
musewraith |
Hello all,
In the feat Net and Trident it says "When you use your light or one-handed melee weapon to attack an entangled opponent, you gain a +2 bonus on damage rolls...".
My question is this - would a ranged (thrown) attack with a light or one handed melee weapon (dagger) qualify for the bonus? If not, I would expect it to read "When making a melee attack with a light or one handed weapon..."
I'm hoping to get some clarification or an official ruling on this, especially considering the the mistakes with net feats (feat to make a 1 handed weapon 1 handed, instead of 2 handed?).
Thanks

![]() |

Net and Trident
You can treat a net as a one-handed ranged weapon, allowing you to wield a light or one-handed melee weapon and still make ranged attacks with your net. When you use your light or one-handed melee weapon to attack an entangled opponent, you gain a +2 bonus on damage rolls and on attack rolls to confirm a critical hit.
That's about as specific as it gets. If you're still using a Light weapon, thrown or not, it should qualify. As long as it's a Melee weapon... which it is, you should be good to go. I believe this feat refers to the weapon's Type. Just because you throw it, doesn't mean it's now a ranged type weapon.
It makes sense to me.. but I could be wrong for all I know! Seems like a battle of perception here.
Edit: Also, they would specific a Melee Attack if they wanted you to only Melee with a Light Melee Weapon. If not, then that same Light Melee Weapon is up for use as a Ranged Attack. I hope you have the feats to chuck that thing properly!

Zwordsman |
Not being supe rules boss.
I would say it would count, they probably meant melee attack in CQC but it doesn't specify. Personally I could see anyone in a net having a hell of a harder time dodging an attack so strikes would sink deeper.
I don't remember much about nets but I would think any attack at a person in a net would be more effective now that I think of.