Channelled Blessing - does it heal?


Rules Questions


1 person marked this as FAQ candidate.

The Channelled Blessing feat states:

Channelled Blessing wrote:
Benefit: When you channel energy to heal, you can instead deliver a warpriest’s blessing to a single willing creature (including yourself ) in the area that otherwise would have been healed by your channeled energy. The blessing must be one that requires a standard action and affects one or more creatures. If the blessing would normally affect multiple targets, you affect only a single target. The target receives the blessing in place of the healing and any other effects of the channeled energy. (This application doesn’t count toward your uses of blessings per day.)

The way I read this is "When you channel energy, one person within the burst can receive the effects of one of your blessings instead of healing", based on the following;

You are channelling energy; "When you channel energy"
The channelled energy heals targets in the area: "a single willing creature that otherwise would have been healed"
You are only exempting a single creature from the heal; "a single willing creature that otherwise would have been healed"
Other feats that allow you to use Channel Energy for things, but do not heal, instead use this wording:

Turn Undead wrote:
You can, as a standard action, use one of your uses of channel positive energy

.

However, I was talking to someone about it and they read it as "expend a use of channelled energy in order to use a blessing at range". Is there any way to get any clarification on this?


It seems very clear to me:

"When you channel energy to heal, you can instead deliver a warpriest’s blessing to a single willing creature (including yourself ) in the area that otherwise would have been healed by your channeled energy."

Instead of healing, you deliver a blessing to a single creature in the area. So, no healing at all. One creature in the area gets your blessing.


I guess something that confuses me is that I don't see how that interpretation is at all worth a feat - either you're a Warpriest, and you spend two uses of Fervor and a standard action to...avoid having to use a move action to get to them in order to use your Blessing on them, or you have the War Blessing feat, and you can trade channels for blessings on a one-for-one basis, but you can only affect a single target and it has to be a creature - so it only works for about half the blessings you can get with the feat, which are all Minor?


I'm in agreement with Heartherequiem.

You channel as normal, including the healing involved to everyone within 30ft, except one of the people that would benefit from the healing instead benefits from the blessing.


As it only refers to one creature (the one targeted by your blessing) not getting healed, everyone else probably gets healed as it doesn't alter what happens to them.
It would be a close to worthless feat if you needed to spend two uses of fervor (one fervor use is better/on par (depends on your level and situation, really) with one blessing use, but you're spending two) to just bless one creature within 30ft as a standard action and no healing. Why would you ever target your self?
Still isn't a good feat, it only adds versatility to emergency healing. Your strategy should be to never get there, not to be ready for it.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Channelled Blessing - does it heal? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.