Red Dragon

GM Jeff's page

184 posts. No reviews. No lists. No wishlists.


1 to 50 of 184 << first < prev | 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | next > last >>

Step 1: Fill Bag of Holding (Type IV) with water.

Step 2: Turn Bag of Holding inside out.

Step 3: Instantly fill entire room with water.

Still not convinced on #1. Especially the part, "This attack is treated as a ranged attack with a thrown weapon,..." And a ranged attack triggers an attack of opportunity.

Hopefully others will chime in on their thoughts.

If you're dying (ie unconscious, knocked out, helpless, 0 Dexterity) and you're on the Material Plane, gravity pulls your body to the ground.

Material Plane: The Material Plane tends to be the most Earth-like of all planes and operates under the same set of natural laws that our own real world does.

Normal gravity pulls you to the ground. If you can no longer support yourself in a standing position, you fall to the ground prone.

Without this "natural laws" rule, one could argue that I shouldn't fall when a pit opens under my feet. Sure, there's a falling rule, but there's nothing that states when I fall.

2 people marked this as FAQ candidate.

One of the Magic domain's granted powers.

Hand of the Acolyte (Su): You can cause your melee weapon to fly from your grasp and strike a foe before instantly returning. As a standard action, you can make a single attack using a melee weapon at a range of 30 feet. This attack is treated as a ranged attack with a thrown weapon, except that you add your Wisdom modifier to the attack roll instead of your Dexterity modifier (damage still relies on Strength). This ability cannot be used to perform a combat maneuver. You can use this ability a number of times per day equal to 3 + your Wisdom modifier.

1. Using a supernatural power doesn't trigger an attack of opportunity, but does throwing the melee weapon trigger one? (Or is throwing the weapon part of using the supernatural ability?)

2. If I throw a 2-handed weapon, do I get a 1 1/2 Strength modifier bonus to damage?

Yeah to cast Daze, you need to target a creature you can see or touch. You can't target a square an invisible creature may be in.

If you want to try to touch an invisible creature in a square, it's a standard action, but then you can't use Daze because that also uses a standard action. (Daze is not a touch spell).

I was thinking you could try to Grab the invisible creature, then next turn if you're still grabbing the creature, cast Daze with a successful Concentration check. But I don't think this works because you have to maintain the grapple with a standard action, and none of the following actions (move, damage, pin, tie up) includes casting a spell.

The elephant has to begin its turn in some legal space (its starting square), and begins its trample move through oponents. If it ends its move on an illegal space (ie, an opponent's space) it moves back to its last legal position.

So it could, in the OP's situation, get moved backed all the way to its starting square.

Right, I was attempting math in the morning and my brain did something wonky.

Jumping up 10 feet is an Acrobatics DC 40 check (DC 80 without a running start).

Yes. Jumping up 10 ft, you will naturally fall 10 ft, but since you deliberately jumped, you will take 1d6 nonlethal damage.

Jumping up 10 ft. is an Acrobatics DC 48 check.

However, if you can jump that high, you have a good chance to soften your fall with an Acrobatics DC 15 check and take no damage.

I think I got it now.

If I am lawful neutral.

I summon a celestial creature, it gains the lawful subtype and the good subtype. (Used mainly for attacks, natural or wielded weapons, overcoming DR).

I summon a fiendish creature, it gains the lawful subtype and the evil subtype.

Or, if I were chaotic neutral.

Celestial creature gains chaotic subtype and good subtype.

Fiendish creature gains chaotic subtype and evil subtype.

I am a neutral character fighting a monster with DR 10/good.

I cast Summon Monster and choose to summon a Celestial creature.

Are the attacks from that Celestial creature considered Good for overcoming DR?

When making the summoner's eidolon, the armor bonus it gets says, "This bonus may be split between an armor bonus and a natural armor bonus, as decided by the summoner."

Is there a difference?

Is there a damage type on swarm damage? (bludgeoning, piercing, and/or slashing?) I looked and couldn't find the type under natural attacks.

It could be:

A) Other - B/S/P (But as a secondary attack? That doesn't sound right).

B) No type of damage, it simply deals its damage. (But suppose a creature damaged by a swarm has DR 5/Bludgeoning?)

