Applying metamagic to orisons?


Rules Questions


started my wizard, but still learning how this game works...

orisons are usable unlimited casts/day...

so I started wondering if metamagic be applied to orisons?

if so, would it be safe to assume the resulting spell would retain the feature of having unlimited casts/day?

thanks


depending on the metamagic feat used...the spell has to be "prepared" in a 1 or higher level spell slot...so would not be unlimited

Liberty's Edge

Metamagic can be used, and it raises the level of the spell.

It's no longer level 0, and takes a spell slot.


Metamagic can be added to 0-level spells (orisons and cantrips).

However, as the spell now takes up a higher level slot, you can't cast it infinite times per day. You only have an unlimited number of 0-level spell slots. Higher level spell slots have a limit.


Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Superscriber; Pathfinder Starfinder Roleplaying Game Subscriber

What if the spell slot stays the same, such as a merciful ray of frost? Is it still considered an orison/cantrip?


I don't see y it wouldn't be...if it still only uses the same slot then its still a 0-level orison/cantrip right?

Grand Lodge

Magical Lineage and Wayang Spellhunter help you apply Metamagic to an orison/cantrip, and keep it at 0.

Assistant Software Developer

I merged the threads on this topic.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Applying metamagic to orisons? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.