![]()
![]()
![]() James Jacobs wrote:
Have you read Song of Kali or Carrion Comfort? (Those are the only two of his I've read). Along those lines, what's your favorite Dan Simmons story? ![]()
![]() Let's say you try to cast a spell where the target is invalid. At what point does the spell fail in the below situations? Does the spell not even start, or is it expended without any actual effect? When a spell fails for this reason, is it obvious to the caster why it failed, or does it seem to be the same as if the target succeeded their saving throw? 1) Undead disguised as a living human, targeted by Charm Person
![]()
![]() Generally, most ways that turn you undead also specify that your alignment becomes evil, whether it's templates or being recreated as a specific undead creature. There aren't any rules that I know of regarding alignment shifts for good creatures that became evil undead to shift back to good, but it is something I'd allow. It isn't really stated to be a hard rule that undead always have to be evil - ghosts are a notable exception as there have been non-evil ghosts in Paizo content. I don't think you will find any RAW rules to answer your latest questions, except that RAW most creatures become evil after being made into undead and would therefor lose abilities and class features that depend on alignment and the following of good edicts such as paladins and good clerics. I have always ruled it that the trauma of dying "corrupts" the mind into becoming evil, but it is possible to shift back to good. One in world example of the philosophy behind this is that many people who have had experiences from dying and being resuscitated report feeling utterly at peace while dead and being reluctant and even angry at being brought back to life. In PF terms, I interpret this as the soul accepting being moved on to the next stage, and becoming twisted and resentful when a necromancer rips them back into their corpse as an intelligent undead. ![]()
![]() zza ni is correct, as far as I can tell. The rules clarifications from Occult Adventures regarding possession might help for future interactions. Mostly all you have to worry about are Supernatural abilities that aren't from your class. ![]()
![]() I think RAW, they do not stack, as both alter their spellcasting feature. IMO I don't think it would be broken to allow it anyway, since the two archetype's alterations to spellcasting don't contradict each other. I'd allow it as a GM. You could make the argument that since Ravener Hunter alters "the inquisitor's spells" and the Living Grimoire alters "orisons and spellcasting," they actually alter different features, but I think they are meant to be used interchangeably. For instance, like the Ravener Hunter the Deep Marshall magus also adds spells to their spell list while being restricted from certain spells but that "alters spellcasting" instead of "alters spells," while the Eldritch Scion magus changes to a Charisma-based spontaneous caster which "alters spells." I think altering spells vs spellcasting is interchangeable. ![]()
![]() I highly doubt Paizo has the bandwidth to give all their un-assigned 1e monsters roles at this point. Best practice is just to compare the monsters to previous ones with roles - is it mainly focused on attack roles? Does it rely on Stealth or another skill in its encounters? Does it rely on spellcasting over other techniques? Is it special and does it not fit the other roles? I've always seen this as more of a general litmus test for the monster's design and not a hard categorization mechanic. ![]()
![]() Do vampires get the +8 racial bonus to Climb checks which spider climb gives? Or do they just get the ability to climb sheer surfaces, without getting the +8 or the climb speed? Vampire Template wrote: Spider Climb (Ex) A vampire can climb sheer surfaces as though under the effects of a spider climb spell. Spider Climb wrote: The subject can climb and travel on vertical surfaces or even traverse ceilings as well as a spider does. The affected creature must have its hands free to climb in this manner. The subject gains a climb speed of 20 feet and a +8 racial bonus on Climb skill checks; furthermore, it need not make Climb checks to traverse a vertical or horizontal surface (even upside down). A spider climbing creature retains its Dexterity bonus to Armor Class (if any) while climbing, and opponents get no special bonus to their attacks against it. It cannot, however, use the run action while climbing.
