Boris the halfling's page

8 posts. No reviews. No lists. No wishlists.


Melkiador wrote:
Dimensional Slide (Su) (Advanced Class Guide pg. 11): The arcanist can expend 1 point from her arcane reservoir to create a dimensional crack that she can step through to reach another location. This ability is used as part of a move action or withdraw action, allowing her to move up to 10 feet per arcanist level to any location she can see. This counts as 5 feet of movement. She can only use this ability once per round. She does not provoke attacks of opportunity when moving in this way, but any other movement she attempts as part of her move action provokes as normal.

The ability doesn't address what you can carry with you when stepping through your dimensional crack, so there is no hard official answer. I'd suggest you can carry anything you can move with you. But others will suggest you can't bring any other creatures with you, because it doesn't mention bringing others. But then others still will mention that it doesn't say you can bring your equipment with you either.

So, you'll just have to ask your DM. Personally, I don't see it being very powerful to allow you to give short range dimensional piggy back rides, so I don't know why you wouldn't allow the arcanist to carry passengers.

I am completely ok with it, just got caught in that game situation as a player and couldn't find any official rules.

Does arcanist's dimensional slide allows you to teleport with your familiar(I carry it in my pocket) or it is always remains on your starting position?

Hello, guys! I'm just creating a new character and want to maximize his number of natural attacks. I already have choosen a skinwalker race, but after i found an oozemorph shifter's archetype.

So the question is: how do they stack? Does this character will be able to wear an armor in skinwalker's change shape and so on.

Can a character craft a staff just with 1 spell and pay just
[400*spell level*caster level] instead of [400 gp × the level of the highest-level spell × the level of the caster, plus 75% of the value of the next most costly ability (300 gp × the level of the spell × the level of the caster), plus 1/2 the value of any other abilities (200 gp × the level of the spell × the level of the caster).]?

Hello, guys. So The question is: Can i use any weapon as improvised?

The rules state:
-Sometimes objects not crafted to be weapons nonetheless see use in combat. Because such objects are not designed for this use, any creature that uses an improvised weapon in combat is considered to be nonproficient with it and takes a –4 penalty on attack rolls made with that object. To determine the size category and appropriate damage for an improvised weapon, compare its relative size and damage potential to the weapon list to find a reasonable match. An improvised weapon scores a threat on a natural roll of 20 and deals double damage on a critical hit. An improvised thrown weapon has a range increment of 10 feet.

But can i use any weapon as improvised? For example exotic Elven curve blade (1d10 18-20 x2) as two-handed slashing improvised weapon(1d8 20 x2). And is there any prooves if i can?

Thanks you all, your advices gave me some ideas.
Also i have found this cool item: inder-pouch/ which can be used at low levels. (Our company is starting from level 4)

A mooncursed barbarian can changeshape at 1st level but only for rounds/day instead of rage.

Hello guys! So, our GM is going to run new company in Dark sun setting, and there i saw a new race - half-giant and their base size is large(OMG)! So i have two real important questions about game mechanics:
-Will detect magic find magic items inside the body of my half-giant character.
-Is there any way to hide smth like bag of holding or any other extra-dimensional space in the ass of large hal-giant?
Cause as i saw in the core rules there is no way to make bag of holding smaller even for small character.