Jose Suarez 310's page

40 posts. Alias of Jose Suarez 916.


RSS


James Jacobs wrote:
Jose Suarez 310 wrote:

Hello James, there is a wizards crossbow called "Mages crossbow" which adds it's enhancement bonus to your ray attacks (to hit and to damage).

If I were gonna use Battering blast as a level 20 wizard which equals to(five balls of force) with a Mages Crossbow +5, would you add this +5 bonus damage on the first battering blast only? or would it add to each subsequent battering blast attack made on that turn?

Mages Crossbow:
This +2 light crossbow is made of silver that never needs to be polished.

A mage’s crossbow is especially effective against creatures with spell resistance. Against such creatures, the weapon’s effective enhancement bonusincreases to +3, and it deals an additional 1d6 points of damage. Whenever the wielder casts a spell that requires him to make a ranged touch attack (such as a ray) while he has the crossbow in hand, he gains a bonus on his ranged attack roll equal to the crossbow’s enhancement bonus against the target creature. If the spell hits, the caster also applies this bonus to the caster level check to overcome the target’s spell resistance (if any) and on the spell’s damage roll (if any).

Your GM will be able to give you the fastest and most appropriate answer for your table, as always. I don't answer rules questions here; you should ask them in the rules forum or on the product forum for the book in which the crossbow in question was published, so that you can get feedback and advice from the community at large.

Alright so how about ''how would you play it on your table'' or have you seen anyone use it before this way?


Anyone else have a different opinion? I would like to hear more!!


Zwordsman wrote:

" Whenever the wielder casts a spell that requires him to make a ranged touch attack (such as a ray) while he has the crossbow in hand, he gains a bonus on his ranged attack roll equal to the crossbow’s enhancement bonus against the target creature. If the spell hits, the caster also applies this bonus to the caster level check to overcome the target’s spell resistance (if any) and on the spell’s damage roll (if any)."

The item specifies "ranged touch attack" and "ray" meaning it calls out each individual roll.
So it should work on every iteration of an attack roll that the spell generates and requires. Assuming its directly result of the spell
i.e. scorching ray's are all at once. Or a ranged Shocking graps. These would work
Compared to..
Ranged Chill Touch's free touch attack upon casting would benefit. but the later ones. I don't think would qualify

So, thats how I read it. The specific of the mage's crossbow overrites the usaual "one per effect" ruling that deals with SNeak Attack and Arcane Weapon.

So for battering blast, Each ball requires a ranged touch, each one is instantly done via the spell.
So I think each ball would gain the benefit.

Thank you for the clarification, sounds very clear to me as well. I just want to make sure Im following the rules correctly.


James who wrote the Arcanist exploit ''Dimensional Slide'', was it one guy? or the whole group?


"Multiple characters can aid the same friend, and similar bonuses stack".

It is safe to say that they work together when you have multiple allies using aid another on the same target and even stacks for the same bonus(AC, attack, etc). So the only thing left is "and similar bonuses stack". Which it could be interpreted in two different ways, one maybe is referring to "different allies using aid another on the same target will always stack", even if it's for the same bonus. The second interpretation would be that aid another bonuses always stack even if the same player is giving the same ally aid another for the same bonuses and on the same round, ignoring the fact that the bonuses are coming from the same "source" which in this case is the player itself.

I will always take everyone's analysis to consideration but I can't just agree on something that could be interpreted in both ways. I have a DM which is extremely restrict and he always mentioned me this. He believes that if they come from the same source, they won't stack of used for the same bonus.

I just wanted to find solid proof that aid another can stack with itself even when it comes from the same source (aka it comes from the same player) and uses it twice on the same target and for the same bonus.

"Bonuses without a type always stack, unless they are from the same source".

"Specific rules trump General rules" it is a good possibility, this might be the only thing that favors this argument but the real question would be, which rules came first, if the aid another rule came first, that means that the same source stacking rule came later, which actually overlaps the one in aid another???


Darksol the Painbringer wrote:

Nobody is suggesting that both your enemy and your ally are within range of your reach weapon, which still circles back to my original point that you're getting an incorrect interpretation of what everyone has said so far.

