| Jorzan |
For the RAW interpretation Intimidate says "You can use this skill to frighten your opponents or to get them to act in a way that benefits you." and "This shaken condition doesn’t stack with other shaken conditions to make an affected creature frightened. Finally Shaken says "Shaken is a less severe state of fear than frightened or panicked." So, seems pretty clear to me.
Personally I think the others should get +4added to the DC as well. But that's just MHO.
@DRA:Ok, thanks
| DM Downrightamazed |
Anyway, I'm assuming DM Barcas is correct, but I also asked the rules lawyers who hang out in the "Rules Questions" board, so we'll see what they say.
@Feral Boy: Don't get too far ahead of me, it's still just round one. I'll assume that declared action is what you're doing in round two. :-)
In general, for everyone, I'd appreciate it if we could be more disciplined about sticking to initiative order once we're officially in turn-based combat. Makes my life much easier. ^_^ Anyway, still Karthan's turn!
| DM Downrightamazed |
So he did. But now that there's an elemental pounding on him and threatening his square I reckon he'd appreciate it if I gave him a chance to decide how to deal with that instead of just laying a spellcasting-caused AoO on him, don'tcha think? ;-) I know I sure would. This, BTW, is precisely why I want us to stay in initiative order.
Also, Justahl, there is an aboleth threatening your square, does that affect your summoning of your mount at all? Any kind of caster check needed? Aboleths have 15 feet of reach.
Still Karthan's turn.
| Karthan Zhosk |
Double checking:
1) Did I successfully cast Haste? I had thought I went before the Aboleths. If so, then yeah, I threw the Haste out there before they did anything and I can't take it back. (I didn't do the Fireball opener because they were underwater....)
2) If I cast anything on round 2, do I have to make a Concentration check? If so, what is the DC of that check? To the best of my knowledge, I only have to make a Concentration check if someone uses a held action to interrupt a casting, with continuous damage spells being a bit of an exception.
3) Technically, being shaken does not interfere with Justahl summoning Nouhves. It just gives him -2 to hit, skill checks and saving throws.
4) For summoning, that's a one round casting time - the summoned critters would show up on turn 2, when Nouhves does. I'm assuming the aboleths started their summonings earlier than you indicated so as not to disrupt the chronology.
If I did not go before the Aboleths, then abort to this:
Free action: He will tell the Unseen Servant to return Jorzan's bow to him. This SHOULD permit Jorzan to do a full attack next round if he so desires.
Move action: Karthan will draw a wand (Darkness) to use next round.
Standard Action: Karthan will cast Fireball, centered on square O6. He will be doing it at roughly "aboleth shoulder height" to minimize damage to the ship and its sails. It should hit Aboleths 1, 2 and 4. This will provoke an AoO from the elemental above him - but no move he can make can prevent that AoO.
8d6 + 11 ⇒ (3, 5, 5, 3, 5, 1, 4, 4) + 11 = 41 DC 20 Reflex save for Fireballs.
| Karthan Zhosk |
Tactics: If Nouhves is summoned, Karthan will cast Fly on the horse, and will then climb to where Jorzan is. If Nouhves is not summoned, Karthan is climbing to the where Jorzan is and casting Darkness from the wand, since both he and Jorzan can fight out of it, and Jorzan can sneak attack at 30' range from within it.
| DM Downrightamazed |
1. Yes, before combat started.
2. Well, that'll depend on if the air elemental is still threatening you. Casting a spell provokes an AoO. Hence, if you start to cast standing where you are right now (for example), the Air Elemental is going to try to thump you, which will require you to make a concentration check if he succeeds. The DC of that check will include any damage he does; it's 10+damage+spell level.
3. My concern isn't with the -2 (which doesn't apply to him anyway), it's with the fact that his square is threatened, and casting provokes an AoO. So if he stays where he is and begins to summon, the aboleth is gonna crush him. I was asking him if his summoning feature does NOT provoke for some paladinny reason or other. :-)
4. Yup!
Okay, so, I'm gonna go ahead and assume you take a five-foot step away from the air elemental, then, before you cast fireball. Puts you in R-10.
| DM Downrightamazed |
Aboleth #1 Reflex save: 1d20 + 5 ⇒ (12) + 5 = 17
Aboleth #2 Reflex save: 1d20 + 5 ⇒ (19) + 5 = 24
Aboleth #4 is underwater fighting a shark and thus not affected by the spell.
To everyone: Aboleths 1, 2, 3 and 5 are reared up out of the water. So, flame effects will hit them full-force, including flaming arrows. These same aboleths can be hit with melee attacks if you move up to the ship's railing.
