Paizo Top Nav Branding
  • Hello, Guest! |
  • Sign In |
  • My Account |
  • Shopping Cart |
  • Help/FAQ
About Paizo Messageboards News Paizo Blog Help/FAQ
Pathfinder Roleplaying Game

Starfinder


Pathfinder Society


Pathfinder Adventure Card Game

My first fighter (+ some questions).


Rules Questions


Our first "session" is Saturday, but it's just six of getting together so the GM (my girlfriend) and I can help them with their pages and any questions they may have.

I thought I would just drop off some info on the finished product of my first-level fighter and everything I used to make him work to my liking regarding his ACP, feats, and bonuses. I'm usually picky about this stuff it comes to any game across any form of media. Like, my ACP was -4 and got the acrobatic feat (+2 to acrobatic and fly checks) so it would be canceled out along with his DEX bonus of +2. Typing it out now makes me realize, wow, I wasted two hours working to muscle out that negative affect for evasion rolls.

(Every ability was rolled, and apparently I had enough luck with that.)

NAME: Iosif
FIGHTER 1
ALIGNMENT: CG
DEITY: Cayden Cailen
HUMAN / medium size / male / 26 years old / 6'10, 210lbs.
(extra: long, auburn hair loosely tied back and pale, green eyes.)

STR: 17 (+3)
DEX: 14 (+2)
CON: 15 (+2)
INT: 15 (+2)
WIS: 12 (+1)
CHA: 15 (+2)

AC of 18: 10 + (5 from scale mail, 2 from DEX mod, +1 dodge combat feat)
(extra: I was honestly thinking of putting him in either hide or studded leather for aesthetic sake,
then I realized, as a digital artist myself, creating what his armor actually looks like is all up to me.)

OTHER GEAR:
1. backpack (empty)
2. flint + steel
3. flash (empty)
4. grappling hook (lmao do I need rope or chain or is this left to interpretation?)
5. belt pouch (x2)

I guess feel free to ask about any other information on him, suggest any gear (he has 116gp left)... but I am mostly exhausted with editing anything regarding his skills and feats and all that special junk. I got it so it would work in my own favor.

NOW, ON TO MY QUESTIONS.

➤ Absolutely still trying to figure out how "touch AC" and "flat-footed AC" works? If some explanation to how to figure it out or what it's really used for, that would be awesome. (GM may be giving us a break for being new and since she is having trouble figure it out as well, may exclude it from first plays.)

➤ I do have a question regarding locked gauntlets and a two-handed weapon. I know there is a +10 bonus for CMD for it (P.S. do I add this to my CMD of 16 on the character sheet itself? just put "26" as the CMD total?), you know, not easily disarmed with this thing, but would I realistically (or for aesthetic sake) need two locked gauntlets for a greatsword for this to (realistically, aesthetically) work? I know the sword itself can be held with one hand, but it's swung/fought with two.

Basically:
1. Do I need to have two locked gauntlets in order for the CMD/can't-disarm-me bonus to work on a two-handed weapon... or is just, hey, one hand is gonna keep the sword from flying away anyway? The bonus work just being there.
2A. Do I write my CMD as 26 with the +10 bonus from said locked gauntlet? Or 16?
2B. Is it only 26 for a disarming attempt from an enemy?

Also, I am assuming that even if I had two locked gauntlets (hypothetically, of course, I don't even want two)...
those +10 CMD bonuses wouldn't ever stack. It would still remain as just +10.

(I am aware that locking a weapon to the gauntlet is a full move, so that's why I am asking. I can just stick with one, lock the greatsword to one hand, technically speaking, and be okay? I mean, also realistically speaking, if both gauntlets were then locked, how would I unlock them myself? Probably wouldn't be able to, period. I'd be a weird, flailing mess for a little while.)


Just to add to this; "attaching/unlocking a weapon to the gauntlet is a full-round action that provokes attacks of opportunity". Simple as that?

a post I found wrote:

In a round of combat, you can do either:

-1 Full-round action OR
-1 Standard action + 1 Move action (in any order) OR
-2 Move actions (effectively trading your Standard action for a Move action)

Plus a combination of :
-1 Swift/Immediate Action AND
Any number of Free Actions

(I believe a "5-foot step" is listed under "Miscellaneous Actions" but still counts as a move-action, simply unprovoked? Would I be able to do this after an FRA, or no?)

Blah-blah, previous round where I draw my weapon and do something/anything else. After that, given I am using my FRA to attach my greatsword into my gauntlet, am I still able to use one swift/immediate action (along with free ones, talking, etc)? I just don't think there are any "swift" actions that a fighter can do, so I am just wondering if I am missing something in all the reading I am doing.

And here it says: "[a full-round action] may be taken as a standard action if you are limited to taking only a single action in a round." Any clarification?

Sorry if I am repeating myself, reading the Core Rulebook sometimes just takes me in circles and doesn't clarify certain things I want to ask. But I am so sure we would all just simplify this for actual gameplay.

Liberty's Edge

1 person marked this as a favorite.
Pathfinder Companion Subscriber

So there’s basic, all-purpose AC and then there’s touch and flat-footed.
Touch AC is for situations where your armor can’t help you, such as when the spell the enemy wizard is casting just has to touch you or something you’re wearing, so you exclude any bonus received from armor or a shield (or any bonuses from having tough skin called Natural armor, but that’s a little rarer).
Flat-footed has to do with being caught off guard so you aren’t able to use your agility to avoid being hit. It’s calculated like the all-purpose AC, except you exclude bonuses from Dexterity and Dodge (like from that combat feat you have.)

Touch AC is usually targeted by spellcasters and monsters (found in the spell or special ability description), so you probably won’t have to worry too much about it. Flat-footed comes into play any time you were not aware of your opponent before they attacked you or if you haven’t had a chance to do anything in combat yet (in other words, you haven’t reacted to the situation yet.) Of course, it works the other way too. If you catch the enemy off guard, you get to target their flat-footed AC.
From what I’m seeing above, your all-purpose AC is 18, your touch AC is 13 and your flat-footed AC is 15.

5-foot step is simple to use, but difficult to explain, because it’s movement, but it’s not a move action. A Move Action can be used to draw a weapon, move from point A to point B, pick up an item, get on a horse, or pull something out of a bag. There’s more you can do with it, but that covers the basics. A 5-foot step is a free action, you can use it on top of any other actions, but you can only use a 5-foot step if you haven’t done a point A to point B kind of move action. So you can take something out of your bag and still move 5 feet. Does that help, or just confuse you more?

Sorry, but I have no idea how locked gauntlets work, I’ve never even heard of them. I wanna say that you'd buy gauntlets as a set, like a pair of gloves, but I really have no idea.

Liberty's Edge

Pathfinder Companion Subscriber

By the way, I'm not sure where in the rules this is, but my friends swear you can draw your weapon while moving from point A to point B (as part of the same move action) and still be able to use a standard action if you have at least +1 BAB (Base Attack Bonus). As a level 1 Fighter you should have +1 BAB.


MightyOwlet wrote:
By the way, I'm not sure where in the rules this is, but my friends swear you can draw your weapon while moving from point A to point B (as part of the same move action) and still be able to use a standard action if you have at least +1 BAB (Base Attack Bonus). As a level 1 Fighter you should have +1 BAB.

You learn one thing with Pathfinder, and the cost is learning something simple, like my own name. Touch and flat-footed now make a little more sense actually, so thank you very much for that!

Gauntlets is under armor but grants no bonuses to AC, it's just described to take a full-round action and provoke actions of opportunities. Only other description is that it adds a +10 bonus to CMD (it's just "untyped" and suddenly my regular CMD jumps from 16 to 26, that's all I know).

But if I can use a 5-foot step as a free move, I could probably lock my GS into the gauntlet (now it's harder to disarm me) and jump back five-feet it I'm in a bad spot.

Oh, Pathfinder. I'm trying my best.

