
Cuup |

Telekinetic haul augments Basic Telekinesis, which acts as Mage Hand, which can only effect unattended objects. I guess the crux of this question is when an object stops counting as unattended.
By accepting 1 Burn, I can use Basic Telekinesis to lift an object weighing up to 1000lbs/level. If my friend and I are standing on a carpet, can I use Basic Telekinesis to lift the carpet and "fly" us around Agrabah all night, or is the carpet no longer considered unattended while someone stands on it?

Melkiador |
2 people marked this as a favorite. |

I feel like any GM who was paying attention wouldn't let that happen...
Why? Lots of spells work like that. Look at Haste. "Targets one creature/level, no two of which can be more than 30 ft. apart". Do you think Haste gets dispelled if one of the targets gets more than 30 ft away from any of the other targets?

Cuup |

Cuup wrote:I feel like any GM who was paying attention wouldn't let that happen...Why? Lots of spells work like that. Look at Haste. "Targets one creature/level, no two of which can be more than 30 ft. apart". Do you think Haste gets dispelled if one of the targets gets more than 30 ft away from any of the other targets?
That's still fundamentally Haste - the intention with the 30' caveat, I assume, is to make it a round-one spell, not something to be cast in the midst of battle, after everyone has spread out. With TK Haul, you've just given yourself Mass Fly, several times per day, at level 4, with the extra step of "OK, NOW we can step on the carpet." Meanwhile, the Kineticist NEVER gets the ability to let anyone but himself fly, as far as I know, and even then, it's level 6 at the earliest, as an Aerokineticist. That's why.

Melkiador |

Traveling with TK haul isn't as good as you make it sound. It's a standard action to maintain and you have to spend a move action to actually move the carpet. And by default it can only move 30 feet. So it's a full round action to move 30 feet. That's fun, but not powerful. Comparatively, if I were flying with the fly spell I could double move 120 feet as a full round action. Or I could choose to move 60 feet and still have a standard action to do something useful.
Edit: And those aren't all of the issues with using TK Haul that way. Look at the rules for spells that require concentration and you will see that this is not the sort of thing you want to rely on during a combat. Also it doesn't have the built in parachute effect that fly spells have when it ends, so you better have some feather-fall-like effect handy at all times.

Cuup |
1 person marked this as a favorite. |

Traveling with TK haul isn't as good as you make it sound. It's a standard action to maintain and you have to spend a move action to actually move the carpet. And by default it can only move 30 feet. So it's a full round action to move 30 feet. That's fun, but not powerful. Comparatively, if I were flying with the fly spell I could double move 120 feet as a full round action. Or I could choose to move 60 feet and still have a standard action to do something useful.
Edit: And those aren't all of the issues with using TK Haul that way. Look at the rules for spells that require concentration and you will see that this is not the sort of thing you want to rely on during a combat. Also it doesn't have the built in parachute effect that fly spells have when it ends, so you better have some feather-fall-like effect handy at all times.
There's a lot of enemies that can't fly and have poor ranged capabilities at level 4, so your poor maneuverability wouldn't necessarily be a problem, and the fact that you need to concentrate isn't exactly a problem if all your buddies are up there with you, firing arrows at the enemies.
Even ignoring that, having exclusively-out-of-combat Mass Fly at level 4 negates a wealth of problems that PC's at that level would normally have to deal with in more creative ways. It can easily bypass other combats that would otherwise require you to deal with in order to advance. I'm not saying that PC's shouldn't be rewarded for bypassing encounters, but at that level, it could almost certainly be all of them - not to mention any high walls, bodies of water, pits, narrow ledges, or sneaking past literally anything while outside; all passed without a single skill check - how fun...?

Melkiador |

Abilities should be useful. TK Haul is already good for bypassing obstacles even without carrying party members. You just need a few ropes and grappling hooks.
And I don't think you've really looked at the hazard of in combat use. Maintaining a spell means you need to pass concentration checks as if you were casting a spell. So, every time anything bad happens to the telekineticist, you stand a fair chance of getting knocked out of the air. And telekineticists have a naturally low will save, so there's another danger. Also consider doing this in a real game, would you rather have your party of 4 taking on a challenge using all of their abilities or a party of 4 with one basically taken out of the fight?

![]() |

Well, at 100 lbs per level, one could lift a boulder or simular object with beings on top to float them somewhere.
If you using burn to up that to 1000 lbs, though, that may be dangerous of the Telekinetisist looses concentration. (even if the burn cost is mitigated)
I would think it would be situational, like using the ability to get past obstacles or something rather than using it like overland flight.