Karthan steps out of the air elemental's reach and unloads a fireball at two of the aboleths, connecting squarely with one and tagging the other before it ducks down to avoid the worst of the spell's effect. Both creatures let out fearsome gurgling howls of anger.
Justahl steps barely out of reach of the aberrations' tentacles in order to summon his noble steed, Nouhves, a process that takes a few seconds of concentration. While he does that, the sailors continue to arm themselves and raise the ship's only weapon. Three of the crewmen who already had weapons on step bravely forward to chop at the aboleths, but they are much better sailors than soldiers and are unable to connect.
Round 1, Initiative 8
Sailor #1 attack Aboleth #5: 1d20 + 4 ⇒ (3) + 4 = 7
Sailor #2 attack Aboleth #3: 1d20 + 4 ⇒ (2) + 4 = 6
Sailor #3 attack Aboleth #2: 1d20 + 4 ⇒ (4) + 4 = 8
Holy crap these guys suck.
Tanel, you are up. Check the map; not many options for you to get away from avoiding an AoO while you summon; you want to adjust your action at all?
| Jorzan |
1. The three sailors who began summoning dire manta rays at the same time as Feral Boy, before combat began, would those have arrived at the same time as the attacks of the three sucky sailors, or next round? And is the Captain on the same Initiative as them?
2. Would Jorzan have known that Flamestrike arrows wouldn't have worked on creatures under the water? And could he see that they were under the water? (I didn't know that they were) If so, can we switch that arrow for another, say a Puncturing Arrow? If yes, does the 1d4 bleed damage happen on this round or the next? And the Con damage is just once, right?
3. Based on the position on the three aboleths above the water, is there any way to hit them with a Flamestrike arrow that won't toast the boat or those close to the railing?
@Everyone: Personally I find the system of posting what round it is and what buffs,AC and HP we're at before every combat post really helpful. I think if all of us use it it will help reduce a lot of confusion and mix-up. Just MHO.
| Tanel Eppun |
Ditto I confused myself earlier.
Round 1, Init 7
hp 72/72; AC 25
Tanel turns his attentions to the elemental threatening Karthan and swings with enhanced speed at the rippling elemental.
Attack #1 vs. elemental: 1d20 + 14 ⇒ (16) + 14 = 30 1d10 + 18 ⇒ (5) + 18 = 23
Attack #2 vs. elemental: 1d20 + 14 ⇒ (1) + 14 = 15 1d10 + 18 ⇒ (8) + 18 = 26
| DM Downrightamazed |
SR1 on A5 : 1d20 + 6 ⇒ (2) + 6 = 8
SR2 on A7 : 1d20 + 6 ⇒ (13) + 6 = 19
SR3 on A8 : 1d20 + 6 ⇒ (13) + 6 = 19
2. I don't know, would he? That's not really for me to decide. Enhathladi weapons are kind of exotic, and not everyone gets to use them, so their capabilities are not widely known. It is perfectly plausible that Jorzan, not knowing any better, might have just assumed they were magic and therefore had a chance of working underwater (magic fire does not automatically function underwater, and cannot cross from abovewater to below), and gone for broke. If you want to try a DC20 K(Arcana) check to know they are not magical, if you succeed then that'll be good enough to retro in a different kind of arrow. For puncturing arrows bleed happens this round, CON damage is just once, but stacks.
3. Not at the moment. You'll need people to move.
Tanel, your critical fumble just negates your successful hit, no other consequences.
As the lightning elemental remains in front of Jorzan, the shadowdancer is surprised as his bow, not even a second after it hit the ground, suddenly flies up off the deck and is returned to his hands. The elemental bristles electricity in response.
Map is updated, Jorzan is up!
| Jorzan |
@DRA: Awesome. Thanks and you're welcome ; )
Knowledge(arcana):1d20 + 5 ⇒ (19) + 5 = 24
Round 1 Bleed damage Ab#7:1d4 ⇒ 1 +1 Con. Bleed damage stacks too right?
@Karthan: Brilliant move with the Unseen Servant mate!
Round 1, Init 6
HP 55/55, AC 23
Buffs: Haste
After his moment of surprise Jorzan snatches his bow, giving a quick nod and savage grin in Karthan's direction. At the same time he backs 5' further up the mast out of reach of the elemental and, not wanting to again risk his arrow hitting through the water he let's fly with another Puncturing arrow at the Aboleth which took the brunt of Karthan's fireball. His magically enhanced speed allows him a second attack but his target is now writhing it's tentacles in defense, making for a difficult shot.
