Jinotad's page

** Pathfinder Society GM. 39 posts. No reviews. No lists. No wishlists. 9 Organized Play characters.


RSS


PFS:

Doing a half-orc with a bite attack. His name is Goldtooth, so I was wondering if I could make his bite made of gold, or would that be purely cosmetic?


Hello, my reanimated medium just hit level 10, so I get to learn a single 3rd level spell.

I am a support medium, almost exclusively in the martial form. I spend every standard action giving everyone who can see and hear me +4 to all attack and damage rolls, or +4 to saving throws.

I have a quickened metamagic rod, so I can cast the spell as a swift action if need be.

Next level, it will only be a move action, rather than a standard to give the bonuses.

Since I am a very slow spell progression, I don't think offensive spells to be worthwhile as cast them as a lower level spell. (The plus to this, is they are lower for my metamagic rod.)

I was looking at taking greater invisibility, but was wondering if others would have a better recomendation.


1 person marked this as FAQ candidate.

So, I was wondering how the disruptive feat interacts with itself, and disruptive companion.

Disruptive does not give any bonuses or penalties; rather, it increases the DC of concentration checks to cast defensively. If two characters with this feat were adjacent to a caster casting defensively, would it stack to increase the DC by +8?

Disruptive Companion increases the concentration check DC of spells and spell-like abilities that opponents cast while within the animal companion’s reach by +2. It also allows the animal companion to have Disruptive as well. So, would the two feats stack, making the defensive casting a +6 to the DC?

Disruptive Companion:

Source Ultimate Wilderness pg. 217
The animal’s presence harries nearby enemies, making concentration difficult.

Prerequisites: Animal companion.

Benefit: The animal companion is trained to interfere with its opponent’s concentration, making even rote tasks difficult. Increase the concentration check DC of spells and spell-like abilities that opponents cast while within the animal companion’s reach by +2. Additionally, opponents can’t take 10 on d20 rolls or checks while within the animal companion’s reach. If an opponent has an ability that allows it to always take 10 on certain skill checks while distracted (such as the skill mastery advanced talent), it gains the benefit of such abilities only if its number of skill ranks is at least 4 higher than the animal companion’s Hit Dice.

In addition, the animal companion counts as a fighter with a number of class levels equal to its Hit Dice for the purposes of qualifying for the Disruptive feat, as well as for any feat that lists the Disruptive feat as a prerequisite. The animal companion also adds those feats to the list of animal feats that it can choose from when gaining a new feat.

Disruptive:

Source PRPG Core Rulebook pg. 122 (Amazon)
Your training makes it difficult for enemy spellcasters to safely cast spells near you.

Prerequisites: 6th-level fighter.

Benefit: The DC to cast spells defensively increases by +4 for all enemies that are within your threatened area. This increase to casting spells defensively only applies if you are aware of the enemy's location and are capable of taking an attack of opportunity. If you can only take one attack of opportunity per round and have already used that attack, this increase does not apply.

Stacking:

Stacking refers to the act of adding together bonuses or penalties that apply to one particular check or statistic. Generally speaking, most bonuses of the same type do not stack. Instead, only the highest bonus applies. Most penalties do stack, meaning that their values are added together. Penalties and bonuses generally stack with one another, meaning that the penalties might negate or exceed part or all of the bonuses, and vice versa.


True Form (Ex):
At 7th level, a chosen one’s familiar
reveals its true form, transforming into an outsider
improved familiar that matches the chosen one’s patron’s
alignment (typically an arbiter, a cassisian, a harbinger,
or a silvanshee, but potentially any lawful neutral, lawful
good, or neutral good outsider familiar depending on the
patron).

First off, this is for PFS.

My main question is; are there any other legal familiars for the Chosen one, other than arbiter, cassisian, harbinger, or silvanshee?

I've seen the Shiganami Kami, but unfortunately they are not PFS legal.


Hello, I'm working on a character that will be based around the Startoss style feat line. Which will allow me to make multiple attacks with the same weapon. Would I be at a range penalty for the total distance traveled by the weapon, or would that only impact the first attack since all other attacks are within one range increment?

