Alchemists and wands


Rules Questions

The Exchange

Can alchemists use wands of spells that they can make as extracts without a UMD check? For example cure light wounds.


Pathfinder Adventure Path Subscriber; Starfinder Charter Superscriber

Yes, alchemists can use spell trigger items, wands and staves, but not spell completion items, scrolls. So an alchemist can freely use a wand of cure light wounds without the need for for use magic device.

An alchemist can still use spell completion items like scrolls with a successful use magic device check as with anyone else.


wheres that in the books so i can point it out to my dm


zainale wrote:
wheres that in the books so i can point it out to my dm

In the APG, under 'alchemy' in the alchemist class features section.

Relevant text:

"Although the alchemist doesn't actually cast spells, he does have a formulae list that determines what extracts he can create. An alchemist can utilize spell-trigger items if the spell appears on his formulae list, but not spell-completion items (unless he uses Use Magic Device to do so). "


thank you very much!


Note that the Investigator doesn't have the same line in his alchemy entry and can't use wands without using other means.

Dark Archive

^ it was added to the FAQ recently, too.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Alchemists and wands All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions