You have 2 problems. First in order for this to work at all both targets need to not move. When you first delay a delayed blast you have to choose the targets of the blast, and with Foe Throw one of the targets is the creature to be thrown. So you can't use this to target patrolling enemies with a delayed blast .
Chess Pwn wrote:
Hey so The FAQ came out and the invisibility is self only.
Thank you, good to know.
I've clarified this in the guide now. Jedi work best as switch hitters. If you want to play a strictly melee kineticists it's best to go Elemental Ascetic and drop blasts entirely.
You get fire and telekinetic flight at 10th level as well but they're generally inferior to air flight. Air is the best secondary element to pick up because they get so many nice things so early.
There's a Reflex save.
Whoops, missed that. Thanks.
Mark Seifter wrote:
I have been reading every guide thoroughly, and I think he thinks that gusting infusion deals damage in a line like the form infusion torrent? I have noticed small things like that in most of the guides, but I don't want to be running around nitpicking these awesome (and I know from personal experiencing very very time consuming) works of fan effort, so I haven't been mentioning them very much.
Ah, so it doesn't then. Thank you for your input and I can tell you that I very much appreciate any nitpicking you want to do.
I believe Mark has officially said that holding an object for the purpose of Telekinetic Blade does not interfere with Gather Power.
So I don't really know how the universe would know you were gathering power for kinetic blade rather than something else? And you still wouldn't be able to Gather Power for any other blast, meaning you'd have to waste time dropping the item and drawing a new one when you want to make another kinetic blade. You can grab Quickdraw to make it happen but why bother?
I used to think so as well, but the main raison d'être here is to push your debuffs through. When you get the ability, you can trip or entangle several...
My problem with this ability is that you can do the same things it does with any AoE ability without sacrificing as much damage. You only get equal damage to a regular blast if you're hasted and if you hit different targets. If you hit the same target you get the save DC boost but lose all your static damage. You could use a line attack to hit at least 2 people for your full blast damage and apply a save DC substance infusion.
I'd like to point out, though, that you usually have better things to do with your move action, such as Gathering Power for an Empower. Also, the Mobile Blast is "extremely loud", so yes, it...
Yeah, you're probably right. I like the idea of a mobile damage dealing object that doesn't require your standard action but it's such an awkward ability to use. I think I'll change this rating.
Thank you all for your comments. I plan on adding full builds and clarifications of the Iconic, Jedi, and Paper Master over the course of the week as well as expanding the elements section.
Chess Pwn wrote:
The scarred witch doctor no longer is a con based class
Huh, didn't notice that change. Guide altered.
N. Jolly wrote:
Oh man, looks like kin guides are all the rage now! This is the third one up aside from mine and the telekineticist guide, although there was one on GITP first, so I guess that would make this one the fourth. Either way, it's good to see people taking to this class so much!
I'll have to check those out.
It seems to say that it turns your blast into a 60 ft line attack plus the effects of gust of wind? That's way better than Torrent which you get access to 5 levels later. I'd believe it more if it only caused the effects of gust of wind to the target of an ordinary blast but gust of wind has some effects that don't make sense as an attack roll and that's not what the text of gusting infusion implies. On the other hand gusting infusion is a substance infusion, which usually doesn't alter the shape of a blast. Any thoughts?
I don't really get why Zealot vigilantes exist. They don't get any unique powers, use the inquisitor spell list, and almost all of their vigilante talents are inquisitor abilities. Their flavor's pretty much the same as an inquisitor too. Unlike the Avenger, who gets feat chains and Vital Strike AoOs, the Stalker, who gets tons of powerful talents, and the Warlock, who at least gets eldritch bolts, the Zealot gets nothing cool or interesting. They feel entirely like an afterthought just put in to fill out the warrior/rogue/wizard/cleric square.
I think most DMs would let you use the ship as a community for the purposes of Renown, but by the rules your renown-based abilities would only apply to the ship, not to whatever port the ship happened to be docked in, any more than having a small neighborhood as one of your communities would let your renown abilities apply to the entire city the neighborhood is in.
The Intimidate portion of renown applies to within a few miles of the community.
The DC to resist spells you cast to ensure peace or force aggressive creatures to become peaceful increases by +2. This affects spells that dissuade creatures from aggressive actions without exerting long-term or absolute control over them, and without leaving them defenseless. These spells include, but are not limited to, calm animals, calm emotions, command, compassionate ally, enthrall, euphoric tranquility, sanctuary, and serenity.
