GMonkey's page

17 posts. No reviews. No lists. No wishlists.


RSS


A few questions:

Do settlements have a limited amount of money being that the stat block only have the maximum amount it will pay for a single item, but not the maximum money the settlement has.

Could you use black market connections in ultimate combat rogue talent to sell anything even if it is normally legal? And would you also apply the settlement modifiers adjusted settlement size. Could you also purchase magic supplies (item creation) as well


2 people marked this as FAQ candidate.

James Jacobs Creative Director

Yesterday, 09:41 PM | Flag |
List

| Reply

--------------------------------------------------------------------------- -----
+

GMonkey wrote:

James,

odd thing came to mind maping out a Kensai black blade magus and i noticed that when appling the kensai archetype to the magus the character would get fighter training twice once at 7th level from kensai archetype and again at 10th level from the standard magus progression.

would they stack or would you get the better of the two?
being that both say that they would stack with existing fighter levels.

Sounds like an error that needs to be brought up in the rules forums for a FAQ attack.

Rysky

well here it is have at it.


James,

odd thing came to mind maping out a Kensai black blade magus and i noticed that when appling the kensai archetype to the magus the character would get fighter training twice once at 7th level from kensai archetype and again at 10th level from the standard magus progression.

would they stack or would you get the better of the two?
being that both say that they would stack with existing fighter levels.


i have not seen any response from paizo about the missing information int the ultimate combat. specifically the missing arcana that are mentined in the recommended for kensai pg. 56 "deadly
follow-up, precise prowess" are not defined. is paizo going to release an update with the missing information or was is supposed to be removed and was missed in editing?


1 person marked this as a favorite.
Dragonchess Player wrote:

Not that I know of.

However, a command word, unlimited use wondrous item that takes up a slot (similar to a hand of the mage) would have a market price of 2 x 3 x 1,800 = 10,800 gp, based on Table 15-29.

You forgot the x2 for the 1 min/level making it 21,600 gp


James,

The Black Blade archetype in the Ultimate Magic book is not clear what materials a black blade is made out of that is ia a masterwork weapon.

Does this mean is is a regular steel material or could it be make out of any other special material? Or would that be a GM call?


how do you calculate the caster level of an intelligent item.
being that the items saves are based on it. would you use the magic weapon of 3 * then bonus or a calculation involving the ego or a flat caster level of 15 which were most of 3.5

and if you have the time i would like to know if these house rules sound like they are balanced with in the Pathfinder world?

link


I would say apply the same rule that any magic item granting any form of INT modifier be done in increments of 2 and has be definte skill and if GM want Languages set.
This prevents a group from changing skills on a whim.

If the player is crafting the item then they get to choose what skill is set, and language if GM wants magic items that modify INT to add language(s).


James Jacobs wrote:
GMonkey wrote:
For intelligent weapon s are the Ability score chart 15-22 and the Base Magic item value chart a linear progression chart? Or is it a cumulative?
Aren't "linear" and "cumulative" the same thing?

Sorry a better way of saying it would it be treated like the magic weapon creation were you pay the difference of the old level to the new level and take the new EGO modifier or would you add the new modifier on top of the old one?

Example
You raise the INT from 13 to a 14
Do you add 1 or 2 EGO point(s)?

From what i see in the books like class level, magic armor/weapon you do not add all the previous bonus on top of the old one you replace it with the hight of the two.


Assummed that the enchantment bonus in the chart is a perminate bonus to the Black Blade

The Black Blade Magus can enhance the Black Blade if they choose.
The Intelligent item chats for Ability Scores 15-22, Base magic item cost, are a linear as they are with standard magic weapon item construction.

All powers the Black Blade gets in the Archetype and any Special Purpose the GM decides to put in the Black Blade do not count against the enchantment cost the Character would pay. Although the ego modifier may be applied, if the GM adds a dedicated power(s) at the GM descression.

A Blade Blade Magus has access to Ritual Enchantment (the Same as Arcane Bonded item for a wizzard) it requires the Sacrafice of Diamonds equal to the Cost of the Magic being put into it. This is strictly for the Black Blade.
The Ritual would require the expendature of spell levels equal to the per 1000 gp of diamonds rounded up used to enchant the item during the time the item is being enchanted.

The Blade Blade Magus may do nothing other then sleep and eat during the Enchantment Ritual. The Blade Blade Magus can work upto 2000 GP a day, this is a 8 hour per 1000 GP work.

The Black Blade Magus can up the intelligence, wisdom, charisma, communication and the senses. Tha ability score can not be enhanced until they weapon matures to atleast a 10 in a given stat.
The enhancement will need to be keep track of when enhancements are done to keep track of the items cost.

The Blade Blade Magus can break the +5 max to attack/damage at double the cost, but is still limited to a hard +10 weapon bonus max until the character is epic, and can not use any special abilities enchantment on the Black Blade as allows at 5th level.

