Baron Hannis Drelev

Julien Dien's page

**** Pathfinder Society GM. 324 posts (353 including aliases). No reviews. No lists. No wishlists. 22 Organized Play characters.


The Concordance

1 person marked this as a favorite.

There are 38 GMs and 140+ PLs in our PFS 1ed group, half GMs and one third PLs are still active in the last 3 months.

Most of our games played in Mandarin via Roll20 and QQ-Talk, a few via FVTT. Nowadays, there are 3 or 4 games a week.

our QQ group number is 646903950.

The Concordance

1 person marked this as a favorite.
roll4initiative wrote:

There are a few scenarios & modules that take place in Ustalav.

The first being the entire Carrion Crown AP.

** spoiler omitted **

I hope that helps. Good luck!

It does help, thx.

there are some other boons require place (nation), we will all go this way.

The Concordance

1 person marked this as a favorite.
Mysterious Stranger wrote:

Elf Blood: Half-elves count as both elves and humans for any effect related to race.

Yes. Half-elves and half-orcs may select racial favored class options, archetypes, traits, and so on, as if they were a full member of both races (a half-elf can select elf and human rules elements, a half-orc can select human and orc rules elements).

Alternate Racial Traits: This section lists alternate racial traits for each of the seven core races. Many of them play on racial themes not reflected in the standard racial traits, like the elven alternate racial trait fleet-footed, which grants the Run feat and a bonus on initiative checks instead of the normal keen senses and weapon familiarity traits, reflecting the grace and uncanny reflexes of that race. To take one of these alternate racial traits, you must exchange one or more of the existing standard racial traits available to the race. You can exchange one or several of the standard racial traits, but you cannot exchange the same racial trait more than once. For example, an elf who takes the fleet-footed racial trait cannot take the urbanite racial trait, because the latter trait also replaces keen senses.

The FAQ is not changing the rules it is clarifying it. The actual rule states that a half elf counts as a both an elf and a human for any effect related to race. The FAQ confirms this and clearly states a half elf can select elf and human rules elements. That sentence actually removes the ambiguity of the term effects related to race, or and the phrase so on. It specifies that a half elf can select a rules element as if it were either a human or an elf. Alternative racial traits are rules elements. That means a half elf can select any rules elements that is available to a human or an elf that is not prevented by something else. The rules for alternate racial traits specify they can only be taken if you have the trait being replaced. So, as long as the half elf has all the base racial traits, they can select the alternative racial...

I agree with your conclusion. But for the Elf Blood racial trait in CRB, I think it just for "effect" . IMO, "effect" refer to what influence characters, such as spells, sp, su or some environment effects, it has nothing to do with the Build.

The Concordance

1 person marked this as a favorite.

GM finally decide to give us full PP. Em, okay, all up to GM and happily take the PP.

The Concordance

1 person marked this as a favorite.
Mark Hoover 330 wrote:
The Move action that encompasses the Acrobatics check is half-speed in total. If you normally move up to 30' with a single Move action, you can move UP TO 15' while using Acrobatics to move through a threatened square. If you want to move more than 15' and part of your movement involves using that Acrobatics check, your character is using 2 moves that round.

I used to approve, but a friend show me a FAQ otherwise.

CRB FAQ:
Quote:

For example, a rogue is flanked by a meek goblin and a terrifying antipaladin. The rogue move away from both of them, provoking an attack of opportunity from both, but uses Acrobatics to attempt to negate them. She must move at half speed while threatened by these foes and can choose which to check against first. If she fails a check, she provokes an attack of opportunity from that foe. If she makes it, she does not provoke from moving through that foe's threatened space this turn.

The Concordance

1 person marked this as a favorite.

When using Acrobatics move through a threatened square without provoking an attack of opportunity, Only the threatened square need half speed or the whole move action need half speed? I prefer to the later.

The Concordance

1 person marked this as a favorite.

I would say if the creature's visibility is reduced to less than 60 feet by environment, its movement cost ×2 due to poor visibility.

Some character's is less than 60 feet itself, such as Clouded Vision Oracle, is an exception, because it is not reduced by environment.

The Concordance

1 person marked this as a favorite.

Let me explain.
Actually there is a PFS-like community of us, with about half dozen DM and not more than 20 active PLs. When a rule problem comes out, DMs (and probably some PLs) will discuss to decide the Community Rules. We usually observe the official rules, because intends or conceptual description can't convince everyone. That's why I underline basis.

Now I know the boundary of RAW, the designer's adjustment and the 2 routines. Thank you for get this issue very clear.

The Concordance

1 person marked this as a favorite.

Oh, about (1) Heighten "set" new spell level or "increase" the level.

The discription in Heighten Spell does use "up to" as other Metamagic Feat. So, I don't think that can be the evidence to ban Heighten + Magical Lineage.

Heighten Spell (Metamagic) CRB 126
You can cast spells as if they were a higher level.
Benefit: A heightened spell has a higher spell level than normal (up to a maximum of 9th level). Unlike other metamagic feats, Heighten Spell actually increases the effective level of the spell that it modifies. All effects dependent on spell level (such as saving throw DCs and ability to penetrate a lesser globe of invulnerability) are calculated according to the heightened level. The heightened spell is as difficult to prepare and cast as a spell of its effective level.