Startoss Comet:
As a standard action, you can make a single ranged thrown weapon attack at your full attack bonus with the chosen weapon. If you hit, you deal damage normally and can make a second attack (at your full attack bonus) against a target within one range increment of the first. You determine cover for this attack from the first target’s space instead of your space. You can make only one additional attack per round with this feat.


Sounds good, thanks for the clarification.


Shield of Shards

So, my question is, what is defined as spell damage?

Since the shards are the effects of a spell, is it considered spell damage? Or because it specifies damage type as slashing and piercing, gives a crit range, and is effected by shield material; its counted as a non-spell damage?

I'm primarily asking because I'm playing a medium, who has effects that specify bonus damage to either spell or non-spell damage exclusively.


I do not, I thought the retirement arcs took you from 11 to 13 for some reason.

And for the bonus language on this character is even more week than normal, due to the Gnome trait that allows me to learn two languages per rank in linguistics.

I do know that there are a few scenarios that allow you to play with higher level characters, so I am keeping that in mind.

Clayr is a Scroll scholar, which is where the +1 history and local come from.


I’ve been looking at my wizard, Clayr. Let me give you a brief introduction. I am playing PFS.

Clayr is a gnome wizard, who is currently level 7, ready to level up to 8. She is obsessed with knowleges, currently sitting at a minimum +13 to any knowledge, up to a +25 on knowledge history. I have been prepping Clayr for becoming a Loremaster, which she can start at level 8.

If I choose to stay wizard for 1 more level, I will gain +1 initiative, +1 History, +1 Local, and Scrying Adept (Su): (At 8th level, you are always aware when you are being observed via magic, as if you had a permanent detect scrying. In addition to bonuses to scrying.)

What are peoples opinions, on whether or not I should delay getting the prestige until level 9? That would still give me 3 levels of Lore Master by level 11, 5 at level 13. If I started Loremaster at level 8, then I would be Level 6 Lore by level 13, giving me the Greater Lore (Ex): (Whenever a loremaster examines a magic item to determine its properties, he gains a +10 circumstance bonus on his Spellcraft skill check.)
I don’t know how much importance that would be for a retirement arc.

Loremaster Class

2/5

2 people marked this as a favorite.

^_^ Thanks for all of the input guys. This topic has taken off with a life of its own when I wasn't watching.

The situation has been resolved, and I now know how these things work for the future.

~~~

As for spending the resources to resurrect the players. It was primarily a roleplay decision. The characters spent who knows how long together on that boat getting to know each other. And as the level 5 with level 1's, it felt more like a Naruto situation, where I was the one responsible for the fresh pathfinders.

In her mind, she blamed herself for them dieing, because she step in to intervene sooner. And when she did, she took her hands off the helm to cast a spell. Said a prayer, and left the boat to the gods. Dropped the final foe, ending the combat. Unfortunately, the River God (RNG dice), decided to sent the boat into a rock, and throw all of my charges into the water.

So because of these reasons and more. Clayr felt that she had failed her charges, and took responsibility for them. And was a lot more aggressive, and protective of her charges. Not holding back at all.

These traits she developed from these experiences are being passed down to her children, whom I plan to start playing soon.

2/5

Yes, this is PFS. Standard action to cast spell > mishap > boat flings unconscious players into water > 2 dead players. But ultimately, just a long series of bad D20 rolls.

And your right, its under the bridge. I guess this was both a vent post, and seeing if there is anything I should do. (Which is, not worry about it.)

2/5

I agree with the live and let live. I just wasn't sure if there was anything I should do, knowing now what I do.

~~~

As for the three level 1's and a level 5; our game shop hosts PFS every week, and we played part 1 in high tier, with the two level 1's (Their choice)

When part two came the next week, it was just me, and the two level 1's. And a third level 1 joined. Thinking back, one of original two, might have leveled up to two, can't remember.