A new ability to allow the Black Blade Magus use its poweres more in multiply fight over many hours of game time. Every 1 hour of rest allows the Magus to recover 1 Arcana Pool point. And evey 3 hours of rest allows the Black Blade to recover 1 Black Blade point.

What are the views on the proposed limits or any potential abuse you may see.


4 people marked this as FAQ candidate.

James Jacobs Creative Director

Yesterday, 06:05 PM | Flag |
List

| Reply

--------------------------------------------------------------------------- -----
+

GMonkey wrote:

Another question the black blade magus has in the progression listing enchantment is this a perminate enchantment bonus on yhe blade or is that just a tracker for the black blade strike?

Would applying the intelligent weapon modifiers to upgrade the stats of the weapon be a good and fair way for player to customize the blade to meet their idea of companion.

Paying the cost to up the intelligence, wisdom, and charasma

Or add more senses and communications. But limit access to other powers .

Ofcourse the ego goes up and would add to the gaming experience.

It would be a how much do you think you can handle.
--------------------------------------------------------------------------
That's a good question for the rules boards for FAQ.


the answer from james jacobs is the skill is fixed at item creation to prevent players from removing and putting it back on to get a different skill. it would per the retcon rule have a Language fixed at creating, but that is GM descresion.
the rank in the skill that the headband has is strictly tied to the character Level (not ECL) wearing the headband.


For intelligent weapon s are the Ability score chart 15-22 and the Base Magic item value chart a linear progression chart? Or is it a cumulative?


Probably it should go in two forums the first question for a rules clearification and the second question as a possible house rule

But if the listed bonus in the chart for enchantment means the weapon is treated as a perminate enchantment then question 2 is a mute point.
As the weapon can only have a +5 attack/damage mod and would free up the arcana pool for other things.


question 1: the black blade magus has in the progression chart listing enchantment is this a perminate enchantment bonus on the blade or is that just a tracker for the black blade strike?

question 2: Would applying the intelligent weapon modifiers tables to upgrade the stats of the black blade weapon be a good and fair way for player to customize the blade to meet their idea of companion. Since the progression says that the stats +1 every 2 levels.

Paying the cost to up the intelligence, wisdom, and charasma, or communication and senses.
only after the weapon evolves upto atlease a 10

Or add more senses and communications. But limit access to other powers.

If the enchantment listed in the chart is not perminate. Then allowing a limited enchantment up to 1/3 'Blade Blade Magus' levels (not any other classes regardless of what they say), max of +5 Either attack/damage mod, or special abilities, but once done can not be undone, to allow the characters to survive more then one or two fights before running out of power and needing a back up weapon to keep going.

This enchantment would be done as a Ritual (that would be like having the craft magic arms and armor, but only for the black blade) requiring the GP value in diamonds and a day per 1000 GP.

the standard of +10 to weapon limit would apply to any non-epic character.

but, I was thinking since it is a bonded companion that the standard +5 attack/damage mod, would be lifted to the magus level

Ofcourse the ego goes up and would add to the gaming experience.

It would be a gamble of how much do you think you can handle.

to give an example of what im talking about:

A 10 level Black Blade
would normally have:
INT 14
WIS/CHA 10
Ego 12

BUT
if the player decides they want a better companion and sends every GP he can to up the adding +3 INT (11 to 14) and +4 EGO.
Adding to the senses Dark vision and extending the vision to 60ft (1000 gp) +1 EGO
making the weapon at 4th level
INT 14
WIS/CHA 7
EGO 10

then after a while of adventuring
the weapon at 10 level allowing for a +3 perminate enchantment
so adding a +3 enchantment 18000 GP to the base weapon price (what every the player decided) +3 ego
so the weapon would have
INT 17
WIS/CHA 10
EGO 20

now this is not a difficult weapon to control but it would be the player decision to take the risk of not doing what ever the weapons mission or missions are.

OK, now with that said im not looking for if you would or would not allow this in you game, im asking if this is a fair way of making a rule for what many are constianly asking. As it would be an option the player would have a choice. I would prefer an offical response from Paizo as i have asked James Jacobs and he recommended putting this on rules and FAQ board.


Another question the black blade magus has in the progression listing enchantment is this a perminate enchantment bonus on yhe blade or is that just a tracker for the black blade strike?

Would applying the intelligent weapon modifiers to upgrade the stats of the weapon be a good and fair way for player to customize the blade to meet their idea of companion.

Paying the cost to up the intelligence, wisdom, and charasma

Or add more senses and communications. But limit access to other powers .

Ofcourse the ego goes up and would add to the gaming experience.

It would be a how much do you think you can handle.


Im sure this has been covered before of in my many days of scouring the message boards I have not found a definitive answer.

If a weapon is listed in a class proficiency(the katana in ninja for example) is it treated as if you have the Exotic weapon proficiency and both 1 and 2 handed use or is it treated as if you only have matrial weapon proficiency in the weapon and need to take exotic weapon proficiency to gain weapon use 1 handed?

And on a more general question could it be said that any specifically named weapon is treated as complete proficiency?