Only by stretching far out, risking falling off the mast, is the shadow rogue able to just sneak another arrow into the ancient fishy flesh. The savage Ethathladi arrows slash deeply into the creature, their design causing it to bleed profusely as well as noticeably damaging it's health.
Attack 1 on Ab#1: Attack Damage + Bleed (1d20+9=19, 1d8+2d4=13) Oops! Forgot Haste! Phew! So +1 to hit. And that was supposed to be 1d4 bleed, so minus 1d4 ⇒ 1 I guess?
Attack 2 on Ab#1: Attack Damage + Bleed (1d20+10=17, 1d8+1d4=7) Dang it! Will add a Hero Point to that, so 5 left. These dudes are too tough to mess around with. So 21 is a hit.
2 Con damage + 19 damage=31 damage in total, I think?
Edit: Oh! And 1d4 ⇒ 4 Round 2 bleed on Aboleth #7
Adding in the damage totals and stuff just to try and make it easier for ya, but if you'd rather I not do so, just say the word.
| Kelne |
Well, Karthan and Jorzan looked to be on top of things. Let the elementals continue to chase them about. Kelne intended to back up the crew before their enthusiasm got them in trouble.
Moving to T9 and using power attack and vital strike on aboleth 5.
attack: 1d20 + 12 ⇒ (15) + 12 = 27
damage: 2d8 + 10 ⇒ (3, 1) + 10 = 14
Status: 6 rounds of haste, 1 round of shaken remaining.
| DM Downrightamazed |
@Feral Boy: Back to you for the beginning of Round 2. You are threatened by the air elemental and an aboleth (#2), did you still want to cast Dispel Magic? 'Cos you're gonna eat at least one AoO if you do unless you move. Shark two is still at 0HP and can do one action before it goes to negs, too, depending on its stabilization check.
| The Feral Boy |
The shark marshals its last reserves of energy and takes a massive bite from the aboleth!
Shark bite Hit:1d20 + 5 ⇒ (20) + 5 = 25 confirm:1d20 + 5 ⇒ (19) + 5 = 24 Damage: 1d8 + 1d8 + 8 ⇒ (1) + (2) + 8 = 11
Stabilization check:1d20 + 1 ⇒ (2) + 1 = 3
@DM DownrightAmazed: Will I be out of the aboleth's reach if I take a 5 foot step back toward the middle of the ship? If so, I will take my previously stated action. If not, the boy will withdraw to safe area of the ship to try again next round.
| DM Downrightamazed |
The aboleths lay into the stout crew of the Song of Sarain, smacking the sailors with their tentacles in the same breath that they land a hit on Kelne. The lead aboleth, badly damaged, reaches its tentacles up on deck and Grapples the captain. Regina keeps her feet for now but the powerful limbs of the underwater aberration are beginning to pull her towards the edge of the boat. Its intentions seem obvious.
The Feral Boy's last shark gets crushed to bits by its enemy as the aboleth nearby swims out and underwater and starts casting a spell, the underwater undulations of its tentacles a bizarre analog to land-dwellers' somatic components.
The two other aboleths at the front of the boat roar menacingly when they see the holy light surrounding Sir Justahl and lash viciously out at him, connecting with one solid blow, spilling their horrid slime over his skin.
The aboleths' summoned elementals, however, don't fare as well as their masters; the lightning elemental misjudged the wind very badly and was pushed ten feet further away from the climbing Jorzan simply by its own clumsiness, while the air elemental pushed a jet of pressure at Tanel, but the stocky Bennaladi easily ducked under it.