![]()
![]() The exalted prestige class gives access to a domain of your deity through the Expanded Portfolio ability. It mentions that you get the domain as a cleric of equal level as your exalted class level. My question is: do you gain the domain spells as spell-like abilities only up to effective level 10, or up to however high spell level you can cast as per a multiclass cleric? As an example, if a character is an oracle 10/exalted 10, do they only get up to 5th level domain spells as SLAs (as their effective cleric level is 10), or do they get up to 9th level domain spells because that is their maximum spell level available? Relavent text: Exalted Expanded Portfolio ability wrote:
![]()
![]() It seems like otherwise the only use for this spell is to know that a teleport took place within the area and/or have a chance to recognize the destination if the brief glimpse reveals a location you have seen before. Does that seem accurate RAW? Edit: Dave Justus wrote: Greater Teleport removes the need to know the layout as well, but doesn't change the need to know the location. Reading it again, that seems to be the case. ![]()
![]() Can Greater Teleport be used to teleport to a location seen through Trace Teleport? I understand that the brief glimpse of the location Trace Teleport allows is not sufficient for normal Teleport as per the description, but Greater Teleport doesn't need direct observation. Perhaps the lack of geographic knowledge prevents the greater teleport? Relevant text:
Trace Teleport wrote: This glimpse lasts long enough for you to get a brief look at the area, but not long enough to scrutinize it in detail. It doesn’t come with any geographic knowledge of the location, so it is not sufficient for teleport or similar magic. You can’t retry the caster level check, even if you cast trace teleport again. Teleport wrote: You must have some clear idea of the location and layout of the destination. The clearer your mental image, the more likely the teleportation works. Areas of strong physical or magical energy may make teleportation more hazardous or even impossible. Greater Teleport wrote: This spell functions like teleport, except that there is no range limit and there is no chance you arrive off target. In addition, you need not have seen the destination, but in that case you must have at least a reliable description of the place to which you are teleporting. If you attempt to teleport with insufficient information (or with misleading information), you disappear and simply reappear in your original location. Interplanar travel is not possible.
![]()
![]() Planar Infusions feats (from Planar Adventures) require a connection to the plane in question, usually from being there for an extended period of time or through prolonged contact, etc. I don't see any such requirements for other generic Conduit feats, as they only list ranks in a skill as a prerequisite. Do they rely upon Planar Infusion feats? For example, for a character who has had no contact with the plane the Maelstrom and does not have the Maelstrom Planar Infusion feat, can they choose the Malleable Form Conduit feat? ![]()
![]() Wouldn't the Lesser Globe on Invuln part of the supernatural Protective Aura prevent the Dispel Magic from hitting the Greater Angelic Aspect? Or does the part of Lesser Globe that specifies that Dispel Magic can affect it still apply, and therefor allow Greater Angelic Aspect to be dispelled? Also, semi-related side question: can you benefit from buff spells that are level 3 or lower while Lesser Globe (or this equivalent effect) are up? Apologies if this has already been answered elsewhere. ![]()
![]() Lesser Globe of Invulnerability specifies that Dispel Magic can still affect it. Greater Angelic Aspect includes a Lesser Globe of Invulnerability affect. Can Dispel Magic affect Greater Angelic Aspect through the Lesser Globe component? If so, is the whole spell dispelled, or just the Globe component? Lesser Globe of Invulnerability wrote: An immobile, faintly shimmering magical sphere surrounds you and excludes all spell effects of 3rd level or lower. The area or effect of any such spells does not include the area of the lesser globe of invulnerability. Such spells fail to affect any target located within the globe. Excluded effects include spell-like abilities and spells or spell-like effects from items. Any type of spell, however, can be cast through or out of the magical globe. Spells of 4th level and higher are not affected by the globe, nor are spells already in effect when the globe is cast. The globe can be brought down by a dispel magic spell. You can leave and return to the globe without penalty. Greater Angelic Aspect wrote:
![]()
![]() Xenocrat wrote:
!!! Ectoplasmatist w/ Magus VMC here I come!![]()
![]() If a caster is affected by the spell Suffocation, are they unable to make verbal components? I know that holding your breath underwater works differently, which makes sense as you can still make noises and try to speak underwater, but verbal components specify "you must be able to speak in a strong voice." I searched other threads on the spell Suffocation but didn't see any definitive answers. ![]()
