Raistlin

One Crit Wonder's page

7 posts. No reviews. No lists. No wishlists.


RSS


I have to agree with Fomsie. Spring Attack negates the normal trigger effect of movement vs the target. The target isn't opting to not make an attack, they are denied the opportunity.

No trigger. No effect.

Same with the need for an acrobatics check. No trigger, no effect. At least from the target of the Spring Attack. This would be a case of feats trumping general rules (as is the norm).

However - as a GM, I generally allow Acrobatics checks as part of the movement effect of Spring Attack.  Yes, Spring Attack IS a full round action, but movement is required (basically, a move with specific requirements and limitations, and a standard attack, also with limitations), but I would allow acrobatics from any other foe whose path is crossed.

Does it help against the target? No, because that person never provoked. However, that could lead to some AoO bonuses, if strategically used...


Core book, page 199...

Read the 'performing a combat maneuver' section. It mentions taking your CMB, and adding in bonuses to attack rolls from feats, spells, and other effects.


Unfortunately, I don't play PFS...so, apologies if some of these suggestions don't necessarily fit within the limitations of Society play. We tend to just use the rules and what we enjoy - within the GMs guidelines.

Two levels in Monk, Master of Many styles and the Mountain- Turtle style gives you a shield bonus when not having anything in your off hand. The advanced feats allow for this bonus to add to touch, IIRC. Crane Style is also useful.

There's a trait (sorry, don't have my books with me...working, so I can't rememeber exact names) that offsets the penalty for weapon expertise by 1.

Kensai Magus is something you might want to look into, or a Fighter using the Free Hand archtype.

Duelist PRC might also be to your liking. Adds a bit of damage.

None of it is what I would consider 'optimal', but can be fun and efficient. I did the fighter/monk/duelist for a 'Blademaster' style character, once. My regular GM is big on flavor, so I can say I'm wielding my sword two-handed, and not lose my perks for one-handed, as long as I don't take any of the benefits/feats/perks/etc for two-handed (i.e. damage bonus, and the like).


Ha! Thanks! This is the stuff I was looking for!


Just bought the box set yesterday, and LOVE IT. The forums and FAQ have been a great resource, but there are a couple questions - and my apologies before hand. It appears that they have been answered indirectly, but I want to make certain I am not reading into things...and in truth, I may just not have found where they were simply asked outright...

First of all, in a combat with a monster that is essentially two fights (i.e. Stickfoot...and some dude whose name I forget), can you use the reveal ability on both fights? My gut says yes - cards have no memory, and these are separate checks. Same as with a summoned monster when fighting a normal one...

Second is revealed cards and damage mitigation. If something does damage before the encounter, and then say inlose the fight, if the item would handle the types of damage listed by both, could I reveal it for each? As with the above instance, my gut tells me yes...

But with exceptions if food, my gut is often wrong!


Count_Rugen wrote:

If my char wears a headband of intellect giving him a +4 to INT, and he levels, do I use the boosted INT to determine the number of skill points he receives for that level?

Thanks

The short answer: No. Probably because of the paperwork nightmare.

However - for every +2 the headband provides (i.e. +1 ability modifier), you get to pick one skill and gain a +1 skill rank per character level in it (still limited by skill rank cap). Sort of a trade-off.

So, a level 5 wizard who puts on a headband +2 could take Acrobatics and treat it as if he had 5 ranks in it.


This may have been asked before - but I was unable to find it in the FAQ or with a search, so pardon me if I'm re-covering old ground...

If I am a Two-Weapon fighting archetype, and I can make an attack with both primary and secondary weapons as part of an AoO...if I turn one of my two attacks into a use of Stand Still, would that trigger Two Weapon Rend?

Basically, I think my question comes down to three points: first, is a successful combat manuever considerd a 'hit'good for a triggered effect. Second (and I cannot find it listed anywhere) does triggering TWR require damage dealt? Third (and possibly most important) does the use of either AoO options exclude the use of the other?