Round 2, Initiative 23
A1: Grapple the captain: 1d20 + 13 ⇒ (16) + 13 = 29 - SUCCESS
A2: Attack Sailor: 1d20 + 10 ⇒ (9) + 10 = 19
1d20 + 10 ⇒ (10) + 10 = 20
Attack Justahl: 1d20 + 10 ⇒ (7) + 10 = 17
1d20 + 10 ⇒ (16) + 10 = 26
A3: Attack Sailor: 1d20 + 10 ⇒ (12) + 10 = 22
1d20 + 10 ⇒ (3) + 10 = 13
Attack Justahl: 1d20 + 10 ⇒ (20) + 10 = 30
1d20 + 10 ⇒ (4) + 10 = 14
A4: MA: Move 15' away and 10' underwater
SA: begin summoning
A5: Attack Kelne: 1d20 + 10 ⇒ (19) + 10 = 29
1d20 + 10 ⇒ (19) + 10 = 29
Attack Sailor: 1d20 + 10 ⇒ (17) + 10 = 27
1d20 + 10 ⇒ (4) + 10 = 14
A6: Finish off shark:1d20 + 10 ⇒ (4) + 10 = 14
1d20 + 10 ⇒ (9) + 10 = 19
1d20 + 10 ⇒ (12) + 10 = 22
1d20 + 10 ⇒ (15) + 10 = 25
Damage: 3d6 + 15 ⇒ (4, 6, 5) + 15 = 30
A7: Attack Stingray: 1d20 + 10 ⇒ (17) + 10 = 27
1d20 + 10 ⇒ (20) + 10 = 30
1d20 + 10 ⇒ (9) + 10 = 19
1d20 + 10 ⇒ (10) + 10 = 20
Damage: 5d6 + 25 ⇒ (5, 2, 1, 1, 4) + 25 = 38
A8: Attack Stingray: 1d20 + 10 ⇒ (4) + 10 = 14
1d20 + 10 ⇒ (11) + 10 = 21
1d20 + 10 ⇒ (18) + 10 = 28
1d20 + 10 ⇒ (20) + 10 = 30
Damage: 4d6 + 20 ⇒ (6, 6, 3, 3) + 20 = 38
Confirm crit on Sir Justahl (AC28, yes?): 1d20 + 10 ⇒ (2) + 10 = 12 -- nope
Confirm crit on Stingray: 1d20 + 10 ⇒ (19) + 10 = 29
Confirm crit on Stingray: 1d20 + 10 ⇒ (16) + 10 = 26
Damage to Sir Justahl: 1d6 + 5 ⇒ (4) + 5 = 9
Sir Justahl DC20 Fortitude save vs. Aboleth slime: 1d20 + 14 ⇒ (5) + 14 = 19 -- uh-oh
Number of rounds until Justahl's skin is a translucent jell-o; 1d4 ⇒ 4
Damage to Kelne: 2d6 + 10 ⇒ (5, 1) + 10 = 16
Kelne DC20 Fortitude save vs. Aboleth slime: 1d20 + 6 ⇒ (16) + 6 = 22
Damage to sailor 1: 2d6 + 10 ⇒ (2, 1) + 10 = 13
DC20 Fort 1d20 + 4 ⇒ (11) + 4 = 15
Rounds until jell-o: 1d4 ⇒ 4
Damage to sailor 2: 1d6 + 5 ⇒ (3) + 5 = 8
DC20 Fort 1d20 + 4 ⇒ (16) + 4 = 20
Rounds until jell-o: 1d4 ⇒ 3
Damage to sailor 3: 1d6 + 5 ⇒ (2) + 5 = 7
DC20 Fort 1d20 + 4 ⇒ (14) + 4 = 18
Rounds until jell-o: 1d4 ⇒ 1
Lightning elemental:
5' up
Attack Jorzan: 1d20 + 8 + 3 ⇒ (1) + 8 + 3 = 12 - crit fumble, gets shoved farther away
Air elemental:
Attack Tanel: 1d20 + 9 ⇒ (11) + 9 = 20 - miss
Justahl: obviously if there's some magic thingy or class feature that makes you immune to Aboleth slime, let me know. Also, does taking damage while summoning Nouhves force you to make a caster check, or is it an automatic summon? I don't care either way, but it affects Karthan since he's holding his action to see what you do.
So, if I'm not mistaken, Karthan is up, but holding his action and waiting to see if Nouhves appears before doing something. So, Justahl, whatcha doing?
Aboleths that are underwater are marked with a "U" on the map, BTW.
| Sir Justahl of NeoWald |
As to summoning Nouhves, looks like it is a full round action, "Magically Call", "equivalent of a spell of a level one-third the paladin's level." Looks like yes, you can force me to make a caster level check.
And... I traded away Divine Health to be a Shining Knight, but I don't think that would matter to the Aboleth's ability anyway. So I'm slimed as well.
All in all, a fine start to the day.
OK check me if I'm wrong here...
Caster level check vs DC [10+9+2=21]: 1d20 + 7 + 7 - 2 ⇒ (1) + 7 + 7 - 2 = 13 Fails.
Cannot summon Nouhves today.
D'OH!
Yes indeed, a fine start.
| Sir Justahl of NeoWald |
ROUND 2--
________________________________
IN EFFECT ON SIR JUSTAHL:
BLESS WEAPON: Longsword is Good aligned, auto confirm crits vs. Evil. 1 min/level.
DIVINE FAVOR: Gain +2 on attack and damage rolls. 1 minute.
EAGLE’S SPLENDOR: Gains +4 to Cha for 1 min./level. 1 min./level.
HASTE: +1 Dodge, +1 to hit, +30ft move, extra full round attack.
SHAKEN: -2 to everything you do.
