
![]() |

Many different scenarios with this...
1) In PFS, I had a GM declare I needed to say I wanted to 5ft step as part of my readied action. I disagree that needed to be done, but can see the logic behind his decision. Do others play like this? At the very least, it wouldn't hurt for me to call it out in the future. This, however, got me thinking...
edit:
My biggest concern with this, if the 5ft step is available, are you going to force the player to call it out? If big fighter guy with a greatsword starts his turn next to a wizard and says. "I'm going to melt his face of he casts a spell" (readied action). Wizard's turn 5ft steps away (out of range). Would you then say "sorry, can't attack... Never declared it as part of your readied action." Readied actions I feel are hard enough to pull off and sometimes I feel like I needed to phrase them like carefully worded wish spells. Often simpler and more effective to take a normal turn, or just delay. Normal attacks happen every scenario. I'm lucky to see a single readied action occur. On the off chance they are more effective (standard action only compared to a full round), I would be more inclined to give it to a player if it falls within what they wanted to do.
End edit
2) could you 5ft step to get cover from an attack or spell being cast? I'm thinking yes.
3) can you 5ft step in a direction to avoid being attacked by a (probably melee) target after they move, (or 5ft step themselves) assuming out of reach? I'd think so. And if not, I don't believe the creature can switch targets?
4) after a charge? I'd think the creature could still finish it's charge and attack. It is part of the same action.
5) 5ft step in front of a creature with reach attacking an ally to give your ally cover. Must it still attack the same target? Again I'd think it must.

blahpers |

1. Since you can take a 5-foot step during a full-attack without declaring it in advance, it seems silly not to similarly allow it to be taken during a readied action. It isn't like you have to declare which square you're attacking. Still, the line must be drawn somewhere, and it sounds like your GM has decided. Use that to your advantage. : D
2. Absolutely.
3. I fondly remember this tactic as the Immortal Tap-Dancing Kobold Maneuver. Sure, you can do it, but expect some debate as it ruffles a lot of folks' feathers. I wouldn't be surprised to see it FAQ'd to allow the original actor to continue moving.
4. Not sure what you mean. If you're asking whether you can charge, then take a 5-foot step, the answer is no, as you've already moved. If you're asking whether you can ready an action to 5-foot-step out of the way of a charge, see 3. This one is particularly contentious as some view it as a way to completely neuter charging.
5. Sure, that would work. Assuming your ready condition was "spear guy attacks bro", yes, the spear guy is locked into his choice.

RumpinRufus |

1) I don't think you need to declare the 5-foot step - to ready, you declare your specific action, and a 5-foot step may be part of that action, but the action itself is the same.
2) Yes, you could even ready a move action to move out of sight if you wish.
3) If you are out of reach, they are no longer able to complete their intended action and are free to do something else instead (such as attack someone else or move again to be closer to you.)
4) The charge rules say "After moving, you may make a single melee attack." This leads me to believe that they have to declare they are done moving BEFORE making the attack, so if you readied "move when they attack" you can indeed dodge the charge in this way.
5) Yes that works, and as long as the ally is still a legal target it must make its attack against that ally. (Or course, any additional attacks may be targeted against you instead.)

Stikye |
well, the only thing I can see about this is that you can't 5 foot step and move in the same turn. So if you 5 foot step during a readied action, Which turn does that get taken from?
1. 5 foot step to follow the wizard, having not moved. Yes. Did you move up to the wizard, and declare the action. 5 foot step is no longer an option, you have moved, or give it up for your next turn.
2. Yes, as long as you haven't moved and have it available.
3. If you have stated you are readying an action to move, and haven't moved already Sure.
4. Rules are fuzzy. not offering my interpretation.
5. Again, if the 5 foot step, is available, sure, you would provide cover for one(or more) of those attacks depending on the monsters intelligence.

RumpinRufus |

well, the only thing I can see about this is that you can't 5 foot step and move in the same turn. So if you 5 foot step during a readied action, Which turn does that get taken from?
The rules are explicit here.
You can take a 5-foot step as part of your readied action, but only if you don't otherwise move any distance during the round.