C) Use the damage type dealt by a similar single creature of the swarm. Example, bat swarm uses dire bat's bite (B/S/P), crab swarm uses giant crab's claw (B/S), etc.

I would go with "C", but is there some rule I'm missing on this?

When not in battle: "Let's go horse, giddyup. Haha, stubborn horse... ah there we go."
Elapsed time before horse moves: 12 seconds, no big deal.

In battle: "Go horse, go! Yah! Yah! For Pete's sake, Move! Yah!"
Elapsed time before horse moves: 12 seconds, big deal.

Whether there's danger or not, 12 seconds outside of battle is no big deal. You don't need an instant response from your mount. In battle, that same 12 seconds is 2 rounds and is a big deal. When there's enemies about or off in the distance and you need that instant response from your mount, I'd say you need a Ride check, even if your mount doesn't know what the heck is going on.

James Jacobs wrote:
Spells with the Evil descriptor are evil; that's why they have that descriptor. Same goes for Good or Lawful or Chaotic. That means that certain classes can't really cast them at all (divine classes of different alignments), but that other classes (arcane spellcasters, for the most part) can cast them as much as they like. But casting alignment spells a lot will and should turn the caster toward that alignment, unless the GM doesn't care about alignment and doesn't enforce such changes, in which case the GM should let EVERY player at the table know that alignment doesn't impact the game so that players who do play as if it does have a chance to adjust their play styles as appropriate. Removing the alignment types of certain spells has implications, though, and before you do so make sure that no one in your group is planning on building a character who uses the alignemnt descriptors in their character build!

Grick wrote:
blackbloodtroll wrote:
Creatures that are not of the Humanoid(not monstrous humanoid) type are not valid targets.

Charm Person: "Target one humanoid creature"

The spell does not say humanoid type. Just humanoid creature.

Leprechaun: "This small humanoid..."

The leprechaun is a humanoid, but it does not have the humanoid type.

Charm Monster

This spell functions like charm person, except that the effect is not restricted by creature type or size.

I submit that "Target: One humanoid creature" for Charm Person is targeting the humanoid creature type and not humanoid looking creatures, based on Charm Monster.

Even though Charm Person doesn't say humanoid creature type, it's humanoid creature type.

I would say if you've rolled initiative and are tracking rounds and taking turns to perform actions, you're in battle. Start making ride checks. Even if a horseback archer is 500 ft. away and wants to get closer. If you rolled initiative to act, you're in the fight, make a Ride check even if it's only to get closer.

darkwarriorkarg wrote:
GM Jeff wrote:
Redspyke10 wrote:
GM Jeff wrote:
Of course, the GM is allowed to penalize these values by half or more, chalking it up as bad circumstances for the owl.

yes of course, but then its the DM being a dick, not rules.

It's in the rules under Lifting and Dragging.

"A character can generally push or drag along the ground as much as five times his maximum load. Favorable conditions can double these numbers, and bad circumstances can reduce them by half or more."

It's the rules allowing the DM to be a dick :-)


Hey, you try to drag 150 lbs. with your mouth and no hands. See what a bad circumstance that is... and you have more than a 6 Strength.

Point: To prepare spells, a wizard must sleep for 8 hours.

Counterpoint: Ghost are undead and don't sleep at all, let alone for 8 hours.

Point: However, you don't have to sleep (or slumber) to regain spells, just rest and not do anything physically or mentally exhausting for 8 hours.

Counterpoint: So then what? How is a ghost wizard going to study any spells without a spellbook?

Point: You can prepare Read Magic without a spellbook. And, being a cantrip, cast it over and over again.

Counterpoint: And, what good will that do without a spellbook?

Point: Then, the ghost wizard finds another unoccupied wizard's spellbook. Hopes that that spellbook is left open. Casts Read Magic. Checks to see if it's a spell the ghost wizard knows...

Counterpoint: ...And the spell is 2nd level or lower because a 3rd level spell will take up 3 pages. That's if the 2nd level spell is on both open pages to view, and not one part on an open page and one part on the next turned page.

Point: ...yeah, yeah, yeah, and that. Then, the ghost wizard can study that spell! Woohoo!

Counterpoint: Pfft.