This feat has GM fiat written all over it but it's completely legal for PFS. What other spells should fall under this banner and should spells that sometimes qualify and sometimes not like Sow Thoughts be able to qualify based on use?
Edit: Also what about debuff spells that penalize attacking? Something like Archon's Aura could be said to dissuade creature's from aggressive actions as could Bestow Curse or Mark of Justice situationally. The language is so vague.
Benefit: When the alchemist creates a bomb, he can choose to have its substance coat the direct target’s body, causing the bomb to deal its damage over time instead of all at once. The bomb’s effect lasts for a number of rounds equal to the number of damage dice the bomb would normally deal (for instance, a 5d6 bomb lasts for 5 rounds). When the bomb hits the direct target, the bomb deals 1d6 + the alchemist’s Intelligence modifier in damage, and those within the splash zone take damage equal to 1 + the alchemist’s Intelligence modifier. It repeats this damage against the direct target of the bomb each round the immolation bomb lasts, dealing the damage at the start of the alchemist’s turn. Splash damage is dealt again to any creature that is adjacent to the direct target when it takes damage from the immolation bomb. A creature taking damage from an immolation bomb’s direct hit can attempt to extinguish the flames as a full-round action that requires a Reflex save (DC = 10 + 1/2 the alchemist’s level + the alchemist’s Intelligent modifier). Because of the alchemical nature of this bomb, rolling on the ground does not grant a bonus on the saving throw, and dousing a creature with water does not stop it from burning. These bombs can be used underwater.
Benefit: The effects of the alchemist’s bombs are persistent and continue to damage creatures for 1 round after the initial damage. Creatures that take a direct hit from a sticky bomb take the splash damage 1 round later. Bombs that have effects that would normally occur 1 round later instead have those effects occur 2 rounds later.
Sticky Bombs aren't asterisked so the two effects can be used simultaneously. I'm just not entirely certain how they work together.
If I'm gaining the bonus from a teamwork feat from an ally wearing a Ring of Tactical Precision do I get the +1 bonus?
Ring of Tactical Precision:
The wearer gains a +5 competence bonus on Profession (soldier) checks, and anytime the wearer gives or receives a numeric bonus from a teamwork feat or the aid another action, that bonus increases by +1. By wearing the ring for 1 hour, a creature may imbue it with a teamwork feat he knows for 24 hours. During this time, any creature wearing the ring may use that feat when cooperating with the creature that imbued it, but not with other creatures even if they possess the same teamwork feat. If the ring is imbued with a new teamwork feat, it replaces the previous feat.
Essentially if me and an ally both have Amplified Rage or something does my ally wearing this ring count as giving me a numeric bonus from a teamwork feat?
I've been trying to figure out how movement feats like Step Up and Rhino Charge work with mounted combat and I came across this thread.
So I got into this discussion the last time my group met and I still don't have a solid answer. When a medium character wielding a lance charges on his mount he needs to stop and attack from 10 feet away to make his attack because he's using a reach weapon. This is where the argument begins for us, my friend uses the following passages from the Mounted Combat and Charge sections of the Combat chapter for support.
If your mount charges, you also take the AC penalty associated with a charge.
You must move to the closest space from which you can attack the opponent.
He points out that because your mount is the one charging and because it must move to the "closest space from which you can attack the opponent" which for a horse is adjacent, its rider can't make an attack with a lance or any reach weapon. While I can't help but agree with him in his interpretation of the rules there are glaring examples (double damage with a lance, spirited charge, etc) throughout the core book that indicate a mounted character can indeed make a charge attack with a lance. Is he wrong?
Your friend is basically wrong.
The mounted combat rules are not very well written. But the crux of the matter is that there is a distinction between you charging while mounted, and your mount charging while you are mounted.
From the Mounted Combat section of the SRD: Your mount acts on your initiative count as you direct it. You move at its speed, but the mount uses its action to move.
Mechanically, the mount spends its action to grant you its movement, rather than moving directly itself.
In other words, when you "move" while mounted, the mount spends actions. When you charge while mounted, the mount spends actions, but you are still the one who is charging.
