
Etna Agnes |

What's this, a check on our Evilometer? ;)
Are you heartless enough to club a baby seal to death?
Also @Tkaara: I was looking if either you or Felrin had Create Water, and I saw you picked the Arcane Enlightenment Hex (that's where the Endure Elements was coming from!): but RAW, it doesn't work with Oracle, I think. The spells get added to the ones you can prepare, but the Oracle being a spontaneous caster means that the Hex actually doesn't do anything, as you aren't actually preparing any spell. :(

DM Darkness |

What's this, a check on our Evilometer? ;)
Are you heartless enough to club a baby seal to death?
That is EXACTLY what it is
Also @Tkaara: I was looking if either you or Felrin had Create Water, and I saw you picked the Arcane Enlightenment Hex (that's where the Endure Elements was coming from!): but RAW, it doesn't work with Oracle, I think. The spells get added to the ones you can prepare, but the Oracle being a spontaneous caster means that the Hex actually doesn't do anything, as you aren't actually preparing any spell. :(
Interesting interpretation - the first thing to say is that Tkaara ran the hex by me and I okay'd it; essentially, Tkaara gets to add a couple spells to the list she can cast. Regardless of RAW, I think RAI applies here - she gets to pick a hex, so we modified the RAW slightly to work with the fact that she's a Cha-based spontaneous caster, rather than a Wis-based preparatory.
Uh oh! Okay, I'm taking odds on what classic seal-eater attacks us: orca, polar bear, great white, or bunyip?
So much suspicion - anyone want to put money on "none of the above"...? :)

Etna Agnes |

Right, I agree that RAI it should work, too!
Anyway, going to post it IC too, but we have bigger mammalians to fry. I'm supposing selling seal furs is illegal in Talingrade, so we'd have to find someone to buy them: I don't think we have time to do that. If the captain wanted to act as middleman for that, it's going to be hard with him being on the seafloor by next week.

Etna Agnes |

*Shrug* Took a guess.
Seal bashing it is then?

DM Darkness |

I'm using this 'down time' while some of us are at a con to do background stuff; I've put some information (if that's the right word) on the other Knots in the Campaign tab.
Might not be a bad idea to update the NPC list; whether you include Captain Redshirt (not long for this world but doesn't know it yet) and his Nameless Crew is up to you...

Etna Agnes |

Um, we don't have much to add NPC wise: Timeon gets an update, and then we can add the Seventh knot and Captain Whatever with his crew as single entries. Sounds good?

Etna Agnes |

I'm okay with the exchanging of the masterwork stuff for the Narwhal horn and assorted stuff, bu the way.
And WOOT first dragon.
Even if it's small.
And dumb.

DM Darkness |

It's called D&D for a reason... Got to have a dragon in there somewhere! Glad you approve. And yes, it's small - I want to give you some chance of survival, so the CR13+ metallic dragons will have to wait a bit; unfortunately.
BTW, in case the narrative wasn't clear: its bite attack has reach, although its claws don't.
EDIT: @Tkaara - looks like a gremlin got in somewhere, that roll doesn't mean anything (honest).

![]() |

Moving this over from the IC.
Although oracles are generally not knowledge characters. The Spirit Guide archetype gives Tkaara all the knowledge skills as class skills, and between her high Int and bonus campaign skills, Tkaara should have most knowledge at least somewhat covered. She will never be a bard or wizard for knowledge, but a decent surrogate.

Etna Agnes |

Yup, between you and Felrin's bonus to identify enemies, we got baddies (goodies?) identifying covered.

![]() |

I like knowing the AC. Was planning on a touch attack next round. Really, it only takes 2-3 rounds in most fights to figure out the BBEG (BBGG?) AC after one person rolls a 21 and misses and the next person rolls a 22 and hits.
Being able to add descriptive text is more fun. At least I have been enjoying messing around with Tkaara's spell casting.

Felrin Vennax |

I fully support the notion of giving us the AC of the monsters, as it lets all of us describe the results of our attacks.

![]() |

Hi all. Still exhausted from Con, though I did have a lot of fun. DMD, your propsal for the horn sounds awesome, and I would love to do it, but only if the fittings can be brass to make it properly steampunk. :P Now I just have to convince these moro... fellow villains that the Doctor is the one who can best make use of the thing. :D
Erevan, you did not say so, but can we assume you five-foot-stepped to C4 so as to avoid Etna and Felrin providing cover? Also, DMD, did you forget to roll initiative for Grumblejack? Apparently the dragon is right next to him...

![]() |

Not that it matters, since all the attacks missed, but it cannot use its breath weapon and attack in the same round:
Breath Weapon (Su): Using a breath weapon is a standard action. A dragon can use its breath weapon once every 1d4 rounds, even if it possesses more than one breath weapon. A breath weapon always starts at an intersection adjacent to the dragon and extends in a direction of the dragon's choice. Breath weapons come in two shapes, lines and cones, whose areas vary with the dragon's size. If a breath weapon deals damage, those caught in the area can attempt Reflex saves to take half damage. The save DC against a breath weapon is 10 + 1/2 dragon's HD + dragon's Con modifier. Saves against various breath weapons use the same DC; the type of saving throw is noted in the variety descriptions. A dragon can use its breath weapon when it is grappling or being grappled.