The closest thing is that people have stated is that the original intent of the feat was to not be required to be able to attack an enemy, but the FAQ overturns that intent, and anyone arguing otherwise is still wrong, even if it makes sense to run it that way.

I didn't say that you guys were suggesting it, I am talking about other google searches that I did, I found out that they were using it wrong.


Darksol the Painbringer wrote:
Jose Suarez 310 wrote:
Right so this means that you won't be able to use bodyguard with a reach weapon -snip-

What?

Literally everybody else in this thread is saying that a reach weapon is, in fact, valid with Bodyguard as long as you are adjacent to the ally. How are you getting the exact opposite result out of what's been said and linked so far?

You don't need to be able to make attacks on your ally with the Bodyguard feat, you just need to be within 5 feet of your ally's position, while being able to attack an enemy. Even if you did, it'd follow Aid Another rules, which means even a non-Monk Unarmed Strike, while having your hands full, is a valid means of utilizing Aid Another, so using a reach weapon still qualifies, and is actually irrelevant to being able to attack your ally.

What I meant to say was that you need to be adjacent to your ally in order to make the bodyguard "attacks of opportunities" to aid another out of turn. I saw people using the reach just to get the attack of opportunities of bodyguard in allies which is wrong because you HAVE to be adjacent to your ally in order to make those AOO's. You can't be 15 FEET away from your ally and use the bodyguard feat, period. You need to be adjacent.


Darksol the Painbringer wrote:
Jose Suarez 310 wrote:
I don't want the DM to allow me this if it's against the stablished rules. For me if it's illegal by the rules, it's illegal. So by reading the stacking rules from the same source, do you guys believe that it is actually not possible to stack aid another on the same target for the same bonus?

The rules answer (which is the one that matters) was already presented in the first response:

Darksol the Painbringer wrote:
...you can apply all those bonuses to one statistic.

Which means yes, it works in the rules.

All I'm saying is that the GM isn't unreasonable to make them not stack, since you can get some ridiculous amounts of cheese going there.

You just presented your interpretation about stacking aid another. Saying that the general rules of Same Source bonuses do not stack are purely your personal opinion and not actually RAW.


Right so this means that you won't be able to use bodyguard with a reach weapon, you however can use this reach to threaten enemies around your allies which allows you to use "aid another" much more easier since you are threatening more enemies around your ally.


I don't want the DM to allow me this if it's against the stablished rules. For me if it's illegal by the rules, it's illegal. So by reading the stacking rules from the same source, do you guys believe that it is actually not possible to stack aid another on the same target for the same bonus?


1 person marked this as a favorite.

So guys this is simple, can I stack aid another and swift aid on the same person for the AC? It says that "similar bonuses stack" but at the same time it comes from the "same source" which is me. Does it work for double aid another for AC on the same person or it has to be AC and Attack or you can't use both on the same guy period?

What about the investigator ability which allows you to use aid another as a move action? Can I use aid another 3 times on the same target? (Standard action, move action, swift action)?
_______________________
Aid Another

In melee combat, you can help a friend attack or defend by distracting or interfering with an opponent. If you’re in position to make a melee attack on an opponent that is engaging a friend in melee combat, you can attempt to aid your friend as a standard action. You make an attack roll against AC 10. If you succeed, your friend gains either a +2 bonus on his next attack roll against that opponent or a +2 bonus to AC against that opponent’s next attack (your choice), as long as that attack comes before the beginning of your next turn. Multiple characters can aid the same friend, and similar bonuses stack.

You can also use this standard action to help a friend in other ways, such as when he is affected by a spell, or to assist another character’s skill check.

_____________________________

Swift Aid:

Prerequisites: Int 13, Combat Expertise,base attack bonus +6.

Benefit: As a swift action, you can attempt the aid another action, granting your ally either a +1 bonus on his nextattack roll or a +1 bonus to his AC.

Normal: Aid another is a standard action.