SLIMED: 4 rounds to jello skin and -4 con
______________________________
AC: 28 HP 62/71 (87%)
______________________________
The Aboleths. For the first time since he was accepted as a squire, he felt trembling in his limbs and he avoided looking at the alien monstrosities. Then he was hit while trying to summon Nouhves and lost the spell. The slime… it was sinking into his flesh!
And then, he thought of an awful possibility. What if… the Grace of the Goddess had been withdrawn from him? His powers gone. His honor disgraced. It was beyond terrifying!
But…
He would continue on. With or without powers, or skin, or even Nouhves! He would continue to fight against evil, against injustice, to defend the helpless. He would not quit!
He turned to the nearest Aboleth, and looked at it in its eye. Eyes. Whatever.
[quickened] Lay on hands [self] for 3d6 ⇒ (3, 5, 6) = 14 healed, plus remove Shaken Mercy, plus remove Disease Mercy.
As he looks at it in its eye(s), his limbs stop shaking and the slime rolls off his skin. (Probably, GM call if the Mercy is strong enough to do that to Aboleth slime.) The Inheritor has not forsaken him!
”Now, it’s my turn.” He says grimly. He levels his sword at Aboleth 2 and declares Smite on it. Silver fire rolls down the blade and around his aura. (AC becomes 35 vs target).
He 5’ steps over to (7,P) and makes a full round attack against Aboleth 2, every swing trailing a sheet of silver fire.
Attack 1: 1d20 + 12 + 7 + 1 + 2 ⇒ (16) + 12 + 7 + 1 + 2 = 38 for a possible 1d8 + 5 + 7 + 2 ⇒ (7) + 5 + 7 + 2 = 21 cutting damage.
Attack 2: 1d20 + 12 + 7 + 1 + 2 ⇒ (19) + 12 + 7 + 1 + 2 = 41 for a possible 1d8 + 5 + 7 + 2 ⇒ (4) + 5 + 7 + 2 = 18 cutting damage.
---Critical threat? 1d20 + 12 + 7 + 1 + 2 ⇒ (19) + 12 + 7 + 1 + 2 = 41 probable confirm for extra 1d8 + 5 + 7 + 2 ⇒ (7) + 5 + 7 + 2 = 21 cutting damage.
Attack 3: 1d20 + 7 + 7 + 1 + 2 ⇒ (8) + 7 + 7 + 1 + 2 = 25 for a possible 1d8 + 5 + 7 + 2 ⇒ (3) + 5 + 7 + 2 = 17 cutting damage.
| Karthan Zhosk |
I think it's my action now.
Karthan will climb the mast (with Haste, his land speed is 60', climbing a ladder is 1/2 speed, so he should be able to make it in one move action)
He'll tell the Unseen Servant to get the crossbow off his back and start loading it with Acid bolts (free action, move action for Unseen Servant),
He'll then cast Darkness from the wand he drew earlier (standard action), centered 3 feet over his head, so that the sphere of darkness provides cover for he and Jorzan and doesn't interfere with the rest of the party.
I do not remember what the local ambient lighting is, but the darkness gives Jorzan and I either 20% or 50% concealment depending on if it reduces daylight to bad light, or night to pitch darkness.
Either way, Jorzan can now use his sneak attack abilities when firing at targets within 30'.
| DM Downrightamazed |
Tanel is right; it's 1/4 speed:
With a successful Climb check, you can advance up, down, or across a slope, wall, or other steep incline (or even across a ceiling, provided it has handholds) at one-quarter your normal speed. A slope is considered to be any incline at an angle measuring less than 60 degrees; a wall is any incline at an angle measuring 60 degrees or more.
Emphasis added, obviously. Also, climbing the mast requires a DC10 climb check: 1d20 + 3 ⇒ (19) + 3 = 22 Heh. No problem. So you'll end up on the mast, a bit underneath Jorzan.
Justahl: Remove Disease does indeed counter the effects of the slime, so you're good.
| DM Downrightamazed |
The sailors continue to command their summoned animals, while those that can wield swords fight on despite their wounds. Unfortunately, whether it's just because they're rattled or because the Aboleths are too strong, only one of the summoned Dire Rays is able to do any damage to the enemy, the sailors' sword strokes missing badly and the other rays unable to get in any good hits.
The sailor by Tanel is beginning to look bad; his skin is quickly turning translucent and slimy and his voice is a terrible rasping burble. "Gotta get in the water! The water!" he says as he eyes the surface of the lake.
Round 2, Initiative 8
Sailor #1 attack Aboleth #5: 1d20 + 4 ⇒ (3) + 4 = 7
Sailor #2 attack Aboleth #3: 1d20 + 4 ⇒ (12) + 4 = 16
Sailor #3 attack Aboleth #2: 1d20 + 4 ⇒ (10) + 4 = 14
SR1 on A5 : 1d20 + 6 ⇒ (12) + 6 = 18
SR2 on A7 : 1d20 + 6 ⇒ (12) + 6 = 18
SR3 on A8 : 1d20 + 6 ⇒ (14) + 6 = 20
Damage on A8: 1d8 + 4 ⇒ (4) + 4 = 8
Tanel is up!
| Tanel Eppun |
Round 2, Initiative 7
hp 71/72; AC 25;
Buffs: many, listed in profile
Debuffs: shaken [1 remaining]
Tanel, not able to do anything to help the fading sailor decides to rush forward to the prow, anything to stop the aboleths from doing yet more damage.
Charge #2
1d20 + 16 ⇒ (6) + 16 = 22
1d10 + 18 ⇒ (9) + 18 = 27
| Jorzan |
Round 2, Init 6
HP 55/55, AC 23
Buffs: Haste
Once again benefiting from the excellent battlefield tactics of his half-orc friend and for the moment free of harassment from the elemental, Jorzan takes careful aim on the same Aboleth, the one grappling the Captain, and let's fly with two more puncturing arrows. At that exact moment though the ship is hit by a large wave, causing his shots to fly well wide of their target.
Attack; Damage+Sneak+Bleed (1d20+10=15, 1d8+3d6+1d4=21, 1d20+10=12, 1d8+3d6+1d4=17)
However the Ethathladi arrows already sunk into their targets continue to cause the ancient creatures to bleed their sickly bodily fluids into the water around them.
Bleed Ab#1:2d4 ⇒ (3, 3) = 6
Bleed Ab#7P:1d4 ⇒ 1
Hey boss, did you catch the 4hp bleed on #7 from last round?
| Kelne |
Channeling his horror at everything the aboleths represented into action, Kelne hacked away at the fish in front of him. By damn, the cursed thing would die.
Full attack with power attack.
Attack: 1d20 + 12 ⇒ (11) + 12 = 23
Damage: 1d8 + 10 ⇒ (1) + 10 = 11
Attack: 1d20 + 12 ⇒ (1) + 12 = 13
Damage: 1d8 + 10 ⇒ (1) + 10 = 11
Attack: 1d20 + 7 ⇒ (16) + 7 = 23
Damage: 1d8 + 10 ⇒ (7) + 10 = 17
5 rounds of haste remaining, no longer shaken. I note that the -2 for shaken should have applied to the fort save last round, but that would've been a pass anyway.
| Jorzan |
Map is updated. Can't believe no one's helping the captain!
Jorzan tried to, and she'd be free if he hadn't %#%$^@ missed with Both arrows....grrr
Also, looked like Tanel rushed forward, don't know if he was aiming for the one that has the captain or not though.
| The Feral Boy |
Round 3, initiative 23
The boy looks from fish monster to fish monster, as they attack the captain, the crew, his friends and his shark friends, wondering if the battle is hopeless?
He concentrates for a second and then lets out out a long howl which seems to stretch across the open seas, then hides in a dark nook on the deck, waiting.
| DM Downrightamazed |
The aboleth at the prow of the ship brings up its fourth tentacle and wraps up the captain's ankles, bringing her crashing to the floor. She is helpless before the ancient aquatic aberration now, and at its whim.
The two portside aboleths simply swim in close to the ship and stay submerged, their giant shapes lurking ominously in the deep.
The sailor close to Justahl screams in pain as the aboleth he faces blasts him in the midsection, causing him to cough up a huge amount of blood before passing out cold on the deck, while the paladin shrugs off the glancing blows of the beast's tentacles.
The air elemental roars in behind Tanel and pummels him in the head, rendering the stout Bennaladi momentarily senseless, but still on his feet.
The lightning elemental, clearly irritated by its failure to take down Jorzan, spies a new, metal-clad target in Kelne and blasts down at the northman, smashing him in the back and knocking him overboard! Only by sheer speed of reflexes is Kelne able to grab the railing at the last possible second. As he hangs there, sword in one hand and connection to the ship in the other, his feet dangling just inches from the Aboleth, the terrible creature pummels the sailor he had been fighting next to, knocking the man unconscious.
Meanwhile, underwater, the summoned sea rays are crushed by the superior might of their opponents, who now turn to their initial target.
"YOU WILL GIVE US THE SHADOWCHILD!" Roars the head aboleth, the one who has the captain thoroughly entangled. "YOU WILL GIVE HIM TO US, AND YOUR DEATH WILL BE SWIFT! Hahahaaaa, or you can keep fighting, and endure the greatest pain we can provide, and it is a terrible, terrible thing to be alive, and in the limb farms."
