Sorcerer Arcane Bond (Item)


Rules Questions


1 person marked this as FAQ candidate.

My question is simple: Since the sorcerer has no spellbook, does the "cast a spell out of your spellbook" feature of the Item Arcane Bond not function for Sorcerers?

I searched this forum for Arcane Bond questions but found no answer.

Silver Crusade

Pathfinder Adventure Path Subscriber

I always just played it they got to cast an extra spell that they know of any level.


Sorcerers don't get an Arcane Bond - only Wizards. Sorcerers have bloodline powers instead.


arcane bloodline gain it at level 1


The sorcerer can cast one addititonal spell per day while holding the bonded item.
Since sorcerers do not have the variety of spells a wizards spellbook has a familiar will in many situations be a better arcane bond option for a sorcerer.

Sovereign Court

I houseruled in that if a sorcerer had an arcane bond he could put spells in a spellbook (although he got no freebies at level up unlike the wizard) spells in the spellbook were not known spells so he couldn't use them for casting or crafting items (unless the item required only one spell to craft), however he could use his arcane bond to once per day cast a spell out of his spellbook. I figure if arcane bond allows a wizard to play sorcerer once per day, it should allow a sorcerer to play wizard in the same way.

Sovereign Court

Well my sorcerers are taking familiars rather then bonded items, but I'd assume they'd just get a bonus spell slot of whatever level they please when they use it?

Kind of a waste to take the item unless your plotting to enchant the heck out of it.

RPG Superstar 2010 Top 32

lastknightleft wrote:
I houseruled in that if a sorcerer had an arcane bond he could put spells in a spellbook (although he got no freebies at level up unlike the wizard) spells in the spellbook were not known spells so he couldn't use them for casting or crafting items (unless the item required only one spell to craft), however he could use his arcane bond to once per day cast a spell out of his spellbook. I figure if arcane bond allows a wizard to play sorcerer once per day, it should allow a sorcerer to play wizard in the same way.

That's a horrible idea, please don't do this to your players.


Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Superscriber; Pathfinder Starfinder Roleplaying Game Subscriber

Anyone can have a spellbook, just not everyone can use it. Simply buy one. Put spells in it. You may not be able to cast from it like a magus or wizard, but it will let you use spells outside your spells known, at least once per day.


Ravingdork wrote:
Anyone can have a spellbook, just not everyone can use it. Simply buy one. Put spells in it. You may not be able to cast from it like a magus or wizard, but it will let you use spells outside your spells known, at least once per day.

I don't think that is legal without house rules.


Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Superscriber; Pathfinder Starfinder Roleplaying Game Subscriber

Please show me the rule that says a sorcerer with read magic, Knowledge (arcana), and Spellcraft couldn't understand and write in a spellbook?

They are mundane items. Not some exclusive secret society artifact.

EDIT: Nevermind. Looks like they changed it from the first printing. Now the PRD says you cast from your spells known.

Not surprised I missed it as no one ever went for it before, there was never any reason to check the rule twice.


Rokku wrote:

My question is simple: Since the sorcerer has no spellbook, does the "cast a spell out of your spellbook" feature of the Item Arcane Bond not function for Sorcerers?

I searched this forum for Arcane Bond questions but found no answer.

Arcane Bloodline snip wrote:
Once per day, your bonded item allows you to cast any one of your spells known (unlike a wizard’s bonded item, which allows him to cast any one spell in his spellbook).

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Sorcerer Arcane Bond (Item) All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.