Fish

Kaapelikala's page

Organized Play Member. 31 posts. 2 reviews. No lists. No wishlists. 14 Organized Play characters.




Hello,

Two-part question:

a) A 1st level Wildblooded Sage Sorcerer wishes to take the Bloodline Familiar (from Familiar Folio pg 16) by trading Wildblood's 1st level Power for the Familiar. Is that PFS legal? If yes, is the Bloodline counted as Arcane for the mutation the Familiar gains?

b) A 1st level Psychic Bloodline Sorcerer wishes to take the Bloodline Familiar. Can the Sorcerer do that? If yes, what is the mutation the Familiar gains?

Additional resources lists pg16-17 of Familiar Folio "The Bloodlines are legal to play" so it might mean that a) would be OK and b) not. Or that there should be something completely different written on those two pages.

Thanks in advance.


Hello,

The Bolt Ace archetype gains proficiency with all crossbows and starts with a masterwork crossbow of her choice. My question is: wh't are the legal crossbow types to begin with? Is it just one of the simple crossbows or can I take an exotic crossbow (Minotaur double crossbow, heavy repeating crossbow, and so on)? I have wanted to make a usable crossbow build and Bolt Ace works wonders for that.


A group of people are playing a special module with pregenerated characters (in this case Serpents rise). Due to reasons the pregen pc:s die. What are the costs for a non-pathfinder character to stay alive and contribute meaningly to the player's chronicle stack? All pc:s are dead.

Is it
a) 5pp for body + cash or bazillion pp for raise
b) cash or bazillion pp for raise
c) something completely different.

Cash is from the pregens sold junk.


Hello all,

As we all know, the Mount spell can be theorethically used for multiple different non-travel things, such as activating traps, flanking for the Rogue, blocking hallways, bribery, portable cover and whatnot.

My question is that what are the Pathfinder Society legal ways to use the Mount spell (and to an extent, Summon Monster line and Summon Nature's Ally line)?


Hello all,

I have been planning on visiting some of the big conventions in Europe and possibly in the USA once I have the chance. Of course, I would like to meet new people while having a friendly game of miniature chess.

The problem comes from the following:

I have a character. A variant Tiefling Gun Scavenger Gunslinger, who has items, feats, traits, and other stuff from at least the following books:

Core
Advanced Race Guide (base tiefling)
Advanced Player's guide (Reactionary)
Ultimate Combat (Gunslinger)
Ultimate Equipment (items)
Ultimate Campaign (Highlander)
Blood of Fiends (variant heritage)
Inner Sea Combat (Gun Scavenger)
Inner Sea World Guide (Language, Tian)
and some more.

I have every single of those in dead tree form, but that seems to mean I can't play in for example GenCon without sending them ahead. Am I right or is it Ezren for me because I'm an outsider?


Hi,

I GMd 6-01 yesterday and as I started to report it I noticed the 6th season scenarios can not be chosen. Is this the intention or should season 6 be playable (and reportable)? Or am I doing something wrong?

The same question about Thornkeep and other multiple levels encompassing modules. How do you report specific levels?


Is a Pistolero Gun Scavenger legal? Specifically the Gunsmith part.

The question is that does Pistolero change the Gunsmith class feature or is it just there to tell you to pick the pistol (and not a blunderbuss for example)? Gun scavenger changes the class feature, that's for sure, but does Pistolero (or Musket Master for that matter)?

As I see it it just tells the player to take the pistol and not change the class feature itself. Similarly to an Archer's Weapon Mastery, Horse Lord's Combat Style, or other "Must choose X" for example.

Specific parts:

Pistolero:
"Gunsmith

A pistolero must take a pistol when she chooses a battered firearm at 1st level."

Gun Scavenger:
"Gunsmith

The gun scavenger's starting weapon is a mishmash of pieces that even other gunpowder enthusiasts fail to comprehend. Anyone other than the gun scavenger treats her starting weapon as broken, even if she uses the Gunsmithing feat to repair it. This ability works in all other ways like the gunslinger's gunsmith class feature."


Beguiling Voice, the Maestro bloodline lv1 ability reads:

rules:
Beguiling Voice (Ex): At 1st level, you can use the sound of your voice to lull a target creature into taking no action. This ability acts as the daze spell, except it is language-dependent, has a duration of 1 round, and affects a living creature whose Hit Dice do not exceed your sorcerer level. You can use this ability a number of times per day equal to 3 + your Charisma modifier.

Am I reading it right that it is a Daze, that the target's max HDs as follows:

Sorc level 1: 1HD
Sorc level 2: 2HD
...
Sorc level 20: 20HD.

Or am I missing something? Can I somehow affect up to HD4 before level 4 as normal Daze?


Hi,

This came up in a game this week.

I have a character who has Oppressive Expectations (Quests and Campaigns) as a Drawback. It says: If you fail a skill roll you get -2 to that skill until you success in that skill or fail another.

How does this work with GM rolls? GM rolls for detect traps and such "hidden" info. If my character fails the roll (roll < DC) does it fail for Oppressive Expectations too? If yes, I see some problems with this.

If I succeed, I notice the trap. If I don't I'm told that I failed my roll - thus detecting the trap.

How should this be played? Are the GM rolls unaffected by Oppressive Expectations and Doubt and Mark of Slavery or are they affected thus alerting the player on failed rolls.

The same thing comes up with some other rolls too. I search a room - I get 19 - I don't find anything - I fail (DC20 to detect the hidden box). Am I notified that I failed or am I not? Same with all other similar situations: If there isn't a certain way for me to know that I succeed/fail, should the GM notify me of it?


Ultimate Equipment has kits for pretty much everything.

Now, they weights (and costs) don't add up to the items bought separately.

For example the Alchemist's kit weighs 24 lbs vs 37 lbs when bought in pieces.

How does the kit work in PFS? I use a Torch, what weight should I remove? Similarly if I drop the Iron Pot (smashed to bits by a axe blade trap), how does my weight change? Is it the item's weight (so dropping the kit would be -13 lbs) or (weight of kit/weight of pieces*dropped item)? So for example in the Alchemist's kit is the Iron pot 2lbs or 1,3lbs or something completely different?

Now in a home game this wouldn't be a problem as the (weight of kit/weight of pieces*dropped item) formula could be used of course, but in PFS we need to play by the rules and there isn't a good one for this one.


Hi,

I started to tinker with a sorceror. How do the above work together?

A Tiefling gives bonuses to a fiendish Sorceror as well as a bonus to Int. Sage changes Sorcerors's used stat from Cha to Int. Does a fiendish/Sage sorceror get the bonus from Fiendish Sorcery to his/her Int for all things Sorceror such as spells per level and so on?

Is a Tiefling Abyssal/Sage Sorceror with base Int 18 effectively an Int 22 Sorceror (18 +2(Tiefling stat bonus) +2(Infernal Sorcery)? Or is it just a Int 20 Sorceror because of some thing or another?

So there are a couple of questions:

a) Is a Abyssal or Infernal/something crossblood a fiend for Fiendish Sorcery?

b) Is the Infernal Sorcery +2 bonus considered something in the constraints of "to determine all class features and effects relating to your sorcerer class, such as bonus spells per day, the maximum spell level you can cast, the save DCs of your spells, and the number of daily uses of your bloodline powers.". The Infernal Sorcery changes all of those things, but I want to be sure.

c) Do they work together.

Thanks.