Point: And maybe the open paged spell will be Prestid... Prestig... that one cantrip that does minor tricks.

Counterpoint: Prestidigitation?

Point: Gesundheit. Then the ghost wizard can use that spell to turn the pages of that spellbook, and any other spellbook he or she comes across... er.. floats across in the future.

Counterpoint: ... Too bad Read Magic requires a clear crystal or prism as a focus. Ghosts can't use physical objects.

Point: DAMMIT!

Redspyke10 wrote:
GM Jeff wrote:
Of course, the GM is allowed to penalize these values by half or more, chalking it up as bad circumstances for the owl.

yes of course, but then its the DM being a dick, not rules.

It's in the rules under Lifting and Dragging.

"A character can generally push or drag along the ground as much as five times his maximum load. Favorable conditions can double these numbers, and bad circumstances can reduce them by half or more."

1. Yes, you have one hand free when holding a bow. If you are holding a bow and have an arrow in the other hand (because you used a free action to draw the arrow but didn't fire it), then no, you don't have one hand free.

2. Yes, if you catch an arrow, you now have an arrow in your hand and can use that arrow with your bow to fire it.

Of course, the GM is allowed to penalize these values by half or more, chalking it up as bad circumstances for the owl. wrote: wrote:

"Bigger and Smaller Creatures: The figures on Table: Carrying Capacity are for Medium bipedal creatures. A larger bipedal creature can carry more weight depending on its size category, as follows: Large ×2, Huge ×4, Gargantuan ×8, Colossal ×16. A smaller creature can carry less weight depending on its size category, as follows: Small ×3/4, Tiny ×1/2, Diminutive ×1/4, Fine ×1/8."

The capacity numbers Redspyke quoted have the Tiny x1/2 rule already calculated in.

A Medium creature with a 6 Strength can carry twice as much as the values posted above.

So, by RAW, a Tiny owl can drag 150 lbs for 10 ft. as a full-round action.

Jeraa wrote:
GeneticDrift wrote:
If it was a magical item then - Dispel magic, go make a new spell book :)
Not really. If spellbooks were a magic item, Dispel Magic would only suppress them for 1d4 rounds, same as any other magic item. After that, the book would regain its magic. You would need Mage's Disjunction to destroy them instead.

...or a simple torch.

Mysterious Stranger wrote:

Spell books are not magical and the writing inside is also not magical. The fact that you need read magic to decipher a spell from a book does not change that, nor the fact you are using spell craft. The best real world example I can think of is computer programming.

Below is a snippet of code from a program I wrote for a class.

mov cur_speed, 0800h
mov c_comp_x, 225
mov n_comp_x, 226
mov c_player_x, 225
mov n_player_x, 226
mov c_ball_y, 8
mov n_ball_y, 9
mov x_direction, 1
mov y_direction, 1

mov si, c_comp_x
mov dx, 05h
mov al, 0fh
call dpaddle

mov si, c_comp_x
mov dx, c_ball_y
mov al, 0fh
call dball

mov si, c_player_x
mov dx, 475
mov al, 0fh
call dpaddle

What happens inside my computer is magic. I would use Read Magic to decipher this. ;)

Dust Raven wrote:

Magical beasts do not detect as magic (nor any other type of creature, though any active spell-like or supernatural abilities may), yet they are very magical. I'd say many creatures are far more magical than any normal spellbook, but if they don't detect as magic then I don't see why a spellbook would regardless of how magical the writing may be.

Of course, when it really comes down to it, by RAW the spell Detect Magic only does what its description says it does, which is detect the auras of functioning spells and magic items, neither of which a spellbook is.

Ooo, good one. I like this. Brings up some interesting things.

I picture a wizard creating a magical beast by casting spells on it and altering it, like experimenting on it in a lab. What spells the wizard casts create auras, but they will fade over time (unless a permanancy spell is involved, who knows with those crazy experimenting wizards).

So, if magic is invovled by making "arcane magical writings" in a book, those inscriptions may (or may not) create some magical auras.... But, those auras, like all auras, fade away.

This also makes me think of magical traps. Would Detect Magic detect a magical trap? I say, with a weak 50% confidence, ...yes (?). Okay, maybe 55%...

