Paizo Top Nav Branding
  • Hello, Guest! |
  • Sign In |
  • My Account |
  • Shopping Cart |
  • Help/FAQ
About Paizo Messageboards News Paizo Blog Help/FAQ
Pathfinder Roleplaying Game

Pathfinder Adventure Card Game


Pathfinder Society


Starfinder


Starfinder Society

Spending the Panache Point on Precise Strike


Rules Questions


So I've look through a bunch of topic about the Swashbuckler's Precise Strike Deed. I get that with higher BAB scores this could add an additional +12 damage at level 6. However, I can't seem to find an answer for what happens when a player chooses to spend a Panache Point.

For simplicity, lets assume a level 6 Swashbuckler with no additional bonuses and a simple rapier. If both attacks hit and a Panache Point was spent, is the damage now 1d6+6, 1d6+12?

At level 11, is the damage 1d6+11, 1d6+22, 1d6+11 or is the damage 1d6+11, 1d6+11, 1d6+22 or is it the player's choice?

Lastly, is spending the Panache Point only usable when multiple attacks with the same weapon is possible such as with higher BAB scores or with a haste spell?


Precise Strike is not tied to BAB or multiple attacks in anyway. As long as you meet the requirements (using one handed piercing weapon with a free hand/buckler) you add your Swashbuckler level as extra damage. Each attack would do [weapon damage dice]+[static damage modifiers]+[Precise Strike, i.e. Swashbuckler level]. So in your example, each rapier attack would hit for 1d6+6 if you were Swashbuckler level 6. If a panache point is used (which is a swift action, so it can only be used once per round i.e. for one attack), then the next hit would instead deal 1d6+12.

At level 11, without spending panache, your example would be dealing 1d6+11, 1d6+11, and 1d6+11. At any point though before one of those attacks, your guy could spend a swift action to grant +22 instead.


If you're level 11, and you spend 1 Panache for Precise Strike your attacks will be +11 for 1d6+22, +6 for 1d6 +11, and +1 for 1d6+11.

Your next attack is your *next* attack, that is the first one you make as part of your full attack action, or the sole attack you make via an attack action.


chaoseffect wrote:

Precise Strike is not tied to BAB or multiple attacks in anyway. As long as you meet the requirements (using one handed piercing weapon with a free hand/buckler) you add your Swashbuckler level as extra damage. Each attack would do [weapon damage dice]+[static damage modifiers]+[Precise Strike, i.e. Swashbuckler level]. So in your example, each rapier attack would hit for 1d6+6 if you were Swashbuckler level 6. If a panache point is used (which is a swift action, so it can only be used once per round i.e. for one attack), then the next hit would instead deal 1d6+12.

At level 11, without spending panache, your example would be dealing 1d6+11, 1d6+11, and 1d6+11. At any point though before one of those attacks, your guy could spend a swift action to grant +22 instead.

So then spending the Panache Point would be a waste if BAB isn't high enough to grant another attack or if haste wasn't cast


Restom2003 wrote:
chaoseffect wrote:

Precise Strike is not tied to BAB or multiple attacks in anyway. As long as you meet the requirements (using one handed piercing weapon with a free hand/buckler) you add your Swashbuckler level as extra damage. Each attack would do [weapon damage dice]+[static damage modifiers]+[Precise Strike, i.e. Swashbuckler level]. So in your example, each rapier attack would hit for 1d6+6 if you were Swashbuckler level 6. If a panache point is used (which is a swift action, so it can only be used once per round i.e. for one attack), then the next hit would instead deal 1d6+12.

At level 11, without spending panache, your example would be dealing 1d6+11, 1d6+11, and 1d6+11. At any point though before one of those attacks, your guy could spend a swift action to grant +22 instead.