The Concordance

1 person marked this as a favorite.

Well, I think we touch the boundary of rules.

There are two differences,

(1) Heighten "set" new spell level or "increase" the level.

The discription in Heighten Spell is different from other Metamagic Feat indeed, while in effect, Heighten increase the spell level. So the difference might be due to the variability?
There is no direct and solid evidence to pro or con "SET". It's a grey zone to me.

(2) actual level or just effective level.

em, actually, I don't understand why you say that.
Obviously, effective level is not actual level in normal, such as

Spoiler:
Animal Companion (Ex)(Animal Domain, CRB 41): At 4th level, you gain the service of an animal companion. Your effective druid level for this animal companion is equal to your cleric level – 3. Druids who take this ability through their nature bond class feature use their druid level – 3 to determine the abilities of their animal companions).

The cleric have a druid level (equal to cleric level – 3) for Animal Companion, It doesn't means he has druid levels but just count as when calculate Animal Companion levels. So in my opinion, the Heighten daze has a higher effective spell level when calculate any effect depends on spell lv., while it still a cantrip.

The Concordance

1 person marked this as a favorite.

Got it. Thank you.
The exception is just for 10-Foot Reach, so the 15-Foot, 20-Foot Reach are still measured as usual.

The Concordance

1 person marked this as a favorite.

In measuring distance,
"Diagonals: When measuring distance, the first diagonal counts as 1 square, the second counts as 2 squares..."
So, 2 diagonal squares count as 15ft.

However, when measuring Threatened Squares, the d20PFSRD shows, 2 diagonal squares count as 10ft.,thus, a reach weapon for medium or a natural weapon for large creature(tall) can touch 2 diagonal squares.
details here (the pictures at the bottom)
It just written by d20pfsrd, and I suppose it might be the remain of 3r rule.

While CRB, GMG and B1 don't mention this rule.
My question is, is it an official rule? What's the relationship between Paizo and d20PFSRD.

The Concordance

1 person marked this as a favorite.

And,Er..we are here to find where the rules` boundary are, not to find evidence to correct GM.
In the game, GM is always right, RAW or HR, :-D.

The Concordance

1 person marked this as FAQ candidate. 1 person marked this as a favorite.

Hi, Thoric, I think your argument on "just like, but" is clear and acceptable, while some may not so solid.

About "plural",in #4, James Jacobs states

Spoiler:

Trample's better than overrun, because the person being trampled cannot just step out of they way. They either have to decide to try to avoid the trample by making a Reflex save, or they can take the trample and get an attack of opportunity. You aren't automatically knocked prone when your'e trampled, in any case.

"The person" can refer to one of persons being trampled. So singular object just prove it maybe not muli-targets, but can not prove it is single target.

And in your first quote(overrun), the object being overrun is always singular, while in your third quote(great overrun), the object is sometimes plural. in the second quote(Trample),sometimes plural. They probablly indicate sth.?

I admire your process of argument, but still doubt the conclusion.
Waiting for more rules being revealed.

The Concordance

1 person marked this as a favorite.

Thank you all for your answers and your literature retrieval work.

I think I got both the boundary of RAW and what "common sense" says. The rules end at

Quote:
A number of classes and creatures gain the use of special abilities, many of which function like spells.

while "common sense" indicates Aura need Line of Effect and can not across walls!

Lastly, the friend just answered my rule question, we just argue on rules, not with each other. Thanks all the same for your concern, which make me feel group and not alone.

The Concordance

1 person marked this as a favorite.

The former three questions are exactly I wanna ask, espeacially the Line of Effect one.

A friend insists, Brust, Emanation, Spread are Area discription of spells,thus they do not apply to Su (most Auras are Su). That's why designer use ordinary words, such as "emit" to describe Aura (see below) instead of rule terms ("Brust", "Emanation", "Spread"). So his conclusion is if not mentioned, it's unnecesary Line of Effect between Aura origin and effect area.
And he insists, Aura of Courage (PAL) can affect the ally on the opposite side of wall!

I doubt that Line of Effect is the implicit precondition of Aura, but I can not find any rule to prove it.

e.x Aura of Madness (Madness Domain,CRB 45) use "emit"

Spoiler:
Aura of Madness (Su): At 8th level, you can emit a 30-foot aura of madness for a number of rounds per day equal to your cleric level. Enemies within this aura are affected by confusion unless they make a Will save with a DC equal to 10 + 1/2 your cleric level + your Wisdom modifier. The confusion effect ends immediately when the creature leaves the area or the aura expires. Creatures that succeed on their saving throw are immune to this aura for 24 hours. These rounds do not need to be consecutive.

Aura of Courage

Spoiler:
Aura of Courage (Su): At 3rd level, a paladin is immune to fear (magical or otherwise). Each ally within 10 feet of her gains a +4 morale bonus on saving throws against fear effects. This ability functions only while the paladin is conscious, not if she is unconscious or dead.