![]() If a character notices a (non-persistent) haunt during its manifestation and damages it with positive energy without dealing enough to disperse it, and the haunt then does its surprise round and then ends, does that damage dealt to the haunt carry over between resets? Or does it go back to full hp when it resets? ![]()
![]() For the Soul Haunting effect in the Cathedral/Catacombs of Renchurch, is the soul of those who die within it trapped immediately, or only when they become a haunt 1d4 hours after their death? Text for reference:
![]()
![]() Sorry to double post but I thought I might as well contribute if I can help someone else. Eisenbaer wrote:
1) B3, the concealed door to the meditation chamber, isn't given an exact size, but it is described as a door set into the ceiling with a ladder leaning against the wall leading up to it, so I assumed it to be a trapdoor taking up a single 5 foot square. It's probably plenty wide enough to lug a standing mirror up. 2) The Angled Entry of Hounds of Tindalos only restricts where they teleport to, not where they teleport from. They can only teleport into places that have fixed angles and are not outdoors. It states they can use their teleportation/plane shift powers anywhere, but their destination point must be an angle. So therefore having the mirror in the meditation chamber would not prevent the hounds from teleporting out of the chamber into the halls below. 3) Universal Monster Rules - Gaze wrote: A creature is immune to gaze attacks of others of its kind unless otherwise noted. 4) The description of the guardian mirror says that "when slain, the entire pack re-emerges with full hit points" (paraphrasing). This seems to be saying it is the same hounds as before, but restored to full HP, in which case any creatures would retain their immunity to the gaze attacks of whichever individual hounds they saved against. Which makes me feel bad for not realizing this when I ran the Mysterium myself, leading to the deaths of several PCs. The hounds being resummoned would not reset the 24 hour timers. ![]()
![]() Just finished running the module. It seems like Part Three in Okeno doesn't have enough experience to hit level 13 from level 12. Adding up all the experience from every creature, including the slaves from Blossoming Thorn, it nets to only about 224,800 experience, which is only 56,200 each if it is split between party of 4 people. The party would need to be substantially above the experience threshold of hitting 12th level after the Mysterium in order to end up 13th level at the end of the adventure (12th level is 220,000 xp and 13th is 315,000). As UristmcRoleplayer pointed out above, it is quite possible the PCs will entirely skip Mun's lab after finding out the Necronomicon is in Katheer, as my PCs did, so it is likely they will be closer to the minimum XP threshold for 12th level when entering Okeno. ![]()
![]() The fact that mesmerist hypnotic stares don't require the target to actually look at the mesmerist (can't be avoided by traditional anti-gaze means), and that the mesmerist can use the stare even while blinded, seem to imply that the mesmerist doesn't need line of effect or sight at all. Scenarios:
2. If a mesmerist has line of sight and is using their stare on an enemy, and then moves out of sight behind a wall, is his gaze broken? 3. If an enemy otherwise has total concealment and the mesmerist doesn't perceive them (such as when invisible or more than 10ft into a fog cloud), but the mesmerist knows they are in the 30ft vicinity, can they target the enemy with their stare? ![]()
![]() Barbarian VMC wrote:
If a VMC Barbarian were to take the Extra Rage feat after gaining their first rage power at level 11, would that rage power be restricted by half level as well? Or does the VMC text only apply to the rage power gained at 11th level? ![]()
![]() Warpriest Fervor wrote: At 2nd level, a warpriest can draw upon the power of his faith to heal wounds or harm foes. He can also use this ability to quickly cast spells that aid in his struggles. This ability can be used a number of times per day equal to 1/2 his warpriest level + his Wisdom modifier. By expending one use of this ability, a good warpriest (or one who worships a good deity) can touch a creature to heal it of 1d6 points of damage, plus an additional 1d6 points of damage for every 3 warpriest levels he possesses above 2nd (to a maximum of 7d6 at 20th level). Using this ability is a standard action (unless the warpriest targets himself, in which case it’s a swift action). Alternatively, the warpriest can use this ability to harm an undead creature, dealing the same amount of damage he would otherwise heal with a melee touch attack. Using fervor in this way is a standard action that provokes an attack of opportunity. Undead do not receive a saving throw against this damage. This counts as positive energy. Conductive Weapon Enchantment wrote:
If a good/evil warpriest uses their fervor ability to damage undead/living creatures respectively through a conductive weapon, does it provoke attacks of opportunity like using the fervor ability to deal damage normally does? |