Wands & Potions of 1 round casting time spells


Rules Questions


How long does it take for a spell with a 1 round casting time to take effect if you use a wand or a potion? I think that a potion is immediate but a wand still takes a full round, but I can't remember why I think that and haven't been able to find the relevant rules text.

In other words:

Wand of Enlarge Person - takes a full round for the subject of the spell to become enlarged

Potion of Enlarge Person - the drinker of the potion is immediately enlarged.

Correct?

Thanks in advance.


Potion takes a standard, because potions.

Wands and scrolls are like casting the spell yourself. They take a round for you to cast (not take effect, you're stuck casting for the round).

Sczarni

Yup. Wands and scrolls require the same duration to activate.

Potions of Lesser Restoration (normally a 3 round casting time) are popular for this reason.

Liberty's Edge

PRD wrote:

Spell Completion: This is the activation method for scrolls. A scroll is a spell that is mostly finished. The preparation is done for the caster, so no preparation time is needed beforehand as with normal spellcasting. All that's left to do is perform the finishing parts of the spellcasting (the final gestures, words, and so on). To use a spell completion item safely, a character must be of high enough level in the right class to cast the spell already. If he can't already cast the spell, there's a chance he'll make a mistake. Activating a spell completion item is a standard action (or the spell's casting time, whichever is longer) and provokes attacks of opportunity exactly as casting a spell does.

Spell Trigger: Spell trigger activation is similar to spell completion, but it's even simpler. No gestures or spell finishing is needed, just a special knowledge of spellcasting that an appropriate character would know, and a single word that must be spoken. Spell trigger items can be used by anyone whose class can cast the corresponding spell. This is the case even for a character who can't actually cast spells, such as a 3rd-level paladin. The user must still determine what spell is stored in the item before she can activate it. Activating a spell trigger item is a standard action and does not provoke attacks of opportunity.

I was sure that spell triggers items had the same text as spell completion, but it say "Activating a spell trigger item is a standard action" and nothing more.

But wands say:

PRD wrote:
Activation: Wands use the spell trigger activation method, so casting a spell from a wand is usually a standard action that doesn't provoke attacks of opportunity. (If the spell being cast has a longer casting time than 1 action, however, it takes that long to cast the spell from a wand.)

Similar verbiage for staves:

PRD wrote:


Activation: Staves use the spell trigger activation method, so casting a spell from a staff is usually a standard action that doesn't provoke attacks of opportunity. (If the spell being cast has a longer casting time than 1 standard action, however, it takes that long to cast the spell from a staff.)

There is some spell trigger item that use the general rule?

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Wands & Potions of 1 round casting time spells All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions