Paizo Top Nav Branding
  • Hello, Guest! |
  • Sign In |
  • My Account |
  • Shopping Cart |
  • Help/FAQ
About Paizo Messageboards News Paizo Blog Help/FAQ
Pathfinder Roleplaying Game

Pathfinder Adventure Card Game


Pathfinder Society


Starfinder


Starfinder Society

Vehicles / Police Cruiser / Autodisabler - What does Ammo 2 mean?


Rules Questions


3 people marked this as FAQ candidate.
Pathfinder Starfinder Roleplaying Game Subscriber

So the Police Cruiser is the only vehicle listed with a weapon: The Autodisabler. The weapon is listed as "Ammo 2", which I assume is meant to be its capacity. But "Ammo" isn't an actual type of ammunition so there's no rules for buying more of it. It seems like it should be using a battery of some sort, but no battery is listed and "2" wouldn't make sense for a capacity in that case. Can it only take two shots ever? Is it considered to have infinite ammo and reloads after every two shots? How in the heck is it supposed to work? Is there further information elsewhere in the rulebook that makes this distinction clear?

Next up on my list of confusion with the police cruiser: So the weapons can't harm people. That's weird, but I am guessing that they didn't have enough space in the rule book to go into how mounting weapons on vehicles or modifying them might work, and didn't know how they wanted to handle the concept of "vehicles that are designed to shoot people" yet, so they're saving it for later. Ok.

Can I still TARGET people? Can I apply an Anchoring fusion to it so I have a chance of pinning a target?

For GMs out there: Do you bother with this restriction? Obviously you have to if you're in organized play, but at the home table do you let players pay to remove that restriction? Because it sounds annoying. I would have just made the gun count as "Merciful" vs. creatures. I guess the writers just really wanted to limit vehicles to shooting at each other starting out. I hope we see vehicles with weapon mounts in the future.


Starfinder Superscriber

I expect that it only has two shots and needs to be re-charged when you recharge the car back at the station. But now that you mention it, I don't really have any idea what it means. It could be that it uses a battery and takes 2 per shot, but that seems super off for the damage output and level of the vehicle.

I'm going to FAQ this. It's probably needs a FAQ.


Pathfinder Starfinder Roleplaying Game Subscriber

Thanks I'm almost thinking someone typed "Ammo" by mistake and meant to type which TYPE of ammo.


Starfinder Superscriber

If it were me, I'd probably treat it like it has 2 batteries (normal ammo battery or maybe one of the higher capacity ones), and each shot takes a whole battery. As if it had Charges 20*2/Usage 20, or something. That way they could reload during combat if needed, but it'd still be something that made sense in light of everything else.


The autodisabler is probably only useful against other vehicles, by design.

Mounted vehicle weapons seem to work just like any other weapon attack, albeit at the penalty given in the vehicle statblock. I don't remember seeing anything about item level limitations on certain vehicles or anything, so you could probably just stick them on and use them as just normal weapon attacks (attack/full attack actions).

Paizo / Messageboards / Paizo / Starfinder® / Rules Questions / Vehicles / Police Cruiser / Autodisabler - What does Ammo 2 mean? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.

©2002-2018 Paizo Inc.® | Privacy Policy | Contact Us
Need help? Email customer.service@paizo.com or call 425-250-0800 during our business hours, Monday through Friday, 10:00 AM to 5:00 PM Pacific time.

Paizo Inc., Paizo, the Paizo golem logo, Pathfinder, the Pathfinder logo, Pathfinder Society, Starfinder, the Starfinder logo, GameMastery, and Planet Stories are registered trademarks of Paizo Inc. The Pathfinder Roleplaying Game, Pathfinder Campaign Setting, Pathfinder Adventure Path, Pathfinder Adventure Card Game, Pathfinder Player Companion, Pathfinder Modules, Pathfinder Tales, Pathfinder Battles, Pathfinder Legends, Pathfinder Online, Starfinder Adventure Path, PaizoCon, RPG Superstar, The Golem's Got It, Titanic Games, the Titanic logo, and the Planet Stories planet logo are trademarks of Paizo Inc. Dungeons & Dragons, Dragon, Dungeon, and Polyhedron are registered trademarks of Wizards of the Coast, Inc., a subsidiary of Hasbro, Inc., and have been used by Paizo Inc. under license. Most product names are trademarks owned or used under license by the companies that publish those products; use of such names without mention of trademark status should not be construed as a challenge to such status.