Particularly bad is this paragraph: If your mount charges, you also take the AC penalty associated with a charge. If you make an attack at the end of the charge, you receive the bonus gained from the charge. When charging on horseback, you deal double damage with a lance (see Charge).
You really have two different clauses here. The first is what happens when your mount charges (instead of granting you movement): If your mount charges, you also take the AC penalty associated with a charge. If you make an attack at the end of the charge, you receive the bonus gained from the charge.
The second is the special rule for lances, which triggers "when you make a charge while mounted:"When charging on horseback, you deal double damage with a lance (see Charge). When trying to run at someone and hit them with a lance, the mechanics are: Y
ou take the charge full-round action.
The mount spends its actions to grant you its movement.
You stop at the edge of your reach, and poke it with your lance.
By contrast, I suppose you could command your mount to charge.
Is this actually how mounted combat works? If not how does it?
Thank you, that was insightful.
If an Arcanist gives up her first level arcane exploit to an archetype does she count as having the class feature for Extra Exploit?
Does Kirin Style's damage multiply off of Spirited Charge? How about on a crit? How exactly would it multiply? Ordinarily you add multipliers together so a x3 crit on a x2 Spirited Charge would combine to be x5 damage. However Kirin Style multiplies a stat and adds it as a static damage bonus to a weapon damage roll. Would Kirin Style add 2x, 3x or 4x your intelligence modifier to a Spirited Charge?
All touch spells have target "x touched."
Aboleth Lung just says it affects creatures touched but with reach spell you can conceivably touch a large number of enemies. There isn't a limit built into the spell besides it saying you have to split the duration amongst all targets. It doesn't even have the usual caveat of requiring duration to be split into a minimum amount. Can you just affect as many people as you want with Aboleth Lung?
Gnick Gnak PaddyWack wrote:
Aasimar are like Tieflings, they can show up wherever there are humans that commingle with the Upper and Lower planes. As to why one's adventuring, this one was born in the slums and feels the need to hunt down evil beings as a bounty hunter.
Roll20 / Skype Tuesday EST - Curse of the Crimson Throne or Jade Regent. Putting together a long-term group.
With the new Advanced Class Guide come out I have a ton of character concepts rattling about in my head that I'm really itching to play. I'll have full character sheets attached in a few hours.
Rioc Doloran (Elf Arcanist):
Rioc is an educated elf with many ideas about how to go about using magic that go against his teachers. He's running from his life and family from an arranged marriage with a woman he can't stand. His defining characteristic is his pride. He's quick to anger when insulted and holds to his word unto death.
Freyja Ingtar (Human Bloodrager):
Freyja is from the wild frostbitten tundra, a place that has no cities and few villages. She awakened her bloodrage when her family's farm was ravaged by bandits after her family was killed and her home razed. After killing several men she fled from the leader of the band and has been travelling ever since. Her defining characteristic is caution. She avoids conflict when possible and strives to end fights quickly.
Aegin Redleaf (Halfling Magus):
(Uses the Eldritch Scion magus archetype, Charisma is casting stat and casting is spontaneous)
Aegin is from Taldor and believes in the principles of freedom and equality. He wants to spend his youth adventuring in the wide world before settling down a bit and joining the Taldan army, like his father. His defining characteristic is his humor. He laughs off insult and hopelessness, putting enemies at ease before bringing them defeat with shock and awe.
Tul Aspin (Half-orc Slayer):
Tul is an experimenter. Amoral, he enjoys nothing more than taking devices apart and putting them back together, even if those devices happen to be made of flesh and sinew. He's been on ships since birth, though this is his first voyage without a member of his extensive family on the crew with him. His defining characteristic is curiosity. He goes out of his way to study anything new he comes across, though protecting companions and the ship has been pounded into his head from a young age.
Quick Study (Ex): The arcanist can prepare a spell in place
What the f---? Am I reading this wrong? For those of you who don't know the Arcanist is the new Sorcerer/Wizard hybrid class paizo released in the Advanced Class Guide. They're essentially sorcerers with fewer spells per day but the ability to prepare new spells known every morning. They were considered one of the strongest classes in the playtest. Then they released this ability with the book's official release as one of the Arcane Exploits Arcanists get every other level. Not only does this ability overwrite prepared spells, something that nothing else in the game can do, it can do so in combat. Why would I ever play a wizard or a sorcerer if I can play an Arcanist and be a sorcerer who chooses his spells on the fly?