
One Crit Wonder |

If my char wears a headband of intellect giving him a +4 to INT, and he levels, do I use the boosted INT to determine the number of skill points he receives for that level?
Thanks
The short answer: No. Probably because of the paperwork nightmare.
However - for every +2 the headband provides (i.e. +1 ability modifier), you get to pick one skill and gain a +1 skill rank per character level in it (still limited by skill rank cap). Sort of a trade-off.
So, a level 5 wizard who puts on a headband +2 could take Acrobatics and treat it as if he had 5 ranks in it.

GMonkey |
the answer from james jacobs is the skill is fixed at item creation to prevent players from removing and putting it back on to get a different skill. it would per the retcon rule have a Language fixed at creating, but that is GM descresion.
the rank in the skill that the headband has is strictly tied to the character Level (not ECL) wearing the headband.

Tilnar |

Nope, any skill... However, if it's not selected, *then* you assume it's a random knowledge skill.
A headband of vast intelligence has one skill associated with it per +2 bonus it grants. After being worn for 24 hours, the headband grants a number of skill ranks in those skills equal to the wearer's total Hit Dice. These ranks do not stack with the ranks a creature already possesses. These skills are chosen when the headband is created. If no skill is listed, the headband is assumed to grant skill ranks in randomly determined Knowledge skills.

Inkwell |

Wait...now I'm more confused. :) I'm still waking up I guess. So you all are saying that Joe Blow finds a +4 headband as loot, and when he claims it, he picks 2 skills, and those 2 skills are always +X for the wearer (X being whatever the wearers current level is)?
Let's say Joe Blow is level 12 when he finds that +4 Int Headband. The DM predetermines the skills in advance, which is normally the case. The two skills he will receive are Knowledge Nature and Handle Animal. He already has 2 ranks in each of these skills. When wearing the headband, Joe only is granted +10 to those two skills then. If he had no ranks in them, he would get the full +12.

Jeraa |

Count_Rugen wrote:Wait...now I'm more confused. :) I'm still waking up I guess. So you all are saying that Joe Blow finds a +4 headband as loot, and when he claims it, he picks 2 skills, and those 2 skills are always +X for the wearer (X being whatever the wearers current level is)?Let's say Joe Blow is level 12 when he finds that +4 Int Headband. The DM predetermines the skills in advance, which is normally the case. The two skills he will receive are Knowledge Nature and Handle Animal. He already has 2 ranks in each of these skills. When wearing the headband, Joe only is granted +10 to those two skills then. If he had no ranks in them, he would get the full +12.
Only partly correct. Joe Blow has absolutely no input on what skills the headband grants if he just finds the thing. (Though a nice DM will have the skills be something useful to the player.) The only way Joe Blow has a choice in the matter is if he makes the headband himself. Otherwise, it is completely up to the DM to determine what skills are included.

GMonkey |
I would say apply the same rule that any magic item granting any form of INT modifier be done in increments of 2 and has be definte skill and if GM want Languages set.
This prevents a group from changing skills on a whim.
If the player is crafting the item then they get to choose what skill is set, and language if GM wants magic items that modify INT to add language(s).

Dragonchess Player |

Note that nowhere in the item description or the wording on permanent bonuses does it state the increased Int from a headband or ioun stone retroactively gives extra bonus starting languages. That would (IMO) be like a wizard claiming extra "starting" 1st level spells when their Int increases.
Now, the headband or ioun stone could have Linguistics as a skill, in which case the wearer/owner would be able to speak and read new languages (one per skill rank). The creator of the item would set the languages (and probably the order in which the languages are learned) on creation, following the same guidelines as how the skill is set in the first place.

![]() |

Inkwell and Jeraa have it right.
Easiest way to think of it is that whatever skills are on the headband (GM chooses if it was found, player chooses if it was crafted) are maxxed out regardless of whatever points the player has without the headband.
So a skill with 0 ranks will shoot up to whatever the player's level is, just the same as a skill with 8 ranks will shoot up to whatever the player's level is. Bonuses from abilities and masterwork tools and the like add onto the total after the headband is on.