Part 3, it was lvl 1, two lvl 2's, and a lvl 5.

~~~

Honestly, the problem was not with having a level 5, as we were playing the low tier for part 2 and 3. (Yes, there can be a problem if the high tier was doing everything. Which would be very detrimental to the play experience of the other players.)

Going by what the GM said, it would take a standard action, and a DC 20; knowledge nature, profession sailor, or wisdom check, to keep from rolling on the mishap table. (Unfortunately for us, we almost always rolled 10+ on the table, causing the players to take damage.) Having a higher level character make those roles would only be beneficial to the group.

The other unfortunate factor, were unconscious PC's getting dumped into the river. Unfortunately, my wizard had no way to help in this situation, except with being the only one remaining on the ship, keeping the ship from floating off without us. (I even tried to bribe the slaves on the opposing ship to rescue my companions.)

2/5

Hi, about 6 months ago, I was playing 3-11: On Hostile Watters. While playing, the GM told us that it was a standard action to control the boat.

For the most part, this didn't cause us too much trouble. My character spent most of the time controlling the boat, as she was level 5, with the other players being level 1's.

During the final encounter, I used a flaming sphere before the fight got started, and then controlled it with my move actions, and controlled the ship with my standard actions. It got to the point where two of the players were bleeding out, and the third level one was almost to the same point with one enemy left.

Out of desperation, I used my standard action to cast a spell to drop the last enemy; however, the RNG goddess was not on our side. The ship lurched, sending the other players into the water. The still standing level 1 valiantly tried saving the other two using frozen armor to bring them to the surface. Unfortunately due to poor fortitude rolls, the two drowned before surfacing (one just 1 round before.)

My character feeling like a steward over the fresh pathfinders, paid 10,540 gold towards the raise dead for the two characters.

~~~

Today, I'm preparing to GM the Quest for Perfection for my group of players, and I discovered that controlling the ship is not a standard action, but only a move action.

This would have meant that I would have been able to cast the spell to save my party, and used the move action to control the ship. So no one would have been tossed off of the ship.

