Stikye's page

181 posts. No reviews. No lists. No wishlists.


1 to 50 of 181 << first < prev | 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | next > last >>

Okay, then, In that FAQ, Your druid/cavalier Animal companion dies. it is on both lists, it is a horse.

Do you take the full week, and full level to regain your full horse abilities as per cavalier, or do you take the 24 hours to get it entirely back as per druid?

Cavalier mount:

A cavalier's bond with his mount is strong, with the pair learning to anticipate each other's moods and moves. Should a cavalier's mount die, the cavalier may find another mount to serve him after 1 week of mourning. This new mount does not gain the link, evasion, devotion, or improved evasion special abilities until the next time the cavalier gains a level.

Druid AC:

If a druid releases her companion from service, she may gain a new one by performing a ceremony requiring 24 uninterrupted hours of prayer in the environment where the new companion typically lives. This ceremony can also replace an animal companion that has perished.

Unusual creatures, Cats, birds, horses, tentacle hentai beasts, octopus, snakes, you know, not bipedal humanoids.

one may argue that certain Alchemists may need unusual armors if they bother wearing any.

Classic Mounted knight, for most orders you are the knight in shining armor protecting... something. You charge in to save the day, valiantly defending your whatever it is you're defending.

For some other orders you are the black knight, that leaves destruction and ruin in your wake.

But, if you want to ride cool things, Be an orc, and take the Beast Rider feat, Take the Beast Rider archetype, or prestige class into Mammoth Rider.

Side note, How does the interaction with animal companion between a Druid/Cavalier cross class work up. a 1 druid/x cavalier, do you get ALL the selection, or just the horse?

Do those feats have any effect on the trample DC, or the add on effects?

Would an elephant with improved/greater overruns trample DC be higher because he adds bonuses to it? I don't think it would.

Does Improved overrun mean that trample no longer provokes AoOs?
Also, doubt it, but double checking.

Secondary, That same elephant, now tramples through a crowd with greater over run, does every one of his trample knock downs provoke due to greater over run? I think this one might.

Relevant abilities and feats.


As a full-round action, a creature with the trample ability can attempt to overrun any creature that is at least one size category Smaller than itself. This works just like the overrun combat maneuver, but the trampling creature does not need to make a check, it merely has to move over opponents in its path. Targets of a trample take an amount of damage equal to the trampling creature’s slam damage + 1-1/2 times its Str modifier. Targets of a trample can make an attack of opportunity, but at a –4 penalty. If targets forgo an attack of opportunity, they can attempt to avoid the trampling creature and receive a Reflex save to take half damage. The save DC against a creature’s trample attack is 10 + 1/2 the creature’s HD + the creature’s Str modifier (the exact DC is given in the creature’s descriptive text). A trampling creature can only deal trampling damage to each target once per round, no matter how many times its movement takes it over a target creature.

Bolded part that both says the feats might help, and might not.

Improved Overrun:

You do not provoke an attack of opportunity when performing an overrun combat maneuver. In addition, you receive a +2 bonus on checks made to overrrun a foe. You also receive a +2 bonus to your Combat Maneuver Defense whenever an opponent tries to overrun you. Targets of your overrun attempt may not chose to avoid you.

Greater Overrun:

You receive a +2 bonus on checks made to overrun a foe. This bonus stacks with the bonus granted by Improved Overrun. Whenever you overrun opponents, they provoke attacks of opportunity if they are knocked prone by your overrun.

but... What if he casts awaken on his Animal Companion, and that Animal Companion takes a level in Druid, and chooses Animal companion, and picks him, since he now counts as an animal. Now his former Animal Companion can now take Spirits Gift, and give it to him!! A ha! problem solved.

Super necro of this thread, but my Google fu is weak. Has the 2 different natural attack progressions ever been resolved? A mastodon animal companion is all screwy, it's gore is to big, it's trample is too big, but the important thing that I am raising this thread from the dead for is. I have a mastodon pet, at 9th level he gores at 2d6 + 12, at level 10, I take a level of mammoth rider makes it a huge mastodon. Is that one step to the right from the already huge sized gore damage? I then take imp nat attack, that one is simpler, it's one step to the right on the imp nat attack table yes?

Any character can take the feat yes, however, the feat specifically calls out that it works with your <PET>, who without special circumstances can not take it. A little more reading into the book, with all of the wonderful help, and I realize that they are just extremely specialized feats, and I had misunderstood them. However, Thanks for the quick responses.

As written Yes. As intended, I think no, you don't have (base race's vision) any more, you'd have to take the feat to get your vision back.

Okay, So, I just got this book, and I was looking at some of the teamwork feats for it, and some of them are awesome, others are completely impossible to use unless you are a cavalier or hunter.

For example

Improved Spell Sharing:

Prerequisite(s): Ability to acquire an animal companion, eidolon, familiar, or special mount.

Benefit: When you are adjacent to or sharing a square with your companion creature and that companion creature has this feat, you can cast a spell on yourself and divide the duration evenly between yourself and the companion creature. You can use this feat only on spells with a duration of at least 2 rounds. For example, you could cast bull's strength on yourself, and instead of the spell lasting 1 minute per level on yourself, it lasts 5 rounds per level on yourself and 5 rounds per level on your companion.

Once the spell is cast, you and the companion creature can move farther apart without ending the effect.

This feat is impossible to get without tactician or being a hunter, or did I miss the part where your animal companion, eidolon, etc, could qualify to get their own eidolon, AC, or whatever?

Same problem with Shared Healing

Shared Healing:

Prerequisite(s): Ability to acquire an animal companion, eidolon, familiar, or special mount.

Benefit: When you and your companion creature have this feat, your companion creature is adjacent to you or sharing your square, and you receive the benefit of a healing spell (whether from yourself or another source), you can divide the hit points healed evenly between yourself and your companion creature.

Can we get an FAQ so they can clarify these feats to make them usable without a cavalier granting them with Tactician, or hunter?

Edited due to new knowledge of hunter abilities.

I'd say no. Cavalier mounts are like super bonded to their Cavaliers. More so than Druids to their pets or well, Wizards to their familiars. If your mount as a cavalier dies you need s full week to replace it, and a full level before it regains several abilities. Animal companions just need 24 hours and they are back to full strength. That would be my game, your dm may say the 2 feat investment is enough for it to count.

Oh phone so can't correctly link the Druid vs. Cavalier dead animal companion penalties.

Since every one of the sets(but one) of horseshoes say that a horse must wear them, is that more flavor text, or can my... Dinosaur mount not wear horseshoes of speed?

Thanks, I figured It was going to be something like that. My Cavalier has The mounted combat, ride by, and spirited charge, and ride by would let me hit the lance charge and then keep going so my mount could use whatever he wanted as an actual attack, since the lance normally out ranges the mount.

Follow up question. Who needs the charge feats. If my mount has power attack and improved overrun, does the rider need them to benefit from the mounts overrunning charge, does the mount need charge through, or the cavalier?

So, I have a cavalier, This cavalier is part of the order of the sword, woo. level... 7+ or so

He has

Spirited Charge:

Prerequisites: Ride 1 rank, Mounted Combat, Ride-By Attack.

Benefit: When mounted and using the charge action, you deal double damage with a melee weapon (or triple damage with a lance).

and all of the prerequisites. He charges with a lance, He manages to get a critical hit with his lance. He does triple damage on a charge, and triple damage crit, does this end up being 5d8 + 5x(static) Since i KNOW its not 3x 3x for a x9, but it should be 3x + 2x for 5x damage right?

Now, He hits level 8, he gets his

Mounted Mastery:

At 8th level, the cavalier ignores the armor check penalty when using the Ride skill, regardless of whether or not the creature he is riding is his mount. Whenever he makes a charge attack while mounted, he receives a +4 dodge bonus to his AC to avoid attacks set against his charge. When making such an attack, he can add his mount’s Strength modifier to the damage roll, in addition to his own. He also receives a bonus feat, chosen from the following list: Mounted Combat, Ride-By Attack, Skill Focus (Ride), Spirited Charge, Trample, or Unseat. He must qualify for the feat selected.

Now does his mounts str bonus get multiplied with everything else. bolded part.

Now, this Cavalier gets tired of riding just horses, he wants to ride cool things, so he takes levels in Mammoth Rider, his cool mount is now huge and nonsense like that, but he gets to level 8 of Mammoth Rider and gets

Combined Might:

At 8th level, a mounted mammoth rider strikes with the combined power of herself and her steed. Once per round, when the mammoth rider hits with a melee attack from astride her steed during a charge, she adds half her steed's Strength modifier to the damage roll in addition to her own, provided her steed is currently capable of taking a free action.