Liberty's Edge

Pathfinder Companion Subscriber

I looked up the gauntlets and it looks like the +10 only applies if someone is trying to disarm you, not with any other combat maneuvers. If I understand it, you get one gauntlet with a chain or something that you can use to attach your weapon to the gauntlet, so you can still wield the weapon with that hand, but can't do anything else with it. Because of the chain, you can't drop the weapon and other people will have a harder time ripping or knocking it out of your hands. I'm not really seeing any benefit to chaining the weapon to both hands.


MightyOwlet wrote:
I looked up the gauntlets and it looks like the +10 only applies if someone is trying to disarm you, not with any other combat maneuvers. If I understand it, you get one gauntlet with a chain or something that you can use to attach your weapon to the gauntlet, so you can still wield the weapon with that hand, but can't do anything else with it. Because of the chain, you can't drop the weapon and other people will have a harder time ripping or knocking it out of your hands. I'm not really seeing any benefit to chaining the weapon to both hands.

It seems as if it would be only to disarm so I'll keep it in mind for that. However, it just says a "locking gauntlet" (which, in a real world's term, would mean it is a padded metal glove where the fingers lock around the sword itself so it can't be for lack of a better term, smacked from my grip). But aiding the rulebook description, it would pretty much just be... realistically not thrown away out of my vicinity, just jangle a few inches away, still attached to the gloves.

Makes sense about the +10 bonus only being for the disarm action itself, I'll make a note of it somewhere (says the person with an actual FAQ to myself because I am trying to remember so much).

Liberty's Edge

In the case of the grappling hook, you will need a rope or chain. I recommend a rope because you can put knots in it to reduce the climb check . You may want two ropes, one knotted for climbing, and one for tying up people.
For other equipment the fighter kit will give you most of what you need to start out. It is listed here.

Grand Lodge

far as i know, you only need one locked gauntlet with a two handed weapon..and in reality, how can you lock the second anyways? +1 for the fighter's kit...super handy to have. Also, always have a light weapon, like a dagger handy...just in case you get grappled or disarmed. Good idea to have a blunt weapon as well for stuff that's immune to slashing weapons...mornigstar is best I think....

Liberty's Edge

Also get a cold iron weapon. The cost is double the base cost of the weapon. A good idea is to make your backup weapon cold iron. For example, if your primary weapon is slashing, then make the backup blunt weapon cold iorn. I recommend avoiding piercing weapons for melee. Also get a range weapon, longbow is a good choice. At least until you can get a master work composite longbow.

Liberty's Edge

Also get alchemist fire or acid flasks for swarms.

Paizo / Messageboards / Paizo / Pathfinder® / Pathfinder RPG / Rules Questions / My first fighter (+ some questions). All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.

©2002-2017 Paizo Inc.® | Privacy Policy | Contact Us
Need help? Email customer.service@paizo.com or call 425-250-0800 during our business hours, Monday through Friday, 10:00 AM to 5:00 PM Pacific time.

Paizo Inc., Paizo, the Paizo golem logo, Pathfinder, the Pathfinder logo, Pathfinder Society, Starfinder, the Starfinder logo, GameMastery, and Planet Stories are registered trademarks of Paizo Inc. The Pathfinder Roleplaying Game, Pathfinder Campaign Setting, Pathfinder Adventure Path, Pathfinder Adventure Card Game, Pathfinder Player Companion, Pathfinder Modules, Pathfinder Tales, Pathfinder Battles, Pathfinder Legends, Pathfinder Online, Starfinder Adventure Path, PaizoCon, RPG Superstar, The Golem's Got It, Titanic Games, the Titanic logo, and the Planet Stories planet logo are trademarks of Paizo Inc. Dungeons & Dragons, Dragon, Dungeon, and Polyhedron are registered trademarks of Wizards of the Coast, Inc., a subsidiary of Hasbro, Inc., and have been used by Paizo Inc. under license. Most product names are trademarks owned or used under license by the companies that publish those products; use of such names without mention of trademark status should not be construed as a challenge to such status.