______________________________

The important aspect of bonus types is that two bonuses of the same type don't generally stack. With the exception of dodge bonuses, most circumstance bonuses, and racial bonuses, only the better bonus of a given type works. Bonuses without a type always stack, unless they are from the same source.

Quote:

Effortless Aid (Ex): The investigator can use an aid another action as a move action instead of as a standard action. An investigator can expend one use of inspiration to instead perform an aid another action as a swift action.


I know this question it's been asked many times but still to this day I don't see any clear rules or FAQ that clarifies bodyguard and reach weapons. There are people who uses reach weapon and bodyguard while there are others who believe that it's illegal because it clearly say in the bodyguard feat "you have to be adjacent to the attacked ally"" and adjacent means 5 FEET from your square. I know that the creator of bodyguard already clarified that you don't have to threaten the attacked which pretty much gives the feat much more usefullnes but still it clearly says "you have to be adjacent to your ally".

Why is everyone allowing bodyguard to be used with reach weapons? Am I missing something here?
__________________________________________
Aid Another

In melee combat, you can help a friend attack or defend by distracting or interfering with an opponent. If you're in position to make a melee attack on an opponent that is engaging a friend in melee combat, you can attempt to aid your friend as a standard action. You make an attack roll against AC 10. If you succeed, your friend gains either a +2 bonus on his next attack roll against that opponent or a +2 bonus to AC against that opponent's next attack (your choice), as long as that attack comes before the beginning of your next turn. Multiple characters can aid the same friend, and similar bonuses stack.

You can also use this standard action to help a friend in other ways, such as when he is affected by a spell, or to assist another character's skill check. 
_______________________________________________________________________
Bodyguard (Combat)

Your swift strikes ward off enemies attacking nearby allies.

Prerequisite: Combat reflexes.

Benefit: When an adjacent ally is attacked, you may use an attack of opportunity to attempt the aid another action to improve your ally’s AC. You may not use the aid another action to improve your ally’s attack roll with this attack.

Normal: Aid another is a standard action. 


I'm reviving this post because this topic is still on debate.

Do I need to be adjacent ? Adjacent means 5 feat from you, then why is everyone using whip and bodyguard?


@zza ni

"Now attacking a grid center is a dc 5. which also doesn't take into acount firing into melee as you don't target a combetant. it would deal 1+int damage as splash all around with no save what so ever"

why? In the alchemist section says that the splash damage has a reflex save, why would attacking a grid make it ignore this penalty???

Bomb section reads has follows:
Splash damage from an alchemist bomb is always equal to the bomb’s minimum damage (so if the bomb would deal 2d6+4 points of fire damage on a direct hit, its splash damage would be 6 points of fire damage). Those caught in the splash damage can attempt a Reflex save for half damage. The DC of this save is equal to 10 + 1/2 the alchemist’s level + the alchemist’s Intelligence modifier.

So with that said, why would it make it do the splash damage without save? Explain me please because then I've been using it wrong all the time.

Thrown splash weapon reads has follow:

Make a ranged attack against an unoccupied grid intersection (AC 5 plus range penalties.)

Hit: Creatures in all adjacent squares are dealt splash damage. No creatures take direct hit damage.

I know it says that adjacent squares are dealt splash damage but since it comes from the alchemist bomb it should still provide a reflex saving throw.


Hello James

We are having a bit of a hard time to figure out the Kinetic blade infusion ...

it says ''You can use this form infusion once as part of an attack action, a charge action, or a full-attack action in order to make melee attacks with your kinetic blade. Since it's part of another action (and isn't an action itself), using this wild talent doesn't provoke any additional attacks of opportunity.''

This means that if I have 2 attacks from my base attack and 1 from haste, this means that I can make all 3 attacks has my full attack action under the effects of Kinetic blade? have you ever played one or seen someone playing a kineticist with kinetic blade?


Hello james!, Samsaran races (they are like human reincarnations) can they become nobles ? if so do you think they can pick the Noble of Scion feat? or been noble is only a human or elf thing? Would you allow a Samsaran to be a noble?

Noble Scion
You are a member of a proud noble family, whether or not you remain in good standing with your family.