Round 3, Initiative 23
A1: Attempts to render the captain helpless: 1d20 + 13 ⇒ (20) + 13 = 33
A2: Attack Sailor: 1d20 + 10 ⇒ (14) + 10 = 24
1d20 + 10 ⇒ (20) + 10 = 30
Attack Justahl: 1d20 + 10 ⇒ (7) + 10 = 17
1d20 + 10 ⇒ (11) + 10 = 21
A3: Attack Sailor: 1d20 + 10 ⇒ (4) + 10 = 14
1d20 + 10 ⇒ (3) + 10 = 13
Attack Justahl: 1d20 + 10 ⇒ (2) + 10 = 12
1d20 + 10 ⇒ (2) + 10 = 12
A4: MA: Move to N7, remain 10ft. down.
A5: Attack Kelne: 1d20 + 10 ⇒ (7) + 10 = 17
1d20 + 10 ⇒ (14) + 10 = 24
Attack Sailor: 1d20 + 10 ⇒ (11) + 10 = 21
1d20 + 10 ⇒ (1) + 10 = 11
A6: Move to M14, remain 5ft. down
A7: Attack Stingray: 1d20 + 10 ⇒ (4) + 10 = 14
1d20 + 10 ⇒ (3) + 10 = 13
1d20 + 10 ⇒ (9) + 10 = 19
1d20 + 10 ⇒ (10) + 10 = 20
Damage: 2d6 + 10 ⇒ (1, 3) + 10 = 14
A8: Attack Stingray: 1d20 + 10 ⇒ (17) + 10 = 27
1d20 + 10 ⇒ (8) + 10 = 18
1d20 + 10 ⇒ (13) + 10 = 23
1d20 + 10 ⇒ (12) + 10 = 22
Damage: 4d6 + 20 ⇒ (3, 2, 5, 2) + 20 = 32
Confirm crit on Sailor 1: 1d20 + 10 ⇒ (1) + 10 = 11
Damage to sailor 1: 2d6 + 10 ⇒ (4, 1) + 10 = 15 -- at -12HP, dying
Damage to sailor 3: 1d6 + 5 ⇒ (6) + 5 = 11 -- at -3HP, dying
Lightning elemental:
Bull Rush Kelne: 1d20 + 16 ⇒ (12) + 16 = 28
Kelne Reflex save: 1d20 + 5 ⇒ (13) + 5 = 18
Air elemental:
Attack Tanel: 1d20 + 9 ⇒ (13) + 9 = 22
Damage to Tanel: 1d6 + 3 ⇒ (2) + 3 = 5
Karthan is up.
| Sir Justahl of NeoWald |
ROUND 3--
________________________________
IN EFFECT ON SIR JUSTAHL:
BLESS WEAPON: Longsword is Good aligned, auto confirm crits vs. Evil. 1 min/level.
DIVINE FAVOR: Gain +2 on attack and damage rolls. 1 minute.
EAGLE’S SPLENDOR: Gains +4 to Cha for 1 min./level. 1 min./level.
HASTE: +1 Dodge, +1 to hit, +30ft move, extra full round attack.
______________________________
AC: 28 HP 71/71 (100%)
______________________________
Move to Q,5 in the bow, makes a single attack against Aboleth 1.
Attack 1: 1d20 + 12 + 1 + 2 ⇒ (19) + 12 + 1 + 2 = 34 for a possible 1d8 + 5 + 2 ⇒ (5) + 5 + 2 = 12 cutting damage.
...Autoconfirm critical hit for 1d8 + 5 + 2 ⇒ (1) + 5 + 2 = 8 extra damage.
| DM Downrightamazed |
As the lead aboleth taunts and threatens, the Master of Fire unloads a flaming magic missile that hammers the creature square in its cyclopean eye. With a horrid burbling shriek the thing's tentacles go utterly slack and it releases the captain, who flops onto the deck and catches her breath with relief.
Sir Justahl ducks smoothly under the arcane bolt of his companion and changes targets, heading over to the aboleth on the starboard side and connecting with a giant swordstrike that nearly severs one of its tentacles. The sailor on this side of the boat gives Justahl a thankful, desperate look. The man looks very bad, his skin quivering and becoming translucent, but he is clearly inspired by the paladin's presence, as his sword finally connects with the aboleth, spilling its slimy blood on the deck.
Meanwhile, the last remaining stingray strikes a bonebreaking blow on the aboleth trying to pull Kelne into the deep, bringing some welcome assistance from underwater.