How would that stack with Mounted Mastery, does he now add his mounts strength and a half to his charges, or just still his base str bonus, making it a fluffy ability, and doing nothing.

Also, just for my clarification, Things that would get multiplied on a cavaliers charge: Power attack bonus, Magic weapon bonus, Strength bonus, Banner bonus damage, Challenge bonus damage, pretty much any other static bonus to damage.

Thank you for your input.

My reading would have it be a crit on a spirited charge 5x damage. That Mounted Mastery and Combined Might wouldn't stack, but I'd houserule a 1.5str bonus damage.

as a DM I tend to hand wave a lot of stuff. Yes, the wizard prepared his spells, yes, the rogue ate breakfast, yes, the fighter put on his armor, etc. There are a LOT of things that can be nit picked that get hand waved with the line " I/we set up camp for the night" The first night or so, I may point out things like, do you sleep in your armor, do you set a camp fire, do you set a watch etc, but night after night after night, it gets handwaved as routine.

well, everyone is taking this much further than I thought it was going to. I mean my original hypothetical guy was pretty much ready action to jump on a fireball. It's a non-action/reflexive action to spellcraft a spell being cast (in my games a least) so, he readies it, spellcrafts, and then if it comes at him, tackles it. there wasn't any chasing it down. Magic missles can't target the fireball bead, rats probably wouldn't be smart enough, and non-evil wizards probably wouldn't sacrifice their familiars to it.

I thought it would be cool. I certainly didn't expect this storm of "It isn't possible, it is possible, I don't like it, ESCALATING" if its not in the rules beyond Hero Points rule bending, so be it. :)

As written you do not need to expend channel into the shield.

Vindicator's Shield:
A vindicator can channel energy into his shield as a standard action; when worn, the shield gives the vindicator a sacred bonus (if positive energy) or profane bonus (if negative energy) to his Armor Class equal to the number of dice of the vindicator’s channel energy. This bonus lasts for 24 hours or until the vindicator is struck in combat, whichever comes first. The shield does not provide this bonus to any other wielder, but the vindicator does not need to be holding the shield for it to retain this power.

It was intended to have you expend channels to bring it up, but either due to an editing error, or space, or whatever reason, that never made it into clarion print that us Rules forum people thrive on. No where does it say it expends a channel.

thats what I was intending/hoping would happen, big dumb fighter saves his groups just by changing the location of where the blast would detonate. I suppose depending on the situation a readied action: Shut the door, would accomplish the same thing, and work on everything else. That however does open a lot more doors to negating arrows, rays, etc.

A body, who being smarter than the average person sees a wizard in the back of a place. The person is standing in the front of his group and knows that fireballs are a very dangerous and deadly spell. He has prepared himself accordingly with belts and potions of fire resist. His group, however, has not. Standing in the front of the group by at least 20 feet, he readies an action to Spellcraft a fireball spell, and then tackle the pea the wizard flings.


A fireball spell generates a searing explosion of flame that detonates with a low roar and deals 1d6 points of fire damage per caster level (maximum 10d6) to every creature within the area. Unattended objects also take this damage. The explosion creates almost no pressure.

You point your finger and determine the range (distance and height) at which the fireball is to burst. A glowing, pea-sized bead streaks from the pointing digit and, unless it impacts upon a material body or solid barrier prior to attaining the prescribed range, blossoms into the fireball at that point. An early impact results in an early detonation. If you attempt to send the bead through a narrow passage, such as through an arrow slit, you must "hit" the opening with a ranged touch attack, or else the bead strikes the barrier and detonates prematurely.

The fireball sets fire to combustibles and damages objects in the area. It can melt metals with low melting points, such as lead, gold, copper, silver, and bronze. If the damage caused to an interposing barrier shatters or breaks through it, the fireball may continue beyond the barrier if the area permits; otherwise it stops at the barrier just as any other spell effect does.

The bold states that the pea can be intercepted. The fighter plans to do this. What does he roll to jump in front of a fireball or tackle the pea?

Going to have to say, in this case advanced = major.

It also doesn't say it expends a use of channel, just that he channels energy into it. Which I thought was cute. Auto Magic shield bonus!

well, the only thing I can see about this is that you can't 5 foot step and move in the same turn. So if you 5 foot step during a readied action, Which turn does that get taken from?