You can't dispel a magical beast with Dispel Magic (throws the Permanent ongoing spell theory out the window).

You can't dispel a spellbook with Dispel Magic... well, there's no ongoing spell or magical effect to supress.

Is a magical beast magical? Yes, or was created by magic or something. Unclear. Does Detect Magic detect a magical beast? I don't think any GM ever said it does.

Is a spellbook magical? Unknown, the "arcane magical writing" inside a spellbook could be an ongoing effect of magic, or was magical when writen but that was done a while ago and the aura has faded. Does Detect Magic detect a spellbook? I don't think any GM ever said one does.

I guess this one goes to GM interpretation. I'm guessing most GMs say "No" to a spellbook showing up with Detect Magic. I'm still unclear on this, but if my GM said it does, I wouldn't argue.
If my players ever ask me, I'd probably say "No" to keep it simple so I wouldn't have to say "you detect the wizard's spellbook" ever time Detect Magic was used. And if they come across the enemy wizard's spellbook, I'd tell them, "Yeah, you can tell that's a spellbook."

People have brought up good points for and against the subject of this topic. I appreciate that. Thanks.

Where is this -20 rule? That one is new to me.

Diego Rossi wrote:
GM Jeff wrote:
Okay, maybe you don't "need" Read Magic to read a spellbook, but it doesn't matter. The point is, you can still use it on a spellbook. Why? Because there's some magic there to read.

You can use Comprehend languages or the skill Linguistic to comprehend something written in a foreign language.

That make it magic?


You're trying to prove a point here somewhere...

Okay, maybe you don't "need" Read Magic to read a spellbook, but it doesn't matter. The point is, you can still use it on a spellbook. Why? Because there's some magic there to read.

3 people marked this as FAQ candidate.

A paladin uses Lay on Hands to damage an undead creature. This requires a melee touch attack. The paladin misses. Is one use of Lay on Hands wasted with no effect, or is the paladin holding the charge with Lay on Hands and can attempt another touch attack next turn?

If yes, could that paladin use a held Lay on Hands to heal rather than make another melee touch attack against an undead?

Nuku wrote:
Right, so the mover would only miss out on five feet of movement and... that's it?

In your situation, on an attack of opportunity, that's pretty much it.

But you still need to use Read Magic. And I'm sure Read Magic isn't used to comprehend a book on the subject of magic. There's magic in them there books.

Or to put it another way, would you use Read Magic on a normal nonmagical book?

@TimrehIX - Yes, scrolls and spellbooks are different. You can't cast spells from a spellbook's pages, although that doesn't mean it isn't magical.

Can you use Dispel Magic on a scroll? What would happen? I'd imagine, if anything, the same thing would happen with a spellbook.


@Parka - Good points... but switch spellbook with scroll for your questions.

Does a scroll suffer for lingering in an Antimagic field?

Can a wizard read a scroll in an Antimagic field?
Yes, when deciphering.
Yes, when reading to cast, although nothing will happen.

Can a wizard copy a scroll into a spellbook within the confines of an Antimagic field?

Same situation. The scroll is still magical. The magical writings on the spellbook are still magical.

I ask because of two reasons:

1) The spells written in the spellbook are referred to as "arcane magical writings". Now, maybe the book itself isn't magical, but the writings inside are magical? (So, a blank spellbook isn't magical, whereas one filled with spells has magical writing.)

2) You use Read Magic on someone else's spellbook. Read Magic deciphers magical writing without a skill check. And you use read magic to decipher magical inscriptions, keyword magical. Heck, it's even in the name of the spell, Read Magic.

So what I assume is correct is that a spellbook is not magical, but the "arcane magical writing" (aka spells) inside the spellbook are magical.

1 person marked this as FAQ candidate.

Would a wizard's spellbook (with spells inside) show up to someone casting Detect Magic?

Just like a Strength increase applies to all your previous attacks and damages. So all the bad guys you killed before have died that much sooner.


Here's an example that's been coming up a lot in my games.

Rogue: I listen at the door.
GM: Make a Perception check.
Rogue: 24.
GM: You hear nothing on the other side.

Everything is fine. Players open the door. But...

