Dimensional slide with familiar


Rules Questions


Does arcanist's dimensional slide allows you to teleport with your familiar(I carry it in my pocket) or it is always remains on your starting position?


This is a specific instance of the classic "Does my familiar in my pocket/coat/backpack/bag of holding count as a creature for the purposes of teleport or other spells?" question. Usually this resolves in one of two ways:

1. If it's in your pocket/coat/backpack, it's up to your GM. Technically, it's a creature, so things that only affect the caster wouldn't affect both you and your familiar. In practice, for small enough familiars that can be effectively stowed away as items, many GMs just let the familiars count as weight and move on.
2. If it's in your bag of holding, portable hole or a similar extradimensional space, no worries at all--you're only carrying a portal to another plane, not the contents of the bag, so as long as you're taking your bag with you, you're good to go. (Don't forget a bottle of air or your poor familiar might suffocate.)

In general, I've found it best to be permissive in this respect--it seems wrong somehow for a wizard to cast invisibility on herself and have the result be a pocketed cockroach floating in midair.


Quote:
Dimensional Slide (Su) (Advanced Class Guide pg. 11): The arcanist can expend 1 point from her arcane reservoir to create a dimensional crack that she can step through to reach another location. This ability is used as part of a move action or withdraw action, allowing her to move up to 10 feet per arcanist level to any location she can see. This counts as 5 feet of movement. She can only use this ability once per round. She does not provoke attacks of opportunity when moving in this way, but any other movement she attempts as part of her move action provokes as normal.

The ability doesn't address what you can carry with you when stepping through your dimensional crack, so there is no hard official answer. I'd suggest you can carry anything you can move with you. But others will suggest you can't bring any other creatures with you, because it doesn't mention bringing others. But then others still will mention that it doesn't say you can bring your equipment with you either.

So, you'll just have to ask your DM. Personally, I don't see it being very powerful to allow you to give short range dimensional piggy back rides, so I don't know why you wouldn't allow the arcanist to carry passengers.


hmmm... I'm imagining a bunch of arcanists naked after dimensional sliding - there's no penalty for being naked in PFS though it would be nice to have your material components... =^_^=


Melkiador wrote:
Quote:
Dimensional Slide (Su) (Advanced Class Guide pg. 11): The arcanist can expend 1 point from her arcane reservoir to create a dimensional crack that she can step through to reach another location. This ability is used as part of a move action or withdraw action, allowing her to move up to 10 feet per arcanist level to any location she can see. This counts as 5 feet of movement. She can only use this ability once per round. She does not provoke attacks of opportunity when moving in this way, but any other movement she attempts as part of her move action provokes as normal.

The ability doesn't address what you can carry with you when stepping through your dimensional crack, so there is no hard official answer. I'd suggest you can carry anything you can move with you. But others will suggest you can't bring any other creatures with you, because it doesn't mention bringing others. But then others still will mention that it doesn't say you can bring your equipment with you either.

So, you'll just have to ask your DM. Personally, I don't see it being very powerful to allow you to give short range dimensional piggy back rides, so I don't know why you wouldn't allow the arcanist to carry passengers.

I am completely ok with it, just got caught in that game situation as a player and couldn't find any official rules.

Silver Crusade

take the feat share spells with familiar or buy a familiar pocket. I did the latter for my arcanist,


Improved share spells explicitly only works with spells. Supernatural abilities can't be shared via that feat.


Dimensional Slide wrote:

Dimensional Slide (Su)

The arcanist can expend 1 point from her arcane reservoir to create a dimensional crack that she can step through to reach another location. This ability is used as part of a move action or withdraw action, allowing her to move up to 10 feet per arcanist level to any location she can see. This counts as 5 feet of movement. She can only use this ability once per round. She does not provoke attacks of opportunity when moving in this way, but any other movement she attempts as part of her move action provokes as normal.

Dimension Door wrote:

Dimension Door

School conjuration (teleportation); Level bard 4, magus 4, sorcerer/wizard 4, summoner 3, unchained summoner 4, witch 4; Domain travel 4; Bloodline arcane 4

CASTING

Casting Time 1 standard action
Components V

EFFECT

Range long (400 ft. + 40 ft./level)
Target you and touched objects or other touched willing creatures
Duration instantaneous
Saving Throw none and Will negates (object); Spell Resistance no and yes (object)

DESCRIPTION

You instantly transfer yourself from your current location to any other spot within range. You always arrive at exactly the spot desired – whether by simply visualizing the area or by stating direction. After using this spell, you can’t take any other actions until your next turn. You can bring along objects as long as their weight doesn’t exceed your maximum load. You may also bring one additional willing Medium or smaller creature (carrying gear or objects up to its maximum load) or its equivalent per three caster levels. A Large creature counts as two Medium creatures, a Huge creature counts as two Large creatures, and so forth. All creatures to be transported must be in contact with one another, and at least one of those creatures must be in contact with you.

If you arrive in a place that is already occupied by a solid body, you and each creature traveling with you take 1d6 points of damage and are shunted to a random open space on a suitable surface within 100 feet of the intended location.

If there is no free space within 100 feet, you and each creature traveling with you take an additional 2d6 points of damage and are shunted to a free space within 1,000 feet. If there is no free space within 1,000 feet, you and each creature traveling with you take an additional 4d6 points of damage and the spell simply fails.

My own interpretation: Dimensional Slide isn't a true "teleport effect" because there's no chance or penalty for failure nor a weight requirement. Rather, I'd call it more of a "Folding of Space effect" that allows you to instantly step through a dimensional crack, or a "dimensional tear through the fabric of reality" if you will. I would say that your familiar and all of your gear comes with you, but only as long as you have possession of your familiar as if it were stored on your person. If your familiar is flying around, even near you, or even just perched on your shoulder, I'd say no.

The only argument I could see where the familiar would not come with you would be to say that the Dimensional Slide only affects you and nothing else, but then I'd also say that it doesn't affect any of your gear or weapons either... so... that's silly. I say yes, your familiar comes with you. But it's ultimately up to your GM.


I am a RAW DM and have been one for quite some time. It allows players to have a common understanding between games. That said, when I do have an opportunity to play, I like the Arcanist. While there is no specific rule which covers that which can accompany the Arcanist on her travel through the crack, there is the usual assumption that the Arcanist can bring their gear but not any living beings (lest the bad guys simply follow them through too). However, I have a vivid memory of a posting somewhere that mentioned a special provision for familiars and their masters. I think it had something to do with being the targets of spells (external so share spells does not come into play). The suggestion was that familiars and masters have a different type of connection than any other two beings in the game (rulewise) which allows them (when together) to be treated as a single entity. My memory on this is very sketchy or I would be more precise.
I would postulate however, that a familiar is a class "ability" that can be separated from the caster, much like a spell book, but that the caster would likely treat as a prized possession which is never accidentally left in harms way.
In the grand scheme of things, it comes down to what our DM will allow, but this is some data to help him/her make a good decision.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Dimensional slide with familiar All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.