1. 5 foot step to follow the wizard, having not moved. Yes. Did you move up to the wizard, and declare the action. 5 foot step is no longer an option, you have moved, or give it up for your next turn.

2. Yes, as long as you haven't moved and have it available.
3. If you have stated you are readying an action to move, and haven't moved already Sure.
4. Rules are fuzzy. not offering my interpretation.
5. Again, if the 5 foot step, is available, sure, you would provide cover for one(or more) of those attacks depending on the monsters intelligence.

Two weapon fighting is like power attack, once you turn it on, it affects the rest of the attacks you do for that round. Unsure if it would affect attacks of opportunity.

quick math check, correct me if I'm wrong.

Level 15 rogue,
BAB ~ +11/6/1
Dex +5
standard non magical short swords +0
Two weapon fighting with 2 light weapons -2-2

Full attack:
11(bab)+5(dex)-2(TWF)(first attack) 11(Bab)+5(dex)-2(two) (2nd hand)
6(bab) + 5(bab) -2(twf)(third) 6(bab) + 5(dex) -2(twf) (4th attack)
1(bab) + 5(dex) -2(twf) (5th) 1(bab) + 5(dex) -2(twf) (last)

For a grand attack scheme of : 14/14/9/9/4/4 at 1d6 + str/half str pending feats.

I think the point he is trying to make, or question. Is that the 6th and 10th level versions, don't say "add a feat" it just lets you add more feats to your list.

Ranger Combat Style wrote:
Ranger Combat Style (Ex): The slayer selects a ranger combat style (such as archery or two-weapon combat) and gains a combat feat from the first feat list of that style. He can choose feats from his selected combat style, even if he does not have the normal prerequisites. At 6th level, he may select this talent again and add the 6th-level ranger combat feats from his chosen style to the "List." At 10th level, he may select this talent again and add the 10th-level ranger combat feats from his chosen style to the "List."

No where in it does it say to add feats to the character at 6th and 10th levels, just add them to the list he can now choose from. But that is just my interpretation of his answer.

Isn't it the rakes and 1 natural attack?

My thoughts are that taking 10 is a routine task.

If you are a professional cook/chef and you are cooking dinner for whoever comes in, you're not putting forth your best effort, it could be better, it could be worse. You are taking 10.

If that same profession cook/chef is now making dinner for some very important figure or a million gold piece competition. They are doing everything they possibly can do make it good. getting the best ingredients, using the finest dining ware, pulling out all of the stops, and taking as long as it takes to do the job the BEST they can. This is taking 20.

1 person marked this as a favorite.

Taking 20s takes much more time.

In my games, and how I interpret it, is that taking 10 is routine actions.
If you are swimming in a safe pool you can take 10.
If you are swimming in a raging river, where failing said skill check results in tremendous death, you can not.

Or combat, Unless you have a feat that says you can take 10 for this skill whenever you want, I always rule combat out of take-10-land.

My interpretation, I don't think immediate danger has ever been spelled out by paizo.

It wouldn't in my game. Eye for talent means that said human looks at all of the things and says I want this one, it looks strong.

Eye for Talent excerpt:
Humans have great intuition for hidden potential. They gain a +2 racial bonus on Sense Motive checks. In addition, when they acquire an animal companion, bonded mount, cohort, or familiar, that creature gains a +2 bonus to one ability score of the character's choice.

A black blade is just an intelligent (bad-ass) sword, that in my games usually finds the magus. Also, it isn't an Animal Companion, bonded mount, cohort or familiar. It is a smart sword.

If the robe gives you an "armor bonus" it will not stack with armor, if the robe gives you a "natural armor" or "deflection" or "dodge" or well, anything but "armor bonus" it will stack. and as a wizard, its usually better to just mage armor anyway :)

Nope, otherwise it negates the entire point of the anti-construct spell.

Just to not start an entirely new thread about this. If I understand this Right, Primal Hunters(its what im calling them) Are part druid, part ranger, and part summoner?

Now the important part, They get to evolve their pet based on whatever pet they took's base form? If their pet gets to large, do they need to evolve large form out of their summoner pool or can they take huge if they meet the requirements.

My character has a level dip into monk for free bonus goodies, so its a non issue for him, but i was reading the ability, and as written it doesn't do what it wants to do i think.

Good to know I wasn't crazy reading it the way I did.

17 people marked this as FAQ candidate. 1 person marked this as a favorite.

