
Gevurah |

I'm probably reading too much into this but I can't seem to find the answer.
The description for the Hat of Disguise mentions that it "[...]allows its wearer to alter her appearance as with a disguise self spell."
The Disguise Self spell mentions that "A creature that interacts with the glamer gets a Will save to recognize it as an illusion."
So my questions are:
- Will a creature interacting with someone wearing a Hat of Disguise get a Will save to recognize it as an illusion?
- In case you answered positively to the previous question. What would the Will save be for this item?
- Will it be enough to interact with the creature wearing the hat or would they have to interact with the hat itself to get the Will save?
Since none of this is addressed in the item's description, I suppose it is not meant to work exactly as the spell and the hat may just give a fixed, unaltered +10 bonus to disguise.
What's your take on this?

Wonderstell |

1) Will a creature interacting with someone wearing a Hat of Disguise get a Will save to recognize it as an illusion?
Yes, "as with a disguise self spell".
2) In case you answered positively to the previous question. What would the Will save be for this item?
11. (I believe the formula used for items is 10 + spell level + lowest possible casting stat)
3) Will it be enough to interact with the creature wearing the hat or would they have to interact with the hat itself to get the Will save?
As per the spell. They would only have to interact with the creature.
*****
If the hat truly gave a +10 to disguise without the disadvantages of the spell (standard action to active, lasts for 10 min, will 11 to disbelieve), then it would cost 10,000 gp, no?

Gevurah |

2) In case you answered positively to the previous question. What would the Will save be for this item?
11. (I believe the formula used for items is 10 + spell level + lowest possible casting stat)
Wonderstell, thanks for your reply. I didn't actually expect to get a positive response, but you certainly make a good case about the price.
About the save DC, could you point out where did you get that formula?
Cheers!

Gevurah |

Whenever you have a magical item, unless otherwise specified it's assumed to have the lowest possible requirements to have made the item.
CampinCarl9127, I do believe I had heard this before but I don't recall where in the book exactly. I would greatly appreciate it if either of you could provide a quote from the book.
Also, I'm assuming you agree with Wonderstell on whether the hat works just like the spell, correct?
Thanks!

Johnico |

CampinCarl9127 wrote:Whenever you have a magical item, unless otherwise specified it's assumed to have the lowest possible requirements to have made the item.CampinCarl9127, I do believe I had heard this before but I don't recall where in the book exactly. I would greatly appreciate it if either of you could provide a quote from the book.
Also, I'm assuming you agree with Wonderstell on whether the hat works just like the spell, correct?
Thanks!
The DC formula is described in the Magic Items section, under "Saving Throws Against Magic Item Powers".
Magic items produce spells or spell-like effects. For a saving throw against a spell or spell-like effect from a magic item, the DC is 10 + the level of the spell or effect + the ability modifier of the minimum ability score needed to cast that level of spell.

CampinCarl9127 |
1 person marked this as a favorite. |

I would be happy to. I'm a big advocate for sources to back your claims ;)
Magic items produce spells or spell-like effects. For a saving throw against a spell or spell-like effect from a magic item, the DC is 10 + the level of the spell or effect + the ability modifier of the minimum ability score needed to cast that level of spell.
Staves are an exception to the rule. Treat the saving throw as if the wielder cast the spell, including caster level and all modifiers to save DCs.
Most item descriptions give saving throw DCs for various effects, particularly when the effect has no exact spell equivalent (making its level otherwise difficult to determine quickly).
For some reason the link doesn't bring you directly to the part of the page you're wanting to look at. It's in the "Saving Throws Against Magic Item Powers" section, just underneath the table of magic item slots for animals.

Gevurah |

I would be happy to. I'm a big advocate for sources to back your claims ;)
The DC formula is described in the Magic Items section, under "Saving Throws Against Magic Item Powers".
Thank you both. So if the formula is "10 + the level of the spell or effect + the ability modifier of the minimum ability score needed to cast that level of spell.", would the DC to disbelieve the hat's effect be 11 or 12?
Thanks!

Gevurah |

11, because the required casting stat to cast a spell is (10 + level of spell). Disguise self is a 1st level spell, so a casting stat of 11 is needed. That means the saving throw is (10 + level of spell + casting modifier = 10 + 1 + 0 = 11).
Perfect! could not be any clearer.
I suppose this ends the thread, thank you all.