QuidEst |

Well, at 100 lbs per level, one could lift a boulder or simular object with beings on top to float them somewhere.
If you using burn to up that to 1000 lbs, though, that may be dangerous of the Telekinetisist looses concentration. (even if the burn cost is mitigated)
I would think it would be situational, like using the ability to get past obstacles or something rather than using it like overland flight.
If you use the burn, you no longer need to concentrate. You can't mitigate the burn cost, though, unless you have a way of paying in advance (elemental buffer) or removing it after taking it (the new Int-based archetype in Horror Adventures). The concern is more likely the time running out.
As a GM, I actually like the step-on-the-formerly-unattended-object interpretation because it allows for telekinesis to overcome obstacles without causing a lot of other problems. Glad to have checked the thread again!

QuidEst |

I think you would need to keep using burn (or Gathering Power to mitigate it) to keep the object over the amount of 100 lbs per level afloat.
Sort of like Yoda lifting the X-wing from the depths of the swamp.
You can't gather energy to mitigate burn from utility talents. You'd have a minute per level that you could maintain that higher weight after spending a point, and if you needed longer, you'd want to spend a second point before the first expired.

Dave Justus |

It would seem to me that if you target an unattended carpet, you certainly could move that carpet. That carpet is a valid target as long as it doesn't weigh more than the limit (1000 lbs/level.) So now you have a carpet you can telekinetically move around.
That doesn't help you at all with moving party members. They are not that object. If they try to hold on to that object and prevent it from moving, then it might be a contest of some kind, which might indeed prevent the carpet from moving, but in any event, the carpet not having anything like a CMB or the ability to do maneuvers is absolutely unable to move PCs.
(I would also note, that even if the above wasn't the case, unlike a magic carpet it wouldn't give you anything like a secure and stable place to stand)

![]() |

So... once I lift something, it drops?
The limit is already there, 100 lbs per level, or 1000 when using the Burn (or mitigating it). So if those standing on the boulder I used as an example plus the weight of the boulder exceeds the limit, down it goes.
Would lifting the carpet make it stiff enough to carry people?

Nord |
After doing some research it seems that it is all about saving throws. Infact the rulings around attended or unattended is listed in core rulebook under Saving Throws.
Magical Items: Magic items always get saving throws. A magic item's Fortitude, Reflex, and Will save bonuses are equal to 2 + half its caster level.
An attended magic item either makes saving throws as its owner or uses its own saving throw bonus, whichever is better.
Unattended Non-Magical Items: Non-magical, unattended items never make saving throws. They are considered to have failed their saving throws,
so they are always fully affected by spells and other attacks that allow saving throws to resist or negate. An item attended by a character
(being grasped, touched, or worn) makes saving throws as the character (that is, using the character's saving throw bonus).
Attended (Held/Wielded etc.) Items: Unless the descriptive text for a spell (or attack) specifies otherwise, all items carried or worn by a
creature are assumed to survive a magical attack. If a creature rolls a natural 1 on its saving throw against the effect, however, an exposed
item is harmed (if the attack can harm objects). Refer to Table: Items Affected by Magical Attacks to determine order in which items are affected.
Determine which four objects carried or worn by the creature are most likely to be affected and roll randomly among them. The randomly determined
item must make a saving throw against the attack form and take whatever damage the attack dealt. If the selected item is not carried or worn and
is not magical, it does not get a saving throw. It simply is dealt the appropriate damage.
This leads me to believe Telekinetic Haul works like this:
If object(s) can make a saving throw - it doesn't work.
If object(s) can't make a saving throw - it works.
Target is only confirmed and checked at the casting of a spell (see discussion about hasted targets moving away and still retain haste).
This also means a bird can land on the lifted boulder without causing it to instantly fall.
The burn part of telekinetic haul seems pretty obvious. It replaces duration: concentration with duration: 1 minute/level (though you must still point your finger at target as per mage hand description).
What is still unclear is if a willing target can drop his saving throw, allowing telekinetic haul to used on say - a worn armor to lift her up.
isn't your turn). Unconscious creatures are automatically considered willing, but a character who is conscious but
immobile or helpless (such as one who is bound, cowering, grappling, paralyzed, pinned, or stunned) is not automatically
willing.
My gut-feeling says: yes. Since the creature is not making saving throws which extend to his worn/wielded/touched objects also.
Another silly scenario is:
"No, you can not lift that boat because there's a shiprat running around on the deck."
It is definitely a scenario I would allow as GM but I'm not sure exactly how to put the wording. RAI for "attended" seems to to always give creature's a chance for a saving throw if it can affect them negatively in any way. Maybe say something like "the rat doesn't care/understand if boat is flying or not so it is considered a willing target."
Is my assumptions reasonable?