Incendiary and Toxic Cloud - Both Can be Played at Once ?


Rules Questions and Gameplay Discussion


Can I play both incendiary and toxic cloud in response to a character encountering a bane ? It isn't a check so I assume this is ok ?


The rule on 1 card of each type for each character is not per check, but per any part of the encountering a card sequence.

Though it isn't entirely clear, I would say that each character can only play one spell with the words "when a character encounters a bane". By playing such a card, your next action would no longer be at the moment "when a character encounters the bane." Also, a new step in the encountering a card sequence has not begun, so you are not allowed to play any more spells until the next step does begin.

However, if the bane you encountered is a barrier that summons henchmen for each character, you can play this type of spell in reaction the barrier, then play another type of spell as the combat for the summoned henchmen. See this post for confirmation on that. This works because you play the cloud spell as part of a step in encountering the barrier and you play a different spell as a step in encountering the summoned henchmen.

Pathfinder Adventure Card Game Designer

While it i possible for both to be in effect at once, it is not possible to play both in response to a single character encountering a single bane.


Ah. Mike is hinting here at the fact that once you play a cloud spell it lasts for the whole turn, so there is added incentive to explore more on that turn in the hopes of encountering more monsters that would also be effected by the cloud spell. And you could play subsequent cloud spells for every bane encountered. Soon everyone is adding 4d6 to their combat checks on that turn. What sly and cunning strategy.


A slight tweak to Mike's wording is needed, I think...

My guess is that it should be:

While it is possible for both to be in effect at once, it is not possible for a single player to play both in response to a single character encountering a single bane.

If you have Ezren and Seoni in the party, I think they can each play ONE of these spells when a single bane is encountered. (Of course, I might be wrong!)

Pathfinder Adventure Card Game Designer

Yes, that's what I meant.


Hawkmoon there is this in the S&S Rules p. 12 (Attempting a Check): "Remember that each player may not play more than 1 card of each type or use any 1 power more than once during each check." However, given the date of this thread perhaps that wording was not in RotR and added as clarification.

So... does this to apply to any Spell Displayed before an encounter - even if its power is used during the check, the same player can play an 'additional' spell during the check? Because they were "played" at different times? (In the Wizard class deck FAQ re: Sphere of Fire I thought the ruling was that using the power of a displayed card counted as playing it, but maybe it was just for that particular card.)

Paizo Employee Chief Technical Officer

See my answer here. And note that the Sphere of Fire FAQ added the "counts as playing a spell" text only to that card; if we were making a general rules change, the FAQ entry would have been for the rulebook, not for that card.


Good point. :) So the additional wording in the WotW rulebook that says: "Activating a power on a displayed card also counts as playing it" is a change/new rule? (as opposed to being a clarification)


This thread will give you some insight.


Hawkmoon269 wrote:
This thread will give you some insight.

Thanks! Very helpful.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder Adventure Card Game / Rules Questions and Gameplay Discussion / Incendiary and Toxic Cloud - Both Can be Played at Once ? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions and Gameplay Discussion