Prerequisites: Cha 13, must be taken at 1st level.

Benefit: You gain a +2 bonus on all Knowledge (nobility) checks, and that chosen Knowledge skill is always considered a class skill for you.

When you select this feat, choose one of the benefits listed below that matches the flavor of your noble family. Work with your GM to ensure that your choice is appropriate.

Scion of the Arts: You gain a +1 bonus on all Perform checks, and Perform is always a class skill for you. If you have the bardic performance ability, you can use that ability for an additional 3 rounds per day.

Scion of Lore: You gain a +1 bonus on all Knowledge skills in which you have at least 1 rank.

Scion of Magic: You gain one of the following languages as a bonus language: Abyssal, Aklo, Celestial, Draconic, Infernal, or Sylvan. Once per day, as a free action, you can gain a +2 bonus on any Spellcraft check you make. You must spend the free action to gain this bonus before you make the check.

Scion of Peace: Whenever you take 10 on a Wisdom-based skill, treat the result as if you had rolled a 13 instead of a 10.

Scion of War: You use your Charisma modifier to adjust Initiative checks instead of your Dexterity modifier.

Samsaran Society:

Samsarans prefer to live simple lives of reflection, scholarship, and worship. They try to live their lives free of the ambitions and greed that mortality often imposes, since they view their lives as only the latest incarnation of many to come. Any accomplishments left undone in this current life can surely be achieved in the next, or the one after that. Samsarans’ memories of their past lives are not complete—they most often feel like half-remembered dreams. Samsarans can give birth, yet they do not give birth to samsarans—instead, they birth human children. Typically, samsarans give up their children not long after birth to be raised in human society, where the children grow and live their lives normally. Upon death, such offspring sometimes reincarnate as samsaran children, if they lived their lives in keeping with harmony. While most samsarans who die also reincarnate as samsaran children, this is not always the case. When a samsaran has utterly failed at maintaining harmony in her current life, or when she has succeeded perfectly at it, her soul instead travels to the Great Beyond to receive its final, long-delayed reward or doom. Samsarans do not keep family names, but often retain the names of their previous one or two incarnations, regardless of gender, as a sort of replacement for a family name to honor their previous lives’ accomplishments or to remind them of their past shames.


Hello james

Can I create a wand of lesser eidolon restoration at caster level 3 even tho I gain that spell at summoner level 4 ?

I'm using the Heroes Lab program to make my character and it actually allows me to create the wand at caster level 3 (4,500 gold). But this might be an error and it is why I want to verify if is it possible.


I wish that the rules question would make an FAQ of this to clear everything out and end this once and for all lol.


shroudb wrote:

i don't see it a faq worthy. it's pretty simple:

your hp at any point is:
(if using average and not rolled)
(8+(lvl-1)*4.5)+con*lvl

correct?

now, calculate the hp based on your current con

when you are a synthesist you use eidolon's con as your own. so calculate your HP based on eidolon's con.

so the above equation, for a fused synthesist, changes to
(8+(lvl-1)*4.5)+EidolonCon*lvl

an eidolon, has at any given moment hp equal to:
5.5*HD+ EidolonCon*HD (note here that HD=/= lvl since eidolon has less)

so, fused, there is only ONE con score, and that is the eidolon's.

if it gets increased in anyway, like p.e. with a belt.
then both pools get increase.

it's simple, no need to overcomplicate things

THIS IS EXACTLY how I see it, but some other people here sees it differently which creates confusion on who has the right answer.


Hit FAQ guys! looks like everyone has a diferent point of view


Guys please hit the FAQ button on top, lets have faith for the rules team


I know but do I only increase 1 hp? or do I increase 1 temporary HP has well lol


OMG everyone says something diferent lmao, why don' we all hit FAQ and let the rules question guys take care of it? I need everyone here to press FAQ, please do it!.


So many versions, there is not a clear answer to this lol. Why this haven't been FAQ'ed yet for the rules question team


Could you guys elavorate more?


There has to be a summoner expert somewhere or at least a post from one of the designer clarifying this, other wise this should be FAQ'ed for the rules team.


