
![]() |

True Strike
School divination; Level sorcerer/wizard 1
Casting Time 1 standard action
Components V, F (small wooden replica of an archery target)
Range personal
Target you
Duration see textYou gain temporary, intuitive insight into the immediate future during your next attack. Your next single attack roll (if it is made before the end of the next round) gains a +20 insight bonus. Additionally, you are not affected by the miss chance that applies to attackers trying to strike a concealed target.
Scorching Ray
School evocation [fire]; Level sorcerer/wizard 2
Casting Time 1 standard action
Components V, S
Range close (25 ft. + 5 ft./2 levels)
Effect one or more rays
Duration instantaneous
Saving Throw none; Spell Resistance yesYou blast your enemies with a searing beam of fire. You may fire one ray, plus one additional ray for every four levels beyond 3rd (to a maximum of three rays at 11th level). Each ray requires a ranged touch attack to hit and deals 4d6 points of fire damage. The rays may be fired at the same or different targets, but all rays must be aimed at targets within 30 feet of each other and fired simultaneously.
Bolding mine. Since True Strike affects your next attack, and multi-rays from the same Scorching Ray spell fire simultaneously, does that mean that all of the ray attacks from the spell get the +20 bonus? Or just pick one, since True Strike is only supposed to apply to a single attack roll?

MyTThor |

I disagree with Gauss. I'd have to say it's pretty clear true strike applies to only one roll. It doesn't say it affects your next attack, it says it affects your next single attack roll. The only way it would apply to both rays is if your DM rules that when fired at one target you only make one attack roll, which I don't know any DM who interprets it that way.

Gauss |

MyTTHor: Why would you disagree when we said basically the same thing. I said the first one (one = ray). Which is a shorter way to say what you said.
To clarify:
Round 1: True Strike
Round 2: Scorching Ray with 3 rays. True strike affects your next attack roll thus the first ray has a +20bonus. The second and third rays do not.
- Gauss
Edit: I see now, you thought I meant the first option when I said one. My bad. Since the OP didnt lay them out in specific options but a run on paragraph I just answered the question without realizing it could be misinterpreted.

Atarlost |
If True Strike effects the next single attack roll and Scorching Ray is multiple simultaneous attack rolls True Strike obviously doesn't do anything. If you quickened an acid arrow after the Scorching Ray that would get the +20 from True Strike since it, unlike Scorching Ray, is a single attack roll.

MyTThor |

If True Strike effects the next single attack roll and Scorching Ray is multiple simultaneous attack rolls True Strike obviously doesn't do anything. If you quickened an acid arrow after the Scorching Ray that would get the +20 from True Strike since it, unlike Scorching Ray, is a single attack roll.
It cracks me up when 5 people say 1 thing then one person says it "obviously" the other thing. You have a different definition of "obvious" than I do.

Chemlak |

Yay for clarity.
I agree with the majority - TS will affect one of the rays. "Next single" doesn't mean "the next time you roll a single attack" (though I can see why anyone would think it means that), it means "a single attack roll which is the next attack you make". The circumstances where someone makes multiple simultaneous attack rolls are so rare that I don't believe the True Strike spell was written specifically to not function with them in any way.