Is there any recourse?

~~~

Personally, I did not mind, nor do I mind now that I spent the gold on the players. It was a pivotal character moment which has shaped and defined both that character, and the concepts for her children which I am building now.


That's what I thought. Didn't realize the (D) meant dismissable, good to know for the future.

Thanks for the response Zhayne.


Bloodbath Spell Description:

Range close (25 ft. + 5 ft./level)
Target up to one living creature/level, no two of which can be more than 30 feet apart
Duration 1 round/level (D)
Saving Throw Fort negates; Spell Resistance yes

DESCRIPTION

You cut yourself with the dagger, dealing yourself 1d6 points of bleed damage. So long as you keep taking this bleed damage, your targets each bleed for 1d6 points of damage at the beginning of their turns. The bleed damage on any target ends if that target receives magical healing, or if your bleed damage ends for any reason. This spell has no effect if you’re immune to bleed damage or can otherwise reduce or ignore the bleed damage to yourself.

Questions:
Am I a part of the targets, and so included in the 30 feet range?

Do I roll damage, at the beginning of each person's turn; or do I roll damage for myself, and then each person takes the same amount of damage at the start of their turn?

The only way to end the spell early, is to stop myself from bleeding?


Thanks, That's what I expected, but wasn't sure.


So, doing a bit of theory crafting on a character, and I ran into a question about familiars.

What happens when a familiar that does not have a listed attack, grows to become a medium sized creature?

For example, under offense toads just list:
Speed 5 ft.
Space 1 ft.; Reach 0 ft.

Does the toad gain any form of attack when they become medium sized? Or do they still have no natural attacks?


Sounds good. Thanks for the replies.


Lini, the Druid Pregen, has an animal companion named Droogami. On her stat sheet under melee it states Droogami has:

Melee: bite +8 (1d6+3 plus trip), 2 claws+8 (1d3+3);

I've been allowing my players to make 3 attacks on a full round with Droogami, 1 bite at +8, and 2 separate claw attacks also at +8 each, since that is what the sheet shows. Is this correct?


Melkiador wrote:
Yorien wrote:
Melkiador wrote:
But what of the masterwork shield? It costs less than 300gp extra and can still be enchanted as a weapon. However, it does not gain the masterwork enhancement bonus to attacks, because that is already going to armor check. The lute shouldn't behave any differently. It gives its enhancement bonus to skill checks, instead of to attack rolls, but it can still be enchanted as a weapon.
If an item can have several purposes, you aren't limited to make it masterwork for it's primary use only... but if you want to make it masterwork for other... "secondary" uses, then you should pay the MW cost for that use unless there's already some sinergy between both possible uses.
But that's not the way the rules work for master work shields, and so we could assume those same rules work for other kinds of improvised weapon. You don't have to masterwork a shield twice to make enchant it as a weapon. And it only costs +150 to make a shield masterwork.

"A shield could be built that also acted as a magic weapon, but the cost of the enhancement bonus on attack rolls would need to be added into the cost of the shield and its enhancement bonus to AC." - CRB 462

So following this rout, it would be masterwork object, enchant masterwork object for its intended job, then pay the additional for weapon enchantments.

ShroudedInLight wrote:
Melkiador wrote:
Brother Fen wrote:
And so another edition of mountains out of molehills begins. Those pesky players always angling for more bonuses.
I don't mind when people angle for bonuses on subpar fighting styles. If someone wants to drop large amounts of money to end up with a subpar item, then why not let them have their fun?
Exactly, if someone wants to pay 350 gold for a masterwork broom in order to get +2 to sweeping and -3 on attack rolls without catch off guard (that they've had to spend a feat to gain) that is fine by me. No different from an exotic weapon IMO

For me, the idea/intent would to make taking the feats for improvised weapons useful in the late game, where things have a lot of health/DR.

But my wife's opinion is that if your character wanted to progress to that level, they would need to get a proper weapon. And if you are using a tool for your continued go-to weapon. Then its no longer really improvised, but an exotic weapon. Especially if you start modifying/enchanting it.


1 person marked this as a favorite.

Taking the shield as an example,

Shield Quotes:

"Even though some types of armor and shields can be used as weapons, you can’t create a masterwork version of such an item that confers an enhancement bonus on attack rolls. Instead, masterwork armor and shields have lessened armor check penalties." - CRB 149

"An enhancement bonus on a shield does not improve the effectiveness of a shield bash made with it, but the shield can be made into a magic weapon in its own right." - CRB 152

"An enhancement bonus on a spiked shield does not improve the effectiveness of a shield bash made with it, but a spiked shield can be made into a magic weapon in its own right." - CRB 153