Rogue: I listen at the door.
GM: Make a Perception check.
Rogue: Uh-oh... 7.
GM: You hear nothing on the other side.
Monk: Watch out. I listen at the door.

So, the monk listens at the door only when the rogue rolls badly. And if the Monk rolls badly, then the next character steps up and makes a roll. Repeat, until someone gets a good roll or we run out of PCs.

I try to hint at it.

GM: Rogue, you just listened at the door and heard nothing. The Monk doesn't trust you and you are a little bit insulted.
Rogue: Whatever, he's helping me.
GM: He didn't help you before...

This is just one of the many things that happens. A player flubs a roll and another player runs up to try and get a better roll.

I don't know. Maybe this is a minor issue that annoys me a bit and I should just let it go and expect everyone to make a Perception check at every door, every time.

Adamantine weapons ignore hardness that's less than 20. Plus, the adamantine weapon hardness goes up to 20, and has more HPs.

So, if you sunder a lot, or plan on breaking stuff. Adamantine weapons are the way to go.

Concerning the enhancement bonus, there is no difference between an adamantine weapon, and a masterwork adamantine weapon. Both give a +1 enhancement bonus to attack rolls.

It's 6.05 gp per masterwork arrow, in Pathfinder.

The example in the old 3.5 rules were wrong.

4 people marked this as a favorite.

In the adventure Crypt of the Everflame (by Jason Bulmahn), there is a room filled with water with some pits.

The hazard says, "Creatures that step into the pit must make a DC 10 Swim check or immediately begin to sink into the dark water. Characters carrying a medium or light load sink 10 feet per failed check, while characters carrying a heavy load sink 20 feet per failed check."

I'd say it's up to the GM on this one, on a case by case basis.

Whirlwind says, "Some creatures can transform themselves into whirlwinds..." So, a creature becomes a whirlwind. What are creatures transformed to whirlwinds in the GMs world? Are they just swirling air currents, or is there something physical in the middle of all that air?

Some things a GM might have to think about:
Can you grapple a whirlwind? (substantial, insubstantial?)
Can you attack a whirlwind with:
- A longsword? (slashing)
- A crossbow? (piercing)
- A club? (bludgeoning)
- A magic missile spell? (direct? force damage?)
- A fireball spell? (area?)
- Gaze attacks?
Environmental conditions:
- Underwater
- Small spaces
- Extreme temperatures

GMs call.

My players have leveled up. They are not resting. How should current HPs be handled?

For example: A character has a maximum of 15 HPs, has taken 6 damage and is down to 9 HPs. That character levels up and gains 7 HPs to his maximum, bringing his maximum HPs to 22.

Leveling up options for HPs:

A) The character has taken 6 damage, why make it seem like he has taken more damage? Keeping him at 9 HPs means he has now at 13 damage. Give the player the benefit and add 7 HPs to his current total.
9 + 7 = 16 current HPs.

B) The character is at 9 HPs and is still at 9 HPs, he does not get "healthier" by gaining a level. It's not like someone cured him for 7 HPs of damage. If he wants to get to his max HPs, he need to rest or heal per the rules.
9 current HPs.

C) Leveling up resets everything. The character is at max HPs. Kudos for everyone!
22 current HPs.

Hugo Rune wrote:
thebigragu wrote:
It was my understanding that Free Action as a category exists precisely for the sake of *not* interrupting simultaneous actions such as you describe. Additionally, although a Charge is a Full Round Action, it is specifically described as occurring in two parts: movement and melee. In other words, it seems that the text itself points right to where such a Free Action might be played.

You are correct, a free action can be taken at anytime without interrupting the simultaneous action. However charging requires you to be moving and defensive stance requires you to be stationary and you cannot be both moving and stationary at the same time.

You are attempting to split the move part and the attack part into two components and inserting the free action there. Unfortunately, it would appear that the RAW has that eventuality covered already.

From Charge section of the PRD wrote:
If any line from your starting space to the ending space passes through a square that blocks movement, slows movement, or contains a creature (even an ally), you can't charge.
The PRD states that if your movement is slowed you can't charge. The defensive stance requires you to be stationary. If you enter the defensive stance before you have attacked then in effect you have moved up to twice your movement in a straight line and slowed to a stop in your ending space. As you have slowed you can't have been charging in the first place and therefore don't get an attack.