The ability Iaijutsu says "A kensai may make attacks of opportunity when flat-footed, and may draw his favored weapon as a free action as part of taking an attack of opportunity."

However, if he doesn't have a weapon out, and is flat footed, he doesn't threaten, and can't make an attack of opportunity.

It seems to me this is circular reasoning. He can pull a weapon as a free action to hit an attack of opportunity, but without a weapon ready, he doesn't threaten to make an AoO anyway.

Can I get someone else's opinion on this? it seems like a useless ability to me.

= +3 caster level on that spell? I think it would, but im not sure.

Im not sure if this should be a rules or an advice question, but can anyone tell me WHERE dragons get their spells? It isn't explained anywhere, except that as dragons get older they cast. It seems arbitrary, this old of a dragon can cast at this level, but this same aged different dragon can cast at THAT level.

I am asking, because I am trying to level up some NPC's for a game im running, and dragons CAST at a certain level, but its not specified that they get spells once they hit this age, or they get spells once they hit this many HD, just that they DO cast, and get stronger as they get stronger.

Any help, or really, advise on how to handle their sorcerer spell progression?

I would rule no, a stealth check is generally part of a move action, not a non action, and unless you have a few feats I think you are auto located after an attack.

Checking on the actual rules for this now.


Instead of asking the same thing, is there any reason why a Sash of bladebla would grant a level 1 fighter/level ?? anything else abilities it doesn't(but potentially might) have, or would it need to be a level 3 fighter in order for the sash to improve the abilities it DOES have. of-the-war-champion

Sash of the war champ:

This bright red strip of cloth, stitched with images of a cheering crowd throwing garlands toward a chariot, fits across the wearer's shoulders and then diagonally down his chest to reach his opposite hip.

The wearer treats his fighter level as 4 higher than normal for the purpose of the armor training and bravery class features.

and provided a - str shadow can lift a weapon.

nope, you polymorph, everything you're wearing melds into your form.

Is there a divine version of Ring of Wizardry?

1 person marked this as FAQ candidate.

I know what the spell says, but what does that help with.

Does it mean you take no effect from the slow spell, or just just skip the staggered part of it.

Does it make you immune to paralysis, or just the paralysis spell?

If you move through Black tentacles, do they just slip right by you, are you in difficult terrain if you don't have to worry about maneuvering around them?

1. Wild armor is a +3 enchantment because you gain the benefit of wearing armor, without actually wearing it. You are considered unarmored for various purposes.

2. I can't say anything RAW here,

3. See 1. Wild armor is beastly.

4. Elementals are elementals. They aren't humanoid, you would have to buy custom armor for them. or convince your GM to make some sort of Adaptive armor enchantment to have it change shape with you. There is no defined shape for an elemental.

5. You gain the senses of the things you turn into, assuming they have said senses, based on your level of Wild shape. unless there is an errata I've missed for Cave druids, ooze-form would leave you blind, depending on the ooze you've chosen. There are positives and negatives to being blind.

I am playing a witch through a friends campaign, and im curious how much of a visual indication the slumber hex would give out. It is a super natural ability, so it has no somatic or verbal or material components, as far as I am aware it doesn't even have a visual indicator that its being used.

I just use it, and they fall asleep, or feel weaker, or unlucky, or various other hexes

is there actually anything in either the ability, or supernatural ability that gives a visual indication that a witch is using a hex? or can it be "stealth'd" and just have that guard fall asleep while wandering through with a crowd?

I generally just check in on it every once and a while and just kindly remind them that scribing spells to their books costs money.

Its possible I missed something, but can I get this confirmed or denied?

Do the bonuses from Grab and Improved/Greater grapple stack?

For Example, a druid focused on grapple opponents wild shapes into a bear.

Str/bab/etc aside, does he now have a +8 bonus to grapple? +4 from grab, +2 improved grapple, and +2 greater.

Item creation rules are pretty much entirely up to a GM. The Math in the above post is correct, but I don't think I've EVER met a GM who would actually allow that.

Could always take the trait Birthmark, which counts as a holy symbol, can't imagine having your birthmark on your butt, or under your armor you having to strip every time you cast a spell.

In theory, its under discussion at the moment and the boards cannot agree on if that works or not.

Same language in Racial heritage would suggest they count for the purpose of traits and feats.

1 to 50 of 181 << first < prev | 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | next > last >>