"A shield could be built that also acted as a magic weapon, but the cost of the enhancement bonus on attack rolls would need to be added into the cost of the shield and its enhancement bonus to AC." - CRB 462

So, from this, looking at the tools argument; there are separate costs. Pay one cost to enchant a masterwork tool to provide bonuses to skill rolls, and another (on top of?) to provide bonuses on attack rolls.

"Crowbar:
A crowbar grants a +2 circumstance bonus on Strength checks made to force open a door or chest. If used in combat, treat a crowbar as a one-handed improvised weapon that deals bludgeoning damage equal to that of a club of its size." - CRB 155

So, a masterwork crowbar would 50g normally (Tools, Masterwork) and provides no bonuses to attack rolls. I would say purchasing a masterwork crowbar that is built to act as a magic weapon would cost 350g, but still provides no bonus to attack.

This crowbar could then be enchanted with the normal cost of weapon enchantments, (in addition to the bonus to skills?)

At least, that is my thoughts on it.


1 person marked this as a favorite.

I am planning on playing a reanimated medium for PFS, and was wondering if you would clarify what is getting altered on the spirits ability.

"A reanimated medium is essentially a bodiless spirit using influence to possess his own spiritless body. “The reanimated medium” refers to this spirit. Unlike a normal medium, a reanimated medium becomes more powerful the more influence it has over its body. Each day, the reanimated medium can perform a seance at a location as normal to focus on one of his potential future legends. He channels that legendary potential as strongly as possible into his body. The spirit gains 3 points of influence over his body, to a maximum of 6 points. Since he is his own possessing spirit, he doesn’t lose control at 5 or more points of influence, though he still suffers the legend’s influence penalty as normal at 3 or more points of influence."

How does this interact with the "When the spirit leaves after the 24-hour duration and before the next seance, the spirit’s influence over the medium resets to 0." From the original ability?

Are the effects from seance still only 24 hours, and does the influence still reset to 0 when it expires?

If possible, it would help me if the original [Spirit (Su):] could be re-written to include the alteration from the Reanimated Medium's [Channel Self (Su):] for clarification purposes.

Character background idea:

The character I will be making, is a boy who borrowed money from the Exchange to purchase ingredients to perform a familiar bonding spell. Unfortunately, things did not go quite as well as he planned, and he died in the process; however, parts of the ritual he performed helped him to bind his soul to his body, and become a reanimated medium.

For now, he has the Iron Will feat as well as the Familiar Bond. Once he reaches level 3, he will get the improved familiar bond. If his familiar dies, he will bring it "back to life" or so he thinks, by doing a figment familiar of the one that just died. And thus, he will be a dead guy, possessing his own body, with an imaginary familiar.


I am playing a gnome wizard, who is obsessed about knowledge. She is a diviner, who will prestige into a Loremaster at level 8.

Mask Of A Thousand Tomes Will allow her to get an additional +10 on skill checks; at the cost of being blind.

I know that this will be a disadvantage for her. For her character concept, she has an Egyptian style mask, that is her bound object (Arcane Discovery from Mummy's Mask). Once she has enough money and prestige to get enchant her mask and enchant her armor with sensing, she will probably do so. (5,000 Bonded Mask + 9,000 Sensing)

When she does enchant her mask, she will effectively become permanently blind. If she takes her mask off to see, she would no longer have it "equipped" for the purpose of a bound object, giving pennalties to casting spells.

I currently plan on using the Sensing enchantment, which will give her 5-foot range blindsight and blindsense with a 60-foot range. Which will mitigate a lot of the penalties of being blind.

What I am looking for specifically, are ways of being able to "see/recognize" monsters in a manner to reduce the penalties on knowledge rolls to identify what my party is facing.

I was thinking Mindlink; however, looking more into it, it would allow me to put my information into someone else, rather than allow them to put their information/sight into my mind.

As for casting spells during combat, I will be sticking to AOE and touch spells, as since I am blind, I can't target people at a range, but I sure can target the square they are in. And if they are within 5 feet for a touch attack, blindsight will allow me to see and target them. (Tough to be honest, I'd rather not be that close to an enemy.)


I'm playing an Eldritch Guardian, and picked up this feat planing on being more of a controller fighter.

Since it is a Combat feat, my familiar also gets use of this feat while she can see and hear me. So my question is, does it stack on the poor caster, giving them a +8 DC, or do they only suffer from the single, highest source?

Disruptive:

