Crypt of Water (Mummy's Mask 6)


Rules Questions and Gameplay Discussion


At the end of the Crypt of Water adventure, if you summon the extra location and close it, you are allowed to flip your character's role card and mark it with as many power feats as you have on the side you'd been using to that point.

So what affect does this have? Does the character now have access to all the checked feats on both sides of the card, or does he have to choose aside before an adventure, or can he flip back and forth during the adventure (meaning that he can't use feats checked on opposite sides in conjunction)?

Any help here would be great. Thanks!


Personally, I read it as meaning you could change to the other role, but the change was permanent (or, at least as permanent as roles are).

So basically, a re-spec into the other role.


Like Hawk said, as usual.
Cards only do what they say: just like face down cards in a deck, or just like a location or any other card for that matter, you flip a card only if a rule or a power on a card tells you to.
Same for your role card, nothing tells you you can flip it between or during scenarios, unless you encounter another card like the location you found at the crypt.

This said, the following rule:

Rulebook p. 21 wrote:
When you are told to select your character’s role card, select one of the two roles. From then on, whenever you gain a feat and choose to check a box on your role card, you must always choose feats from that side of the role card.

would have been clearer if it said instead "...select one of the two sides of the card...", and with the addition on p. 4 (set up) in the "chose you character" paragraph of a line telling you to display your role card (if you won one) on the same side it was last time that character was played.


Frencois wrote:
This said, the following rule:
Rulebook p. 21 wrote:
When you are told to select your character’s role card, select one of the two roles. From then on, whenever you gain a feat and choose to check a box on your role card, you must always choose feats from that side of the role card.

would have been clearer if it said instead "...select one of the two sides of the card...", and with the addition on p. 4 (set up) in the "chose you character" paragraph of a line telling you to display your role card (if you won one) on the same side it was last time that character was played.

Good point. Common sense assumptions aside, nothing technically says you CAN'T play each scenario with a different Role. I mean, you would not normally do it, as there's no point in using the "feat-less" side, but post-Crypt of Water, it would actually make sense.


I see a potential exploit for Ak, depending on the actual wording of the card.
The intention is clear, but would Ak double his number of power feats according to RAW?

Sovereign Court

Pathfinder Starfinder Adventure Path Subscriber

No. You only get to check feats on the other side if there are no feats checked off on that side already.


This card has two different themes:

1) Functions like the "Room of Spirit and Time" like in Dragonball, where you go to spend years of training inside the room, where only a few hours take place outside. You then emerge as more powerful than anyone could of possibly imagined!

2) You walk in, a alternate goatee dimension version of you walks out! Complete opposites!

I feel like it is the first one, the room where infinite time takes place inside the room, gaining much power.

Rules speak is because, it never tells you what powers are available on your role card. To what Frencois stated above, it tells you what to mark, but has no indication of what is available to use during the actual session.

I agree with him, that wording on page 4, when you set up the game, would clear this up.

Simply, is any checked box available for user access? Or only if checked and currently on that face up side? And if so, when can you flip your role card, and how does it interact between play sessions?


I had trouble finding this thread because it does not mention the location ("Shrine of Infinite Void"). So I'm mentioning it.

Still -- an official answer to the OP question (is the role card change permanent) would be helpful.

Paizo Employee Chief Technical Officer

1 person marked this as a favorite.

If you choose to step into the void, it's a one-way trip.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder Adventure Card Game / Rules Questions and Gameplay Discussion / Crypt of Water (Mummy's Mask 6) All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions and Gameplay Discussion