So then spending the Panache Point would be a waste if BAB isn't high enough to grant another attack or if haste wasn't cast

I am not understanding you here. You can spend a swift action regardless of BAB or attack numbers. Even if you only had a single attack, you could spend a swift action and panache point to grant it the increased bonus from Precise Strike.


chaoseffect wrote:
Restom2003 wrote:
chaoseffect wrote:

Precise Strike is not tied to BAB or multiple attacks in anyway. As long as you meet the requirements (using one handed piercing weapon with a free hand/buckler) you add your Swashbuckler level as extra damage. Each attack would do [weapon damage dice]+[static damage modifiers]+[Precise Strike, i.e. Swashbuckler level]. So in your example, each rapier attack would hit for 1d6+6 if you were Swashbuckler level 6. If a panache point is used (which is a swift action, so it can only be used once per round i.e. for one attack), then the next hit would instead deal 1d6+12.

At level 11, without spending panache, your example would be dealing 1d6+11, 1d6+11, and 1d6+11. At any point though before one of those attacks, your guy could spend a swift action to grant +22 instead.

So then spending the Panache Point would be a waste if BAB isn't high enough to grant another attack or if haste wasn't cast
I am not understanding you here. You can spend a swift action regardless of BAB or attack numbers. Even if you only had a single attack, you could spend a swift action and panache point to grant it the increased bonus from Precise Strike.

The rule for Precise Strike is as follows:

... As a swift action, a swashbuckler can spend 1 panache point to double her precise strike’s damage bonus on the next attack. This benefit must be used before the end of her turn, or it is lost.

So since the player cannot attack with a secondary weapon while using this Deed, I assume the only way for there to be a next is if the player can attack again with the same weapon?


Or am I reading this wrong? Does this Deed imply that before the attack, spend the point and swift action to double the damage to your "next" attack which would actually be the player's first attack?


It's referring to the next attack you make, or your next attack.

Edit: Your next attack after spending the swift action and panache point.


Restom2003 wrote:
Or am I reading this wrong? Does this Deed imply that before the attack, spend the point and swift action to double the damage to your "next" attack which would actually be the player's first attack?

Yes this is correct. Do note though that swift actions can be taken anytime during your turn, so you could, if you wanted, make your first attack as normal, spend a swift action and panache to activate Precise Strike, and then get the benefit for your second attack (aka your "next attack).


Thank you for clearing my fog of ignorance


The standard use for spending panache for precise strike is "every time your panache is full" because you're liable to gain a point here or there from crits or dropping enemies, so you are disincentivized from walking around with your panache full. It's not amazing, but it's something you can always do on your turn to use panache productively.

So, for example, if you a level 11 swashbucker goes into a full attack routine with 6/7 Panache, and your first hit is a crit, that puts you at 7/7, so if you think your next few attacks might drop the opponent and you don't want to waste panache, you might spend a swift action to enhance your second attack to deal extra damage.

Paizo / Messageboards / Paizo / Pathfinder® / Pathfinder RPG / Rules Questions / Spending the Panache Point on Precise Strike All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.

©2002-2017 Paizo Inc.® | Privacy Policy | Contact Us
Need help? Email customer.service@paizo.com or call 425-250-0800 during our business hours, Monday through Friday, 10:00 AM to 5:00 PM Pacific time.

Paizo Inc., Paizo, the Paizo golem logo, Pathfinder, the Pathfinder logo, Pathfinder Society, Starfinder, the Starfinder logo, GameMastery, and Planet Stories are registered trademarks of Paizo Inc. The Pathfinder Roleplaying Game, Pathfinder Campaign Setting, Pathfinder Adventure Path, Pathfinder Adventure Card Game, Pathfinder Player Companion, Pathfinder Modules, Pathfinder Tales, Pathfinder Battles, Pathfinder Legends, Pathfinder Online, Starfinder Adventure Path, PaizoCon, RPG Superstar, The Golem's Got It, Titanic Games, the Titanic logo, and the Planet Stories planet logo are trademarks of Paizo Inc. Dungeons & Dragons, Dragon, Dungeon, and Polyhedron are registered trademarks of Wizards of the Coast, Inc., a subsidiary of Hasbro, Inc., and have been used by Paizo Inc. under license. Most product names are trademarks owned or used under license by the companies that publish those products; use of such names without mention of trademark status should not be construed as a challenge to such status.