Ohnomycoco's page

14 posts. No reviews. No lists. No wishlists.


RSS


Thanks - thought that was the case.

Hawkmoon269 wrote:

Yes, it does. When you encounter happens before evade even, because the moment you flip the card or place the summoned monster in front of you, the encounter has begun.

To help clear up the confusion over these terms, before and after the encounter are being renamed in Skull and Shackles.


Spells such as Toxic Cloud and Incendiary Cloud state they can be played "When you encounter a bane"

Does this happen before any "Before the encounter effects" such as, in the latest adventure pack, a check on a monster to see if you can play attack spells ?

It's important as the order would effect whether the toxic cloud spell could be played at all.


Hawkmoon269 wrote:

It says "choose a character at your location" and not "choose another character at your location" so that means you can choose yourself.

And it doesn't indicate that if you are both the caster and the recipient you wouldn't get both benefits. So I would agree with your "yes."

Cards do what they say.

Cheers !


Can you choose yourself for the initial target of major cure (i.e get 1d4+1 cards recharged), then choose yourself again for the second part (...and 1 random card from your discard pile into your deck...) ?

I'm erring on yes, but just want to make sure I'm not missing anything.


Thanks Mike - stunning game by the way.


Vic - can I ask why you feel the term "random location deck" makes your intentions with this rule clear here ? I had exactly the same confusion when playing this for the first time yesterday.

If you say a "random location deck" this kind of implies there actually has to be cards there for the magga to target it - after all in English a deck is a collection of one of more cards.

I think you have a wording problem here (unless you have defined a location deck somewhere in the rules to be an empty location which I can't spot). I think what you wanted to go for was something like "a random location" which doesn't imply (confusingly) the presence of cards.


Thanks Hawkmoon - that makes sense !


When performing setup for Here Comes the Flood do you :

1) Deal out the 10 cards for each location, shuffle them, then deal 3 cards from the special snake / blessing / ally deck on top of these piles ?

or

2) Deal out all 13 cards for each location and shuffle them together ?


Can I ask where you are drawing this from ? It contradicts with some replies I have had here :

http://boardgamegeek.com/article/14384756#14384756


Can I play both incendiary and toxic cloud in response to a character encountering a bane ? It isn't a check so I assume this is ok ?


Much happier this time around. Hook Mountain arrived in the UK for me last Friday, which means a two week shipping time. Still a bit of a niggle that most FLGS in the UK have had it in stock for a couple of weeks, but worth the wait overall I think since it works out a lot cheaper. (Also I think I have chosen the cheapest shipping method).

Really nice to have the two promo cards. Keep up the good work Paizo.


Bit confused by what is intended here.

Say you defeat the Ogrekin. Do you consider him defeated, put him on the bottom of the deck, then attempt to close the location as normal (then banish him along with all the other cards if you succeed in closing). Or is the idea that he is undefeated ?

Also does he go on Mammy Graul's stack if defeated but placed on the bottom of the location deck ?


Mammy Graul's card states that every time a henchman is defeated you put it in a stack next to her card. She then gets +1 difficulty to defeat for each henchman.

Does this include summoned henchman - e.g the skeleton(s) that are summoned when she is encountered ?


UK customer really disappointed as well - online stores now have the game in stock and I'm still waiting for it to arrive. Why have Paizo used such a slow international shipping method ? It kind of makes the whole subscription think essentially pointless for international customers. Disappointing.