Artanthos wrote:
Duiker wrote:
You only get one. The belt either affects you or it affects the eidolon, you don't get both.

So many places to go with that statement, for example:

Synthesist wrote:
Neither the synthesist nor his eidolon can be targeted separately, as they are fused into one creature.

Emphasis mine. There is no distinction, the synthesist and his eidolon are one being while fused.

and

Synthesist wrote:
While fused with his eidolon, the synthesist can use all of his own abilities and gear, except for his armor.

I use my gear, including benefiting from the enhancement bonus from my belt.

Yeah we are fused and become 1 creature, my question is pretty soimple, do I gain an aditional temporary hit point in adition for the normal 1 HP that I gain from my synthesist?


Tarantula wrote:
I think he is arguing that when the eidolon fuses with him, the eidolon is now wearing the belt, and should get the CON bonus to its score, which will replace his CON as he is a synthesist.

Then it wouldn't even give me +2 CONS becasue the eidolon entirely replaces my current constitution score.


Duiker wrote:
You only get one. The belt either affects you or it affects the eidolon, you don't get both.

I get diferent people telling me the opposite, is there any FAQ about this? anything written by Sean K reinolds that clearify this?


What I'm trying to tell him is that I replace my old constitution for the new eidolon constitution, this means that any item that I use that increases constitution will affect both characters since both are using the same ability score.

While fused with his eidolon, the synthesist uses the eidolon’s physical ability scores (Strength, Dexterity, and Constitutio.


9 people marked this as FAQ candidate.

What happends with a synthesist when he wears a belt of constitution? does he gains 1 hp and 1 temporari hit point? or do I only gain 1 hp from the synthesist but not 1 temprary hit point from the eidolon has well?

My DM keeps telling me that I only gain 1 hp from the item because they are calculated separetly so the temporary hit points aren't increased by the belt of constitution.


Thanks guys, I really appreciate your help master of shadows!


thank you very much, my GM keeps telling me that I lost evasion and dark vision since it does not appears in the synthesist archetype abilities


So by all means the eidolon can be bigger?!?!?!?!?! can I have a medium character with a hughe eidolon?


my DM says that it has to be of my same size, it cannot be LARGER or Smaller, hes not native american so he understands from ''at least'' is that it has to be the same size and thats it


Does it means that I can't take the large evolution/ hughe evolutions since I have to be at least the same size?


reviving this thread because my DM keeps teling me "The eidolon must be at least the same size as the synthesist".


Hey guys my GM is telling me that I don't gain evasion and dark vision has a sinthesyst because the synthesist replaces me the eidolon ability and it only gives me strictly the listed abilities in the synthesist archetype, since they don't mention evasion and dark vision I lose these abilieties, is he right?


Yeah thats what I told him, if its not listed it means that its left has original.

True its up to the GM, the problem that I got is that this GM always takes the worst choice for the player, he dosen't consider it at all and takes the worst possible thing for the player. so if its not possible by RAW Im screwed.

In other hand I just tried to close the door of my room with my mouth and I was able to do it easly and I don't have a big mouth, I wonder why can't I close a door with the mouth of a character that has a bite attack lmao.

Thanks for the answer luxurian


The Synthesist archetype replaces my normal eidolon ability, does this means that I don't gain darkvision or evasion?

My Dm says that I only gain the listed abilities shown in the synthesist aka examples: Fused Link (Su) which replaceslife link.
Shielded Meld (Ex) which replaces shield ally, Maker’s Jump (Sp) which replaces maker’s call and transposition, Greater Shielded Meld (Ex) which replaces greater shield ally and Split Forms (Su) which replaces merge forms.

Since it dosen't say anything about evasion or dark vision he says that I lose these abilities which I find it wrong because the archetype itself dosen't tell me that I lost these abilities.

Any experts around here that could help me?

In other topic, is it posible for me to ''CLOSE'' a door without having the hand limbs evolution? Could I use my mouth to hold the handle and close the door since I have a bite attack ? Opening a door would be more acceptable to require hands but closing a door dosen't take any efforts at all, what do you think guys?