Playing cards when attempting to temporarily close a location?


Pathfinder Adventure Card Game General Discussion


A hero encounters a villain, and the other heroes at different location(s) attempt to temporarily close their location(s). Are they allowed to play cards, outside of their own turn, to assist in possible checks for 'When closing'?

Secondly, just to double-confirm, multiple heroes may in turn attempt to close the same location temporarily? This is what the rules seem to imply.

Silver Crusade

Yes and yes.

Attempting to temporarily close a location is a check. All characters can contribute cards to any check. Of course, the character making the check takes the lead, and some cards can't be played to help unless you're at the same location, but cards can definitely be played.

And yeah, each character at an open location gets their own shot at temporarily closing it, even if two of them happen to be at the same one.


Hi guys,

What if instead of temporarily closing a location, a player is trying to permanently close a location but alas, he fails the closing requirement. Can a separate character at this same location attempt to close it too?

Or, does the opportunity to close the location disappear for that turn because the character that triggered the closing of the location blew his check?

Thus, the only way to close that location again would be to go through the remaining cards first (and then perform that location's when closing check again).

Please include a rule book page number on your feedback because this question stirred quite the debate at our table.

My ruling was no one else can attempt to close a location but the guy who triggered it. The rest of the group seemed to think multiple characters at one location all have the opportunity to perform the "when closing" check.

Ben


@Cheez - when permanently closing a location, only one player gets the chance (e.g. if they have explored and there are no cards left in the location deck or they just defeated a henchman).

If that player fluffs the check the chance is lost and you'll probably have to go through the entire location deck before getting another chance to close (unless, for example, the villain runs there).

The rules come from (a) the Henchman:

Rulebook, page 17 wrote:
When you defeat a henchman from a location deck, you may immediately attempt to close that location by fulfilling that location’s “When Closing” requirement (see Closing a Location on page 13).

The 'you' here means the character that defeated the Henchman (and only that character).

Similarly, as part of the turn sequence if you are standing at an empty location the "turn character" gets a chance to close the location (see "Turn overview" on the back page).


The rules on closing a location refer to you or yours so the character whose turn it is has to meet the conditions for closing.
Whatever the condition is be it a check there is no reason why other characters cannot assist as per the normal rules unless in the case of playing a card (Banish, Discard etc) it says from your hand.

Page 13

Closing a Location
You may earn the opportunity to close a location in a number of ways....... When you have the opportunity and want to close a location, do whatever the location’s “When Closing” section says

The closing conditions imply you but omit the word e.g. They just say succeed at a x check.

Normal Rules would apply e.g. Other character can aid in the check.

In some cases another character can play the card e.g. Sandpoint Cathederal does not state you or from your hand so anyother player can banish the required card but they could not for the Town Square or the General Store as their When Closing states banish a card from your hand.


Interesting catch, @St@rm@n... I hadn't noticed that wording difference on Sandpoint Cathedral and had always assumed the turn player had to do the banishing (from their hand).

I've opened up a separate thread to discuss Sandpoint Cathedral - lets discuss that in more detail there and hope to get an official clarification.

Paizo Employee Chief Technical Officer

I posted in that thread, but yes, Sandpoint Cathedral requires the active player to do the banishing.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder Adventure Card Game / General Discussion / Playing cards when attempting to temporarily close a location? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in General Discussion