![]() |

Yeh, I noticed that. Figured it was a moot point since the breath weapon went off first and all the attacks missed. Perhaps we can have those rolls for next round (acts innocently hopeful).

Etna Agnes |

No, bad dragon, bad!
Luckily that lizard has little left to live: keep pummeling guys!

DM Darkness |

Yeh, I noticed that. Figured it was a moot point since the breath weapon went off first and all the attacks missed. Perhaps we can have those rolls for next round (acts innocently hopeful).
Innocence and hope are delusions of Mitra. This is a LE campaign (think we've had this conversation before?): there is no hope, only the judgement of the Law. There is no innocence, only varying degrees of guilt.
No, bad dragon, bad!
Villain points are available... Although I loved your post; and it's somehow fitting that an Ifrit is killed by the cold, don't you think?

Etna Agnes |

I'm sure my fellow forsaken will kill the beastie before I bleed out (or Tkaara gives me a shot of CLW): no use wasting villain points.
Beside, I wanted to write the candle thing. :P

Felrin Vennax |

Tkaara - it looks like I failed to update the dice roll text I use to copy and paste into posts, so you're right, my numbers should be higher. I'm a little amazed I haven't noticed that yet, but I have been busy.
Thanks for pointing it out.

DM Darkness |

The candle thing was awesome, I really enjoyed reading it. You guys are a really good read, keep it up!
I see there's a possible issue as to whether or not Felrin has correctly calculated his to hit bonus; I'm going to go ahead and assume that he has missed the dragon - if it turns out that he hit it, I'll include the damage in the next round's total.
EDIT - I see the fix, Felrin; the information in the Round 2 summary is now corrected accordingly.

Felrin Vennax |

Just posted to fix it.

![]() |

Ouch! Now I'm regretting missing that confirmation roll even more. 40 damage would have been sweet. Well, here's to hoping it's on its last legs. And wings. And whatever.
This reminds me of a pertinent question. I have seen the reach weapon and double diagonal thing be ruled both ways, so what is your take, DMD? Yes, regarding movement, double diagonal is 15', not 10. On the other hand, it seems a bit silly that one can avoid triggering an AOO by coming in at an angle. I've seen a compromise that one cannot attack and threaten from a double diagonal, but that moving in from that angle still triggers (because they are moving from 15' away to 5' away, there is effectively a virtual threatened zone between the two squares). If you subscribe to the first or third view, I could have moved to C3 and been out of its reach, for instance. Not trying to change my action, just want to know for future combats, especially since I have a reach weapon myself.
Also, love the old-school OotS, haven't gone back and read that far in years...

DM Darkness |

That is a good question. My minion Etna has provided the official answer below, so I don't need to house rule. Excellent.
I'm thinking of house-ruling that the double-diagonal is threatened by 10 ft reach, even if to move there would cost 3 squares of movement rather than 2. Otherwise, it creates the situation you described whereby an AoO can be avoided by sidling in.
Let me know if you foresee difficulties with this ruling. Of course, it will work in your favour when your extract of enlarge person is up and running...

Etna Agnes |

@DMD: Thanks: I aim to please :3
Also
[...]to heal her friend[...]
Awwwwwwwwwwwwwww.
Etna is still too emotionally scarred after what happened last time to yet call any of you her friends, but she'll get there eventually.In the meantime, Winston will express his gratitude for saving mistress Etna by giving you the Slobber of Gratefulness and Friendship.
@Ottakar: I think the diagonal reach thing got an official ruling this Christmas: I'll find the link in a sec. But if I remember correctly it's yes, you threaten.
EDIT: Link!

DM Darkness |

The dragon was worth 2,400 XP. Well done! It didn't even get off another shot of its breath weapon. I may have to start upping the challenges...
Please mark off any expendables used - I think it was just the one flask of alchemist's fire?
ALSO: please bear in mind that it is still Oathday 27 Neth, so any spells/judgements etc that you've used haven't regenerated yet. I'm not a believer in the 15-minute adventuring day.

![]() |

As Tkaara sleeps during the day, would she have had the time to rest? She usually sleeps from shortly after sunup until she awakes in the mid-afternoon.
I am asking as she will cast a few CLW if she has had a chance to rest.

Etna Agnes |

We can use some charges from the wand to heal ourselves, so no problem!

![]() |

Lol - posted the Sense Motive while you ninjaed me with the prior post. Pretty sure Tkaara making a natural 20 for a 28 should pick up every verbal and non-verbal clue regarding their intentions.
FYI - everyone look at the list of charges from the Wand of Infernal Healing on the Gameplay thread, in the first OOC/Mechanics spoiler. If is ok, whoever has the wand should deduct 6 charges.

Felrin Vennax |

Felrin only speaks Common and Infernal. Looks like I did my last level-up in a hurry, given that I've got a couple things wrong or missing.