Benefit: The DC to cast spells defensively increases by +4 for all enemies that are within your threatened area. This increase to casting spells defensively only applies if you are aware of the enemy's location and are capable of taking an attack of opportunity. If you can only take one attack of opportunity per round and have already used that attack, this increase does not apply.

I'm using a psudodragon as my familiar, and using Pack Attack, and Outflank. So I plan to keep the caster as flanked as possible anyways. Thinking of taking Step Up next level if they do stack, to keep the caster with a +8 DC penalty. If not, then either way they 5-foot step, they would be adjacent to either me or my familiar, so less of a point in taking the feat.


One of the benefits of the familiar having the Valet was the feat
Escape Route.
. Allowing the familiar to move into an opponents square without provoking multiple attacks of opportunity. Something my friend pointed out, is that the Pseudodragon does have a 5ft range with its tail attack, so that will not be as big of a problem I was expecting it to be.

As for not being able to use most archtypes with the Improved Familiars, the conflict never crossed my mind. Thanks for pointing it out.


It did, and I appreciate your input.

I am not going to hold my breath about stacking the touch spells. I had a friend state on Facebook, "The last line of the Deliver Touch Spells ability says that if another touch spell is loaded into the familiar, the first one dissipates." But I haven't hear back from him about where he is getting that from as I haven't found that anywhere.

The main benefits that I am seeing with using the Mascot with my guardian, is the potential for the odd buff to my familiar. An alternate path I have been looking at is the Valet (Familiar Archetype) from the Animal Archive.

Primarily for the Teammate (Ex): A valet is considered to have all the teamwork feats its master has. Mixing this with the Eldritch which already shares all the combat feats, could allow for some interesting combinations for my fighter.

I still have two levels worth of adventures to figure out, and make a final decisions for my Psuedodragon.


Your quite right, if everything went well, then this situation could occur.

However; if the familiar fails to land the attack, then those same Magi would either have to wait a round to cast spells, or fizzle the held spell.

I'm assuming the 40d6, is 10d6 from each spell. Each spell would be effected by saving throws, damage reductions and so on. So its not a single package of 40d6, but four packages of 10d6. Still a hefty amount of damage once all the reductions are taken into account. But not as potent as if it was all a single package.

For most uses of this tactic, the familiar is likely to be rather fragile, and easily killed. Simply to the nature of familiars in combat. In my particular case, as a Eldritch Guardian, I hope my familiar will be able to survive close encounters, and fight with me on the front line. At the cost of not having spells to impart to my familiar.

There is also, in PFS, no guarantee what the other players in the party will be, or what "you" and touch spells they will possess.


Is there a difference between, you touching, and something touching you? For example, you an an enemy are trying to attack each-other. You miss with a touch spell, your enemy then hits you. Does the touch dispel, since something touched you?

(If the master and the familiar are in contact at the time the
master casts a touch spell, he can designate his familiar
as the “toucher.”)

What I'm imagining, is the spell is stored in your hand, once "loaded" as soon as your hand comes into contact with something, the energy is transferred from hand to thing.

Personally, I do not think that allowing this, would be that breaking, as it is still taking up the spell slot from each person. The only difference is the "on hit" coming from 1 roll, rather than separate to-hit rolls.


Mascot (Familiar Archetype)

Affinity for My Team (Su): A mascot is the heart and
soul of its team, which at first consists of only the familiar
and its master. At 1st level and every 3 levels thereafter,
a mascot can add an additional member to its team. A
mascot’s empathic link extends to all members of its team.
A mascot can add or remove one team member over the
course of a day. If a team member dies, the mascot gains
1 permanent negative level. This ability replaces alertness
and alters empathic link.

Q: In PFS, can it be assumed that I spent time traveling with the other players before the start of the mission, to have the maximum number of the party linked? Could the empathic link be used to "relay" emotion to the group?

Lucky Mascot (Su): Whenever a mascot uses the aid
another action to aid a team member’s attack roll or AC, that
team member also gains a +1 luck bonus on all attack rolls
or to AC for 1 round. This ability replaces improved evasion.

Q: I'm not sure how the aid works in combat, I've only seen this used as a skill buffing. Is it a normal standard action, and I'm assuming that you must be adjacent to them.

Share Spells: At 3rd level, spells targeting a mascot via
its share spells ability function at its level – 2. The mascot
can benefit from the spells of any team member when
using share spells.

Q: So, if a CL 5 spell was used, the result is as if a CL 3 was used correct?