Defensive Stance says, "While in a defensive stance, a stalwart defender cannot willingly move from his current position through any means."

Saying you "slowed" to a stop because you activated Defensive Stance is far from being correct. Defensive Stance doesn't slow your previous movements. It doesn't care if you've moved beforehand. It doesn't say you have to be stationary for the entire turn or action. All it cares about is that, once activated, you don't move from your current position.

"After I move with charge, I activate Defensive Stance. Look, I'm not moving from my current position!"

Activated Defensive Stance after you've moved with a charge doesn't negate the charge. Nothing blocked my movement. Nothing slowed my movement. No square that I moved in contained a creature. I made it from point A to point B.
Charging doesn't say you're using momentum or plowing into an opponent. You move up to twice your speed and attack. How you want to flavor how it looks is up to you, but that doesn't change the rules.

The OP's question has been answered. Yes, you can activate Defensive Stance during a charge, after moving and before you attack. Whether you have an issue with the flavor of how it looks in your mind, or think it's "cheese", or think that's not how it should work is irrelevant.

Hugo Rune wrote:

I would say no.

I consider charge to be a single action that can be broken before completion, typically in response to a readied action (often brace) that changes the circumstances of the charge. in these circumstances it becomes a double move action instead.

If the DS was used during the charge action then it either breaks immediately (as the character is moving) or breaks the charge.

Charge is a single action. But, you can still perform a free action while charging.

Suppose a player wants to charge an orc 10 squares away. After moving 4 squares, the player wants to drop a key (free action) in that 4th square, then continue charging the 6 squares to the orc. Are you going to say dropping the key breaks the charge?

If you're really against it, use this:

"A defensive stance requires a level of emotional calm, and it may not be maintained by a character in a rage (such as from the rage class feature or the rage spell)."

Rule that charging an enemy is NOT a level of emotional calm.

I don't see why not. You can perform free actions while taking another action. So activating Defensive Stance after the move portion of a charge seems to work.

FilmGuy wrote:

My reading of it is you use a standard action to activate the boots which effectively casts levitate on the wearer. This lasts for the duration of the spell (in this case 3 minutes since the duration of levitate is 1 minute per level and the CL of the boots is 3rd). At the end of that time the spell effect would end, but since there is no limit to times per day the boots can be used, the wearer could simply command the boots again (using a standard action) to extend the levitation effect.

Just my 2 cp.

I would use the spell duration and weight limits according to the spell.

I would set the caster level to the level of the character wearing the boots, rather than the boots' caster level of 3. Simply because the boots say, "these boots allow the wearer to levitate as if she had cast levitate on herself".

Bold mine.

If you cast levitate on yourself use your own caster level.

I had a druid player try this with dogs.

The main problem was limited spacing in rooms when fighting. The other players would complain because there was no room to end a space in because the druid's dogs were everywhere. The other melee characters couldn't get to the BBEG, because all the good melee spaces had dogs in them.

TimrehIX wrote:
No, you can only trade in a druid spell for the summon natures ally spells.

I thought so too, but it doesn't say that though. The cleric spontaneous casting says, "lose any prepared spell" as opposed to "lose any prepared cleric spell". The druid spontaneous casting says, "lose a prepared spell", which still isn't "lose a prepared druid spell".

The way it reads, a multiclass cleric/wizard could prepare Magic Missile, and then "lose" it to spontaneously cast Cure Light Wounds.

Select a type of natural attack, say claws.

Whenever you hit with a claw attack, you get a push attempt.

When you gain enough levels to choose another evolution, you can select this one again and choose a different natural attack, say slam.

Now, whenever you hit with a claw attack or a slam attack, you get a push attempt.

Can a multiclass Cleric/Druid "lose" a cleric spell to spontaneously cast a summon nature's ally spell of the same level or lower? (And vice-versa, "lose" a druid spell to spontaneously cast a cure spell of the same level or lower?)

Spontaneous Casting does say "any spell". Some reason I've always assumed it was only the spells from that class, not from other classes.

1 to 50 of 184 << first < prev | 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | next > last >>