learn reality or restore a heroic physique.
The Absolution spell makes it clear which view the current development team supports. And they sympathetically provided a cheaper alternative to Atonement to help with such mandatory involuntary loss of powers.
How exactly does that work though... according to what you quoted Absolution doesn't even seem to do much of anything:
as you can see from the portion I bolded in the second paragraph, it does not appear to affect any choices or actions you have taken in the past... it does not appear to make any exception excepting any spell still active the absolution breaks, so should your charm or compulsion already have been broken or run its course(which should probably be anything excepting a permanent one)... it does nothing
It almost seems like it was made for some neutral cleric who wants the party paladin to do some dirty work without losing his powers.... because it definitely doesn't seem to be useable by going to a local church or magic mart.
Chuck Mount wrote:
So... In answer to your original question of, has anyone had a similar experience, the answer seems to be a resounding NO. ...
Oddly enough(as the person accused of being his brother), I'd say I have had a similar experience, not as the DM or brother, but as a player at a table with a similar GM/Brother dynamic where I advised similarly(though the GM had tried and was understanding of maintaining his relationship with his brother, but he did ban the brother from his table for the remainder of our time together at least).
Further I am leery of DMing because I fear I would get similarly attached to worlds if I was that involved with them.
Edit: to clarify, I am not either DM's brother, nor in a game recent enough for my DM to b+@~+ about anything I might have done in game this recently
To me it sounds more like the brother really hated the campaign, and given the OP's seeming obsession with his world... it sounds like the OP of the thread may have unintentionally railroaded him into a corner, and instead of talking it out his brother decided to passive aggressively fight his way out, seeking not just to harm his brother but harm the world that may have been suppressing his "badwrongfun"... but again, they need to open communication and actually talk out their issues
People have and do use the folding boat for just such purposes. As for the size question, it does not say it can hold 15 people comfortably. As a military veteran, I can confirm that you can pack a lot of people into an 8 by 24 foot space.
"The boat can hold 4 people comfortably, while the ship carries 15 with ease"
I'm confused how one would address this on a grid though, as if we deal with the ship as a single row of 5 ft squares that's about 3 people per square, while if it's 2 rows that's still at least 1.5-2 people per square.
If skeletons and zombies have little use for tavenrs, evil clerics and necromancers do.
LoL, now I really want to see or make an adventure where when you get to the lich's Basement you find a tavern with undead wait-staff that treat you as just customers for no apparent reason at all...
there might be something thematic you could convert from the following for a rare prize:
"CLOAK OF WOODLAND CREATURES
just change the animals to more Halloween themed creatures like a bat, raccoon, spiders, black cat, etc.
one of my gms was in a campaign were one of the party members rolled a 47 for diplomacy to get into a town that has closed its gates and don't normally let people in and the character just yelled "47 diplomacy" at the guards and they let them in
So when was it revealed that this fortified "town" was a mental institution?
Does the party currently have the ability to face and defat the lich in combat?
If they did(and aren't playing PFS), I would probably BS an artifact/ritual(found in the town) that allows them to convert the lich's bound soul into a demi-plane they must then fight through and Purify before the Lich revives(as the demi-plane would run at a different speed from the real world).
Then, depending on how far they get, change the lich's disposition towards them/alignment, possibly even letting the PC's leave them there as a guardian for the city.
I see it as "The Dread Pirate Roberts" from the Princess bride when played through without really bothering with the second identity... are you using the second identity? sometimes. Are there consequences for being found out? a few, but the character isn't too worried, because worst-case he just needs his replacement to seriously step it up while he creates a new life with his loot.
In a sense Dual identity in such campaigns should be treated like a paladins code everyone agrees the DM shouldn't f+#* with
I'd also be concerned if you use ABP in your campaign exactly how weak your cohorts would be, if they're too weak you may never want them in combat ever after a certain point... to the point ambushes while meeting with them becomes a dick move and leaving them to guard the horses becomes a suicide mission
Agreed... I mean thinking it through logically the holy water rule quoted above makes no sense, as when you throw the flask of holy water through the incorporeal creature the water itself should impact it... because the glass cannot.... perhaps rendering the water inert upon impact with a the corporeal surface where it shatters(or shattering the glass upon impact with the solidified liquid inside), leaving it as only a direct damage attack with no splash.
That it doesn't implies either;
*The glass vial itself is magical or suppresses the waters magic
That reminds me, when I was contemplating a Resident evil style campaign in an asylum there is a haunt that I was going to use to lockdown rooms(if you want to go that route, it doesn't sound like you do) and some rooms were just there for the PC's to resupply/scavenge briefly before the Zombie hoard trapped them there, you may want similar non-combat encounters on the table.
I'd think it would be good to think about what your characters best achievements might be as well, in other words why would they commission a picture, just because it may help the artist come up with details or question you about details they think to add.
I'd like to note that then making the archers "missing" at a later time could also be an invaluable tool for a horror campaign.
that's so weird the way they did that... so somehow you can only destroy it if you are the owner by killing the artist then destroying the painting using the weapon that killed them/has their blood yet it doesn't seem to say how any other manner of damage is dealt with, nor how the second artist is supposed to usurp your picture if they too cannot damage it..... yet they have a paragraph describing how anyone taking ownership can do just that... it's so weird
Bob Bob Bob wrote:
Isn't that 3 issues right there in your post?;
Bob Bob Bob wrote:
^Is still an alignment issue, as terrible a conclusion as "test or it's free" is... it's a logical conclusion for someone to get to... however if you then think about it further it isn't a great one.
And that leads to another problem, "modern" as opposed to "medieval" morality... modern morality makes it increasingly less necessary to carry a weapon, there's no threats out there where you will need to kill something to defend yourself in most cases, fewer predators, more instances killing will get you in trouble rather than be considered "helpful", etc. But Pathfinder doesn't assume that morality, the world is dangerous and you'd at most want to check that weapon at the door rather than not own one at all... and you are expected to kill with it(at least 99% of the time) without worrying too much about your god taking your fancy powers away.
It's a problem because players end up playing the alignment rather than the character... because of the tied in mechanics. This then makes the character generated less of a unique character and more of a LG stick in the mud the same as the last...
1. Then change it beforehand or edit the monsters slightly as you go, but any interaction those dice can cause, from one to twenty, should be something you are prepared to live with when they hit the table(this goes both ways, player and GM)... if you think "well maybe this player should live..." you should consult the players, because maybe Jack the boxer accepts that punching bag to the face is what killed him rather than the Incredible Orc McSmashface in the next room you sent to kill him.
I was once in a group that attempted skull and Shackles... only to have an entire session wasted where our barbarian tried to kill his character upholding his morals/beliefs while the DM tried to softball and "save" him... it was our last session because in the end the player himself hated the ship and the rest of us were getting tired of plot stuff as well, so we started a new campaign... when we probably could have just passed that last boring part in a 3 man session while our 4th made a new character.
Fudging dice complicates things because whenever it is done it sets up the players for misunderstandings of what exactly their character is capable of, or alternatively creates results players don't want because YOU the GM think THEY would want them.
Communication can solve all of these issues, especially in Session zero, Even "I am the GM, and invest more time into this to make it work, so I cannot accept certain results and may need to change things, take it, leave it, or GM yourself." is fine, because at least then players know their choices.
2.But that is purely character driven thinking... if you are a player creating a character to have a schtick rather than creating something around fluff, any alteration to your mechanics effects on the world(AKA dice rolls), then that character has had it's narrative effect diminished.