Also, there seems to be two different types of share spells, the more restrictive druid, and the wizard. I'm assuming since it is a familiar, not a companion, that it would be only bound by the wizards restrictions.

CRB Druid wrote:

Share Spells (Ex): The druid may cast a spell with a target

of “You” on her animal companion (as a spell with a range
of touch) instead of on herself. A druid may cast spells on
her animal companion even if the spells normally do not
affect creatures of the companion’s type (animal). Spells
cast in this way must come from a class that grants an
animal companion. This ability does not allow the animal
to share abilities that are not spells, even if they function
like spells.
CRB Wizard wrote:

Share Spells: The wizard may cast a spell with a target

of “You” on his familiar (as a touch spell) instead of on
himself. A wizard may cast spells on his familiar even if
the spells do not normally affect creatures of the familiar’s
type (magical beast).

Meaning, that any class with "you" spells, could use them on my familiar. Not just wizards.

Is the (This ability does not allow the animal to share abilities that are not spells, even if they function
like spells.)
implied on the wizard side as well, or it only restricting the druids?

Deliver Touch Spells (Su): At 5th level, spells delivered
by a mascot’s deliver touch spells ability function at its
level – 2. The mascot can deliver the touch spells of any
team member. This ability alters deliver touch spells.

Q: From what I understand, is for the deliver touch spells, the familiar had to be in contact with you, then the familiar has to then move/deliver the touch spell on its turn. You can't just spontaneously cast it threw them at range, correct?

With being able to deliver touch spells threw multiple people, can it be loaded with multiple spells, meaning 1 spell from each person, or would the spells overwrite each other as if from the same person?


My original idea, was if I used the thrush familiar, I would use it as a thrush for all things stat/game wise; however, cosmetically I would introduce it as the character of my adolescent pseudo dragon. So that RP wise, I'm not just throwing out my familiar of six adventures for something better, rather that my familiar grew up.

That is what I meant about confusion. For all intents and purposes, its a thresh, but introduced as different alias.


@Velisruna:
I really like the idea of using the Rhamphorhynchus; however, I don't own the material its from. Thanks for the ideas though.

@Uqbarian:
Yah, I had thought of using the thrush. My only problem there, is that to get any real value, my familiar needs to be more of a combat type.

@GM Tyrant:
Princess True, that might confuse people/cause problems.

@Kalindlara & Ascalaphus:
Also, the sting counts as silver for purposes of bypassing damage reduction.


I recently acquired access to a Pseudodragon for a familiar on a boon sheet. I'm a warrior, so I've re-trained as a Edlirch Guardian to allow myself to have a familiar.

The problem being, I'm level 3, so I have two more levels to go before I can actually use it (boon sheet allows me to use at level 5, rather than 7).

I was wondering, if I could a different familiar before then, and "call" it my Pseudodragon, since she is still a "diminutive adolescent". Then once I hit level 5, use the true adult stats for her.

If so, what familiar do you recommend I use for stat purposes?

2/5

Thank you. That clarifies things a lot.

2/5

Nefreet, I have read through a lot of the comments on Kyle Baird's How to Upgrade Your Gear posts, and your How to Upgrade Your Gear (2014).

There have been mentions of the "upgrade paths", celestial armor as the main example. I have also read through a discussion in 2013, where you were in favor of taking special materials as a base, and using them to make a named item.

Has there been a clarification on this matter?

Looking at what I wrote in my previous post, it probably came off as rude. I'm sorry.

It was meant as a question, but I didn't write the question. Could I purchase it as such, a mythril BotOR, and if a GM disputes, just treat it as a cosmetic, and just use the sword as a BotOR? Or would I not be able to use it at all?

2/5

@ Steven, That's what I assumed was the case. Re-reading the FAQ that I posted, it looks like IF I had a +1 longsword, I could upgrade it into a Lesser Blade of the Open Road. But it does not specify upgrading from a non-magical base. For now, I'm going to assume that no, I can not.

@Nefreet, I'm not looking to turn an iron BotOR into mythril, but take a mythril longsword, and give it the BotOR enchantments.

Fundamentally speaking, I'm paying 2,000 gold for cosmetic of my longsword being made of mythil, and the static effect of it counting as a silver weapon. There is no other effect, that I know of, except mabey hardness and hit points.

2/5

I have the boon sheet from #6-16: Scions of the Sky Key, Part 3. This is giving me the option of purchasing the Blade of the Open Road. I am almost to the finances of being able to purchase the sword, and in my most recent adventure, special materials were brought to my attention.

I was asking around as to which material would be good to use as a base, and one of the GM's mentioned that I may not be able to have that as a base, since the Blade of the Open Road is named item. Looking in the FAQ, that seems to be so, but I just wanted to make sure.

FAQ: Can I Upgrade a Named Magic Item?:

From the FAQ wrote:


Named magic items—including specific armor and specific weapons—are not upgradeable. Non-magic specific armor and specific weapons may be upgraded normally. Magic armor and weapons may be upgraded to named versions if they are the same basic material and shape as, and meet but do not exceed the enhancement bonuses of the named versions. Wondrous items whose names include a +X value (such as bracers of armor, headband of vast intelligence, amulet of might fists, etc.) may also be upgraded following the rules for upgrading magical items on page 19 of the Guide to Pathfinder Society Organized Play.

Upgraded versions of named magic items may appear on Chronicle sheets.

Intelligent magic items are not available for purchase unless they appear on a Chronicle sheet or are provided as part of a class or archetype (such as the black blade magus archetype).

Blade of the Open Road:

From the Boon Sheet wrote:


Blades of the Open Road are longswords specifically crafted to strike against the Aspis Consortium.

A Lesser Blade of the Open Road(2,515GP) is a +1 longsword with a Glyph of the Open Road stamped into its hilt.

A Blade of the Open Road(19,715GP) is a +1 Aspis bane longsword. Against agents of the Aspis Consortium and creatures directly employed by the Aspis Consortium, the weapons enhancement bonus is 2 higher than its actual bonus, and the weapon deals and extra 2d6 points of damage.

A Greater Blade of the Open Road(35,715GP) has all of the properties of a Blade of the Open Road and gains the ominous and heartskeaker weapon special abilities against Aspis Consortium agents and the Consortium employees.

Any wayfiner the wielder carries grants a +2 circumstance bonus on all Survival checks, not just checks to avoid becoming lost. A Blade of the Open Road and Greater Blade of the Open Road increase this bonus to +4 or +6, respectively.

Between scenarios, the wielder can enhance a lesser blade of the open road to become a Blade of the Open Road, and later into a Greater Blade of the Open Roadby paying the difference in price between the two items.

I am playing a sword and board type fighter, and I was thinking of having my long sword be a mythril, Blade of the Open Road. Spending the 2,000 gold now (4lb x 500g) for the mythril longsword. Then once I have the 2,515 gold, upgrade it to BotOR.

Would that be allowed since the BotOR does not state what material it is made out of?


I didn't realize that skill points are retroactive in Pathfinders.


I've chose local, due to her belonging to the Scarab Sage faction. One of the goals is to recruit two named NPC for her faction using either a diplomacy check or knowledge local: DC = 15+level.

I've already accounted for the + skill for favored class.

Had one person at work suggesting the adopted trait, due to not understanding how it worked. I've since research it, and corrected him on its purpose.

Overall, for this character, she will be my "gimmic" character.


Hello, I've been working around the idea of building a Loremaster; however, with the twist of actually having ranks in all of the knowledge skills.

I REALLY like the idea of using a gnome, and taking the Gift of Tongues a gnome alternate race trait.

Gift of Tongues:

Source Advanced Race Guide pg. 1 (Amazon), Advanced Player's Guide pg. 1 (Amazon)
Gnomes love languages and learning about those they meet. Gnomes with this racial trait gain a +1 bonus on Bluff and Diplomacy checks, and they learn one additional language every time they put a rank in the Linguistics skill. This racial trait replaces defensive training and hatred.

Currently, with attribute modifiers, I plan on having her stats as:
STR 8, DEX 9, CON 14, INT 18, WIS 10, CHA 14

I wanted more of a variance on stats, rather than setting int to 18, and the rest as 10's, so I rolled some dice and this was how it came out. And looking at it, I actually like the results.

I want my Loremaster to actually know all of the knowledge skills. Since this would require a high intelligence, and I need to cast divination spells, I decided on being a wizard until I can switch into lore master at level 8.

Doing the math, there are 10 knowledge skills, two of them MUST be at max rank to qualify for the Loremaster as soon as possible. I plan for these two to be Arcane and Local.

As a wizard, I receive class(2) + int(4) + FC(1) = 7 skill ranks per level. I'd prefer to put a rank into linguist every level, to make use of the Gift of Tongues. So that dedicates 3/7 skill points per level, leaving the last 4 ranks to be split every other level between the remaining 8 knowledge skills.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

So, first and foremost, I'm interested in people's opinion as to whether she would be viable in path finder's society.

Or if there might be alternate paths that could work better.

Secondly, I've been trying to find a way to acquire at least 1 more skill rank per level, as I would really like to have some ranks to pass around to other skills. Once I make the transition to Loremaster, I will have 4 ranks per level from the class rather than the 2 from wizard.

Without 1 more skill point per level, I will put 1 rank into spell craft at first level, rather than the linguist, which will give me a +8 spellcraft skill.