
Barachiel Shina |
Ok so I have a glabrezu demon in my game take the -20 penalty to simply hold the party's Magus in one pincer. This means the Magus has the grappled condition, but the glabrezu does not.
This means the glabrezu can make attacks of opportunity, doesn't suffer -2 to attack rolls and -4 to Dexterity, can cast spells or spell-like abilities without concentration checks, and can still move.
On its turn, does it still have to use a Standard Action to maintain the grapple (with or without the -20 penalty)? I assume this means it can only focus on the Magus still, as attacking anyone else while holding onto the Magus will mean he did not maintain the grapple and end up releasing the Magus.
Which is strange cause I always wanted to have this big demon (its the boss of the quest) hold one character in a pincer while using its other attacks to go after the rest of the party or use a spell-like ability while holding.
Am I stuck just giving it Greater Grapple? But it then has to have Improved Unarmed Strike and Improved Grapple since Grab doesn't count a prerequisite.

Rikkan |
Ok so I have a glabrezu demon in my game take the -20 penalty to simply hold the party's Magus in one pincer. This means the Magus has the grappled condition, but the glabrezu does not.
On its turn, does it still have to use a Standard Action to maintain the grapple (with or without the -20 penalty)?
Yes, it still has to use a standard action with a -20 penalty (but with the +5 circumstance bonus)

Barachiel Shina |
I see. That was very different than 3.5, where creatures with Improved Grab and the D&D 3.5 FAQ made it clear a creature not only receives as many grapple checks as their BAB (so, 3 grapple checks for a +11 BAB creature), but they also could full attack if they wanted.
I hope Pathfinder Unchained makes a new grapple system.