Round 3, Initiative 8
Aboleth AoO on Justahl: 1d20 + 10 ⇒ (11) + 10 = 21
Sailor #2 attack Aboleth #3: 1d20 + 4 ⇒ (17) + 4 = 21
Sailor #1 stabilize check: 1d20 + 3 - 12 ⇒ (13) + 3 - 12 = 4 -- fail
Sailor #3 stabilize check: 1d20 + 3 - 3 ⇒ (3) + 3 - 3 = 3 -- fail
Damage: 1d6 + 4 ⇒ (3) + 4 = 7
SR1 on A5 : 1d20 + 6 ⇒ (15) + 6 = 21
Damage: 1d8 + 4 ⇒ (4) + 4 = 8
Tanel is up!
| DM Downrightamazed |
Move to Q,5 in the bow, makes a single attack against Aboleth 1.Attack 1: 1d20+12+1+2 for a possible 1d8+5+2 cutting damage.
...Autoconfirm critical hit for 1d8+5+2 extra damage.
I had you attack the other aboleth up there because Karthan's magic missile killed #1 before you could get to it. Feel free to retcon if there's something else you'd rather have done.
| Tanel Eppun |
Round 3, Init 7
hp 67/72; AC 25
FA: 5ft step
FRA: full attack on aboleth #1
Have to save the captain! Tanel takes a long step up along he prow of the ship until he is above and beside the great hideous aboleth grabbing the captain, then he begins to hack at it with the heavy, ensorcelled head of his halberd.
#1: 1d20 + 14 ⇒ (13) + 14 = 27
1d10 + 18 ⇒ (5) + 18 = 23
#2: 1d20 + 14 ⇒ (1) + 14 = 15
1d10 + 18 ⇒ (3) + 18 = 21
Another 1! Gah!
| Jorzan |
Round 3, Init 6
HP 55/55, AC 23
Buffs: Haste
With the Aboleth leader dead and the captain safe for the moment Jorzan, still hidden by Karthan's darkness, next targets the creature attacking Kelne and the dying sailor.
Attack Damage + Sneak + Bleed (1d20+10=11, 1d8+3d6+1d4=21, 1d20+10=17, 1d8+3d6+1d4=20)
Yet once again the fates conspire to send his arrows far from their target.
You gotta be kidding me! Man these dice rolls are gonna kill us!
| Kelne |
Kelne was dangling by one hand over the deep with a large aboleth intent on dragging him down. Except... In its eagerness to claim him, it had gotten too close. The creature had forgotten that its prey had teeth.
Slapping aside the questing tentacles, Kelne gained purchase on the hull and drove his sword straight at the creature's central eye.
Moment of truth here. Full attack and power attack.
Attack: 1d20 + 14 ⇒ (1) + 14 = 15
Damage: 1d8 + 10 ⇒ (8) + 10 = 18
Attack: 1d20 + 14 ⇒ (4) + 14 = 18
Damage: 1d8 + 10 ⇒ (5) + 10 = 15
Attack: 1d20 + 9 ⇒ (17) + 9 = 26
Damage: 1d8 + 10 ⇒ (4) + 10 = 14
Spending a hero point to reroll that first attack.
Attack: 1d20 + 14 ⇒ (11) + 14 = 25
| Jorzan |
Ah! Forgot Hero Points could also be used to re-roll. If it's ok I'll re-roll Jorzan's first attack as well. Only 4 Hero Points left now.
Attack:1d20 + 10 ⇒ (20) + 10 = 30
EDIT! Woot! Now that was a HP well spent! Confirm Crit:1d20 + 10 ⇒ (5) + 10 = 15...Ah well.
Also forgot the Bleed damage on Aboleth#7 Bleed:1d4 ⇒ 3
Hey! Any chance of all this blood attracting any Real sharks?? Can't hurt to ask eh? I figure way things are going we need all the help we can get! ;)
| DM Downrightamazed |
Attack Damage + Sneak + Bleed (1d20+10=11, 1d8+3d6+1d4=21, 1d20+10=17, 1d8+3d6+1d4=20)
That first role was a critical fumble, yes? 1d20+10=11?
| Jorzan |
Jorzan wrote:Attack Damage + Sneak + Bleed (1d20+10=11, 1d8+3d6+1d4=21, 1d20+10=17, 1d8+3d6+1d4=20)That first role was a critical fumble, yes? 1d20+10=11?
Yup. Like I said, the roller is killing us with three of us in a row rolling ones. Which is why I then used the Hero Point to re-roll it. But if for whatever reason you're not allowing that no worries, just let me know.